• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious [GPGT] The colour of my dental implant bridge does not match the colour of my surrounding real teeth, pls help

knnccb

I agree.

Seems kind of strange to have someone going to dentist to ask for artificial teeth that cost over $10k to be put in and be actually preferred to be discolored so it matches the rest of the discolored teeth.

I mean I can see some logic in it. But like you said most people would prefer to have whiter teeth maybe spend some money (probably not that much more $$) to whiten the other teeth to match the 10k new white fake teeth than to spend 10k for fake yellow ugly teeth to match the other natural lousy colored yellow teeth.

A bit strange to me.

It is like if you wanna renovate your toilet in your old house because the things are truly broken and not functioning anymore and say hey I need the toilet bowl and everything to be stained yellow and old looking to match the rest of the old house living room bedroom stained marble and parquet flooring.

Contractor will have a VERY VERY HARD time finding the older stained tiles and toilet bowl man.

Contractor might say hey what about spending a bit more renovate the rest of the house so that everything is new and matches? And you say no no no! I want the toilet renovated so that it matches the old run down look of the rest of the house!

Sigh.......

but the diff betw house reno and teeth is u cant smash out all the old but still functional teeth :biggrin:

knnccb

i want it yellow so that it simply matches my lower teeth, that is all. and when it matches, no 1 can tell those are false teeth crowns because it looks the same as the lower teeth, because it's sitting in between the lower left and right teeth. it's as simple as that to me.

i don't have to have all my teeth white just because white is nicer than yellow. i can live with yellow because all my real teeth are yellow. i wanted it to match the lower. i never started this journey with the intention to have all my teeth to be white. the point was to get the set of crowns, match it to be the same colour as lower teeth, that is all.

refund, how to ask? i'm not sure

now the thing is, the auntie dentist sent the crowns to be stained with the colour the lab chose that day when she drove us there. so this is the stage i am at.

the lab is doing the staining, then when it's ready, the auntie dentist supposed to call me then she fix it back on.

then 1 mth later, i'm supposed to go back to the specialist for him to check.

yes i am full of fear now, it has been very traumatic and a nightmare to me.

what can i do instead?

can i go to CASE, or make a complaint to the Singapore Dental Association?

hey wat abt teeth whitening? u can ask the dentist if possible

orpisia

Refund? Ask.

You might be surprised what they will say. Why scared to ask? Just ask. At worst they say no. If you dont ask then nothing.

Can you complain to soem regulatory body? Of course can lah.

But I would at least talk to them first.

You dont have to be rude or anything just ask. And say hey you know I am quite unhappy this has gone so many rounds. Can I get some refund or compensation? I am thinking of going to another dentist. I dont have confidence in you guys.

I am not in this field but perhaps it is quite uncommon to have people request fo implants to be stained so yellow.

Sometime when you request rare uncommon things chances you get strange outcome is higher.

I could be wrong and this request for yellow stain is very common.

Spend some small money get a 2nd opinion from another dentist? See what they say?

i am quite confused now, maybe have been thinking worrying too much.

it's already been 1 year since i first stepped into this stupid auntie dentist's clinic. she was recommended by 1 of my mom's contacts. so as i find out, not all word-of-mouth recommendations are good. this auntie dentist is an example.

i've been seeing 2 dentists, this auntie dentist and the other specialist periodontist. they both work together on my case.

i've been through bone grafting and implant surgery at the specialist's clinic. no problems post-surgery, no pain nothing. then when i was done at his clinic, he sent me back to the auntie dentist to do the crowns.

this is where she sucks. every time a new set of crowns comes, she has to "adjust" or shave off a lot of the top part or the biting edge of the crowns, because it is too high. whenever a new set of crowns come, it is always too high and she spends at least 30 mins "adjusting". she "adjusts" it until the height becomes lower, until my bite feels natural.

on the 1st set of crowns, i don't know what happened but the crown was too sharp and poked through my gums. i told her abt it but she said she don't have. nonsense, i am the patient and i know better.

anyway, try until the 3rd set of crowns and still she cannot get the colour right, and she has been a dentist for over 30 years.

that's why she drove me to the lab to get it "stained".

so this is the stage i am at. right now, i'm waiting for the stained crowns to come and then she fix it on me.

so what should i do now?

can i tell her i don't want her to fix it, then what? but i have 2 healing screws now in my mouth. if i go to another dentist, then these 2 healing screws belong to her? do i have to return it to her?

i don't know, very confusing. or should i continue let her do it?

nayr69sg

Staff member
i am quite confused now, maybe have been thinking worrying too much.

it's already been 1 year since i first stepped into this stupid auntie dentist's clinic. she was recommended by 1 of my mom's contacts. so as i find out, not all word-of-mouth recommendations are good. this auntie dentist is an example.

i've been seeing 2 dentists, this auntie dentist and the other specialist periodontist. they both work together on my case.

i've been through bone grafting and implant surgery at the specialist's clinic. no problems post-surgery, no pain nothing. then when i was done at his clinic, he sent me back to the auntie dentist to do the crowns.

this is where she sucks. every time a new set of crowns comes, she has to "adjust" or shave off a lot of the top part or the biting edge of the crowns, because it is too high. whenever a new set of crowns come, it is always too high and she spends at least 30 mins "adjusting". she "adjusts" it until the height becomes lower, until my bite feels natural.

on the 1st set of crowns, i don't know what happened but the crown was too sharp and poked through my gums. i told her abt it but she said she don't have. nonsense, i am the patient and i know better.

anyway, try until the 3rd set of crowns and still she cannot get the colour right, and she has been a dentist for over 30 years.

that's why she drove me to the lab to get it "stained".

so this is the stage i am at. right now, i'm waiting for the stained crowns to come and then she fix it on me.

so what should i do now?

can i tell her i don't want her to fix it, then what? but i have 2 healing screws now in my mouth. if i go to another dentist, then these 2 healing screws belong to her? do i have to return it to her?

i don't know, very confusing. or should i continue let her do it?

You should have a frank talk with your dentist and ask all these questions you asked here.

If you brushes you off and doesnt try to explain or discuss at all with you I would be very surprised.

You need to tell her. The reality is they cannot read your mind. And no dentist or doctor will usually openly ask "Are you unhappy with me? Do you want to see another dr?"

Cos often the patient might turn around and say the dentist/doctor is trying to push me away to someone else.

On the other hand the dentist/dr will keep trying their best. What else can they do right? But they might not be able to fix as they have limited skill already.

so YOU NEED TO TALK TO YOUR AUNTIE DENTIST FRANK AND OPEN.

Please do it.

Aside.....I think the auntie dentist already trying her best to help you. You said she actually drove you to the lab to stain? That is quite above and beyond liao. Auntie dentist is trying her best but maybe in your case she just couldnt be successful.

It happens sometimes. Some patient just somehow the problem bigger than others and sometimes everything goes wrong.

It happens.

Talk to you dentist. Please do.

orpisia

You should have a frank talk with your dentist and ask all these questions you asked here.

If you brushes you off and doesnt try to explain or discuss at all with you I would be very surprised.

You need to tell her. The reality is they cannot read your mind. And no dentist or doctor will usually openly ask "Are you unhappy with me? Do you want to see another dr?"

Cos often the patient might turn around and say the dentist/doctor is trying to push me away to someone else.

On the other hand the dentist/dr will keep trying their best. What else can they do right? But they might not be able to fix as they have limited skill already.

so YOU NEED TO TALK TO YOUR AUNTIE DENTIST FRANK AND OPEN.

Please do it.

Aside.....I think the auntie dentist already trying her best to help you. You said she actually drove you to the lab to stain? That is quite above and beyond liao. Auntie dentist is trying her best but maybe in your case she just couldnt be successful.

It happens sometimes. Some patient just somehow the problem bigger than others and sometimes everything goes wrong.

It happens.

Talk to you dentist. Please do.

talk about what?

i also agree she has limited skill. basically, that she cannot get the colour right.

the way i see it, her job is not yet done until she fixes the crown on me. i hate going back to her seriously, but she has to do her job isnt it? i hate going back because like u said, i'll have to tahan the pain and injections.

and i don't have a good reason to stay with her, so like what others have told me and even u urself, i should change dentist.

but what about the specialist?

if i change dentist, will that mean i'll have no recourse to the specialist periodontist?

the specialist was the 1 who did the surgery on me so i guess i better not anger him?

both the auntie dentist and the specialist are working together to treat me. so if i cut the auntie dentist out, can i still go back to the specialist? this is a question i dunno the answer to

Bro, you know my other thread about EVs right? This is exactly what I am talking about lor. :o-o:

@nightsafari
there’s a holding “plane” in another dimension. full of lost souls who can’t find closure in just about anything. it just keeps going and going like in an infinite loop. in fact the road to former apple hq is named after it.

What was the name of that road to former Apple HQ?

I have learned now thanks to @nightsafari. Don't try to help. It just drains you. Aimless. Cannot resolve. Not their objective. So avoid if possible.

I used to try and try and want to make it better, help etc. That only feeds them.

What a revelation to me really!
infinity loop, cupertino.

orpisia

What was the name of that road to former Apple HQ?

I have learned now thanks to @nightsafari. Don't try to help. It just drains you. Aimless. Cannot resolve. Not their objective. So avoid if possible.

I used to try and try and want to make it better, help etc. That only feeds them.

What a revelation to me really!

it's fine. u've offered advice so far, but it's up to me whether to act on it or not.

so i've to thank u for that.

because no matter how well-intentioned u guys are, i alone am experiencing my situation and feel what i feel.

easy for me to give advice to someone else in trouble, but my advice may not be acted upon by that person, because to that person, my advice may not suit. so no matter my good intentions, i can only help so far, it's up to the person to decide whether my advice works or not.

orpisia

Yes, then you should hold her to it, it's her responsibility to ensure a job well done.
hey wat abt teeth whitening? u can ask the dentist if possible

alright, so i went back to the auntie dentist, sat in the dental chair, sitting up.

the final set of crowns was ready. she said the whole thing is entirely newly made by the lab(since that day we went to the lab for staining).

i told her i wanted to be frank with her, then i told her i was never happy with how it looked, the shape of it, from the 1st set of crowns onwards to the 3rd and so on. this was the 1st reason.

the 2nd reason i said was about how i felt the gum sensitivity when i used the string floss to floss down to the gumline around 1 of the crowns, the right side.

she tried to use her hands to pull my body back to get me to sit back down on the dental chair so she could fit the new set of crowns on but i fought back. then she got the idea that i don't want to do it.

so i said what i wanted to say, i wanted a refund. then she said she cannot pay me everything, because she spent money to do 3 sets of crowns. so i asked how much, u give me partial refund.

then she turned back to her computer, did her sums for awhile.

after that, she turned back to face me and told me she was very sorry for causing me a lot of pain and she said she felt very sad that she couldn't help me with my problem.

later on she talked to the male boss doctor of the clinic to discuss about the matter.

then later they asked me back in to the room, they offered me 30%. i took it.

later signed papers, i went off with the cheque.

so now i still have the 2 healing screws in and no crowns.

then my next step i shall need to do crowns in future.

knnccb

alright, so i went back to the auntie dentist, sat in the dental chair, sitting up.

the final set of crowns was ready. she said the whole thing is entirely newly made by the lab(since that day we went to the lab for staining).

i told her i wanted to be frank with her, then i told her i was never happy with how it looked, the shape of it, from the 1st set of crowns onwards to the 3rd and so on. this was the 1st reason.

the 2nd reason i said was about how i felt the gum sensitivity when i used the string floss to floss down to the gumline around 1 of the crowns, the right side.

she tried to use her hands to pull my body back to get me to sit back down on the dental chair so she could fit the new set of crowns on but i fought back. then she got the idea that i don't want to do it.

so i said what i wanted to say, i wanted a refund. then she said she cannot pay me everything, because she spent money to do 3 sets of crowns. so i asked how much, u give me partial refund.

after that, she turned back to face me and told me she was very sorry for causing me a lot of pain and she said she felt very sad that she couldn't help me with my problem.

later on she talked to the male boss doctor of the clinic to discuss about the matter.

30% too low leh, anyway since u accepted its done. so now look for another dentist?

knnccb

normally how many % is reasonable?

i am not a rich person. don't have so much money to do new crowns. at least not for now.

this type of thing is up to individual, personally moi wld settle for 60, if not maybe 50..actually if u paid lawyer to write a legal letter, they may be scared and willing to pay more, but since u alrdy signed the settlement with them then its over

orpisia

this type of thing is up to individual, personally moi wld settle for 60, if not maybe 50..actually if u paid lawyer to write a legal letter, they may be scared and willing to pay more, but since u alrdy signed the settlement with them then its over

what lawyer, i never engage lawyer before. also heard about lawyer fees. that would amount to how much already?

i am not savvy enough to take that route

so easy way out for me, take what they gave me

furthermore, the auntie dentist said they did 3 sets so they gotta cover that and the surgeon specialist's fees

knnccb

what lawyer, i never engage lawyer before. also heard about lawyer fees. that would amount to how much already?

i am not savvy enough to take that route

so easy way out for me, take what they gave me

furthermore, the auntie dentist said they did 3 sets so they gotta cover that and the surgeon specialist's fees

no lah not hire, just write a demand letter for as little as 100, do u know u can claim not only the full cost, plus distress caused plus legal fees, anyway now too late lah, they ask u s8gn settlement coz they know wat can happen, alamak moi is legal trained, if u consult moi earlier maybe still can help u :biggrin:

orpisia

no lah not hire, just write a demand letter for as little as 100, do u know u can claim not only the full cost, plus distress caused plus legal fees, anyway now too late lah, they ask u s8gn settlement coz they know wat can happen, alamak moi is legal trained, if u consult moi earlier maybe still can help u :biggrin:

yes i definitely suffered distress over these few months

what's the demand letter about? what things can be demanded?

how i know to ask here before asking for refund?

i did try asking, look at the responses i got. look at when i started this thread.

the people here suan me, were unhelpful. say don't help me better otherwise i'm feeding them.

anyway since u said it's over then it's over.

ok, so you finally fired the auntie dentist. Get a credible dentist to do your crowns for you. The dentist who did your implants can do the crowns?

orpisia

ok, so you finally fired the auntie dentist. Get a credible dentist to do your crowns for you. The dentist who did your implants can do the crowns?

the specialist who did my implants can do crowns, u know the dental clinics they have to show the list of prices i saw it before, but i can't remember the price

i only remember his implants cost 5000 onwards, which is more ex than the auntie dentist's crowns which cost 4000

anyway, after i told the auntie dentist i wanted refund, she wanted to call the specialist to ask if he would see me again or something

so i don't know now that after i take the refund, what's gonna happen?

does it mean the specialist is pissed and i have no recourse back to him?

maybe i can't go back to him anymore

as for making new crowns, the refund also i don't think is enough for me to pay for new set of crowns and i'm not rich, and i'm broke

so i'll have to wait to save up money

as to which dentist i can go to make the new crowns in future, i've a recommended one but see how, i've yet to see or consult him

if i don't wear my dentures, will the teeth move into the gap?

i already have done bone grafting and the 2 implants drilled into my jawbone

the specialist who did my implants can do crowns, u know the dental clinics they have to show the list of prices i saw it before, but i can't remember the price

i only remember his implants cost 5000 onwards, which is more ex than the auntie dentist's crowns which cost 4000

anyway, after i told the auntie dentist i wanted refund, she wanted to call the specialist to ask if he would see me again or something

so i don't know now that after i take the refund, what's gonna happen?

does it mean the specialist is pissed and i have no recourse back to him?

maybe i can't go back to him anymore

as for making new crowns, the refund also i don't think is enough for me to pay for new set of crowns and i'm not rich, and i'm broke

so i'll have to wait to save up money

as to which dentist i can go to make the new crowns in future, i've a recommended one but see how, i've yet to see or consult him

if i don't wear my dentures, will the teeth move into the gap?

i already have done bone grafting and the 2 implants drilled into my jawbone
Yes, then the specialist who did your implants should have gone on to do the crowns too. You can always ask him, if he is able to complete the work he started.
You should wear your dentures in the mean time, for aesthetics and also to enable you to bite. I am not sure about the side teeth moving to close the gap, because you have two implants in your jaw bone which should prevent that. Little or no gum loss issue too. The abutment are fixed already, right?

orpisia

Yes, then the specialist who did your implants should have gone on to do the crowns too. You can always ask him, if he is able to complete the work he started.
You should wear your dentures in the mean time, for aesthetics and also to enable you to bite. I am not sure about the side teeth moving to close the gap, because you have two implants in your jaw bone which should prevent that. Little or no gum loss issue too. The abutment are fixed already, right?

i now have the 2 healing abutments, which are screwed down into the 2 implants drilled into the jawbone

i have dentures at home, done by the auntie dentist way back last year.

but i tell u, i am comfortable being bogeh and i don't have problem eating out at kopitiams or hawker centres with no teeth there, with the gap showing.

people see but i'm used to it.

no one ever came up to me and asked me questions about it, or laughed at me in my face.

so it's not a problem to me at all.

i don't have big problems eating food because i still have my canines and then i can push the food back into my molars and i eat food as per normal, pre-bogeh days.

why did the specialist not do the crowns as well?

this is a question only the specialist and the auntie dentist can answer

it's the deal between them, i won't know

the auntie dentist clinic referred me to the specialist to do the surgeries and then they also pay the specialist his fees