• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Is Hyundai a good car?

The price is all in the badge.

Strictly for brand whores only.

just found out on motor trend that the cayenne will have a hybrid version in 2014. that will reduce the carbon footprint, but the price tag will be higher than the regular version. still not a good buy. hybrid suv is the way to go imo, but the germans are lagging in this department.

I saw a white hybrid cayenne on the road liao...

Its miles ahead of a qq or any other cheen c r ap, otherwise yotube for crash test videos of the kimchis..not pretty

Oil leaks are common is most cars regardless of place of manufacture. It has to do with the rubber seals. Rubber wears out.

Not on my Toyota. I could confidently park it over my $9000 Persian Carpet and not a single drop of oil would be deposited even if I left it there for a whole year!. Mind you this is a UTE with 228,000 km on the clock.

And I don't agree with your assessment of mechanical perfection on any German cars. I have seen far too many lemons.

When I see the Taliban using VWs or Mercs, I'll change my mind about the Germans.

I remembered my Italian colleague had once told me: "It's not an Italian engine if there's no oil leaks." :eek:

No Italian stuff for me. In the past, oven cooker leaks power, these days, its expensive coffee machine leaks water :D.
If it does not leaks, it is not Italian made.

How come your car price so cheap?

Which part of the world are you from?

The prices are from US or AUstralia lah!!
That reflex our OMV prices before gahmen whack with all sorts of extortions

Custom duty 45%, LTA 150% now 125%, ARF & PARF = (ARF) more money,
COE, Importer GP at least 20-30% with warranty 1-5 years + freight cost, depending on profit
margin, so OMV $15,000.00 when motorist in SG finally drive on the road (OTR)
how much it cost you? you calculate = $100K >above!!! mind bloggling.....

totally agree,

italy things is nice but quality is suspect.

No Italian stuff for me. In the past, oven cooker leaks power, these days, its expensive coffee machine leaks water :D.

Hyundai car no problem la, actually very good. Go rest drive yourself

depends on how you measure good.

its like the pap, promise much, deliver not much but still think its good
it looks pretty good and works pretty well for the first 2 years, after that no promises

hyundai like korean girls, very pretty till they open mouth or spread legs (smelly n not that good)

but its still better than tiong cars which are the absolute worst that I have had the misfortune of sitting in. quality is suspect, no torque, no climbing power, no acceleration, brake suspect, finishing is laughable.

toyota are highly reliable, cannot go wrong and mitsubishis are good, realible workhorses
but i go for a toyota anytime for a daily car.

tbh, even protons are not that bad, some are ok even

german cars are generally good, cant go wrong,

other contis are weird,

indian cars are made for indian roads (tough but rough)

Must get Italian made hand crafted stuff. Not mass produced stuff. Italian marble how to leak ? Italian leather sofa?

You have a point about handcrafts.

Still, Aussie olive oils better than Italian oils.

Italian oils are much cheaper than aussie ones,,but dont the italians have a longer tradition with olives that Oz?

You have a point about handcrafts.

Still, Aussie olive oils better than Italian oils.

depends on how you measure good.

its like the pap, promise much, deliver not much but still think its good
it looks pretty good and works pretty well for the first 2 years, after that no promises

hyundai like korean girls, very pretty till they open mouth or spread legs (smelly n not that good)

but its still better than tiong cars which are the absolute worst that I have had the misfortune of sitting in. quality is suspect, no torque, no climbing power, no acceleration, brake suspect, finishing is laughable.

toyota are highly reliable, cannot go wrong and mitsubishis are good, realible workhorses
but i go for a toyota anytime for a daily car.

tbh, even protons are not that bad, some are ok even

german cars are generally good, cant go wrong,

other contis are weird,

indian cars are made for indian roads (tough but rough)

Same for singkies like you la. Talk a lot but smelly, cannot compete with ft

totally agree, cannot compete with ft..yeap you are right...well done.. lol

they are ft in your cty, you are ft in their cty, so who is ft and who is not is a matter of geographic perspective that is getting more and more blurred in this age, and you still bothered about one upping fts? hahaha

but anyone had a look at the prius?

any comments on it?

I found it the quietest and most stable ride in england, any england does not have smooth nice lovely boulevards,

Same for singkies like you la. Talk a lot but smelly, cannot compete with ft

Hey Neddy,

if u are going for an SUV,,try to get diesel engine as the torque is important and more fuel efficient and the engine is tougher too,,,but diesels must maintain properly,,which is no probs for u,,,I think the VW toureg with diesel engine is a good bet,,engine damn power man,,,

It was a problem with the i45.
http://news.drive.com.au/drive/moto...ralianspec-cars-need-work-20110623-1gh8x.html

It's likely the company will now install a specific suspension and steering tune into every model it imports into Australia from now on.

Sister brand Kia, which Hyundai owns, last year employed an Australian engineering expert, Graham Gambold, to specifically tune its models for Australia. It has been a successful exercise, particularly with the Sportage compact SUV that steers and rides noticeably better than Hyundai’s mechanically identical ix35.

In the meeting earlier this week, Mr Yang told journalists the relatively small size of the Australian car market made it impractical for his company to build cars specifically tuned for Australian conditions.

For Hyundai to build specific tuning into a given model on the production line, it must sell at least 100,000 cars a year to be viable, Mr Yang said, adding this restriction effectively narrows such activity down to key markets such as the US, China and Europe.