• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

I am the only person who speaks in English whenever I walk around my neighbourhood

middaydog

Re: I am the only person who speaks in English whenever I walk around my neighbourhoo

I am the only Singaporean Chinese who speaks in English whenever I walk around my neighbourhood

I am also like you, only speak engrish wherever I go. My understanding of Chinese only limit to Tiu Gou Lei in Cantonese. But I have no problem speaking in engrlish to any uncle aunty hawkers either near my home or office, they understand me alright all the time.

May be we are in different kind of neighborhood.

Balllessme

Re: I am the only person who speaks in English whenever I walk around my neighbourhoo

Sure, there are many Malays, Indians etc who speak English. But I am the only Singaporean Chinese who speaks English around here.

The foreigners are ok. These older Singaporeans are absolutely disgusting and crooked to the core. You spent your whole life in Singapore and cannot take a simple order or read your bills?

Something is seriously wrong with you.

What do you expect? This older singaporeans bought Singapore to what the Goverfenment called - 1st class singapore... please remember your root.... Once your ancestor is from China oso....

My 1st time to use this----->:oIo:

Windsor

In a way, I tend to sympathise with the OP, and there are more and more hawker stalls that do not have anyone who understand simple English, nor any dialects. Most probably these are China-born workers, but they are hard workers. There is no one to blame except the government who allow such people to work here.

As not all Singaporeans speak dialects nor Mandarin, communication is at best using sign language. Unlike the old days, an Indian, Malay and Chinese all communicate with each other either in English or broken Malay, but at least they can have a conversation. Nowadays ordering food at hawker centres is a pain if you do not know Mandarin. Pity the Indians wanting to order Chinese food, I think they would rather go to the Malay stall, for there most Malays speaks English.

LonewolfAlfa

Lets make this clear.

It is not high brow. It is the basic language of your country. It is asking you to be literate to a 5 year old level. Being able to read your own address, phone bills and your country's constitution.

if u are sinkie, u would have said "our".

another stupid keling troll.

they are right, shoot the smelly keling 6 times and leave the snake alone.
kelings are worst than snakes.

KNNBCCB

if u are sinkie, u would have said "our".

another stupid keling troll.

they are right, shoot the smelly keling 6 times and leave the snake alone.
kelings are worst than snakes.

Q: You are trapped in a pit hole with a revolver, an Ah Neh and five poisonous snakes. What do you do?

A: Shoot the Ah Neh six times.

Maximilian Chua-Heng

mehmeh,

In this forum you don't need speak good English, you just need to write good English.

Q: You are trapped in a pit hole with a revolver, an Ah Neh and five poisonous snakes. What do you do?

A: Shoot the Ah Neh six times.

Not to mention to bash the shit skin just to make damn sure it's really dead after shooting it six times.

very funny...u so pertinent about speaking England..why have a nick called mehmeh?

go get a proper england sounding name...

sorry...i oso speak broken england but i get what i want from the uncles and aunties...and i sometimes get extra serving of food...

what is the point of lamenting no one understand u when u dun even bother to try understand the others on the ground? U are sounding like PAP...always want ppl to suit them but neber suit themselves to others.

is it very difficult to mix england with hokkien and chinese? wtf is wrong with our singlish? it makes us different isn't it? are we UK citizens and speak english?

language is used to communicate ideas so that ppl understand u...from what u say...no one in ur neighbourhood understand u...meaning, u failed in using this tool. U failed not them...

ppl like u in army will likely get blanket partied...:cool:

wikiphile

Then burn that damned body before you get infected. :p

and smash whats left of it into dust, no matter how remote the possibility, it still might rise up from the dead and just bite you for one last time - ah neh style :biggrin:

Balllessme

Nick should called as NehNeh55

Rimururu

and smash whats left of it into dust, no matter how remote the possibility, it still might rise up from the dead and just bite you for one last time - ah neh style :biggrin:
when finished, put it in an urn and use those strong Chinese seals to make sure it stays there permanently. :p

Don't throw the ashes into the sea, I don't want an ah neh fish n chips.

kingrant

I speak Queen's English or Old man's English at home, with friends, and socially; but I prefer to talk in dialects to old folks or Mandarin to younger people who I think can understand me.

Nothing shameful or embarrassing not being able to speak English, esp for older folks. Also, nothing "atas'" if you can. For the younger set, I am more demanding that they shld be able to speak proper English.

This nutcase TS is barking up the wrong tree. We have million dollar Ministers who can't speak good English either. Now that's the 8th sin.

mehmeh is the typical joker where he has constipation and he blamed the ground for being too hard...

Balls2U

I certainly don't speak the Queen's English. I order food in the simplest English possible.

"Char kway teow, takeway" "Iced tea".

Knowing Singapore and Singaporeans, certainly it is too much to expect them to be literate to a 5 year old's level. :rolleyes:

Singaporean culture is about how selfish, defensive and illiterate you can be. :wink:

Nothing can be done. Singaporeans are too stupid.

The term "char kway teow" doesn't exist in the English language. You should tell the old bloke, "Fried Rice Noodles, please!" Or if you want a plate of wanton mee, you'll have to say "Dumpling noodles". And how do you order "kway chap" in English? "Mixed innards with fat rice noodles"? Being a Sinkie, we can't help but using some of these dialect or Singlish terms at times. But that doesn't mean that our proficiency of the English language sucks! Time to change that elitist mindset of yours! What makes you think that English is a superior medium of communication as compared to Mandarin or any other language? Who determines the standard of comparison? If you can't get the message across to the other party effectively, your communication skills have failed miserably. So what if you have gained mastery of that potato language?

Time to change that elitist mindset of yours! What makes you think that English is a superior medium of communication as compared to Mandarin or any other language? Who determines the standard of comparison? If you can't get the message across to the other party effectively, your communication skills have failed miserably. So what if you have gained mastery of that potato language?

He is not an elite. Just pretending to be one. If he is the only person speaking English in his neighbourhood, need we say more?

In my neighbourhood, English, French, German, Italian, Latin, Mandarin etc commonly spoken. And I don't even consider myself an elite! I am just an ah beng. An ah beng who repects those not as fortunate as myself.

Balllessme

He is not an elite. Just pretending to be one. If he is the only person speaking English in his neighbourhood, need we say more?

In my neighbourhood, English, French, German, Italian, Latin, Mandarin etc commonly spoken. And I don't even consider myself an elite! I am just an ah beng. An ah beng who repects those not as fortunate as myself.

That is why I luv SBF..... A lot of ah bengs like me..... :p

wah where do u stay?

Btw you mentioned the bouncers in your NC need to tip the ladies if the customers don't do it?

That is why I luv SBF..... A lot of ah bengs like me..... :p

Most ah bengs I know are just simple chaps. More importantly, they are no frauds. And they don't go around houlian this and that. $100 tips very common. Hangflower one night also more than that "England Beng's" monthly salary.

mehmeh55

He is not an elite. Just pretending to be one. If he is the only person speaking English in his neighbourhood, need we say more? In my neighbourhood, English, French, German, Italian, Latin, Mandarin etc commonly spoken.

Latin is spoken? Nice neighbourhood. I guess no one told you that Latin is a dead language.

Aren't you supposed to be working 12 hour shifts in a factory for 600 yuan each month in Fujian province? So much time to post? :(

always want ppl to suit them but neber suit themselves to others.

Sounds like most people here and most Singaporeans I know. :wink:

please remember your root.... Once your ancestor is from China oso....

Then I realise... the power is now in the hand of CHINESE RACE .. why being a CHINESE must I act high class by speaking Engish ,instead of my own Dialect or Mandarin?

I think this thread just confirmed how hopelessly stupid, confused and crooked many Singaporeans are.

Not a week passes by without a Singaporean telling me he is Chinese so he should speak Chinese, remember his "roots".

How can you have roots in China when you were born in Singapore really perplexes me. Maybe they DHLed the roots over?

All this notwithstanding the fact that said Singaporean is not Chinese but Singaporean and the native language of his country is English. The laws, working language, language he was educated in is entirely in English.

According to groups of illiterate trashes, speaking/writing like how you were educated in Primary school is "high class" to them.

This "I am Chinese" mindset is so prevalent that Chinese is the main spoken language in Singapore. Terrible broken English the second. While plain normal English is only spoken by at most 10% of Singaporeans.

There is no difference between most Singaporean Chinese and Mainland Chinese in terms of language, culture and self identity anyway. I don't know why they complain about mainland immigrants. I have spoken to Mainland Chinese and they are 100% similar to Chinese speaking Singaporean Chinese anyway.

Speaking like how you were taught in Primary school is far out of reach of the masses. Just look at this thread, so many excuses and BS to justify plain illiteracy and trashiness.

Singapore is so messed up. There are gangsters roaming on all the streets shouting at people like mad men. In Singapore, if you get assaulted, people will never help you. The bar is so low that being literate to a 5 year old level is considered out of reach of the masses. Mass selfishness. Illiteracy. Defensiveness.

I don't know why I am here replying and feeding an obvious bunch of worthless lives anyway. Maybe too bored today. :rolleyes: