• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

I choked when i read Chiam propose renaming Jurong Ind Estate as GKS Ind Estate ?!

elephanto

<table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="789"><tbody><tr><td colspan="3" height="26">
</td> </tr> <tr> <td valign="top" width="5"></td> <td colspan="2" valign="top" width="784"> Opposition MP Chiam says Dr Goh left behind a long distinguished career
Posted: 15 May 2010 1352 hrs

<table align="right" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="260"> <tbody><tr> <td align="right" width="20"></td> <td align="right" width="240">
phpZ7I2UQ.jpg
</td> </tr> <tr> <td height="60" valign="top"></td> <td class="update" height="80" valign="top"> <table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="100%"> <tbody><tr> <td bgcolor="#f6f6f6" width="138">Photos </td> <td bgcolor="#f6f6f6" width="47">1 of 1</td> <td bgcolor="#f6f6f6" width="18"><input disabled="disabled" id="btnPrev" value="<< Previous" onclick="Prev();" src="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/images/butt_previous.gif" height="15" type="image" width="18"></td> <td bgcolor="#f6f6f6" width="19"><input id="bntPlay" value="Play - Stop" onclick="Play()" src="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/images/butt_stop.gif" height="15" type="image" width="19"></td> <td bgcolor="#f6f6f6" width="18"><input disabled="disabled" id="btnNext" value=" Next >> " onclick="Next();" src="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/images/butt_next.gif" height="15" type="image" width="18"></td> </tr> </tbody></table>
dotline_240.gif

Chiam See Tong (Photo: AFP)
</td> </tr> <tr> <td></td> <td class="update"></td> </tr> <tr> <td></td> <td>
</td> </tr> </tbody></table>

SINGAPORE: Opposition MP for Potong Pasir Chiam See Tong described the late Dr Goh Keng Swee as a practical man of visionary talent who left behind a long distinguished career.

Mr Chiam said: "He was a 'jack of all trades' and minister of all in his time."

Mr Chiam said he did not have the opportunity to engage Dr Goh in a debate in Parliament on some of his "unpopular policies which were hot topics in those days".

He said Dr Goh retired in 1984, the year he won a parliamentary seat.

"I give my respect to the late Dr Goh Keng Swee for the good values he upheld, such as thriftiness, perseverance, courage and diligence," Mr Chiam said.

"My wife and I send our heartfelt condolences to Mrs Goh and her family."

Mr Chiam suggested renaming the Jurong Industrial Estate to Goh Keng Swee Industrial Estate. - CNA/jy

</td></tr></tbody></table>

Re: I choked when i read Chiam propose renaming Jurong Ind Estate as GKS Ind Estate ?

Wahlau, Ah Chiam ah !

Be that as it may, I need not repeat what you can read everywhere about the stuff that Dr Goh had done.

I know you seem to infer 'Jurong' is synonymous with Goh Keng Swee. Fine but for jest sake, to rename anything Jurong to GKS would result in:

I live in Jurong East ,so now it is 'Goh Keng Swee East'?, I go to Goh Keng Swee East Interchange every morning, walk to my office at nearby Goh Keng Swee Town Corporation..... visit Goh Keng Swee Bird Park with family last weekend etc etc

'Taxi, I want to go Jurong, no er... I mean, I want to go GKS Town'

'GKS MRT station, passengers going woodlands, pls alight & board the train on the North-bound line...'

LOLLLL !!!

Re: I choked when i read Chiam propose renaming Jurong Ind Estate as GKS Ind Estate ?

treat your friends well when they are around...

don't engrave their lives on tombstones...too late...

spend your DASH fruitfully...don't harm people, don't hurt people,don't sabo people...

got it?

<table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="789"><tbody><tr><td colspan="3" height="26">
</td> </tr> <tr> <td valign="top" width="5"></td> <td colspan="2" valign="top" width="784"> Opposition MP Chiam says Dr Goh left behind a long distinguished career
Posted: 15 May 2010 1352 hrs

<table align="right" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="260"> <tbody><tr> <td align="right" width="20"></td> <td align="right" width="240">
phpZ7I2UQ.jpg
</td> </tr> <tr> <td height="60" valign="top"></td> <td class="update" height="80" valign="top"> <table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="100%"> <tbody><tr> <td bgcolor="#f6f6f6" width="138">Photos </td> <td bgcolor="#f6f6f6" width="47">1 of 1</td> <td bgcolor="#f6f6f6" width="18"><input disabled="disabled" id="btnPrev" value="<< Previous" onclick="Prev();" src="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/images/butt_previous.gif" height="15" type="image" width="18"></td> <td bgcolor="#f6f6f6" width="19"><input id="bntPlay" value="Play - Stop" onclick="Play()" src="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/images/butt_stop.gif" height="15" type="image" width="19"></td> <td bgcolor="#f6f6f6" width="18"><input disabled="disabled" id="btnNext" value=" Next >> " onclick="Next();" src="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/images/butt_next.gif" height="15" type="image" width="18"></td> </tr> </tbody></table>
dotline_240.gif

Chiam See Tong (Photo: AFP)
</td> </tr> <tr> <td></td> <td class="update"></td> </tr> <tr> <td></td> <td>
</td> </tr> </tbody></table>

SINGAPORE: Opposition MP for Potong Pasir Chiam See Tong described the late Dr Goh Keng Swee as a practical man of visionary talent who left behind a long distinguished career.

Mr Chiam said he did not have the opportunity to engage Dr Goh in a debate in Parliament on some of his "unpopular policies which were hot topics in those days".

He said Dr Goh retired in 1984, the year he won a parliamentary seat.

"I give my respect to the late Dr Goh Keng Swee for the good values he upheld, such as thriftiness, perseverance, courage and diligence," Mr Chiam said.

"My wife and I send our heartfelt condolences to Mrs Goh and her family."

Mr Chiam suggested renaming the Jurong Industrial Estate to Goh Keng Swee Industrial Estate. - CNA/jy

</td></tr></tbody></table>

arh. a hypocrite making his rounds. lol.

so old liao. up lorry anytime soon, still dont know right from wrong?

arh. a hypocrite making his rounds. lol.

so old liao. up lorry anytime soon, still dont know right from wrong?

The way he seem to regret never having the opportunity to 'debate' with GKS over some of his unpopular policies of the day becos the later had retired by then ........ shows there is EGO in every politician even for one who had is so frail, not known for his debating skills & having recovered from stroke not so long ago ...

Senile liao :p:p

The way he seem to regret never having the opportunity to 'debate' with GKS over some of his unpopular policies of the day becos the later had retired by then ........ shows there is EGO in every politician even for one who had is so frail, not known for his debating skills & having recovered from stroke not so long ago ...

Don't be silly! Chiam is the master tactician. Better name everything in other people's name now than wait for Old Man to kick the bucket. When that happens, Sentosa will be renamed LKY Island, Jurong Industrial Estate will be name Kuan Yew IE...Heck, Singapore might be renamed People's Republic of Lee Kuan Yew.

treat your friends well when they are around...

don't engrave their lives on tombstones...too late...

spend your DASH fruitfully...don't harm people, don't hurt people,don't sabo people...

got it?

You idiot hurry go back to inform your boss LKY that Chiam is hinting now to LKY to rename Potong Pasir as Chiam See Tong Town when he died.

The hint is so obvious!

So hurry do your running dog job and go tell your boss LKY hurry you doggy!

李光耀 must 会做人 lah!

Ha....Ah Chiam is very naughty;) I could read his insinuation, that GKS was a jack of all trades, i.e. he was multi-tasking didn't require 3 mentors to coach him.

Wahlau, Ah Chiam ah !

'Taxi, I want to go Jurong, no er... I mean, I want to go GKS Town'

LOLLLL !!!

Yeah, somehow song song kau gkswee, just doesn't sound right:confused:

Perhaps, steady poon pee pee, gohkengswee might just about make it:D

nowdays Chiam don't speak too clearly, what I think he really meant was "He was a 'jack of all trades' but master of none in his time."

No, no. You missed the point. He wasn't quoting a proverb as you know it - just emphasizing that GKS is indeed brilliant - knowledgeable in many things and knew each well.

We do not elect MP's for such things.
He is suppose to fight for our rights and not to say things like "if the PM say so it must be true."

change a rd name 2 his name la ....

shud actually removed all dose meaningless angmo names n localised dem ... can start wif oxley rd, 4 example ...

Maybe the inside the new Financial District at Marina Bay,

we can designate a 'Goh Keng Swee Square' or something more in line with his Economic Czar legacy?:rolleyes:

As for Jurong, well, better leave the limerick alone:
song song kow jurong
swee swee boh zao chwee :D

I will agree only if Tampines is renamed GMS Town too. And Hougang called Low Thia Kiang Town, PP Chiam See Tong Town.

But seriously, was Chiam making a tongue-in-cheek comment?

I don't think he is smart enough to make tongue-in-cheek comments .... but that comment very in his dept, his 'brainwaves' you know ..... dun pray pray, his children library at void deck idea was 'copied' by PAP okie, alas, his make M'sia our hinterland idea didn't work.... full of 'creative ideas' our ah chiam, veri likeable very chiam see tong....:cool:

Chee by lah. Chiam is proposing renaming jurong industrial estate after Dr Goh, not renaming the whole jurong. make such a big deal for what?
People in Chiam's generation are mostly engineer trained who genuinely respected Dr Goh for his vision and leadership during nation building. Renaming an industrial park after a man who built it is a fitting honour. I don't understand how you guys can suggest Chiam is doing this for his own gain.

I think there should be a Goh Keng Swee School Of Economics. There's a Lee Kuan Yew School Of Public Policy, isn't it?