• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

I am the only person who speaks in English whenever I walk around my neighbourhood

Re: I am the only person who speaks in English whenever I walk around my neighbourhoo

If you are the only one in your neighborhood that speaks English something is very wrong at your neighborhood .
But I believe that is not possible since with so many FTs in Singapore . Most already speak a good level of English .

If you are the only one . Meaning you have not move UP or OUT . Since it makes you the exceptional one .

That's very possible, Sinkies don't speak english, the queen's english that is, Its some kind of pidgin english. Old Goat Lee Cunt You has been conning the whole world telling them that we are english speaking, but that's a big lie. We are no more english speaking than jamaica, Marnh.

Re: I am the only person who speaks in English whenever I walk around my neighbourhoo

At the most yaya on the internet only. :biggrin:

He must be a damn frustrated man who could have been jobless for months despite his 'england' power. Why take it out on others who may not have had the opportunity he had? He is not likely to succeed in life! Yes, you are right - yaya on internet only. Bo liao.

Why be so uptight over technicalities of language? As long as it serves the purpose of communication, it's useful. In Shakepeare's days, "you" was spelt and pronounced as "thou" etc. Go read up. Language is evolutionary, not stationary. Even in Chinese, the standard word for hotel has evolved from guesthouse 客栈 to wineshop 酒店。How does the word for wineshop becomes synonymous and standard to mean hotel, beats me.

Thick Face Black Heart

Why be so uptight over technicalities of language? As long as it serves the purpose of communication, it's useful. In Shakepeare's days, "you" was spelt and pronounced as "thou" etc. Go read up. Language is evolutionary, not stationary. Even in Chinese, the standard word for hotel has evolved from guesthouse 客栈 to wineshop 酒店。How does the word for wineshop becomes synonymous and standard to mean hotel, beats me.

The issue is that this chap is looking down on older Singaporeans because they cannot speak his high-brow lingo.

He should realize older generation sometimes lack opportunities in education due to poor govt planning. He should direct his anger at PRC foreigners instead and insist THEY speak queen's english.

mehmeh55

The issue is that this chap is looking down on older Singaporeans because they cannot speak his high-brow lingo.

He should realize older generation sometimes lack opportunities in education due to poor govt planning.

Lets make this clear.

It is not high brow. It is the basic language of your country. It is asking you to be literate to a 5 year old level. Being able to read your own address, phone bills and your country's constitution.

Speaking Mandarin is high brow. Speaking English is the basic language.

The older generation are illiterate not because they lack opportunities. If you have been alive for 50 over years you have had more than enough time to learn basic English and be literate to a 5 year old level.

If a Chinese can speak conversational English within 6 months in China, there is no excuse for a Singaporean who has lived in Singapore for over 50 years not being able to do it.

These people are crooked, lazy, stupid and plain useless.

No one is being uptight. All we ask is for them to be literate to a 5 year old level and use basic grammar so people can understand what they write/speak.

If you can't even get basic grammar right or speak to a five year old level, who can understand you?

The way many Singaporeans speak is like listening to a chicken being murdered. You can't wait to get out of hearing distance. Goosebumps and cringes.

I was just lamenting how I feel like I live in Chinatown these days.

Screwed-up character? I take it you haven't been out of your house before. People like me are mostly righteous and morally upright.

Take a good look at your nearby hawker centre and you would see what screwed-up illiterate gangster trash with not a single shred of moral, decency, courtesy in them look like. More crooked than crooked. They all have that look in their eyes if you look closely enough. Scientists call it the "look of illiteracy and gansterism". :wink:

Alternatively, just look in the mirror.

Your type of character reminds me of some characters I met when I ran a nightclub.

You walked into the nightclub well-attired. Nothing expensive on you - no Rolex, no Dunhill etc. You slang, slang your 'england' and my waiters got all excited, thinking you were a big-time customer and therefore good tipper. They showed you to the KTV room.

Next, they asked you what you would like, anticipating a bottle of Cordon Bleu. Your reply - a jug of beer, pleaseeeeeee. My waiter kena stunned. My waiter suspects you wanted something different after years of Cordon Bleu. A jug of beer was then brought to the KTV room.

Belatedly, you asked for the cost of the jug of beer. My waiter told you $35 plus room charge of $100 coz there was a minimum charge. Your face turned pale and in your power 'england', you slang here and there. My waiter thought you spoke French.

You then asked for the prettiest of hostesses after a mamasan was introduced to you. 5 SYTs entered the room. You selected all 5. Mamasan thought, ho say liao - 2nite got 'tua kek'. Before drinking, you told the girls not to touch the beer. You told them you don't like girls with bad breath after drinking beer.

Before you called for the bill, you boasted about your upbringing, education and profession. The girls were all mesmerised. After you paid up, all 5 gals and the mamasan waited for your tips.

Slowly but surely, you took out your fake LV wallet. Then you removed 6 pieces of $10 bills to tip the gals. They screamed at you and accused you of being a cheapo. $10 after asking them to strip and all the rabba rabba.

Bouncers were then called in. One look at you and they all knew you belonged to the 'chow ka' category. They then politely asked you to leave. When you left, the bouncers LL topped up your tips to $50 each gal from their own pocket.

If you are female, you must be one of those who see an ang mo is like seeing God. Quickly you will spread your legs up.

Lets make this clear.

It is not high brow. It is the basic language of your country. It is asking you to be literate to a 5 year old level. Being able to read your own address, phone bills and your country's constitution.

Speaking Mandarin is high brow. Speaking English is the basic language.

The older generation are illiterate not because they lack opportunities. If you have been alive for 50 over years you have had more than enough time to learn basic English and be literate to a 5 year old level.

If a Chinese can speak conversational English within 6 months in China, there is no excuse for a Singaporean who has lived in Singapore for over 50 years not being able to do it.

These people are crooked, lazy, stupid and plain useless.

No one is being uptight. All we ask is for them to be literate to a 5 year old level and use basic grammar so people can understand what they write/speak.

If you can't even get basic grammar right or speak to a five year old level, who can understand you?

The way many Singaporeans speak is like listening to a chicken being murdered. You can't wait to get out of hearing distance. Goosebumps and cringes.

Go find a job to keep your sanity. Good 'england' doesn't mean good jobs awaiting. I think you make a great delivery man.

I think Thick Face Black Heart has answered the question. These people didn't have the opportunity to learn and are now spending all their waking hours struggling to make ends meet. What grammar? As long as they can get a few words right in context, I'd be grateful. In fact, as I've mentioned, I don't mind using their language with them since I can to certain extent.

Singlish lacks a recognised dignity because it's unoffically recognised with a written script. Truth is, much of Malay, Thai and Japanese are Malayish, Thaish and Japlish but dignified with official status, entry into local dictionaries in writing. Furthermore, with the official adoption of loan words, the local grammar is preserved.

Thick Face Black Heart

Your type of character reminds me of some characters I met when I ran a nightclub.

You walked into the nightclub well-attired. Nothing expensive on you - no Rolex, no Dunhill etc. You slang, slang your 'england' and my waiters got all excited, thinking you were a big-time customer and therefore good tipper. They showed you to the KTV room.

Bro goldendragon,

This is a very good story. I've seen people like this before too. All hot air, full of themselves, think they are cream of the crop, but when lights turn on ... nothing but petty, cheapskate poo-poo's who don't even know proper decorum in social situations.

Bro goldendragon,

This is a very good story. I've seen people like this before too. All hot air, full of themselves, think they are cream of the crop, but when lights turn on ... nothing but petty, cheapskate poo-poo's who don't even know proper decorum in social situations.

Thank you, bro TFBH.

When we nightclub owners met up in the past, we would always curse these customers. Sometimes we even joke it is better to give these chaps ang pow $100 and get him off our premises. These people bring bad luck!

When I visit RWS, knna, I also see these characters around. Very well-dressed, orders beer, monitors the game, makes silly comments, behave like a big roller etc. When place bet, $50 agter asking the croupier and all else to wait while he carefully considers whether banker or player.

The opposite also happens. Quiet, quiet they stand behind you. When bets are placed, wtf $5k without a whisper. Lose or win, just walked off like nothing took place. No action type, unlike some people in this forum.

mehmeh55

Next, they asked you what you would like, anticipating a bottle of Cordon Bleu. Your reply - a jug of beer, pleaseeeeeee. My waiter kena stunned. My waiter suspects you wanted something different after years of Cordon Bleu. A jug of beer was then brought to the KTV room.

Belatedly, you asked for the cost of the jug of beer. My waiter told you $35 plus room charge of $100 coz there was a minimum charge. Your face turned pale and in your power 'england', you slang here and there. My waiter thought you spoke French.

You then asked for the prettiest of hostesses after a mamasan was introduced to you. 5 SYTs entered the room. You selected all 5. Mamasan thought, ho say liao - 2nite got 'tua kek'. Before drinking, you told the girls not to touch the beer. You told them you don't like girls with bad breath after drinking beer.

Before you called for the bill, you boasted about your upbringing, education and profession. The girls were all mesmerised. After you paid up, all 5 gals and the mamasan waited for your tips.

Slowly but surely, you took out your fake LV wallet. Then you removed 6 pieces of $10 bills to tip the gals. They screamed at you and accused you of being a cheapo. $10 after asking them to strip and all the rabba rabba.

Bouncers were then called in. One look at you and they all knew you belonged to the 'chow ka' category. They then politely asked you to leave. When you left, the bouncers LL topped up your tips to $50 each gal from their own pocket.

If you are female, you must be one of those who see an ang mo is like seeing God. Quickly you will spread your legs up.

What a stupid nonsensical story written in terrible pidgin English and Hokkien. The entire story just screams of stupidity and immaturity.

Typical train of thought of a face-wanting, lowly educated, low wage, crooked, worthless, trash. The nick "Goldendragon" confirms it all. :rolleyes:

spotter542

I am the only person who speaks in English whenever I walk around my neighbourhoo

What a stupid nonsensical story written in terrible pidgin English and Hokkien. The entire story just screams of stupidity and immaturity.

Typical train of thought of a face-wanting, lowly educated, low wage, crooked, worthless, trash. The nick "Goldendragon" confirms it all. :rolleyes:

Go f**k yourself.
Being the only person in your neighbourhood to speak English doesn't make your dick any longer.
At the very least gangsters or local Bengs are not as hypocritical as you.
What ? Wanna be a white trash ?
Go bleach your skin then.

Thank you. For once, I agree with you.

Go f**k yourself.
Being the only person in your neighbourhood to speak English doesn't make your dick any longer.
At the very least gangsters or local Bengs are not as hypocritical as you.
What ? Wanna be a white trash ?
Go bleach your skin then.

spotter542:

Bro, go easy on him. He is a confused chap. He isn't sure himself if he is orang china or orang putih. Also, he appears to have an inferiority complex.

I really pity all his past and present subordinates, if any. But if you are his boss, you can bet your dear life he will carry and powder your balls. We spot lots of these characters in the SAF. They haven't witnessed a big snake shitting but behaves and think they know evrything from A to Z.

Have pity on him, ok? Very pitiful.

I realised that when I am in office attire, coffeeshop auntie, ciggarette seller, and even geylang chicken etc will speal English to me. When Im in shorts and slippers, it becomes either mandarin or hokkien. :biggrin:

sylvester134

In the early 90s , I scare people think I uneducated, so when I talk to any strangers, even if he/she is Chinese I will converse in English.

When I went to East and West Malaysia and CHINA Shantou , I found out that in Malaysia ,the CHINESE TOWKAYS (1000 time richer than Singapore Long Sleeve Neck Tie Workers) speak 80% Dialects and 10% Mandarin and 10% English and in China, the young Towkays ,usually around 30yrs old or younger speaks 90% Teowchew or 10% Mandarin and some are doing better than most Singaporeans..

Then I realise... the power is now in the hand of CHINESE RACE .. why being a CHINESE must I act high class by speaking Engish ,instead of my own Dialect or Mandarin?

Now, when I approached by Chinese stranger on the street, I will 1st use TEOCHEW, then if he/she is not TEOCHEW, I speak MANDARIN, if this CHINESE can't understand at least MANDARIN , I will give him/her 1 kind of look " Chinese don't know Mandarin? XIA SUAY" kind of look and speak to him in English.

At the Bank Counters, Fast Food Restaurant, RC , Community Centres, if that assistant or cashier is Chinese , I will use MANDARIN.

I use English only to other Races.

Chinese don't speak Chinese to Chinese? Throw Chinese Race's Face.

KAOPEHKAOBU.CO.CC

speak english very high class is it?

KNNBCCB

i rather preserve the chinese dialects in sinkiland.

Tiu Nei Lou Mou CCB Kao Pei Kao Bu

All it took is one man and 51 years to convince Singaporeans of South China that Mandarin was their mother tongue while dialect should be banned in all formal and informal communication including the arts, culture etc.

He also convinced Singaporeans to learn and speak a lower standard of English and focus on 2 language subjects and mastering none.

At the end of the day only the elite school students can string a piece of grammatically correct sentence while others speak a bastardised version of English and Mandarin.

It took 4 generations of Singaporeans under the British to achieve a standard of English which put us on the world map and one generation under PAP to lower it.

Then on National Day, the blur fuck Singaporean after listening to old man, cannot help but admire his high standard of English.

We now have kids who can't speak their mother tongue and erroneously consider Mandarin their mother tongue.

What a confused society.

Wow is it true? Whenever a customer cannot tip a girl sufficiently the bouncers have to tip the girls? :eek:

Like this be bouncer very poor thing.