hi, thanks for all the advice and diff point of views.
yes, I know she loves me. and i do not think money is a big concern for us to live like an average family. but of cos, i cannot match up to those big earners in singapore, and it would crazy to even try. There are 35 yo on 300k pa - how to compare?
how much is enough anyway? we do not have to worry about putting food on the table, or paying bills. we can genuinely feel happy for friends who are getting married, and go for their wedding dinners, without feeling the pinch of the angpow... (weird that I bring this up, you cannot believe the no of complains I hear about red bombs)
but of cos, we are just regular working people, middle class who lived simply (this is something I insisted, the living simply). But i guess human likes to compare, and I guess it is not necessarily a bad thing. Taken correctly, it is a motivation to improve ones' lot. at least, you know the possibilities.
as for being a wimp, i am not sure, i guess i am in certain aspect. but thru my own analysis, it is prob ingrained in my personality. I tried to "man up" so to speak, but it is very difficult - I end up more stressed. so, if the issue does not have a big impact on me, i usu prefer to let it slide. only exception : my family, esp my son and my professional integrity. Maybe that is the training from my mom, I have never met a more self-sacrificing person.
Of cos, i can only write from my point of view, and it will never be totally unbiased. so whether there are other things that I am doing that irritate the hell out of my wife, prob there is, what i can think of:
1. taking out the trash only before i go to bed, ie. late at nite - she is worried about my leaving the gate unlocked.
2. my entertainment of clients, which is very seldom - cos it is always ktv and orchard towers, and she thinks it is low class
3. my working weekends which is not often
4. my inability to take time off work when she is clearing leave
5. my forgetfulness, but i am trying my best on this one already - ok, i lost my house keys twice...
6. my unwillingness to indulge, not to mistake with kiam siap. I kiam only on myself, not with family. eg, Her mother and grandmother CNY angpow is 4 digit hor...
Give and take i also know, i rational enough to do it also. I also constantly check on myself - hence i mentioned before, i do not like confrontation, esp if i am not 100% right. I judge myself very harshly.
I identify my problem as our communication style, and the need to always identify a "guilty" party whenever something is less than perfect. and that "guilty" party always me leh.
this has been a problem all along, and i have been giving in, but recently, it starts to bug me, so i thought i should seek some different opinions, rather than to work this thing thru myself, cos i have done it so many times that i know all the angles i can come up with already. moreover, i am worried that I cannot check my temper the next time such things happen, which is pretty often. (I am repeating myself here, I know)
Moreover, i dun want to talk to people we know cos it may make the situation worse than it is. Thanks