Not sure if you guys had any PRC friends. But I think the Ah tiongs are starting to realised that Singapore is not a good destination either. I had a conversation with a PRC couple yesterday, and the conversation turned to me coming from Singapore. The wife asked why I left and the husband replied next that Singapore is too crowded and is not suitable for long term stay at all. I think the MIWs policy of opening the floodgate is reaching a point where the FTs are realising that it is not sustainable.
Its meant to be a joke, but having seen some of the insane policy they instituted I'm surprised they have not gone down this path. I don't think its the right approach though. SG problem of having low child birth rate is multiple. Its cultural as well, not just the social environment.
To encourage right quality in numbers in the right groups, the baby allowance shld be tweaked so that it goes up exponentially from lowest in K, primary edu, to a steep peak towards University level.
Sucking taxes and levies for this fund from businesses that still depend on cheap labour and did nothing on productivity is the socially equitable way to go, besides making economic sense too.
Instead of using the 1.2 as holy writ, why don't focus on the group that refuse to have children? Hit them where it hurt them most. As for Chinese no giving birth, I find it hard to believe as most of my peer have children. While some have only one but most have two and a few have three. So who are no pulling their weight?
As for Malays breeding like rabbit, it the true in the past but nowadays Malays couple who have education and not caught the religion bug know the advantage of small family so are limiting to three. I know 3 is still a lot but compare to the past of 5-6, that a reduction of half.
All the policies made by those MIWs are only quick fix solution based on short term gains.
They do not have the patience to wait for long term results.
Giving excuses of low birth rate to import tons of FTs is one of the easy way out quick fix to raise GDP growth which will make
all those rich and powerful happy all the time. The MIWs don't fuck care whether the locals are willing to give birth of not.
They will never be willing to put so much time and resources to nature the local babies. What they want is instant case $$$ to please those
rich and powerful plus getting their own pocket full. That's their aim and they won't bother too much about low life local S'poreans.
Blah Blah Blah
Actually if you go thru it, you might realise the value in it. Imagine ordinary Singaporeans and PRs have the usual CPF. Only Singaporeans parents have an additional safety fund for their kids. They don't touch and its an add to their retirement fund. They can't use for their homes except for their kids education. Tan Cheng Bock proposed something similar but the kids education came from the CPF.
Even greedy adults may cave in and start having kids.
I recall a pundit once in a close door session suggested that Singapore Policy makers are hooked on quick fix solutions because they tend to be posted every 2 years. They write policy for the initial big bang effect and then don't worry too much about outcome.
In the past, people Hon, Goh, Lim Kim San were dropped into a portfolio to fix things permanently or for the long run. Note now days, you have no clue which Minister or Perm Sec did what. There is no personal pride and no incentive so why would anyone put their head on the chopping block.
I only see Khaw going into area ot fix it. Even he is prone to seeking publicity that paints the wrong picture - $8 surgery.
Apparently in Ang Moh countries the problem is not as bad as the birthrate is supplemented by Children born out of weblock which is a HUGE issue in Asia. We still do not approve of single parents.
There is no such thing as "out of wedlock" anymore in NZ. A couple that live together for a couple of years are considered to be "de facto" partners.
The biggest difference is the attitude towards career and life in general. Would a sinkie quit a job to go for a holiday? That's what they often do here.
They don't get it.
Singapore is built on fast one track rail. If you can't keep up or you take too big a risk, you fall out. Most people cannot get back on the rail. They get left behind. Foreigners who are prepared to run fast will take over and many come from failed or corrupt states so SIngapore is paradise.
No chance for Charazn the fatty retard to add to sg population as he cannot find any woman stupid and tasteless enough to procreate with him.
Which came first? The chicken or the egg? Did the PAP govt set the speed of the treadmill to "high" thus putting Singaporeans in the position that they now find themselves in?.... or did Singaporeans create their own nightmare by ranking wealth above family, friends and health in their mad pursuit to show their friends and their peers that they had "made it" in life.
In my opinion, the govt isn't entirely to blame. They merely created a system to cater to the "5 C" dream.
It's definitely the govt to blame. In fact on one fella. Since we became a separate entity with this govt in charge, it's been down hill all the way. The Old Man has a competitive, combative nature. It was Do or Die, Compete or Die, No one owes us a living, If we slacken, we become irrelevant, others will overtake us, etc etc. Repeat that day after day, with control of the newspapers, TV, radio and the message and propaganda sank in.
Who can say No to the tyrant?