• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Goondu SGs Feeding jobless foreigners

<TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt22 <NOBR>
icon.aspx
</NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>8:45 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>15976.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD>June 27, 2009
RECESSION HEROES
</TD></TR><TR><TD><!-- headline one : start --></TD></TR><TR><TD>Feeding jobless foreigners
</TD></TR><TR><TD><!-- headline one : end --></TD></TR><TR><TD>Soup kitchen volunteers Francis and Janice Wong visit dorm twice a month to distribute food </TD></TR><TR><TD><!-- Author --></TD></TR><TR><TD class="padlrt8 georgia11 darkgrey bold" colSpan=2>By Elizabeth Soh
</TD></TR><TR><TD><!-- show image if available --></TD></TR><TR vAlign=bottom><TD width=330>
a26-1.jpg

</TD><TD width=10>
c.gif
</TD><TD vAlign=bottom>
c.gif

Mrs Wong (left) and her husband have just enough resources to feed 300 migrant workers at Blue Start Dormitory in Boon lay. they hope to get more volunteers and expands. -- ST PHOTO: SAMUEL HE
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->
FOR the unemployed migrant workers living at Blue Star Dormitory in Boon Lay, their only proper meal comes twice a month.
That is when Mr Francis Wong, 42, and volunteers from St Anthony's Church drop by to distribute 300 packets of vegetable curry rice, along with apples and cookies. The rest of the time, the workers make do with dry bread and water, which is all they can afford.
'Even when they had jobs, things were very tough and most earned about $5 a day. Now those who have lost their jobs in the recession don't know where their next meal will come from,' says Mr Wong, a freelance management consultant on corporate social responsibility.
He and his wife Janice, 41, a former marketing executive who is now a full-time volunteer, run the food distribution project called Soup Kitchen Agape. Along with 10 other volunteers, he sets aside four days a month to prepare meals for the migrant workers.
Work starts on the second and fourth Wednesday of every month, when Mrs Wong heads to NTUC FairPrice and Sheng Siong Supermarket to buy 15kg of rice, 10kg of vegetables, and 300 apples. The next day, at noon, the volunteers come together to wash, chop and cook, then pack six buckets of curry at St Anthony's Church kitchen at Woodlands Avenue 1.
'Quite a few of the volunteers are also victims of the recent economic downturn themselves who got retrenched,' says Mr Wong. 'But they think positively and use their free time to come and help others instead of dwelling on their troubles.'
Six hours later, a convoy of volunteers' cars, loaded with meal packets, wends its way from the church to the Boon Lay dormitory. Almost immediately, a long line of hungry men snakes around the dormitory blocks.
At 6pm, most of the dormitory's 5,000 residents are still hard at work at construction sites and shipyards. Only the out-of-work ones tend to be around. The 300 packets are doled out on a first come, first served basis. When they run out, the rest are sadly turned away.
'We definitely want to expand, and money is not an issue because we have many ready donors, but we need more volunteers to keep this going,' says Mrs Wong.
The Wongs - both Catholics - were first motivated to help after they read horror stories in the newspapers about migrant workers being cheated and left homeless by unscrupulous agents in January last year. They started helping out with a similar food distribution project organised by St Ignatius Church at Blue Star Dormitory for three months and took over when it was discontinued in July last year.
It was tough in the beginning. Often, it was just the two of them running the entire operation, when other volunteers failed to show.
There was also friction with the dormitory's provision store-owner, who felt their free food deliveries were snatching away business. To resolve this, the couple started buying curry ingredients from the store owner, who now supports their work and gives them a substantial discount.
Through it all, the Wongs, who live in a cluster house in Yishun and do not have any children, say their faith has sustained them.
Mrs Wong says: 'Our priest was very supportive and allowed us to use the church kitchens for free. We prayed for sustainability, and it must be working, because so far the cost of the food has always been covered by donations. We have never had to fork out any money from our own pockets so far.'
The cost of preparing 300 meal packets every other week is $500. Most of it is financed by friends, fellow church-goers, and anonymous donors.
'We don't raise more than we need,' says Mr Wong, 'Our donors simply top up the sum to make $500 every time we are short.'
Word about the soup kitchen has since spread and others outside their circle, including retailers, are chipping in to help. On top of the curry rice, the workers now enjoy desserts of red bean buns, French loaves and doughnuts donated by bakery Sweet Secrets. Along with food, they once even received second-hand jeans, courtesy of Levi's.
Recently, the Wongs were given a few hundred tins of canned tuna, just shy of their expiry date from a mystery donor. Placing the workers' safety before their own, they sampled it first before dishing it out. 'They are human too, we cannot serve them spoilt food just because it is free,' says Mr Wong.
Besides filling their stomachs, the Wongs and their volunteers also spend time at the dormitory learning more about the workers' needs and figuring out how else to help them.
'The workers tell me about their problems,' says retired businessman Paul Raj, 67, a volunteer since February. 'I hear about their lack of jobs, how they cannot even get one shift in a whole week, and try to comfort them as best as I can.'
Through their conversations, Mr Wong found out that some jobless workers eat a proper meal only once every two or three days. 'They can't even afford to take public transport to get free food from restaurants in Little India at Desker Road, so we know we have to take it to them,' he says.
He and his wife are quick to dismiss any notions of heroism on their part.
'We don't see this as charity, because all of us get so much in return in terms of fulfilment and meaning,' says Mrs Wong. 'We have been paid back many times for the little effort that we put in.'
However, they are heroes to those they help.
Indian national P. Vairamani, 26, who works as a labourer in a petrochemical company and has seen his income dip from $700 to $450 a month this year, says: 'My friends and I are happy and touched that they are here to help.
'They try very hard for us, even making vegetarian curry so all of us can eat. I feel very moved.'

[email protected]

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<TABLE class=msgtablealt cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"></TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt22 <NOBR>
icon.aspx
</NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>8:48 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right>(2 of 12) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"></TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>15976.2 in reply to 15976.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>Firstly, if these FTs got no jobs, they should be sent back home to their home country under work permit laws. Why should Gahment allow them to stay here and become beggars in Singapore? KNN! If they are so free, I suggest they should sign up for NS.
Secondly, to all these goondu sinkies who are feeding all these FTs... I think that the poor Singaporeans who have been retrenched, staying in 1 or 2 rm HDB deserves more help! Why go help FTs instead of fellow Singaporeans?
KNN!

[email protected]

</TD></TR><TR><TD></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%"></TD><TD class=msgopt width="24%" noWrap> Options</TD><TD class=msgrde width="50%" noWrap align=middle> Reply</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

ahleebabasingaporethief

I find 2 things hard to stomach.

1) Why are we feeding FTs when so many S'poreans are homeless?

2) Why are we highlighting this in our national papers?

#2 says it all. FUCK S'poreans, we care more for FTs

This couple sure got links with MIWs. They should be ASHAMED of their actions of not helping S'poreans first. Phoooey!

dysentry

these rich catholics and christians get their moral compass off TV watching CNN and BBC, the same media that makes angelina jolie shopping for human pets in Cambodia look acceptable.

then again, they ventured into mysticism as an easy way out of life's philosophical problems, so their intelligence is already questionable.

Leegimeremover

All this jiak liao bee contractors use soup kitchens as a free way of feeding their foreign workers. It has been done since time immemorial in Spore. They have no shame like LKY.They learn from the best.

Eurekas

I am sure one of the volunteers who give free food is PRC foreign trash bootlicker amd PAP traitor besotted.

BlueCat

call whatever you want.
they can afford it and want to goto heaven by doing these deed,so just let them do it.

ahbengsong

Though I support charity works... don't these people give priority to the more needy sinkees first ??... i am sure if the same free food are set up in hdb slums... the benefits are more wide spread...

Blue Star dormitory is a commercial entity..is realated to...:mad:

If the worker's have no work, & no meals...Ministry of Manpower is responsible for that..shouldn't they be acting on it:mad:?

SINpaoreans have no means to eat, pay bills...and when they do seek help, many are being shunned & humilated..

WTF, these people, with a MISPLACE SENSE of ...............I really do not know what...are looking after these people..

Even our people do not look after our own people...

CHARITY BEGINS AT HOME...

cowbehcowbu

This is really a great irony.........
1st..these poor and naive foreign workers all paid between ONE YEAR TO ONE AND A FALF YEAR of their salary to those exploitative agents to come her...now our good hearted samaritan has to take care of their stomach AS THEY ALL SCARED OR REFUSED TO GO HOME..as they all borrowed up their noose to paid the agents....

IT BECOMES OUR SOCIAL PROBLEMS..WHEN THOSE UNSCUPULOUS AGENTS ARE STACHING MILLIONS IN THEIR BANK..and our MOM had to grapple with their protest everyday...not to mention our crime rates has gone up significantly.........

2] IT IS RIGHT TIME THAT OUR mom AND ica MUST REGULATES ALL THESE AGENTS CRIMINAL ACTIVITIES!!!!!!!!AND SHUT THEM DOWN..
all agencies must have a minimum of said few hundreds K of secutiry with the MOM..in the event their are any disputes,,retrenchment..forgery..calamities..or simply cheating by the agencies companies..these monies will be forfeited ......
3] all the agencies must be regulated to say a maximun of 2 to 3 months..already much higher tham must recruitment agencies...and a good portion of the monies to be dposited with MOM..to ensure that these agent acts rwes[ponsiply...

4] this deposit also can be activated to send these workers home in the event that there are mass retrenchments due to economic downturn...

THERE ARE MANY MORE THE MOM CAN DO TO REGULATES THE TRADES.......

2] IT IS RIGHT TIME THAT OUR mom AND ica MUST REGULATES ALL THESE AGENTS CRIMINAL ACTIVITIES!!!!!!!!......

MOM & the various businesses, GLCs ... are making $$$ from exploiting cheap foreign labour. Now that the economy is in trouble these parties conveniently wash their hands of the problem they created.

So what is our world class gov't going to do now :confused:

diversifyx2

MOM & the various businesses, GLCs ... are making $$$ from exploiting cheap foreign labour. Now that the economy is in trouble these parties conveniently wash their hands of the problem they created.

So what is our world class gov't going to do now :confused:
Another u die u business case.

da dick

at least they're not feeding foreign imported pure-bred dogs and pets who've been disowned due to recession?!? too bad the gahmen dun have the balls to even ask sharpshooters to shoot foreign "talent" with shotguns, and fine the fat x'tians for littering.

besotted

These are kind wonderful people who help the distressed and exploited

Their big hearts provide a shining example to us all

I will get my staff to devote half day each month to do this kind of work

I think it will also lead to better bonding

DingDong

These are kind wonderful people who help the distressed and exploited

Their big hearts provide a shining example to us all

I will get my staff to devote half day each month to do this kind of work

I think it will also lead to better bonding

Exactly. Do good to others and great things will happen to you too.

Frankiestine

The Wongs - both Catholics - were first motivated to help after they read horror stories in the newspapers about migrant workers being cheated and left homeless by unscrupulous agents in January last year. They started helping out with a similar food distribution project organised by St Ignatius Church at Blue Star Dormitory for three months and took over when it was discontinued in July last year

Another group of sinkees with misplaced sense of compassion just like those suckers who contributed to enriching that Huang Na mother.....

there are many other more deserving singaporeans out there that can do with these help and yet what are they doing about it..