• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Highly qualified risk manager who earns $11K replaced by FTrash

b. sg offers great connected broadband to your home. leverage it to expand your knowledge from multiple sources: wikipedia, resource blogs, expert sites, etc. there are tons of detailed and expert knowledge out there, and they are made available on the web. for example, you can learn everything about bidet plumbing or making a pipe bomb. don't just depend on learning from school, and stop surfing porn altogether.

Most will use this fantastic broadband connection to complain to the whole world how unfair life is and how it is all the fault of the PAP. :rolleyes:

They'll spend the rest of the day feeling sorry for themselves and a restless night worrying about the future.

They wake up the next day to repeat the process.

Thanks to them, sammyboy.com has managed to keep going for more than a decade and counting. :D

Most will use this fantastic broadband connection to complain to the whole world how unfair life is and how it is all the fault of the PAP. :rolleyes:

They'll spend the rest of the day feeling sorry for themselves and a restless night worrying about the future.

They wake up the next day to repeat the process.

Thanks to them, sammyboy.com has managed to keep going for more than a decade and counting. :D

That's a good one. Great insight.
Fools get sucked into this stupid cycle.

only local companies think ang moh is best. In this case the employer Japan company has no hesitation to hire their own....over a local. I bet also the pay is higher too. if only local companies start taking care of own kind too

figured that out when i was 16, after reading classified ads on st everyday besides looking at the cartoon section. started reading st at 8. the starting pay has not changed much over 20 years, not counting the 8 years between my ages of 8 and 16. as soon as my full time ns liability was over, headed out for good and told myself "this shithole will have the same starting pay and exhibit the same hiring patterns in 2000," and i was right. sg has always been an employer-is-king paradise for businesses. it's 2012, and i'm still right. come 2020, and i'll still be right. if there are decades old pattern of wage abuse, do something about it. buy low, sell high, cash out and do not be held hostage by someone who you allege have been abusing you. and stop complaining about it.

the more CPF you have, the harder it is for people to want to leave.

Strange it was the other way round for me. The more CPF I had, the more I incentives I had to leave. There is no loss of mobility if you cash out. You can still go in and out anytime.

muahahaha! it's a perpetual cycle like clockwork. sbf will span many sinkie generations at this rate. :eek:

not to mention free education in the form of scholarshit.
Getting a good job is all about getting the right connections.U all can see many sons and daughters of ministers allotted to positions in Govt Ministries, Stat Boards,GLCs...etc They are born with golden spoons in the mouths.Death is the only equal leveller.

Risk managers, like jobs in IT, are amongst the high-risk occupations for local Singaporeans. It is a very quantitative area of specialization and countries with a critical mass of people who are good at maths will excel in this area, e.g. India and China. Many banks already have their risk-management functions outsourced overseas. Many retrenched risk managers from the US and Europe are also looking for jobs in Asia.

The low risk group of occupations for Singaporeans is in banking sales (e.g. bank relationship managers) where local dialects and sinkie-sounding english are often spoken for the local market. In these jobs, no foreigner will be able to take the jobs away from Singaporeans. Reason being ...... foreigners are not inclined to learn how to speak sinkie-sounding english .....

Getting a good job is all about getting the right connections.U all can see many sons and daughters of ministers allotted to positions in Govt Ministries, Stat Boards,GLCs...etc They are born with golden spoons in the mouths.Death is the only equal leveller.

That's the age old excuse losers use for achieving nothing in their lives. Many Singaporeans with humble backgrounds and no connections whatsoever have become very successful in their own right.

figured that out when i was 16, after reading classified ads on st everyday besides looking at the cartoon section. started reading st at 8. the starting pay has not changed much over 20 years, not counting the 8 years between my ages of 8 and 16. as soon as my full time ns liability was over, headed out for good and told myself "this shithole will have the same starting pay and exhibit the same hiring patterns in 2000," and i was right. sg has always been an employer-is-king paradise for businesses. it's 2012, and i'm still right. come 2020, and i'll still be right. if there are decades old pattern of wage abuse, do something about it. buy low, sell high, cash out and do not be held hostage by someone who you allege have been abusing you. and stop complaining about it.

i often heard those dogs barking : innovative , progressive , the best , first class
when describing the policy and action of their master.

you mean pay and hiring system is deliberately being ignored and controlled all this while ?
you got you fact right ?

you mean pay and hiring system is deliberately being ignored and controlled all this while ?
you got you fact right ?

for the private sector, advertisement for a starting engineer with a degree back in 1986 was sgd1500, a few hundred better than an engineer with a diploma. for the public sector, depending on gov department or stat board, a starting engineer job was much better at sgd2k to sgd2.4k. for diploma holders, many joined as air force techs as starting pay then was over sgd2.4k, better than degree holders at desk jobs. the best paying jobs for non degree holders are in mindef for certain vocations. it's no mystery that the air force attracts many diploma holders, and signal attracts many o and a level holders. at wo, some of them earn sgd5k and above.

the private sector has been the beast when it comes to wage abuse. the business and glc and mnc lobbies are powerful, and heavy influence tied to sg inc. what's the starting pay of an engineer now? last year when i checked, it was around sgd1500 for a degree holder. also consider ppp when foreign exchange is taken into account, esecially usd. it was about usd1 to sgd2.1 in 80, usd1 to sgd1.74 in 90, and usd1 to sgd1.3 in 2012.

If he's a talented risk manager, he can easily get a job in any Western Nation. They'll welcome him with open arms.

The problem is his spoken English sucks. Hence, he can't compete in the global job market. He can only complain & reflect how good life was in the past. Most complainers only daydream about the past.

The low risk group of occupations for Singaporeans is in banking sales (e.g. bank relationship managers) where local dialects and sinkie-sounding english are often spoken for the local market. In these jobs, no foreigner will be able to take the jobs away from Singaporeans. Reason being ...... foreigners are not inclined to learn how to speak sinkie-sounding english .....

Another low risk group is driving taxis.....

I am not concerned with those who earn so much, surely they are smart enough to sort things out

I am more concerned about those who make $1,100 not $11,000

good point..but the pap is not bothered abt SG workers. so not point you worrying for these people. look at the big picture...the only way is to vote against the pap.

I am not concerned with those who earn so much, surely they are smart enough to sort things out

I am more concerned about those who make $1,100 not $11,000

Clap clap clap.................Who care about them!
Those earning less than $1500 is the one need help.

There is no way a Singaporean can compete with a native English speaker in an interview conducted in English with all things equal unless the boss doing the interview is a Singaporean.

We all know how badly the language has deteriorated within the school system.

I have never seen a country that has opened its doors as wide as Singapore has. I have seen underqualified and underperfoming characters and they come from the UK, Australia, US and Europe. These guys go for the well paid jobs while the PRC and the Indians go in where the pay has already been undercut.

I once told this story about a recent review of an International Bank where the review by its own consultants found that Vice Presidents who were all angmos were doing the work that was meant for lower grades. They have since been retrenched and the work given to India. The consultants found this in Singapore only.

there are lots of young expats renting in my block. every time i see one of them in the lift, i have to wonder - what sort of jobs are these young punks doings that singaporeans cant do? they are in their late 20s early 30s and its mind boggling how many of them are here

the private sector has been the beast when it comes to wage abuse. the business and glc and mnc lobbies are powerful, and heavy influence tied to sg inc. what's the starting pay of an engineer now? last year when i checked, it was around sgd1500 for a degree holder. also consider ppp when foreign exchange is taken into account, esecially usd. it was about usd1 to sgd2.1 in 80, usd1 to sgd1.74 in 90, and usd1 to sgd1.3 in 2012.

A most astute observation, male sibling! It appears the MAS is not alone in its crusade to rein in inflation in Peasantpore. Only a prudent and forward looking government can formulate such an elaborate web of intrigue against the peasantry!

Many retrenched risk managers from the US and Europe are also looking for jobs in Asia.

Very sensible reply. Unfortunately, Singaporean finance executives face stiff competition from the 130,000 European / American bankers retrenched since the Financial Crisis. Many of these are prepared to come to Singapore on non-expat terms, making the market much more competitive.

That's where you are wrong. Opposition will do the same thing n even worst. WP is already an affiliate of the govt. It's so obvious by now

If what you claim is true then the credit must go to the PAP for suppressing wages:rolleyes:
For donkey years the PAP's mantra was to tell workers not to expect high wage increments.

Of course this didn't apply to the PAP leadership as they are world class. As a world class leaders they deserve to be paid higher than the president of the USA:rolleyes: