• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Government Logic: lower cost will hurt Singaporeans

bobby

See the source image

KuanTi01

All Singaporeans particularly those HDB flat owners/buyers will tell the minister to go and have her head examined. Common sense always prevail! Lower costs benefit them but not the Government. Lol

Boliao

If property prices are low..

1. Singaporeans will have more cash on their hands and end up squandering their wealth meant for retirement.
  2. Singaporeans will have less stress/ burdens, they will get too comfortable and end up less driven to work harder; productivity and businesses will suffer.
  3. CPF will less money, affecting Temasek, GIC and our reserves. Ministers will lose motivation to serve and Singaporeans will end up with mediocre politicians
  4. Singaporeans will be so contented in life that they will start to think about other stuff, like politics, and challenge PAP's authority. Singapore will have a less stable political environment for foreign investors.

Loofydralb

Do you agree

'Drastically lowering' BTO prices by disregarding land costs will only end up 'hurting all Singaporeans': Sim Ann​

Then go ahead and lower it as it will also end up hurting us one way or another. But at least you get cheaper housing.

CPTMiller

Do you agree

'Drastically lowering' BTO prices by disregarding land costs will only end up 'hurting all Singaporeans': Sim Ann​

Yes.
This will make the HDB prices over affordable and sinkies will be less stressful to pay loan for next 35 years or more.
This also make sinkies lazy and not work harder till 75 years old

GUDANGARAM

Time for Singaporeans youth to 躺平 relax and don’t spend money but
Yes.
This will make the HDB prices over affordable and sinkies will be less stressful to pay loan for next 35 years or more.
This also make sinkies lazy and not work harder till 75 years old
what is wrong to relax a bit

creampie

She means the rich landowning classes who will see their asset values drop. She and her cronies belong to this class. Some of them have 20 or more rental properties and their rental values will drop as well.

This Ann Sim is being groomed by the party to be the next cheebye mouth after similarly useless female ministers Jo teo and Amy khor.

huat ah! only sinkies get to pay for “bto land cost” and “owning” the bto unit without owning the land. this kind of deal is called heads you lose tails they win. all they need is more suckers to fall for it, and prices will keep going up. win win for all (sexcept the last buyer).

Boliao

For the price of a $1m HDB, one can buy a 4-storey apartment in Tokyo Japan and own the land around it. You can convert the 1 floor into a shop and rent it out to business, convert 3 stories into singles apartment and rent it out while you take 1 full level for yourself; and pay off the purchase in slightly less than 10 years.