• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

GV cinemas are elderlies unfriendly!

brought a group of elderlies to watch HOMECOMING which starred jack neo cross dressed as a bitchy auntie. gv was kind enough to charge $4 for senior citizens. however, after the show ended, headaches began.

the whole group of elderlies who were not that mobile were ushered out of the cinema into a backlane staircase of several flights. the steps were quite steep and lengthy. it led all the way out of the building and nowhere. now some of the elderlies after the long tedious descent from a few flight of steep stairs now needed to go to the loos and headaches began again :(

luckily, there wasn't much of a crowd or else there would be a human traffic jam.

how could GV not providing a more elderly friendly exit? they should have allow elderlies to leave the cinema through the way they enter which was more convenient and easier route.

brought a group of elderlies to watch HOMECOMING which starred jack neo cross dressed as a bitchy auntie. gv was kind enough to charge $4 for senior citizens. however, after the show ended, headaches began.

the whole group of elderlies who were not that mobile were ushered out of the cinema into a backlane staircase of several flights. the steps were quite steep and lengthy. it led all the way out of the building and nowhere. now some of the elderlies after the long tedious descent from a few flight of steep stairs now needed to go to the loos and headaches began again :(

luckily, there wasn't much of a crowd or else there would be a human traffic jam.

how could GV not providing a more elderly friendly exit? they should have allow elderlies to leave the cinema through the way they enter which was more convenient and easier route.

Yes I fully agree with u, I patronise this GV theatre, entrance like first class, after the show u are being treated like 4th class citizen, by the back door long walk along the alley!

:oIo:

Yes I fully agree with u, I patronise this GV theatre, entrance like first class, after the show u are being treated like 4th class citizen, by the back door long walk along the alley!

could it be becos they price the tickets at special price of $4 instead of $7.50 that they need to treat the elderlies as such?

they could be more mindful knowing that elderlies would like to watch such show and arrange it to be screened at the theaterette nearest to the entrance. after the show ends, elderlies could be ushered the same way they enter.

was thinking to bring them for the other wholesome locally made show: IT'S A GREAT GREAT WORLD. but apprehensive about the accessibility after the show makes me think twice.

The reason that they ushered patrons via back entrance after every show is cos they scared the patrons may sneek into another cinema hall to have free show. Got it? Dun forget all the halls have a common entrance. Having said that, I agree that GV should have made provisions for a more dignified exit for patrons as opposed to going by the back door.

Long time never go Cinema. Before regular.
Agree really hate the backlane of cinema. Everytime movie end have to walk long way some even worst need to down stairway more than 4 storey.
Better stay at home watch download movie and pirated good quality DVD( Not those VCD format). Cheaper and convenient.

The reason that they ushered patrons via back entrance after every show is cos they scared the patrons may sneek into another cinema hall to have free show. Got it? Dun forget all the halls have a common entrance. Having said that, I agree that GV should have made provisions for a more dignified exit for patrons as opposed to going by the back door.

GV should provide user-friendly accessibility for the elderlies at the exit point. have u see those steep staircases and it's not one floor but a couple of flights. what if an elderly trip and fall, is GV liable for lawsuit?

Both Singapore businesses and consumers have the kiasu culture. I was in US in the early 90s when and where the multiplex was first invented. Nobody cared wherefrom you entered or left as long as you bought a ticket. You can stay in whole day and watch multi-movies in multi-halls. The logic is, it's a waste of time and money to hire more ushers and craft out more exit ways. Very few people actually want or can spend the whole day in the cinema halls. For those few those can and want to, let them be. They'll send ushers to check and clear out the cinema halls only after the last screening of the day, for fire safety requirements etc. In Singapore, all cinema goers are assumed to be cheats first and foremost.

The reason that they ushered patrons via back entrance after every show is cos they scared the patrons may sneek into another cinema hall to have free show.....

Went to the cinemas in KL & over there you don't need to jump through rings after the show. It's also cheaper there.

Not the one at JB City Square. I remember seeing a show there and also hv to exit by back door after show. I was having high tide and need the loo badly and guess what? the exit leads back to the shopping centre and I have to pay to relieve myself. Anyway, I believe the City Square SC is also wholly or partly-owned by Capital Land. So now, I know the reason why the design of the cinema there is the same as SGP GVs.

brought a group of elderlies to watch HOMECOMING.

dont talk cock lah, stop beating ur father and calling ur mother laucheebye lah! :rolleyes::oIo:

2mo5jx2.jpg

Not the one at JB City Square. I remember seeing a show there and also hv to exit by back door after show. I was having high tide and need the loo badly and guess what? the exit leads back to the shopping centre and I have to pay to relieve myself. Anyway, I believe the City Square SC is also wholly or partly-owned by Capital Land. So now, I know the reason why the design of the cinema there is the same as SGP GVs.

At least you didn't have to exit through the back alleys :)
In JB it's common to have to pay for toilet use, it's better in KL where it's usually free like Spore.

In KL I went to the relatively new mall the Pavillion Mall.
http://www.pavilion-kl.com/content/precint.php?precint=gourmet_emporium
May be owned by Spore because you have a Times store, Food Republic, ...

Times Berjaya is also a nice mall. http://www.streetdirectory.com/trav...mpur/346/malaysias_largest_shopping_mall_.php
A great place to get your daily exercise :)

wahlaneh...
GV targets young blood mah those ahpek n ahmm should stay home watch 爱 !:D

At least you didn't have to exit through the back alleys :)
In JB it's common to have to pay for toilet use, it's better in KL where it's usually free like Spore.

In KL I went to the relatively new mall the Pavillion Mall.
http://www.pavilion-kl.com/content/precint.php?precint=gourmet_emporium
May be owned by Spore because you have a Times store, Food Republic, ...

Times Berjaya is also a nice mall. http://www.streetdirectory.com/trav...mpur/346/malaysias_largest_shopping_mall_.php
A great place to get your daily exercise :)

speaking of toilets. last time the toilets are WITHIN the cinema. u need to pee or poo, just go and be back in a jiffy. now the toilets are like miles away from the small theatrette.

just imagine a blur elderly needs to go and need to go very desperately, he might have poo or pee in his pants before reaching the toilet! or by the time he found the toilet to relieve himself and hobble slowly back, the show might even have ended.:p

speaking of toilets. last time the toilets are WITHIN the cinema. u need to pee or poo, just go and be back in a jiffy. now the toilets are like miles away from the small theatrette.

just imagine a blur elderly needs to go and need to go very desperately, he might have poo or pee in his pants before reaching the toilet! or by the time he found the toilet to relieve himself and hobble slowly back, the show might even have ended.:p

Now cinema is multiplex, not single hall. Toilet not so many "miles" away also, just go out the door and a toilet's usually nearby. Well lighted pathways. Just remember to keep your ticket stub for re-entry. Last time in big single cinema hall, the situation was even worse, really have to navigate through "miles" of darkness if your seat happened to be far from the toilet, even if in the hall.

wahlaneh...
GV targets young blood mah those ahpek n ahmm should stay home watch 爱 !:D

Spore is very anti-senior citizen friendly.

Public transport very packed, costly for them to afford, few attractions for the old,...

Just look at LKY spend so much time outside Spore because he doesn't feel that Spore is of enough interest:rolleyes:

wahlaneh...
he's putting his money in USA, Switzerland, etc... for his personal retirement funds.
how many of our ahpek n ahmm at his age are retiring in nursing homes?

Sick fuck Bob Sim Kheng Hwee, how many people did you have to cheat, lie and steal from to go a see one fucking movie.

Got money can go in, still complain. Fucking bastard parasites like you got no fucking money to even buy your own TV.

brought a group of elderlies to watch HOMECOMING which starred jack neo cross dressed as a bitchy auntie.

konglanjiaowei!

More like the opposite! You are the sort that is waiting for freebies and conning the elderlies. :D

Most cinemas are like that.
Was at Leisure Drome.
Go in by the front and go out by back door.
Unless during the show then you can go out by the front
i.e. going to the Gents/Ladies.
So next time just before the show ends, tell the
usher, want to use the Gents.
One time was at this AMK hub watching a show.
After the show at around 11 plus at night some of
the entrance/exit to the car park are locked.
Can see my car but cannot find an exit??
Next time i park it opposite at the MSCP.