• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Is Hyundai a good car?

I am pretty sure the Hyundai Santa Fe will not disappoint, because it is tuned for Aussie poor quality roads.

BTW how do you "tune" a car to poor quality roads? Different tyres? suspension tweaks? different torque curves? more ground clearance?

What exactly is the difference?

I believe Wuqi is a 2nd hand car dealer, LOL

sg is a very small world. was surprised when i visited a posh home in serangoon gardens and found out the owner and his wife own a 2nd hand car dealership. more surprised to learn the hubby is the brother of the ceo of osim. an osim superchair sat in the living room. very shiok. don't need sex anymore. :eek:

Looking at this thread i get the sense many of you are stuck in the seventies. Escort and Datsun??? My goodness... that belongs to the era before i was born. Toyota Celica? My goodness, those are the Ah Beng cars of yesteryear. Unreliable continentals? Those are stuff from a decade ago.

Toyota reached its peak when they introduced Lexus... Lexus itself started off with a big bang but like the main brand Toyota both are stunted. I have sold all my Toyota shares because i don't see any further growth in the company. Toyota is the car with the most boring design on earth... still i agree with its reliability. Getting a Toyota is like marrying a woman who can give birth and will not run away from you... the likes of Ho Ching.

I started off with a Toyota as well but once i moved on to the continental marques i never turned back. I have no issue whatsover. Yes i had one defect in my new car within 3 years but that was promptly rectify and i had no further problems. I want a partner who can turn me on, fill my days and nights with ecstasy.. i don't want a Ho Ching.

Also, gone are the days where Japanese are always better than Korean. If Korea can do a Samsung i believe you should give Kia/Hyundai a chance.

But yes i agree with Wuqi, skip the low end continentals. BMW 3 series and Merc C class are mostly made in India and South Africa... i wouldn't touch anything from these places. Btw... there are 5 series made in Kedah as well... at the moment i don't think they are coming into Singapore yet.

If you were at Chatterbox Mandarin Hotel at 3.00am on the weekends, you would have seen me. King of the road at the time was the BMW2002tii.

I bought those models because I recognised the potential as they were both rear wheel drive. However, they became Beng cars AFTER I'd bought them. I was really disappointed.

Bets were placed there and the race from standing start from there to Cathay. Then makan and teh tarik at Orchard Road carpark. Been there but not racing except for my brother-in-law who is a car enthusiast.

I started off with a Toyota as well but once i moved on to the continental marques i never turned back. I have no issue whatsover.

You're either extremely lucky or very tolerant. http://www.thisismoney.co.uk/money/cars/article-2186477/Top-reliable-reliable-cars.html

I drive a Toyota Hilux UTE because a car is not a wife or a girlfriend. It's a mechanical contraption that I use to get me from point A to point B. I wash it once every 6 months and vacuum the interior once every 3 months to get rid of the accumulation of dog hair.

If I see a curb in the way, I drive over it. If I see a "pond", I drive through it. If I see a patch of m&d, I go into 4WD mode and plough through the stuff.

I've also decided to buy a Toyota 86 but that won't be registered for road use. I'll use it for track days and the local race track.

People who have emotional bonds with their vehicles need to get a life.

Land Rover is the least reliable overall manufacturer

article-0-02ADDFD20000044D-113_306x286.jpg
Land Rover: It has finished bottom of yet another car reliability report

The owners of the Jaguar Land Rover Group may have reported a 34 per cent rise in profits this year, but there’s been no similar improvement in reliability, according to the Which? survey.

The manufacturer had a reliability score of just 63 per cent for its four to eight year old cars and 81 per cent for newer motors, putting it at the bottom of the table for year another year.

The current Range Rover Sport and Land Rover Discovery 4 are among the brand’s worst offenders.

The Which? reliability score is calculated from the number of breakdowns and faults suffered by all models in the past year reported through its annual survey.

Faults are weighted differently for seriousness – so the more severe the fault and the more time the car is off the road, the harder the model is hit in its results.

The score for each of these areas are then combined to provide an overall reliability score for each manufacturer.

Honda is the top performer according to Which? It produces the highest scoring cars, over the longest period and boasts the best reliability rating for both new and used cars.

Which? says it’s testament to a few rock-solid models in the Honda range, especially the Jazz supermini and large hybrid Insight.

The top five most reliable manufacturers features a strong Japanese presence. To date in its annual survey, Lexus, Mazda and Toyota have always been there or thereabouts when it comes to producing solid cars.

TOP FIVE MOST RELIABLE

[TABLE="class: article-table, width: 1137"]
<tbody>[TR="class: article-table-header bogr1, bgcolor: #F5F5F5"]
[TH]Manufacturer[/TH]
[TH]Sample size[/TH]
[TH]0-3 years[/TH]
[TH]4-8 years[/TH]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD]Honda[/TD]
[TD]4,248[/TD]
[TD]93%[/TD]
[TD]87%[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD]Lexus[/TD]
[TD]532[/TD]
[TD]93%[/TD]
[TD]83%[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD]Kia[/TD]
[TD]699[/TD]
[TD]92%[/TD]
[TD]81%[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD]Toyota[/TD]
[TD]4,013[/TD]
[TD]91%[/TD]
[TD]86%[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD]Mazda[/TD]
[TD]1,985[/TD]
[TD]91%[/TD]
[TD]82%[/TD]
[/TR]
</tbody>[/TABLE]

TOP FIVE LEAST RELIABLE

[TABLE="class: article-table, width: 1137"]
<tbody>[TR="class: article-table-header bogr1, bgcolor: #F5F5F5"]
[TH]Manufacturer[/TH]
[TH]Sample size[/TH]
[TH]0-3 years[/TH]
[TH]4-8 years[/TH]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD]Land Rover[/TD]
[TD]649[/TD]
[TD]81%[/TD]
[TD]63%[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD]Alfa Romeo[/TD]
[TD]251[/TD]
[TD]82%[/TD]
[TD]66%[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD]Volvo[/TD]
[TD]1,402[/TD]
[TD]83%[/TD]
[TD]72%[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD]Vauxhall[/TD]
[TD]2,572[/TD]
[TD]84%[/TD]
[TD]70%[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD]Fiat[/TD]
[TD]629[/TD]
[TD]85%[/TD]
[TD]69%[/TD]
[/TR]
</tbody>[/TABLE]

Read more: http://www.thisismoney.co.uk/money/...Top-reliable-reliable-cars.html#ixzz2GEVAtS87
Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on Facebook

The British are frustrated people because they can't make a single good car whereas their German counterpart is leaps and bounds ahead.
Most British brand either went bust, got acquired and becomes Indian/Chinese car, or died a natural death... that explains their contempt towards German cars. Jealousy. Hence all the pro-Asian cars survey.

BTW how do you "tune" a car to poor quality roads? Different tyres? suspension tweaks? different torque curves? more ground clearance?

What exactly is the difference?

It was a problem with the i45.
http://news.drive.com.au/drive/moto...ralianspec-cars-need-work-20110623-1gh8x.html

It's likely the company will now install a specific suspension and steering tune into every model it imports into Australia from now on.

Sister brand Kia, which Hyundai owns, last year employed an Australian engineering expert, Graham Gambold, to specifically tune its models for Australia. It has been a successful exercise, particularly with the Sportage compact SUV that steers and rides noticeably better than Hyundai’s mechanically identical ix35.

In the meeting earlier this week, Mr Yang told journalists the relatively small size of the Australian car market made it impractical for his company to build cars specifically tuned for Australian conditions.

For Hyundai to build specific tuning into a given model on the production line, it must sell at least 100,000 cars a year to be viable, Mr Yang said, adding this restriction effectively narrows such activity down to key markets such as the US, China and Europe.

The British are frustrated people because they can't make a single good car whereas their German counterpart is leaps and bounds ahead.
Most British brand either went bust, got acquired and becomes Indian/Chinese car, or died a natural death... that explains their contempt towards German cars. Jealousy. Hence all the pro-Asian cars survey.

The Germans may be ahead of the Italians and the Brits but they still produce crap.

I have friends and neighbours who drive Mercs and Beemers... the latest models....always giving problems. Not show stoppers but niggly stuff... oil leaks, gauges not working, sat nav flaky, battery died early, rain sensing wipers don't sense rain or come on when not raining etc.

A Smart car owner I know had his engine cut out along the motorway. When the tow truck arrived, it came back to life. When it was taken to the dealer, they said nothing was wrong and changed the ECU as a precaution after he insisted something be done.

Hey Neddy,,

seems u are looking for an SUV,,y dont u consider the Mitsu outlander,,,to see is free,,,just another option,,,,

good hunting

Thanks for all the contributions.

I am pretty sure the Hyundai Santa Fe will not disappoint, because it is tuned for Aussie poor quality roads.

Will go for a test-drive soon. A bit hard to accept that I am seriously thinking of buying Korean cars.

That might just be the next thing after buying a LG TV and Samsung phone.

As for Mitsubishi, they have to sort out their problems.
AAP December 25, 2012

DOZENS of Japan's transport ministry officials have inspected Mitsubishi Motors' offices after the automaker last week widened a recall to about 1.7 million vehicles.

The inspection of Mitsubishi's Tokyo headquarters and quality-control offices nationwide on Tuesday came after the ministry criticised the firm after it widened its oil leak recall.

Read more: http://www.news.com.au/breaking-new...es/story-e6frfkui-1226543357984#ixzz2GDQaIBZE

Hey Neddy,,

seems u are looking for an SUV,,y dont u consider the Mitsu outlander,,,to see is free,,,just another option,,,,

good hunting

TH,
I am not looking at compact SUVs.

This time round, I expect to own the car longer, unless I win the lottery.

It can be reliable and full of gadgetry but compare to Japanese/Conti car, there is still something missing....
Test drove the latest veloster and the engine is very coarse and turbo version power is still lacking...
Something still missing...something...

It's called finesse. Comes with decades of refining and over engineering, honing their products.

For bread and butter mass consumption cars, only Toyota, Honda, Nissan, Mercedes, BMW, and Audi have it.

Yes only the above Jap and German brands have it. For the others, they just do not have the culture for precision engineering and auto making that results in finesse.

This time round, I expect to own the car longer, unless I win the lottery.

If you're going beyond 150,000km, you won't go wrong with a Toyota.

The Germans may be ahead of the Italians and the Brits but they still produce crap.

I have friends and neighbours who drive Mercs and Beemers... the latest models....always giving problems. Not show stoppers but niggly stuff... oil leaks, gauges not working, sat nav flaky, battery died early, rain sensing wipers don't sense rain or come on when not raining etc.

A Smart car owner I know had his engine cut out along the motorway. When the tow truck arrived, it came back to life. When it was taken to the dealer, they said nothing was wrong and changed the ECU as a precaution after he insisted something be done.

Oil leaks are common is most cars regardless of place of manufacture. It has to do with the rubber seals. Rubber wears out.

The rest have to do with sensors. German cars have sensors all over. And these fuck up from time to time. All it takes is for some oil seeping onto it to damage the sensor unit. Sensors are connected to computers (ECU) governing engine management, transmission, braking and handling stability. These regulate everything from temperature, engine oil level, air fuel ratio, fuel pump, gear selection, traction control, nowadays electronic steering and suspension dampening.

These don't change the fact that every German car from VW to Mercedes are mechanically and structurally a fucking solid piece of machinery.

If you're going beyond 150,000km, you won't go wrong with a Toyota.

I have an E60 5 series with 180,000 km on it.

Starts up without fail, drives perfectly, handles like it did on day 1.

Only replacements were wear and tear parts: brakes, rotors, mounts for engine, tranny, shocks, shocks themselves, undercarriage (steering control arms), etc. These were expensive but absolutely worth it.

These don't change the fact that every German car from VW to Mercedes are mechanically and structurally a fucking solid piece of machinery.

i have a bmw and the electrical contacts for the rear lights kept raising an alarm on the dashboard. i replaced a couple of times and new electrical assemblies keep causing the same alarm. i finally found the root cause. the electrical contacts were not tight enough. the loose contact caused intermitten shorting of electrical circuits and burning of the contacts which led to outages and raising of the alarm. it's a very simple contraption but germans like to make a simple assembly f*cking complicated to troubleshoot and diagnose. same thing when they start replacing metal components in the engine compartment with plastic parts. plastic cracks in extreme temperature cycles around the engine, and this is what's currently plaguing the 3 series. the other problem plaguing the 7 series is the radiator. no point having a mechanical jewel when electrical and plastic assemblies contribute to its archilles heel.