• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

HK airport protests: PHOTOS

Wunderfool

PAP will tell you Swiss standard of living and your asset will be enhanced. No worries :biggrin:

Singapore has done better than Hong Kong in providing affordable public housing to the masses. If the government has followed Hong Kong's model by selling land to private developers instead of releasing land to meet rising public housing demand, we will be in big trouble today.

greedy and cunning

If China intervenes, it will be bloody. China knows that there cannot be a repeat of Tiananmen. Not anymore...and definitely not in Hong Kong. The world is watching how China will respond.

I hope the Hong Kong Leaders will come out to speak to the protesters and resolve to help them find solutions to their grievances. Protesters must understand that Hong Kong is now "one country, 2 systems" ... not one Hong Kong. The Hong Kong Leaders , however, should ensure that the Hong Kong system is on par with the other system, not inferior. There is the best way forward for Hong Kong.

as if china care about other countries opinions and judgement. :laugh:

Wunderfool

Maggie Chung, a 32-year-old accountant who attended a protest rally on Sunday, said that she planned to join the strike even though she had not yet passed the probationary period of her new job. “If I lose my job, I can find another one,” she said. “But if Hong Kong is lost, it’s gone forever.”

I don't think she even knows that Hong Kong is already lost since 1997. Accept the fact and move on... welcome your new master and make the best of the changed circumstances.

It is useless to use an egg to throw at a solid rock.

Wunderfool

as if china care about other countries opinions and judgement. :laugh:
True..but China will have to tread carefully if US were to intervene. They are still at trade war with each other... US will use the violation of human rights as the lever for the trade negotiation on top of their alleged accusations of China insistence on forced technology transfer from US company operating in China, their state subsidy to their own SOE and intellectual theft.

greedy and cunning

KNN hongkies know 2 things that sinkie doesn't KNN
1. only bloodsheds and violent can solve political disgreements.
2. only start a protest when the number of protestors count far exceed the prisons and remand centres space KNN

you must be brain dead if you are not aware that ALL the protectors are young punks
who dont know anything , but following instructions.

Wunderfool

Well, Hong Kong 's loss is Singapore 's gain. It is evident in the last few months, our luxury property market has benefited from the influx of wealthy HongKongers investment.

Nonetheless, I hope none of our leaders should say this openly .. unless of course we want our Terrex to be confiscated by Hong Kong again.

Wunderfool

HONG KONG: Violent protests are driving Hong Kong down a "path of no return", the city's leader warned on Tuesday (Aug 13) as its airport struggled to recover from an unprecedented shutdown triggered by a rally and authorities in Beijing sent more ominous signals that the unrest must end.
"Violence, no matter if it's using violence or condoning violence, will push Hong Kong down a path of no return, will plunge Hong Kong society into a very worrying and dangerous situation," Lam said during a press conference.

"The situation in Hong Kong in the past week has made me very worried that we have reached this dangerous situation," she added.

As she spoke to reporters, her voice cracking with emotion at one point, Hong Kong's Hang Seng index fell by more than 1 per cent to its lowest level since Jan 4. The index was down around 1.5 per cent soon after.
She said violence by protesters had pushed Hong Kong into "a state of panic and chaos".
"Hong Kong, as an open, free, very tolerant, economically stable city will see severe wounds ... The recovery may take a long time," she said.

Read more at https://www.channelnewsasia.com/new...ests-carrie-lam-police-violence-path-11804274

What she is saying portends troubling news if the demonstration in Hong Kong were to continue unabated... word like "severe wounds " ... " recover may take a long time " ... " the path of no return ". It is as though she is foretelling that the China Central Government will send it their army and quell the Hong Kong protesters by force. There is nothing she can do about.

HONG KONG: Violent protests are driving Hong Kong down a "path of no return", the city's leader warned on Tuesday (Aug 13) as its airport struggled to recover from an unprecedented shutdown triggered by a rally and authorities in Beijing sent more ominous signals that the unrest must end.
"Violence, no matter if it's using violence or condoning violence, will push Hong Kong down a path of no return, will plunge Hong Kong society into a very worrying and dangerous situation," Lam said during a press conference.

"The situation in Hong Kong in the past week has made me very worried that we have reached this dangerous situation," she added.

As she spoke to reporters, her voice cracking with emotion at one point, Hong Kong's Hang Seng index fell by more than 1 per cent to its lowest level since Jan 4. The index was down around 1.5 per cent soon after.
She said violence by protesters had pushed Hong Kong into "a state of panic and chaos".
"Hong Kong, as an open, free, very tolerant, economically stable city will see severe wounds ... The recovery may take a long time," she said.

Read more at https://www.channelnewsasia.com/new...ests-carrie-lam-police-violence-path-11804274

What she is saying portends troubling news if the demonstration in Hong Kong were to continue unabated... word like "severe wounds " ... " recover may take a long time " ... " the path of no return ". It is as though she is foretelling that the China Central Government will send it their army and quell the Hong Kong protesters by force. There is nothing she can do about.
Still ok lah 1.5% nia. No 20% No scared. Can protest somemore for another 10 weeks :biggrin:

Wunderfool

Lam also dodged a question on whether she had the power to end the crisis by granting one of the key demands of the protesters: To fully withdraw a now-suspended Bill that would allow extraditions to mainland China.
Pressed on whether her hands were tied by Beijing on the issue, she demurred, insisting the question had been answered in the past.
"I again ask everyone to put aside your differences and calm down.
"Take a minute to think, look at our city, our home – do you all really want to see it pushed into an abyss?" Lam added, appearing on the verge of tears.

Carrie Lam is in a very tight situation. All she can say to the Hong Kong people is

人在江湖,身不由己

Lam also dodged a question on whether she had the power to end the crisis by granting one of the key demands of the protesters: To fully withdraw a now-suspended Bill that would allow extraditions to mainland China.
Pressed on whether her hands were tied by Beijing on the issue, she demurred, insisting the question had been answered in the past.
"I again ask everyone to put aside your differences and calm down.
"Take a minute to think, look at our city, our home – do you all really want to see it pushed into an abyss?" Lam added, appearing on the verge of tears.

Carrie Lam is in a very tight situation. All she can say to the Hong Kong people is

人在江湖,身不由己
Want to take advantage of the benefit of China as hinterland and not willing to follow the same rule... Lol :biggrin: