• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Guniang Singapore ready to go to war if attacked by Soros the Moron..

SalahParking

By Khush Chopra

The size of the people’s reserves are a matter of great speculation.

The total size of Singapore’s total reserves is a state secret but estimated by most analysts to exceed the $1 trillion mark; the figure being pieced together through the Government’s official statement of assets and liabilities in the Finance Minister’s annual budget statement and other sources of information.

We were once again told in Parliament yesterday that the size of Singapore’s reserves is a national secret that cannot be revealed to the good people of Singapore.

According to the PM in waiting Heng Swee Keat:

Singapore’s reserves serve as a “strategic defence” to protect the Singapore dollar from speculative attacks and bolster the confidence of investors and citizens

He argues:

“No country’s armed forces will ever tell you exactly how much ammunition and weaponry they really have. “To do so is to betray valuable intelligence to potential adversaries. This is obviously not a wise defence strategy, and likewise should not be adopted for our financial reserves.”

Let me deal with the two arguments made in Parliament yesterday.

First the new argument as to the defence forces munitions is totally non sequitor. It’s a non starter. Our reserves are simply not the subject of raiding by an aggressor. Our reserves are not a tradeable asset that can be attacked by anyone save for the imprudence of its deployment from the custodians of the reserves namely the Government of the day and we have sufficient safeguards against such a raid.

The other argument made ad nauseam as to our reserves being kept secret as a “strategic defence” to protect the Singapore dollar from speculative attacks and bolster the confidence of investors and citizens is equally illogical as it simply does not follow from the revelation of the actual size of Singapore’s reserves. Speculative attacks arise from weakness to start with; whatever the reasons for that episode of weakness may be.

Is the Government suggesting the size of our reserves are so surprisingly weak that we will be attacked? That would be quite a revelation and runs counter to popular knowledge, information and belief.

More at https://tinyurI.com/tg8zy5h

This is great.all asean countries should be like this. No need to inform how much reserve the country has.

All the opposition ask stupid qn about the amount in the reserves, like its a bank account with a number.
Dip into Reserves is actually another name of creat monetary units..like a company issues a new shares to shareholders..A company doesn't have a limit on the number of shares issuance as long as the shareholders get more shares than they have on hand and they keep on wanting it.

Uncle Soros has better things to do than financially screw Sinkieland over. He's more of a left wing political activist these days, very upset about Trump and Brexit etc.

The secrecy is probably for hiding shady dealings and mistakes done by you-know-who.

All the opposition ask stupid qn about the amount in the reserves, like its a bank account with a number.
Dip into Reserves is actually another name of creat monetary units..like a company issues a new shares to shareholders..A company doesn't have a limit on the number of shares issuance as long as the shareholders get more shares than they have on hand and they keep on wanting it.
Money creation is different from our reserves.

A country's reserve generally means a country's foreign exchange reserves (plus gold, etc). It includes the net assets of GIC and Temasek as they belong to our government. For most countries, it is usually their holdings of US government bonds and treasury bills (acquired over time). The main purpose of the reserve is to defend a country's currency from attacks. Of course, it could be used for other emergencies.

Take the case of the coronavirus stimulus package where every Singaporean receives $600/900. This is real money creation; for a mature government, it can create (print money) money only if approved by parliament; e.g. in the annual budget (deficit). The finance ministry just write checks to our bank accounts - that's it. What actually happen is the banks credit our accounts and debit their cash reserves (deposits) with the MAS. This is what it means "money created out of thin air".

When the British asked for money from the Qing dynasty after the Opium War, they asked for gold, silver and Hong Kong, not paper money.

Chan Rasjid.
Singapore.

"Chemical Analysis Of Plain Distilled Water May Refute Mass-Energy Conservation Of E=mc²"
"The Relativistic Mechanics of E=mc² Fails"; E=mc² is wrong.
"Is Mass Spectrometry Accurate"; Penning trap cannot measure atomic mass.
"Coulomb Electric Gravity"; gravity is all Coulomb electric.
http://www.emc2fails.com

Soros alone will not be able to take down the SG$. He should collude with a couple of other big bank backed raiders. Possibly Russians. Only then will he stand a chance. Wonder if the Chinese are interested?

Money creation is different from our reserves.

A country's reserve generally means a country's foreign exchange reserves (plus gold, etc). It includes the net assets of GIC and Temasek as they belong to our government. For most countries, it is usually their holdings of US government bonds and treasury bills (acquired over time). The main purpose of the reserve is to defend a country's currency from attacks. Of course, it could be used for other emergencies.

Take the case of the coronavirus stimulus package where every Singaporean receives $600/900. This is real money creation; for a mature government, it can create (print money) money only if approved by parliament; e.g. in the annual budget (deficit). The finance ministry just write checks to our bank accounts - that's it. What actually happen is the banks credit our accounts and debit their cash reserves (deposits) with the MAS. This is what it means "money created out of thin air".

When the British asked for money from the Qing dynasty after the Opium War, they asked for gold, silver and Hong Kong, not paper money.

Chan Rasjid.
Singapore.

"Chemical Analysis Of Plain Distilled Water May Refute Mass-Energy Conservation Of E=mc²"
"The Relativistic Mechanics of E=mc² Fails"; E=mc² is wrong.
"Is Mass Spectrometry Accurate"; Penning trap cannot measure atomic mass.
"Coulomb Electric Gravity"; gravity is all Coulomb electric.
http://www.emc2fails.com
don't forget the Present and future Value of all state owned land, including roads that can be sold to private developers..every square foot of the island is mapped and assigned value like a gigantic piece of real estate..so there are many types of Assets in Reserve balance sheet...

so the reserves that oppies want to know are actually those books of MAS, GIC, Temasek...every businessman I know always keep 2 books

Soros alone will not be able to take down the SG$. He should collude with a couple of other big bank backed raiders. Possibly Russians. Only then will he stand a chance. Wonder if the Chinese are interested?
if soros dies, someone else will take over..all it takes is to create panic in the population..like a harmless virus...you will kachau the fin Ministar so must that he dip had to dip reserves with 3 servings within weeks....the next crisis will not be so mild

Either Ah Heng is a liar or his second class honours in Econs at LSE is tak parkay. He said " that these funds serve as a "strategic defence" to protect the Singapore dollar from speculative attacks and bolster the confidence of investors and citizens." In fact, the sing dollar has always been very vulnerable to attacks but these morons never did anything about it because the risk cannot be mitigated. They themselves (MAS and MOF) do a good job of destabilizing the sing dollar and its a miracle its not same as the ringgit today. Some of the ways that they do this: 1) By pegging the sing dollar to the USD within a narrow trading band. If USD falls, they are committed to using the reserves to buy USD to prop it up and maintain the peg. Thankfully, the US is so large that its almost impossible to destabilize their dollar. But in the past, we have pissed away billions to buy USD or sell USD to maintain the band. 2) By allowing in 3 million FTs, imagine what happens when these people remit money to their own country every month. All the FTs and FW and DWs are all paid in sing dollar. From the top director all the way down to a bangla worker or indon maid. What happens every month when they take sing dollar out of their accounts and change to their own country's currency and then remit it? U guessed it. Tens of billions moving offshore.How can this be a strategic defence when 3 million people sell sing dollars like that? 3) Ah Heng forgot to mention all this GIC and Temasek and MAS investments are in foreign currencies. For example, all the tens of billions Stomachsick Holdings invested in China companies means they took sing dollars and change to RMB to buy the China company shares. What happens when the RMB devalues as it did recently. The currency exchange alone means that they lost billions of $, money which I am sure they did not hedge. This is just some of the examples that sing dollar is already not secured like Ah Heng said. So, I don't know why he is so secretive about the amount.

Since the 1970's when Nixon removed the last vestige of the US dollar having any relation with gold, the world's currencies are all "managed"; each country must have a policy to set its currency rate. This means setting its rate with the the US dollar as the dollar is the world's reserve currency - the world's standard "toilet-paper" money. In general, most country would want to peg their currency to the USD so that it is stable in the longer term.

1) a strong currency - all countries want a strong currency. It would be nice if the 1 SGD could suddenly be equal 10 USD; we could import everything almost free. But it cannot be done! it means our export would never sell in the global market. The ringgit started long ago with 1SGD=1Ringgit. It weaken over the decades because we have a more successful economy than that of Malaysia. Generally, the Singapore economy performed better than the other Asean states over the years and the SGD is strong in the world. Corruption leading to financial mismanagement is the way to weaken a country's currency - it prints too much money to support free gasoline, rice, flour, etc... It is said the 1MDB almost made Malaysia bankrupt.
2) a weak currency - no country wish for a weak currency. Allowing a currency to depreciate is the same as trying to win global market share for export by lowering prices - you lelong your country's produce. Most currency weakens because it is forced to be weak - through a corrupt government not able to look after its finances well. This too happened with the USD and the British pound. Long ago, 1 USD = 2.4 SGD; 1 British Pound = 4 SGD.

Chan Rasjid.

what shocks me is not what our authorities is touting as state secret that should be kept ..but we accepting such lies as gospel truth...ask any war strategist whether in the past or present ..you don't win by hidding your strength but flaunting it as a warning to potential enemy..even animals display overtly aggressiveness and show of colours and plume to ward off fights.. not revealing some hidden arsenal during the fight ..the point is if you are strong show it to your enemies to avoid the very fight

Correct.

Look at the SAF?

Wah all those NDP. All the tanks. The F16 fly by.

All these well publicized army exercises.

Keep secret? No. You tell your enemies you watch out. I have all this to whack you big time.

The strong and powerful who are confident do not hide in secrecy and clandestine. They do not need to. It is quite the opposite.

Correct.

Look at the SAF?

Wah all those NDP. All the tanks. The F16 fly by.

All these well publicized army exercises.

Keep secret? No. You tell your enemies you watch out. I have all this to whack you big time.

The strong and powerful who are confident do not hide in secrecy and clandestine. They do not need to. It is quite the opposite.
absolutely pal ,the strategy in any conflict is to win without firing the first shot...just awe your enemy with your strength or fool them of your superiority ...just like our keyboard warriors in this forum ..talk loud and talk big how you could out pee others LOL

The reality is Singapore is small and not naturally strong.

It has to fight very hard for its survival. So a multitude of strategies have to be taken depending on the situation.

But inherently this implies that it is naturally weak.

The reality is Singapore is small and not naturally strong.

It has to fight very hard for its survival. So a multitude of strategies have to be taken depending on the situation.

But inherently this implies that it is naturally weak.
i see your point of view and do agree ..but that begets the question ..why than we need to artificially inflate our strength and ego inviting trouble ?

let me rephrase, prince Charles was kicked around by fellow mates during his armed force day ...which means you get bumped just for being what you are if wrongly perceived.

in other words LKY and his gang pursued this doctrine of punching above your standing ..sort of a hangover of Iserali doctrine ..
but that act is completely out of place in the Malay Archiepelago where we are ..the Malay psyche and Arabs is completely different ...am I being out of context ?No ,because whatever philosophy this government advocates today is set by LKY days

i see your point of view and do agree ..but that begets the question ..why than we need to artificially inflate our strength and ego inviting trouble ?

let me rephrase, prince Charles was kicked around by fellow mates during his armed force day ...which means you get bumped just for being what you are if wrongly perceived.

in other words LKY and his gang pursued this doctrine of punching above your standing ..sort of a hangover of Iserali doctrine ..
but that act is completely out of place in the Malay Archiepelago where we are ..the Malay psyche and Arabs is completely different ...am I being out of context ?No ,because whatever philosophy this government advocates today is set by LKY days

Why?

Because that is what sinkies want.

Just ask anyone on the street in Singapore. Should we raise taxes on the rich and middle class so that we can help provide for universal health care?

Most will tell you off. Adding if people choose to smoke and get lung cancer why is it my problem?

What do sinkies value? Becoming rich and powerful. Why do those kids all go for tuition everyday? So they can get the academic results to let them get scholarships or university courses in life that will get them to be ...you guessed it Rich and Powerful.

Sinkies demand that Singapore be rich and powerful. It is the signs and symbols of success in Singapore.

They dont really bother about a country strong and free.

They want a country rich and powerful.

So the PAP has to go about flexing some muscle. To show their supporters.

It is like a football club. You dont see ManU talking humbly and modestly. They are Man United!

Cannot tell. If steal no one will know it is missing.
can tell what... we have an independently elected president to oversee the reserves and their proper handling on behalf of the people of Singapore...
...oops :x3::x3: nvm. I just own goal myself... :roflmao:

Why?

Because that is what sinkies want.

Just ask anyone on the street in Singapore. Should we raise taxes on the rich and middle class so that we can help provide for universal health care?

Most will tell you off. Adding if people choose to smoke and get lung cancer why is it my problem?

What do sinkies value? Becoming rich and powerful. Why do those kids all go for tuition everyday? So they can get the academic results to let them get scholarships or university courses in life that will get them to be ...you guessed it Rich and Paowerful.

Sinkies demand that Singapore be rich and powerful. It is the signs and symbols of success in Singapore.

They dont really bother about a country strong and free.

They want a country rich and powerful.

So the PAP has to go about flexing some muscle. To show their supporters.

It is like a football club. You dont see ManU talking humbly and modestly. They are Man United!
okie..agree to disagree than .
LOL

just my 2 cents here..who are the sinkies we are talking about ?...there is always this 30% PAP opposition regardless...it would help to know who these 30% are ...look ,I have been following not only SG politics but also other countries and election results are always against the trend in social media ...why and how ? just look at this very forum itself..its ovewhelmingly against our current government policies mostly...any one in a poll prediction buisness will take this as a reliable sample..but it is always proven wrong come every election..why?

to cut it short..my speculation is just like in this very forum ,the better half of our society who forms the other 50% of voters are totally missing...yes,the women folks ...their needs and psyche is not like us men folks ...a better study in the habit of how woman votes is desperately needed ..

okie..agree to disagree than .
LOL

just my 2 cents here..who are the sinkies we are talking about ?...there is always this 30% PAP opposition regardless...it would help to know who these 30% are ...look ,I have been following not only SG politics but also other countries and election results are always against the trend in social media ...why and how ? just look at this very forum itself..its ovewhelmingly against our current government policies mostly...any one in a poll prediction buisness will take this as a reliable sample..but it is always proven wrong come every election..why?

to cut it short..my speculation is just like in this very forum ,the better half of our society who forms the other 50% of voters are totally missing...yes,the women folks ...their needs and psyche is not like us men folks ...a better study in the habit of how woman votes is desperately needed ..

Man and woman on the street does not come to this forum. Those are the sinkies I am referring to.

Also the silent majority.

Empty vessels like me make the most noise.

Lol!