• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Inadequate Public Transportation

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
The following is a Table compiled to show the contrast of population vs MRT development.
</p><table style="border-collapse: collapse; width: 445pt;" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="592"><col style="width: 54pt;" width="72"> <col style="width: 64pt;" span="2" width="85"> <col style="width: 135pt;"width="180"><col style="width: 64pt;" span="2" width="85"> <tbody><tr style="height: 90pt;" height="120"><td class="xl24" style="height: 90pt; width: 54pt;" height="120" width="72"></td><td class="xl25" style="width: 64pt;" width="85">SMRT Total Number of Passenger Trips (Million)</td><td class="xl26" style="width: 64pt;" width="85">SMRT Car Kilometres Operated (Million)</td><td class="xl27" style="width: 135pt;" width="180">SMRT Average Operating Car Occupancy</td><td class="xl28" style="width: 64pt;" width="85">Total Population</td><td class="xl29" style="width: 64pt;" width="85">Resident Population</td></tr><tr style="height: 15pt;" height="20"><td class="xl30" style="height: 15pt;" height="20">2003</td><td class="xl31" x:num="394.25">394.3 </td><td class="xl32" x:num="89.62">89.6 </td><td class="xl33" x:num="55.7">56 </td><td class="xl34">4114.8</td><td class="xl35">3366.9</td></tr><tr style="height: 15pt;" height="20"><td class="xl30" style="height: 15pt;" height="20">2004</td><td class="xl31" x:num="391.5">391.5 </td><td class="xl32" x:num="77.4">77.4 </td><td class="xl33" x:num="63.2">63 </td><td class="xl34">4166.7</td><td class="xl35">3413.3</td></tr><tr style="height: 15pt;" height="20"><td class="xl30" style="height: 15pt;" height="20">2005</td><td class="xl31" x:num="402.6">402.6 </td><td class="xl32" x:num="75.11">75.1 </td><td class="xl33" x:num="65.6">66 </td><td class="xl34">4265.8</td><td class="xl35">3467.8</td></tr><tr style="height: 15pt;" height="20"><td class="xl30" style="height: 15pt;" height="20">2006</td><td class="xl31" x:num="413.8">413.8 </td><td class="xl32" x:num="75.5">75.5 </td><td class="xl33" x:num="67">67 </td><td class="xl34">4401.4</td><td class="xl35">3525.9</td></tr><tr style="height: 15pt;" height="20"><td class="xl30" style="height: 15pt;" height="20">2007</td><td class="xl31" x:num="434.9">434.9 </td><td class="xl32" x:num="77.1">77.1 </td><td class="xl33" x:num="68.6">69 </td><td class="xl34">4588.6</td><td class="xl35">3583.1</td></tr><tr style="height: 15.75pt;" height="21"><td class="xl36" style="height: 15.75pt;" height="21">2008</td><td class="xl37" x:num="469.3">469.3 </td><td class="xl38" x:num="78">78.0 </td><td class="xl39" x:num="73.3">73 </td><td class="xl40">4839.4</td><td class="xl41">3642.7</td></tr> </tbody></table><p>&nbsp;Total Population and Resident Population from Table 3.1 of the Yearbook of Statistics 2009</p><p>MRT Statistics from SMRT Annual Report 2007/2008</p><p>From the table above, we can gather the following facts:<br /></p><p>Total Population Growth 17.6%</p><p> Resident Population Growth 8.2%</p><p>SMRT Total Number of Passenger Trips (Million) Growth&nbsp; 19.0%</p><p>SMRT Car Kilometres Operated (Million) Growth&nbsp; -13.0%</p><p>SMRT Average Operating Car Occupancy Rate Growth 31.6%</p>What do the above statistics tell us?
It is quite puzzling to me actually. The public transport companies like SMRT has been increasing their fares for the past 7 years but it seems that their service standards have dropped with respect to the population growth.

It is very disturbing to note that while demand on MRT has increased steadily for the pass 7 years (We are unable to get the 2009 figures yet) in tandem with the increase in population growth, SMRT has actually DECREASE their train service frequencies by as much as 13%! An increase of 19% of demand couple by a decrease in supply of 13% will naturally result in packing the MRT cabins with more people! This is reflected in the increase of occupancy rate from 56% to 76%!

It means that on average, Singaporeans will find the MRT 30% more crowded than 2003!

I guess the LTA is sleeping on this development while agreeing to PTC and public transport companies' demand in increasing their fares!

I hope this is not another "Caught Off Guard" situation for the Ministry of Transport as it is for Ministry of National Development. Someone up there have to be accountable for mismanaging the whole situation for Singapore. WP NCMP Sylvia Lim has categorically questioned the PAP government on whether they are doing enough to cater to their aggressive FT policy which has artificially increase the population by 17.6% from 2003 to 2008. Yet, the PAP has continued to sleep on this important issue.

We have seen how Ministry of National Development under Mah Bow Tan has totally mismanaged the housing needs in view of the expected increase of housing demand due to influx of FT. Now it seems that the Ministry of Transport has also totally mismanaged the transportation sector.

There is no silly excuse of "Caught Off Guard" as the opposition party has already raised the alarm as early as 2006! Singaporeans have to see clearly that we are paying TOP WORLD CLASS salaries for these ministers but yet, we are having them mismanaging the situation here.

The Ministry of Transport & LTA are only concerned about setting up more ERPs all over Singapore because that is the SACRED CASH COWS that will make money. Who cares about the general welfare of Singaporeans in squeezing in MRTs and Buses (yes, I believe we can show the same inadequacy if we build the statistical table for buses) everyday due to their mismanagement.

The Ministers have hardly experience the frustrations of normal Singaporeans who take public transport daily. The MRT train frequency is really third world standards!

It is about time Singaporeans should give PAP the wake up call! Vote the respective ministers out, give a clear signal to the PAP government that we want accountability! We want ministers who put Singaporeans' welfare as their top priority, not how much money their ministries could save or make as their top priorities.

Goh Meng Seng

... <p>SMRT Car Kilometres Operated (Million) Growth&nbsp; -13.0%</p>
how u got tis? ...

u noe y there was a drop fr 2003 2 2004? ...

dey can oso tel u dat train servis has increased since 2005 ...

u got figures 4 2009? ...

betta check 1st hor ... :smile:

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
The fact is, even with a slight increase from 2005, the occupancy rate is still on the rising trend!

Figures for 2009? You will be very surprised! :wink:

Although we don't have the figures from SMRT yet, but population growth in 2009 is really substantial! I shall not reveal it first until SMRT comes up with the 2009 figures.

These figures are taken from SMRT report and Department of Statistics Year book.

Goh Meng Seng

how u got tis? ...

u noe y there was a drop fr 2003 2 2004? ...

dey can oso tel u dat train servis has increased since 2005 ...

u got figures 4 2009? ...

betta check 1st hor ... :smile:

The fact is, even with a slight increase from 2005, the occupancy rate is still on the rising trend!

Figures for 2009? You will be very surprised! :wink:

Although we don't have the figures from SMRT yet, but population growth in 2009 is really substantial! I shall not reveal it first until SMRT comes up with the 2009 figures.

These figures are taken from SMRT report and Department of Statistics Year book.

Goh Meng Seng
u lidat dunwan 2 answer my questions directly ... :o

lemme partially answer my questions 4 u ... :p

... u noe y there was a drop fr 2003 2 2004? ...
http://www.yawningbread.org/arch_2008/yax-836.htm

... u got figures 4 2009? ...
http://www.smrt.com.sg/investors/documents/key_operating_data_mrt/trains_FY2005_Fy2009.pdf

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
Thank you for the addition. My researcher must have missed that out.

Let's do a quick analysis.

The increase in the car operated per kilometer is partly due to the opening of circle line. This means that frequency of trains in other older lines might not have improved at all. Besides, this is offset by the increase in the demand, partly due to the increase in population (about 3% plus).

As the result, the occupancy rate is just slightly down a bit. This result doesn't change the main point that since 2003, the trains are getting very cramped, about 30% cramped.

Goh Meng Seng

VIBGYOR

walau! need what statistics?

take the train yourself you know it's crowded!! it's crowded!!

please take a visit to Boon Lay Station during Peak hours in the morning!

take a picture and post it here...

more reasons to kick those indifferent PAP out of Parliament! :biggrin:

cooleo

Only a moron need statistics to know that AssMRT is overcrowded and unable to meet the influx of foreign trash.

I dare any of the PAP MPees to go take train at 830am! :oIo:

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
Sorry, to clarify. The DOS 2009 year book does not have population figures for 2009 yet, that is why the initial data of 2009 is omitted. I have added the data as well, as it is not going to affect the conclusion of the analysis.

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
Our pampered ministers could only visualize things from statistics because they are deprived of the opportunity to take public transport!

This is why, to make my points clearer and indisputable, no way for them to run, I will need to put up statistics like this one, using the data they provide.

Goh Meng Seng

Kid278

Our pampered ministers could only visualize things from statistics because they are deprived of the opportunity to take public transport!

This is why, to make my points clearer and indisputable, no way for them to run, I will need to put up statistics like this one, using the data they provide.

Goh Meng Seng

The fact is they will always come out with their own datas and statistics to justify. How and where are you going to challenge them with yours. I suppose you already have an avenue, If you have, hit them hard and I mean very hard.

if they are good, no one will buy private transport. Where PAP can cut the max of meat from sinkies.

kiwibird7

The Minister in charge of public transport was 'caught off guard', or in SAF lingo; 'KOONING while on guard duty' like the officers and crew on the bridge of RSS Courageous- a chargeable offence.

You are so right about the 'statistics' thingy. A PICTURE speaks a THOUSAND WORDS. Photos of crowds at various times at various stations and not forgetting taking pictures of a BIG THERMOMETER showing the ambient temperature of MRT cabins as well.

I take public transport all my life, in Singapore as well as in other countries.

In terms of rapid transit train crowding, Singapore is still a far way off Tokyo. However, in Tokyo, the Japanese social etiquette makes the ride more bearable. In terms of cost (fare), Tokyo and London are also far more expensive, almost equivalent to a taxi ride in Singapore.

In terms of waiting time, Hong Kong is champion, practically no waiting as there seems to be always next train coming in a minute. And the fare is cheap too, except for the last leg from Shangshui to Luohu (Shenzhen border).

Kuala Lumpur and Bangkok fares are very cheap (even relative to their income levels) but their systems are of limited coverage in city areas only, no full metropolis coverage.

For space and comfort, San Francisco-Bay Area is first on my list. Soft cushioned seats with full height back rest, and I can't remember when I have to stand, whether peak or off-peak hours. Perhaps many people own cars there. Waiting time is slightly longer than Hong Kong, and fare is slightly lower than Tokyo.

Other notables that I've experienced to be better than Singapore (average weighted value for fare) are those in Montreal and Washington DC-Maryland. New York and Chicago are world famous subways because they're big full-scale metropolis systems and featured in many Hollywood movies and TV series. However, they're not as clean and comfortable as San Francisco-Bay Area (or even Singapore) trains.

Talking about movies and TV series, US and Japanese frequently feature scenes at their subways. However, I notice HK that films seldom or never; wonder why.

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
If the above analysis is not convincing enough for you, then please take a look at the following table:

</p><table style="border-collapse: collapse; width: 310pt;" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="412"><col style="width: 54pt;" width="72"> <col style="width: 64pt;" span="2" width="85"> <col style="width: 64pt;" span="2" width="85"> <tbody><tr style="height: 90pt;" height="120"><td class="xl22" style="height: 90pt; width: 54pt;" height="120" width="72"></td><td class="xl23" style="width: 64pt;" width="85">SMRT Total Number of Passenger Trips (Million)</td><td class="xl24" style="width: 64pt;" width="85">SMRT Car Kilometres Operated (Million)</td><td class="xl25" style="width: 64pt;" width="85">SMRT Average Operating Car Occupancy (Person)</td><td class="xl25" style="width: 64pt;" width="85">SMRT Profit after tax and minority interest (S$ Mil)</td></tr><tr style="height: 15pt;" height="20"><td class="xl26" style="height: 15pt;" height="20">2003</td><td class="xl27" x:num="394.25">394.3 </td><td class="xl28" x:num="89.62">89.6 </td><td class="xl29" x:num="55.7">56 </td><td class="xl34" x:num="72.1">72.1 </td></tr><tr style="height: 15pt;" height="20"><td class="xl26" style="height: 15pt;" height="20">2004</td><td class="xl27" x:num="391.5">391.5 </td><td class="xl28" x:num="77.4">77.4 </td><td class="xl29" x:num="63.2">63 </td><td class="xl34" x:num="89.5">89.5 </td></tr><tr style="height: 15pt;" height="20"><td class="xl26" style="height: 15pt;" height="20">2005</td><td class="xl27" x:num="402.6">402.6 </td><td class="xl28" x:num="75.11">75.1 </td><td class="xl29" x:num="65.6">66 </td><td class="xl34" x:num="126.7">126.7 </td></tr><tr style="height: 15pt;" height="20"><td class="xl26" style="height: 15pt;" height="20">2006</td><td class="xl27" x:num="413.8">413.8 </td><td class="xl28" x:num="75.5">75.5 </td><td class="xl29" x:num="67">67 </td><td class="xl34" x:num="103.4">103.4 </td></tr><tr style="height: 15pt;" height="20"><td class="xl26" style="height: 15pt;" height="20">2007</td><td class="xl27" x:num="434.9">434.9 </td><td class="xl28" x:num="77.1">77.1 </td><td class="xl29" x:num="68.6">69 </td> <td class="xl34" x:num="135.4">135.4 </td></tr><tr style="height: 15.75pt;" height="21"><td class="xl30" style="height: 15.75pt;" height="21">2008</td><td class="xl31" x:num="469.3">469.3 </td><td class="xl32" x:num="78">78.0 </td><td class="xl33" x:num="73.3">73 </td><td class="xl35" x:num="149.9">149.9 </td></tr></tbody></table>

For the period from 2003 to 2008, SMRT profits have increased <span style="font-weight:bold;">107.9%</span> from $72.1m to $149.9m!

What does this mean. There is an increase in demand, increase in fare but SMRT continues to reduce supply by a drastic reduction in 2004. While the demand continues to increase, it suppressed the corresponding supply while continued its demand of fare increase. The so call "improve in services" is just lip service. Service standards has dropped while SMRT just let the trains get more cramp!

LTA under the Ministry of Transport, kept both of its eyes closed for all this while! This is totally unacceptable for a world class government with top pay! It seems that our PAP government only takes good care of corporate profits while neglecting the welfare of Singaporeans, allowing them to be reaped off by suffering sub standard services with increased prices.

Do we continue to let them be or give them a wake up call? The choice is yours.

Goh Meng Seng * I have added the figures of the SMRT side without the figures of population data here. The increase in the car operated per kilometer is partly due to the opening of circle line. This means that frequency of trains in other older lines might not have improved at all. Besides, this is offset by the increase in the demand, partly due to the increase in population (estimated about 3% plus if total population is to reach 4.99 million). As the result, the occupancy rate is just about the same. This result doesn't change the main point that since 2003, the trains are getting very cramped, about 30% cramped.

Highfalutin

Mr Goh

All your diligently researched figure won't change the outcome of the next GE's PAP victory. Not even when commuters are forced into groin to groin journeys. It's when they can't get to work in time and were fired from their jobs because they couldn't get to board a train. That scenario will never happen because the PAP is the master of threshold tolerance monitoring.

That's exactly what Chiam was told at Cairnhill. Mah Bow Tan I am sure will disgree.

Mr Goh

All your diligently researched figure won't change the outcome of the next GE's PAP victory. Not even when commuters are forced into groin to groin journeys. It's when they can't get to work in time and were fired from their jobs because they couldn't get to board a train. That scenario will never happen because the PAP is the master of threshold tolerance monitoring.

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
Mr Goh

No matter how big the log is, tiny little termites will destroy it in time to come.

Bits by bits, tearing it apart.

Goh Meng Seng

lockeliberal

Dear GMS

Two distinct technical issues at hand with the stats you have brought up.

1. Size of Train Fleets

No growth in fleet size means decrease in stats as stated after increase in route network.

2. Signaling Capacity which limits frequency of trains

No upgrade in signalling capacity limits frequency on expanded route size which limits frequency and distance travelled

Locke

Highfalutin

No matter how big the log is, tiny little termites will destroy it in time to come.

Bits by bits, tearing it apart.

Goh Meng Seng

Mr Goh

They have more than enough money to buy planks to replace those eaten for another 100 years. As long as the money earmarked are not gambled away by a recalcitrant wife.