• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

If Jobs Outlook Gloomy, Why Still Import FTrash Like No Tomorrow?

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR>Jobs outlook remains gloomy <!--10 min-->
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><TR>Don't expect turnaround in the next one or two quarters, says minister </TR><!-- Author --><TR><TD class="padlrt8 georgia11 darkgrey bold" colSpan=2>By Goh Chin Lian, Senior Political Correspondent
</TD></TR><!-- show image if available --><TR vAlign=bottom><TD width=330>
Spur.jpg

</TD><TD width=10>
c.gif
</TD><TD vAlign=bottom>
c.gif

Mr Gan said it was premature to think about green shoots - the term used to suggest that the global slump was bottoming out. -- PHOTO: SOUTH WEST CDC
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"-->SINGAPORE can expect unemployment to remain at current levels or to rise further, Manpower Minister Gan Kim Yong said on Friday.
In remarks suggesting a turnaround is not imminent, he said that with the economic outlook still uncertain, the labour market 'will remain soft for next one to two quarters at least'.
'A lot will depend on whether orders are coming in for the third as well as the fourth quarter. Visibility is not clear beyond July or August,' he said at a press conference to give an update on the impact of the Skills Programme for Upgrading and Resilience (Spur).
The government-sponsored scheme, launched last December, pays part of workers' wages while they are on training as well as subsidises their training fees.
While measures like Spur reduced the cost of retaining staff and kept unemployment in check, the jobless rate from January to March this year still rose to 3.3 per cent, the highest since 2005.
Data for the April to June quarter will be released by the end of this month, but Mr Gan said anecdotal feedback from unions and bosses suggests there will be no let-up in the jobless rate. This is even though fewer workers may be let go compared to the record 10,900 in the first quarter.
Mr Gan also said in response to a question that it was difficult to say when there would be a second wave of retrenchments - something the labour movement has told workers to brace themselves for.
Like his colleagues at the briefing - Minister of State Lee Yi Shyan and Senior Parliamentary Secretary Hawazi Daipi - he said the focus of efforts by bosses and workers should be on training with an eye to improve skills for an eventual upturn.
Noting that the United States announced on Thursday that its jobless rate rose to 9.5 per cent, he said it was important 'to focus our efforts on helping companies and the unemployed'.
The sentiment at last month's International Labour Organisation conference in Geneva which he attended was also that the global slowdown will persist. Therefore, Mr Gan said, it was premature to think about green shoots - the term analysts and others use to suggest that the global slump was bottoming out.
Please read the full story in Saturday's edition of The Straits Times
[email protected]

212tuog.jpg

I like to TALK COCK. So What?! *chey*

besotted

A lot of jobs available but locals are choosy - Too far, too long hours, too this too that

And then blame FT for taking the jobs that THEY DO NOT WANT

Unless we quickly import a lot of good quality PRCs to dilute the Singaporean traits, we will not survive

I am in favour of FT policy.

Import and dilute, the more the merrier. But no bloody ang moh immoral bankers, please... stay in London and Wall Street. Don't come Asia and fuck around with our money

chinkangkor

A lot of jobs available but locals are choosy - Too far, too long hours, too this too that

And then blame FT for taking the jobs that THEY DO NOT WANT

Unless we quickly import a lot of good quality PRCs to dilute the Singaporean traits, we will not survive

I am in favour of FT policy.

Import and dilute, the more the merrier. But no bloody ang moh immoral bankers, please... stay in London and Wall Street. Don't come Asia and fuck around with our money

The root cause is the third world public transport system and low wages. The govt has bent itself too far to pander to business needs by excessively increasing the supply of labour resulting in low wages.

There are other business costs such as high rentals, high govt charges etc that the govt should tackle rather than putting too much downward pressure on wage costs.

... There are other business costs such as high rentals, high govt charges etc that the govt should tackle rather than putting too much downward pressure on wage costs.
how can reduce dose? ...

reducing dose wil hurt gahmen's pocket wat ... gahmen where gt hurt their pocket 1 ... hurt ur pocket can la ...

besotted

600 coffeeshop owners have petitioned government to allow more FTs to work here because no Singaporeans want to work!

What jobs gloomy!!

Stupid Straits Times! Choosy say choosy lah!

GKY is under the instruction of pap to incite fear. When there is fear, pap will win - according to their logic. Never read too deep the words coming from conman's mouth. Once you are trapped by their words, you lost your life to them. Beware!