• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

I am an unwed mother

TeeKee

It is a tough road that they made their own bed on (literally) so although we should, on a personal basis help her, society should as a whole be kept out of the picture.

i dun think she should be penalized for making a big mistake like this..

we should forgive and not pick on her....being a single mom...

why, because

1. she is a taxpayer too.
2. it's harder for a single mom to raise kids than a normal family.

do you want her child to feel excluded and grow up abnormal and becomes a burden to society?

where is your basic humanity?

i still do not support or promote single parenthood....

i dun think she should be penalized for making a big mistake like this..

we should forgive and not pick on her....being a single mom...

why, because

1. she is a taxpayer too.
2. it's harder for a single mom to raise kids than a normal family.

do you want her child to feel excluded and grow up abnormal and becomes a burden to society?

where is your basic humanity?

i still do not support or promote single parenthood....

ooi jesus-siow,

what is yr god's standing on unwed mum?? can or cannot? need to go to hell??

potato29

Equal rights given to a single parent? I am not against her having a kid but as she made the very personal choice to have the baby and this is despite knowing that the baby will never have a normal family life. I am asking her to take a life. Its entirely up to her, whether she puts up the baby for adoption or grit her teeth and shoulder it on in life.

What she is asking for will only open the floodgates that will make the country worse that it is now. She chose to have the baby, no one asked her to give birth to the baby, certainly the baby didn't ask to be born too. Its her personal choice after all to have the baby.

Look what "first" country US has done. Their support towards single moms only made the country worse because girls know they can do it and count on the government, look at how one woman gave birth to 8 children in the states and she isn't even married. A man can stay single and a woman too but a kid will have extreme difficulty growing up without either of the parents.

Folks up in their ivory towers already don't give two hoots about those genuinely in need, much less these single parents. I remembered my lecturer's past law lecture notes about the law not helping stupid people. As i said, my sympathies are for her but society should not be made to suffer and to pay for her mistakes.

If they are given equal rights/subsidies that are paid by the government using what else but tax payers monies, this will be a continual and exponential burden that will increase over the years.

It is a bad example to the traditional values of family and marriage and ultimately encourage them to have more of these children out of wedlock, levying an unnecessary burden upon our already drying up sources of money in Singapore. The money has to come from somewhere, more GST, doubling of town council fees, transport/fuel hikes or even CPF collection at 100 years of age, anyone?

Unfortunately, once you put "equal" rights to the equation, to many, its a green light for pushing responsibility to the government and an implicit nod of approval to their actions. Many will take that as an ok to be "responsible".

It is a tough road that they made their own bed on (literally) so although we should, on a personal basis help her, society should as a whole be kept out of the picture.

i don't think single women will see the support as reward to have children.

TeeKee

ermm..

how about fuck you jesus christ?? i dun need your forgiveness cos u dun exist??:biggrin:

then you enjoy hell lor...

hope your stay is pleasant over there...

but watch out for SATAN, he's always horny......:biggrin:

pia

i don't think single women will see the support as reward to have children.

What she wants is support for NEEDY single women.

Baby bonus is incentives for having babies. Nobody would give incentives for single women to have babies.

So, sympathisers should be pushing for a support fund for these needy single mums...cal it by any name..... and there's no point in berating them that they deserve it, and should bear the "punishment".. the chldren are innocent. Peace :smile:

we have been con by denmark tourism board

this is their idea of advert to promote tourism

say what you like about singapore merlion spraying water in japanese advert, it was like 10 times better than this denmark one.

Danish actress Ditte Arnth Jorgensen played the role of single mother

A video promoting tourism in Denmark has been removed from YouTube after complaints it promoted promiscuity.

The three-minute clip shows a young blonde woman, trying to find a man whom she had a one night stand with, who fathered her child "August".

VisitDenmark's manager, Dorte Kiilerich said the film was supposed to be a "nice and sweet story of a woman".

But Denmark's Economy Minister, Lene Espersen, said it "was not a very well-thought-out picture of the country".

In the advert, the woman says - in English - that she was "trying to find August's father".

"We met one night a year and a half ago when you were on vacation here in Denmark.

"We met... and then decided to have a drink and, yeah, it's really embarrassing but it's more or less what I remember.

"I don't remember where you're from or even your name."

'Tasteless'

Critics says the video implied that along with traditional tourism, Denmark was a place to go to have unprotected sex with strangers.

One Danish newspaper, Ekstra Bladet, labelled it "grotesque" and a "waste of taxpayers' money".

The video also prompted a slew of angry comments, with one user saying it was a "tasteless, tactless way of attracting attention".

Ms Kiilerich said she regretted any offence the video may have caused, but the intent had been to tell "a nice and sweet story about a grown-up woman who lives in a free society and accepts the consequences of her actions".

The YouTube clip received more than 800,000 hits and although the official video has been removed, copies have been spreading across YouTube.

It has also spawned numerous parodies, with men from across the world saying they were "not bimbos" and trying to find the mother of their child.

Was Denmark right to pull the video? What is the best way to promote a country? You can send us your views using the form below.

A selection of your comments may be published, displaying your name and location unless you state otherwise in the box below.

Miss Peck might be like this Danish women,
does not know the identity of the baby's father,
after a night out at Clarke Quay
and a one-night stand with a ang moh.
So pls don't blame her.

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/S-SSHxGGpjM&hl=en&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/S-SSHxGGpjM&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

Written by Liz Shannon Miller
Posted Monday, September 14, 2009 at 1:48 PM PT

Viral Campaign Fail: Mother’s Paternity Quest Sells Denmark As One-Night Stand Hot Spot

Read, watch, review and rate Danish Mother Hoax »

Editor rating:

Website for this show »

* Premiere: September 8, 2009
* Length: 2:30
* Budget: Medium

Cast

* Karen: Ditte Arnth Jorgensen

Crew

* VisitDenmark CEO: Dorte Kiilerich

So my fake viral radar’s gotten pretty good over the past few years, but every once in a while I get fooled, just like everyone else. On Saturday, I was one of the thousands of people who watched Karen, a 27-year-old Danish woman, ask the world for help tracking down the father of her baby son August, whom she said had been conceived during a drunken one-night stand. The man, whose name she claimed not to remember due to the amount of alcohol they’d consumed that night, was a tourist who’d disappeared the following morning, and she simply wanted to let him know that he had a son for his “and August’s sake.”

Sure it sounds a little fishy, but it’s a big, strange world out there and the story had the potential to be a real Web 2.0 fairy tale, which I’m just enough of a romantic to buy into. In addition, I also believed it was real — or at the very least unconnected to an advertising campaign — on the grounds that someone thinking a potential paternity suit was a good marketing device was an idea too stupid to contemplate.

Does that make me or the folks at VisitDenmark.com the bigger fool? No clue. But the fact remains that Mashable, via the Danish newspaper Ekstra Bladet, revealed the video to be a hoax perpetrated by the Danish government in order to sell the country as a tourist destination to the web community. Karen was played by the actress Ditte Arnth Jorgensen (known as Ditte Arnth on IMDB), and baby August is not hers.

Since the reveal of the hoax, both the original video and the fake site, featuring photos of “Karen” with “August,” have been taken offline, but despite the public backlash, those responsible for the ad are standing by it. VisitDenmark CEO Dorte Kiilerich told the Danish newspaper Politiken:

Karen’s story shows that Denmark is a broad-minded country where you can do what you want. The film is a good example of independent, dignified, Danish women who dare to make their own choices…We tell a good and sweet story about a mature, responsible woman who lives in a free society and shoulders the responsibility of her actions. And she uses a modern social medium.

And the advertising agency Grey Group, which created the spot, claims it’s a major success, citing 1.9 million Google searches and 773,000 YouTube viewings. Of course, that’s before the video was taken down, for reasons that haven’t yet been admitted — my theory is that VisitDenmark didn’t believe the hoax would be uncovered so quickly, and thus had no contingency plan in place. (A cautionary tale for all you viral marketers out there.)

Kiilerich’s comments try to contextualize this video as being a flattering portrait of Danish women, which is an assessment that I’ll leave to Danish women to confirm (in the interest of fairness, Googling confirms that Dorte Kiilerich is a woman, or at least a woman’s name). But I really wish that Don Draper wasn’t a fictional character, because I’d love to know what he thought of this.

Advertising is supposed to sell an idea, a concept, an experience. But when you get down to brass tacks, the experience being promoted by this campaign is that of drunken, unprotected sex with women who won’t remember your name the next day. And anyone who really craves that kind of good time doesn’t need to venture internationally for it.

i nearly fall for the con, one night stand hot spot, nearly book a holiday to denmark. how could i fall for it, the only strange thing i saw, was the baby eyes, when he drink milk, he stared at the mother, normally they close their eyes, because they feel comfortable, he stared at her, because he feel insecured in her arms.

i fail the Sherlock holmes test

Danish girls not so easy: tourism bosses
MXSeptember 17, 2009 08:28am+-PrintEmailShare
DANISH tourism bosses have been forced to apologise over a campaign to lure men to the country with the promise that its women are easy.
Marketing bosses posted a video on YouTube in which a beautiful blonde said she was looking for her child's father.

The fake yummy mummy claimed her little boy August was the result of boozy one-night stand with a stranger in the capital Copenhagen after she introduced him to the Danish custom of "cosiness".

She then pleads with the mystery man whose name she can't remember to get in touch, with photos of the mum and her son also put up on the site.

The clip, which appeared to be shot on a video camera in the woman's living room, attracted more than a million hits.

But it sparked nationwide fury after it emerged that it was all a set-up and was designed to attract more male tourists to Denmark.

"We met one and half years ago when you were on vacation here. We went back to my house and we ended up having sex," the woman says in the clip.

"The next morning when I woke up, you were gone. I just want to let you know that August is here and he exists. I feel I owe that to both you and him."

The revelation the clip was a hoax caused outrage across the country, with one newspaper labelling the stunt "grotesque".

Visit Denmark tried to defend its actions, saying it was a "good and sweet story about a mature, responsible woman who lives in a free society and shoulders the responsibility of her actions".

But the clip of actor Ditte Arnth Jorgensen was pulled.

"We deeply apologise that the film has offended a lot of people, that certainly wasn't the idea," CEO Dorte Kiilerich said.

Danish girls not so easy: tourism bosses
MXSeptember 17, 2009 08:28

"We deeply apologise that the film has offended a lot of people, that certainly wasn't the idea," CEO Dorte Kiilerich said.

for a brief moment, i tot tsr111 came back to post..:biggrin:

angry_one

I for one, am for the govt supporting unwed mothers and equal benefits.

Why? It's an even more efficient way to boost birth rate. For a normal family, 2 parents produce one child at a replacement rate of 2:1. For a single parent it's 1:1. I'd rather have more true sinkees here than stinking foreigners who are meant to replace them.

Besides it's a personal choice and there should be no discrimination against them. Some are also victims of circumstances.

soIsee

I for one, am for the govt supporting unwed mothers and equal benefits.

Why? It's an even more efficient way to boost birth rate. For a normal family, 2 parents produce one child at a replacement rate of 2:1. For a single parent it's 1:1. I'd rather have more true sinkees here than stinking foreigners who are meant to replace them.

Besides it's a personal choice and there should be no discrimination against them. Some are also victims of circumstances.

Until now you still have not woken up!

The govt don't want and don't need unwed mothers or SPGs to boost birth rate..THEY have the FTs!:p

i dun really like the idea of getting SPG to boost singapore population. it actually open up a can of worms.

I find it amazing that she is saying so much only 1 month after giving birth.
She should wait at least 1 year.