• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious [GPGT] The colour of my dental implant bridge does not match the colour of my surrounding real teeth, pls help

Looks like your dental adventure is never ending, thanks to that idiot auntie dentist. Not sure about staining to achieve the colour you want. The material ought to be homogeneous I think.
good auntie dentist has good heart and is trying to give him a set of white teeth and help him whiten his other dirty colored teeth so they will all be white. dental patients have been paying billions to whiten their teeth, and this joker want new teeth to be dirty colored. what kind of fucked up mind is that?

orpisia

why are you still sticking with her? Since you said she lied about ordering homogeneous crowns from Korea. Why are you accepting stained crowns? Wouldn't the stain eventually come off?
Just came back from the auntie dentist

She kept saying what I kept resisting or "fighting" when she was doing the dental procedures on me in my mouth

After she was done removing the set of crowns and I was about to go, I told her off straight in her face

I said it's not because I purposely wanted to resist while she was doing the procedures on me, I said it's because it's my natural bodily reaction to pain.

When we feel pain, our body naturally recoils away. Told her off, her body language like paisay, her head looked away.

good auntie dentist has good heart and is trying to give him a set of white teeth and help him whiten his other dirty colored teeth so they will all be white. dental patients have been paying billions to whiten their teeth, and this joker want new teeth to be dirty colored. what kind of fucked up mind is that?
Now that you mentioned, I think I need to book a visit to my dentist to clean my teeth. They look something like this now.:eek:

MandibularAnteriorCalculus.JPG

Just came back from the auntie dentist

She kept saying what I kept resisting or "fighting" when she was doing the dental procedures on me in my mouth

After she was done removing the set of crowns and I was about to go, I told her off straight in her face

I said it's not because I purposely wanted to resist while she was doing the procedures on me, I said it's because it's my natural bodily reaction to pain.

When we feel pain, our body naturally recoils away. Told her off, her body language like paisay, her head looked away.
As long as she knows how to paiseh and do a good job, then it's ok. But paiseh and keep messing up, then you really need to see another dentist.

orpisia

As long as she knows how to paiseh and do a good job, then it's ok. But paiseh and keep messing up, then you really need to see another dentist.

i understand your point, but this is all her responsibility. she has to fix the bloody crowns nicely for me. she's the dentist attending to me.

i would be screwing myself more if i just accept that lousy crowns above with that ugly colour and go home and "accept it", right?

i want to stop seeing her after it comes back from the lab. even last night, when i floss on 1 of the crowns, there was gum sensitivity. told her about it, she said it's like that, can't do much about it.

sigh.

i understand your point, but this is all her responsibility. she has to fix the bloody crowns nicely for me. she's the dentist attending to me.

i would be screwing myself more if i just accept that lousy crowns above with that ugly colour and go home and "accept it", right?

i want to stop seeing her after it comes back from the lab. even last night, when i floss on 1 of the crowns, there was gum sensitivity. told her about it, she said it's like that, can't do much about it.

sigh.
Yes, then you should hold her to it, it's her responsibility to ensure a job well done.

nayr69sg

Staff member

I agree.

Seems kind of strange to have someone going to dentist to ask for artificial teeth that cost over $10k to be put in and be actually preferred to be discolored so it matches the rest of the discolored teeth.

I mean I can see some logic in it. But like you said most people would prefer to have whiter teeth maybe spend some money (probably not that much more $$) to whiten the other teeth to match the 10k new white fake teeth than to spend 10k for fake yellow ugly teeth to match the other natural lousy colored yellow teeth.

A bit strange to me.

It is like if you wanna renovate your toilet in your old house because the things are truly broken and not functioning anymore and say hey I need the toilet bowl and everything to be stained yellow and old looking to match the rest of the old house living room bedroom stained marble and parquet flooring.

Contractor will have a VERY VERY HARD time finding the older stained tiles and toilet bowl man.

Contractor might say hey what about spending a bit more renovate the rest of the house so that everything is new and matches? And you say no no no! I want the toilet renovated so that it matches the old run down look of the rest of the house!

Sigh.......

nayr69sg

Staff member
iH8IP1V.jpg

Hi all,

The arrows point to the 3 unit implant bridge which was installed a few days back at the dental clinic.

The problem is, to me, the colour of it doesn't match the colour of the surrounding real teeth to the left and right. It seems off.

I am due to return to the clinic in a few days' time and I will tell the dentist about it. But I'm afraid if they won't do anything about it.

If the dentist refuses to do anything about it, what should I do?

I've been really stressed and fretting about it because it's been about 1 year and it all amounts to this, unsatisfactory final product. As you all know, it's also a very very expensive affair.

Any advice on how to move on from here will be appreciated.

Thank you Sirs.

Actually if you look at the picture, the right upper central incisor , right lateral incisor , and right cuspid have a different color to the lower right first premolar, right cuspid and right lateral incisor. Lower teeth have more of a orange/yellow tinge compared to the upper teeth above.

Somewhat the same on the left as well.

Which makes me wonder, how do you decide how to color the implant bridge? Make it yellow? I dunno feels kind of strange to make the $10k implant look dirty and yellow. Perhaps this is failure on the dentist part not asking the customer what they want.

But you can imagine later customers complaining that the $10k implant they spent on is yellow/orange so ugly and dirty!

Also looks like there is a severe crossbite? The central incisors dont match up at all upper and lower.

May I ask what is the condition of your other teeth? Do you have problems with your other teeth?

nayr69sg

Staff member
Screenshot_20201026-170201_Chrome.jpg
Screenshot_20201026-170229_Chrome.jpg

I thought I would put the two pictures next to each other for comparison.

Looks to me the changes are quite subtle.

And they seem to have made the implant more the color of the upper incisors and other teeth rather than the same color as the lower teeth.

But if they go with the lower teeth it would be very stark contrast from the upper teeth you know.

Are all the other teeth you have upper and lower natural and real or are any of them implants as well?

I find it strange because why would the upper teeth be of a different color from your lower teeth? And so much different?

knnccb

View attachment 94376View attachment 94377

And they seem to have made the implant more the color of the upper incisors and other teeth rather than the same color as the lower teeth.

But if they go with the lower teeth it would be very stark contrast from the upper teeth you know.

Are all the other teeth you have upper and lower natural and real or are any of them implants as well?

I find it strange because why would the upper teeth be of a different color from your lower teeth? And so much different?

look like those halloween fake teeth, lol

orpisia

View attachment 94376View attachment 94377

until now, i don't see why the dentist would want to match the upper teeth.

the fake teeth are put in the lower row, so to me, it should match the lower left and right teeth. that's even what the Dr and owner of the dental lab thought also.

so i don't know why this silly auntie dentist wanted to match the upper teeth, u are right in this regard.

but even if it stands in stark contrast to the upper teeth, people won't see the difference.

suppose I just accept this white fake teeth, and i talk to people, as i talk to them, u think they cannot see the whitenes? it's so obvious they will notice.

that day when i was eating at the kopitiam, i saw the kopitiam cleaner looking at my mouth when i was eating, putting food in my mouth. that means the whiteness is really outstanding. it stands out so much it caught his attention.

so yes i would prefer not to have this whiteness and have it matched to the lower teeth. this is my reasoning. if it matches the other left and right teeth, no 1 would notice.

and to me, the difference between top and bottom, no 1 would notice. because people will look laterally or horizontally, not compare top and bottom.

all my other teeth top n bottom are real.

yes my upper teeth is a bit grey, my lower is a bit orangey.

nayr69sg

Staff member

the fake teeth are put in the lower row, so to me, it should match the lower left and right teeth. that's even what the Dr and owner of the dental lab thought also.

so i don't know why this silly auntie dentist wanted to match the upper teeth, u are right in this regard.

but even if it stands in stark contrast to the upper teeth, people won't see the difference.

suppose I just accept this white fake teeth, and i talk to people, as i talk to them, u think they cannot see the whitenes? it's so obvious they will notice.

that day when i was eating at the kopitiam, i saw the kopitiam cleaner looking at my mouth when i was eating, putting food in my mouth. that means the whiteness is really outstanding. it stands out so much it caught his attention.

so yes i would prefer not to have this whiteness and have it matched to the lower teeth. this is my reasoning. if it matches the other left and right teeth, no 1 would notice.

and to me, the difference between top and bottom, no 1 would notice. because people will look laterally or horizontally, not compare top and bottom.

Honestly I dont think people look at your teeth at all except for when you smile with your teeth showing.

When people talk to one another their focus is usually on the other person's eyes.

Go google this.

So you are being a bit more self conscious. I am honestly saying this.

Is the white obvious when you smile with teeth showing? I woul say perhaps. But white showing is better than yellow showing in my opinion.

I do think you should stop going back to the dentist already. No point.

Yes you did spend a lot of money. But the trust is all gone. You dont respect the dentist anymore and I agree why should you?

So stop going back. Find a different dentist get the problem fixed properly by somehow you trust.

Then if you want can write to the dentist to ask for refund or compensation of $.

Dont torture yourself with going through pain and injections again and again. And there is always the chance for complications infection implant failure.

No joke ok. Dont put yourself and further risk.

Judging from the dentist reactions my guess was that they would have refunded you at least some money if you insisted. And easier to refund than to fix your problem they do not know how to fix.

I hope you find a good outcome. All the best

nayr69sg

Staff member

I can fathom a reason why they chose to match the upper grey vs the lower orange.

Cos it might make sense that way should you choose to do treatment to make the lower orange natural teeth grey.

Look at it this way. Suppose you decided aiyah I dont like the orange teeth. What should I do? They probably recommend we can try to make your natural orange teeth grayish which is better aesthetically than the orange.

But if you crown was orange....then how? I think it is harder to make grey turn orange and also uglier if ALL your teeth orange!

ALL teeth grey not as bad.

If you look at your teeth now you only need to treat 5 lower teeth to become grey and all your teeth more or less same color of the preferred grayish.

orpisia

Honestly I dont think people look at your teeth at all except for when you smile with your teeth showing.

When people talk to one another their focus is usually on the other person's eyes.

Go google this.

So you are being a bit more self conscious. I am honestly saying this.

Is the white obvious when you smile with teeth showing? I woul say perhaps. But white showing is better than yellow showing in my opinion.

I do think you should stop going back to the dentist already. No point.

Yes you did spend a lot of money. But the trust is all gone. You dont respect the dentist anymore and I agree why should you?

So stop going back. Find a different dentist get the problem fixed properly by somehow you trust.

Then if you want can write to the dentist to ask for refund or compensation of $.

Dont torture yourself with going through pain and injections again and again. And there is always the chance for complications infection implant failure.

No joke ok. Dont put yourself and further risk.

Judging from the dentist reactions my guess was that they would have refunded you at least some money if you insisted. And easier to refund than to fix your problem they do not know how to fix.

I hope you find a good outcome. All the best

i want it yellow so that it simply matches my lower teeth, that is all. and when it matches, no 1 can tell those are false teeth crowns because it looks the same as the lower teeth, because it's sitting in between the lower left and right teeth. it's as simple as that to me.

i don't have to have all my teeth white just because white is nicer than yellow. i can live with yellow because all my real teeth are yellow. i wanted it to match the lower. i never started this journey with the intention to have all my teeth to be white. the point was to get the set of crowns, match it to be the same colour as lower teeth, that is all.

refund, how to ask? i'm not sure

now the thing is, the auntie dentist sent the crowns to be stained with the colour the lab chose that day when she drove us there. so this is the stage i am at.

the lab is doing the staining, then when it's ready, the auntie dentist supposed to call me then she fix it back on.

then 1 mth later, i'm supposed to go back to the specialist for him to check.

yes i am full of fear now, it has been very traumatic and a nightmare to me.

what can i do instead?

can i go to CASE, or make a complaint to the Singapore Dental Association?

nayr69sg

Staff member
i want it yellow so that it simply matches my lower teeth, that is all. and when it matches, no 1 can tell those are false teeth crowns because it looks the same as the lower teeth, because it's sitting in between the lower left and right teeth. it's as simple as that to me.

i don't have to have all my teeth white just because white is nicer than yellow. i can live with yellow because all my real teeth are yellow. i wanted it to match the lower. i never started this journey with the intention to have all my teeth to be white. the point was to get the set of crowns, match it to be the same colour as lower teeth, that is all.

refund, how to ask? i'm not sure

now the thing is, the auntie dentist sent the crowns to be stained with the colour the lab chose that day when she drove us there. so this is the stage i am at.

the lab is doing the staining, then when it's ready, the auntie dentist supposed to call me then she fix it back on.

then 1 mth later, i'm supposed to go back to the specialist for him to check.

yes i am full of fear now, it has been very traumatic and a nightmare to me.

what can i do instead?

can i go to CASE, or make a complaint to the Singapore Dental Association?

Refund? Ask.

You might be surprised what they will say. Why scared to ask? Just ask. At worst they say no. If you dont ask then nothing.

Can you complain to soem regulatory body? Of course can lah.

But I would at least talk to them first.

You dont have to be rude or anything just ask. And say hey you know I am quite unhappy this has gone so many rounds. Can I get some refund or compensation? I am thinking of going to another dentist. I dont have confidence in you guys.

I am not in this field but perhaps it is quite uncommon to have people request fo implants to be stained so yellow.

Sometime when you request rare uncommon things chances you get strange outcome is higher.

I could be wrong and this request for yellow stain is very common.

Spend some small money get a 2nd opinion from another dentist? See what they say?

nayr69sg

Staff member

Go google smiles.

Look at photos of people smiling.

Actually what shows usually is upper teeth and a bit of the tips of the lower central and lateral incisors.

Usually not the cuspids and first premolars.

So in a way it may make sense to match the lower central and lateral incisors to the upper teeth. Otherwise when you smile very obvious upper grey and tips of lower central and lateral incisors orange.....and nobody sees the rest of the lower teeth. And this is when you smile.

So talking lagi less chance see the lower teeth lah.

I hope I can show you maybe some part of your dentist thought process? Just a guess still though.

All this while we have not really heard directly what your dentist tells you though. Maybe some part lost in communication? Broken telephone chain?