• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Going down Food Memory Lane, Old Restaurants/Coffehouses of yesteryear

Hey Bro I agree with Snrcitizen your memory is darn good! Deserve my points of the day:)

I think we maybe about the same generation going by your description of the clubs. Also enjoyed the one at Shangri-La, also enjoyed "functions" at places like the Police mess at Ladyhill road, I even ran a humble mobile disco to earn some pocket $.:)
Too young to go to Talk of The Town then...when I was older it was...chatter Box I & II ( Mandarin Hotel), could not afford the Library, get myself invited into Chinnoserie (Hyatt)..what else...something at the ANA Hotel at Nassim......

I also liked "The Ship" has some decent reasonably priced set meals.

Jacks Place @ Killiney Rd...and a Chinese Restn., over looking Buyong Rd..called Mandarin Room.........

Tropicana was bright and big nice to people watch from the top level, with ladies pushing the dim sum carts which you do not see today.

Ahh yes!, Tropicana at Scotts Rd., Day time Restuarant, where one can eat dim sum etc.., night time host Wedding dinners, must end at 9pm sharp, for it will become a Night Club thereafter.

Earliest Mexican joint in Singapore. Also I liked the original first Macs which opened in Liat Towers. Still remember the original thick milkshakes, different from the ones Macs serves today. Boy those crowds during the early period when it first opened were huge, what with old Ah Ma and Ah Kongs takling their grandchildren to try Mac burgers for the very first time:D

..Chicos & Charlie for Mexican food at Liat Towers............

Roti John was the best there together with ice cold bandung.

Mee Siam, Roti John, Mee Pok Dry, the 'ang mo durian' drink..ha ha ha..who can forget... a meal first there, then bring GF opposite to Botanic Garden for a 'ruba ruba', don't forget gates close at 23:00 hrs...

What about Satay Club near the Padang?

Yeah!...where did I last see the two white Lions Statues that used to be at the beginning & end of MERDEKA BRIDGE....??? know the bridge guys?, the one that span across Kallang River...Nicoll Highway...

Old Airport Rd hawker centre...remember?..the old version..where one can get to eat wild boar meat...;)

Yes I have fond memories of those open air night hawker stalls. Liked the mee pork dry and char kway teow.

You do certainly get around to many places and like I said earlier, I admire your memory. Remembered TGIF but could not place Merlin Restn. Makan at Koek Rd, Orchard Rd carpark with cowboy, satay bee hoon and the king sized cockles. .

Hey what Neptune?

My father treated me to Tropicana night club for my birthday and it was probably the only legal place in town with topless dancers those days. :D

Hey Bro I agree with Snrcitizen your memory is darn good! Deserve my points of the day:)

I think we maybe about the same generation going by your description of the clubs. Also enjoyed the one at Shangri-La, also enjoyed "functions" at places like the Police mess at Ladyhill road, I even ran a humble mobile disco to earn some pocket $.:)

>Mobile disco...we may have ran into each other back then....you would remember the seaman missions at the wharf along Tg Pagar Rd., where many dances were held...YMCA's..!!.etc. >

I also liked "The Ship" has some decent reasonably priced set meals.

> The Ship, is now in KL, along Bukit Bintang, I have a picture of that, or pictures of that...never do like their foodfare anyway, their last location in Singapore was along Robinson Rd, not far then MPH..>

Tropicana was bright and big nice to people watch from the top level, with ladies pushing the dim sum carts which you do not see today.

>We do not see any of these dim sum carts anymore, Tropicana, Neptune, Mayflower Resturant...and they were yummy!!"

Earliest Mexican joint in Singapore. Also I liked the original first Macs which opened in Liat Towers. Still remember the original thick milkshakes, different from the ones Macs serves today. Boy those crowds during the early period when it first opened were huge, what with old Ah Ma and Ah Kongs takling their grandchildren to try Mac burgers for the very first time:D

>Robert Kwan...the 'founder of MacDonald' in Singapore, at Liat Towers, where Isetan stores were later... remember the Q's for the first fast food joint here..their milkshake, apple pie..BIG MAC..were really american!!:( >

Roti John was the best there together with ice cold bandung.

>too much of the Bandung...will out your tummy in an overdrive, when you rubba rubba across the road you know!:D and the toliet is at the Garden Office...a very far distance away... ha ha ha:D, will only go for the bandung on occasions, other than the 'normal occasions' at Taman Serasi..>

By SNRCITIZEN

There was a restaurant at the old Cold Storage (before they tore it down to build centrepoint) which was very popular. It was situated above the supermarket. Served pretty good food. Opposite CS was the uncovered car park which turns into an open air hawker centre in the evenings.

The cafe in Cold Storage, wasn't it the Salad Bowl?

In those days there weren't that many cafe/restaurants along Orchard Rd. You would often bump into friends when going out because Spore wasn't that big :)

What about Satay Club near the Padang?

It was the Esplande...opposite the Padang, not at the Padang...used to be called Queen Elizabeth Walk...

Go, find some P Ramli old movies...you will see QEII walk...and the Satay Club!!!:D

Can still smell the satays....the noise & the quiet, dimly lit...QEII walk...not that sleazy dimly...but romatically dimly...use to be a place, where people bring their GF there for a stroll, in the moonlight, eat food at the Satay Club...and do a moolight sarenade later... ha ha ha;)

Yes that was a treat!

Remember Country Manna in Far East Plaza and the flaming baked alaska dessert? The filo puff pastry over the bowl of soup was yums.

There was a really good Indonesian restaurant at Apollo Hotel in Havelock Rd called Java Timur, chendol and curries were yummy!

There was this Indonesian restaurant at the old Plaza Singapura which had the yummiest satay even though I don't eat satay..

There was a great Hawker Centre at this place which STPB helped to organise which sought the famous popular hawker stalls from all over island under one roof. Rojak, Kueh Paitih, Poh Piah, Chicken Rice, Fruit Juices all good. Next door was a night club where I had many an enjoyable rendezvous:p

Handicraft Centre at Tanglin, at what is now the Tudor Court. Tuckshop Foodcourt at the current HPL house.

In those days there weren't that many cafe/restaurants along Orchard Rd. You would often bump into friends when going out because Spore wasn't that big :)

The salad bowl...there was one cafe/coffee house in Orchard Cinema, where one have a bird's eye view of the bowling lanes, at Jackie's bowl..food, so, so...but you have free entertainment...of watching people, throwing gutter balls...and in one point or the other. see the Singapore National Bowlers, starting their careers there!..:D

The Coffee house at the basement of Pheonix Hotel, with the reasonably priced buffett..and the cake shop, that sells their stuff at 50% after..what's the time?..3pm or 4pm...amusingly, they get more business everyday when it is price at 50%...there is always a crowd at that time...their pastries & cakes are good..especially their buns..;)

Yes that was a treat!

There was a really good Indonesian restaurant at Apollo Hotel in Havelock Rd called Java Timur, chendol and curries were yummy!

>Java Timur..are they still around?...these days it is Tambuah Mas...getting very expensice!"

There was a great Hawker Centre at this place which STPB helped to organise which sought the famous popular hawker stalls from all over island under one roof. Rojak, Kueh Paitih, Poh Piah, Chicken Rice, Fruit Juices all good. Next door was a night club where I had many an enjoyable rendezvous:p

> This is what I had mentioned..RASA SINGAPURA...where Tanglin Court/Tanglin Mall, Tudor..is located at the moment...we were sad to see it go!>

Not far from there, you have a row of old shop houses opposite Tanglin Shopping Centre...that sell good, egg tart, Chinese food, and a Malay Nasi Champur shop...and to Orchard Tower basement..."Peyton Place"..great western food joint in the day, and a bar at night...enjoyed the food..don;t know much about Peyton Place the BAR!:D

I liked the thin crust pizzas, was fascinated watching the staff make the pizzas.

Talking about pizzas, for top upmarket Italian food, "Pete's Place" at Hyatt was really the place. I am surprised that it has lasted all these years and the standard of food is still good.

Copper Kettle at shaw tower was my favorite western food joint during my dating dates. steaks were around 20plus $.

:D
Old original one was good, not the one now running.

I agree with you, but back in those days..it was just so-so...wee bit expensive...but can do lah!.

Outside RDZ was the old "The Saint" second hand bookstores, and all the bookstores, where we buy our school books from, string our badminton/tennis racquets, re-rubber olur table tennis bats, visit the Thai Fortune Teller...ha ha h:D...

along Bras Basag Rd, just after RDZ, and after the Thain Fortune Teller, a small little old coffee shop...with a yummy Wanton Mee...

futher down...opposite the church and diagonally from Covent Of The Holy Infant Jesus.. a pastry shop, that use to sell, Hot Cross Buns for Easter.... ate many hot cross buns...sheperd's pie...marzipan....

I use to go for piano and organ lessons and thereafter teach part-time to earn pocket $ at Yamaha in the old Yaohan. There was this food court there called Doraemee (I think) served small Jap snacks which I saw for the first time, was fascinated by the wax replicas of the food.

Plaza Singapura...top floor, Mc Lionel King (right?), the first dine-in with the trays...and select your fare along the glide rails...

Yes, yes, yes! Next door was a night club called Atlantis, one o fmy 'hunting grounds':p.

Remember RASA SINGAPURA, after St. Regis today?...where St.Regis is, there used to be a small restn call Tangle Inn...

At Rasa Singapura:
1. Lau Goh ( not wooden), Chinese Carrot Cake
2. Chee Cheong Fun, steamed on the spot with prawns or shitake mushrooms
3. Poh Piah, Kueh Pati
4. Indian Rojak from Bencoleen Street
5. Drinks stall with their lime jusice, soya bean drinls etc...yummy
.....and so forth...

Viva Rasa Singapura!...was supposedly to be the showcase of Singapore hawker's fare to the tourist...but an extremely popular eating place for all those who frequent Orhcard Rd, those days, for their entertainment...first to eat and then...to the DISCOS

Ah yes, nice place with reasonably priced set meals. Talking about bowls, I also remember the bowling alley at the old Orchard Cinema, movie and bowling dates all in one during those days:)

Alamak we may well have crossed paths Bro:D:p

I use to frequent all these places too.
:)
The salad bowl...there was one cafe/coffee house in Orchard Cinema, where one have a bird's eye view of the bowling lanes, at Jackie's bowl..food, so, so...but you have free entertainment...of watching people, throwing gutter balls...and in one point or the other. see the Singapore National Bowlers, starting their careers there!..

The Coffee house at the basement of Pheonix Hotel, with the reasonably priced buffett..and the cake shop, that sells their stuff at 50% after..what's the time?..3pm or 4pm...amusingly, they get more business everyday when it is price at 50%...there is always a crowd at that time...their pastries & cakes are good..especially their buns..

Yes, bookstores run by mamas and sports goods by bayis.

:D
Outside RDZ was the old "The Saint" second hand bookstores, and all the bookstores, where we buy our school books from, string our badminton/tennis racquets, re-rubber olur table tennis bats, visit the Thai Fortune Teller...ha ha h:D.......

Oh those were the days...btw talking about "shepherd's pie" and "marzipan", you can now get good wholesome authentic eurasian cooking including these 2 items at Quentin's in the Eurasian Association building in ceylon road.

futher down...opposite the church and diagonally from Covent Of The Holy Infant Jesus.. a pastry shop, that use to sell, Hot Cross Buns for Easter.... ate many hot cross buns...sheperd's pie...marzipan....

Yes, bookstores run by mamas and sports goods by bayis.
Oh those were the days...btw talking about "shepherd's pie" and "marzipan", you can now get good wholesome authentic eurasian cooking including these 2 items at Quentin's in the Eurasian Association building in ceylon road.

Izzit so!..then I must go and check out the Shepherd's pie..no so crazy about marzipan...will nibble a little when Christmas comes around..nowadays they have not even heard of it...

Around this time of the year...English Fruit Cake come to mind...the very deliciously ones..with rum in it.....where can one, find a good authentic English Fruit Cake these days?, never mind the Vegan, Organic or new diet or the keep healthy ...just a good English Fruit Cake!!:D

Yes do try and check out Quentin's whenever you have the time. He is a darn good eurasian chef and uses fresh quality ingredients.

To me when I think of marzipan, I think of wedding cakes. Sadly as you said, I hardly see such cake toppings anymore. The one at Quentin's is made by his mum, lovely marzipan glazed topping and rich moist fruitcake below.

Oh and at Christmas time I am quite partial to mince pies, sherry and eggnog:)

Izzit so!..then I must go and check out the Shepherd's pie..no so crazy about marzipan...will nibble a little when Christmas comes around..nowadays they have not even heard of it...

Around this time of the year...English Fruit Cake come to mind...the very deliciously ones..with rum in it.....where can one, find a good authentic English Fruit Cake these days?, never mind the Vegan, Organic or new diet or the keep healthy ...just a good English Fruit Cake!!:D

Ooooo....... jogging down memory lane.....

1. Anson Road Singapore Polytechnic club house.
2. YMCA at Palmer Road before being forced to close down.
3. Medo Coffee Shop directly opposite Plaza Singapore (Logo is a spoon with the name medo on it)...... ??

The Medo coffee house directly opposite Plaza Singapura was a 2nd outlet. The main shop of Medo was at Outram Park (now demolished and has since became a turfed vacant land).

Besides Medo, the other coffee house at Outram Park was Bali Hut. Those were the two very famous coffee houses then.

The young, pretty & sexy waitresses of Bali Hut were dressed in body hugging sarong kebaya - similar to those worn by SIA girls. It was quite an attraction then. Many tiko customers liked to patronize the coffee house partly because of that.