• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Govt says 50% of elderlies like to work

DarthRevan

they're putting words into ppl's mouth la. which idiot wanna work when he's already old enough to retire & enjoy life? the truth is, all lppl no choice cos cpf kena makan by gahmen. so must bite tongue with their dentures & carry on working until drop dead.

ya, most pple want to retire as early as they can

BlueCat

must be kidding,who will like to work if we can afford it.
these elderlies must be either single or childless or their children is not taking care of them.

R4g3

50%? i think thats too low.

In fact i think it should be 99% would like to work, if we are talking about jobs like president, MM, SM.

Good life, good pay, good welfare, good pension.

i wouldnt mind working until the day i die.

50%? i think thats too low.

In fact i think it should be 99% would like to work, if we are talking about jobs like president, MM, SM.

Good life, good pay, good welfare, good pension.

i wouldnt mind working until the day i die.
Those people said thay WANT to work, not that they LIKE to work.
There's a huge difference.

JohnTT

Who wants to work when they are old...unless they have no choice but to carry on. Everyone wants to retire when they are old. They have to work simply b'cos they have no money. Who likes to work when they are old. Nonsense again!!!! :mad:

Just think. Money stuck in CPF, some got conned by banks, electricity up 22%are just some examples.

The_Latest_H

The issue is not whether they 'like' to work. That's misleading.

Instead it should be that people have a right to retire, if they choose to do so, and only return because they actually have the right to 'un-retire'. But they shouldn't be forced to return back to work, just because they increase the CPF withdrawal age.

What we don't want is to see elderly already working for pennies at McDonalds, or washing toilets at hawker centres/kopitiams or being homeless, being forced to beg or rely on charity organisations for $300 monthly and food.

As long as the PAP government reinforces this social darwinist model on Singapore, it makes them and us hypocritics of the value that we have to take care very well of our elderly as much as we take care of our children.

eQuipment

ah goh + ah lau + prata man add together almost 200yrs old. 3 of them represent 50% of population mah

the statement also mean that 50% of elderlies are forced to work becos they got no choice..:mad:

what is there to brag about stupid PAP???:confused:

You must be stupid to believe that. Old people want to retired and enjoy life. Unless you have a business yourself, if not you are just working for the govt.

maybe it is true, a few old folk want to work for anything.
but not all of them.

must be kidding,who will like to work if we can afford it.
these elderlies must be either single or childless or their children is not taking care of them.

I think is more of retribution to them. Life is not that simple after all.
The last 2 years of your life is how you have lived your life time.

Microsoft

As usual... despicable papaya motives... nxt they say "Avg folks live very long" then "If tat the case we shell increase the retirement age" then "Lidat hor we oso delay releasing ur cpf 2 u lor"... I bet wat they really wish to say "Your CPF is ours now". TLLMKCCYYLCH!!!! :mad::mad:

pia

As usual... despicable papaya motives... nxt they say "Avg folks live very long" then "If tat the case we shell increase the retirement age" then "Lidat hor we oso delay releasing ur cpf 2 u lor"... I bet wat they really wish to say "Your CPF is ours now". TLLMKCCYYLCH!!!! :mad::mad:

Next? :confused: I though it's already happening :biggrin:

DIVISION1

what about rich food court owners?

are you going to give out free food someday?

That is not an impossibility. Corporate social responsibility is very important today as corporations find that sustainable revenues of a company are only possible by ensuring that they contribute to to a sustainable and healthy society.

zack123

Given that I'm financially stable, i would still work through my retirement. It gets boring teeing off everyday.

However the work has to be spiritually enlightening as wealth at this stage is no more an issue. You can't bring money to your grave and your children need to learn their own way of making money.