https://www.bloomberg.com/news/arti...-could-be-hell-to-pay-if-private-credit-sours
Lord Dimon has spoken....all will be 万福金安
Please hold more Yuan....it is veey goodThe World have shifted their focus to Yuan, seeing that USD is no longer safe to hold.
We are in Good HandsSingapore recession is pegged to our Ministers salary. We don't have recession in Singapore and probably will never be.
Tiongkok data can always suka suka adjusted openly de .... jin flexible vwry sunshine de wohChina’s factory activity falls unexpectedly
https://www.bloomberg.com/news/vide...i-is-quite-disappointing-says-credit-agricole
PMI falls below 50 unexpectedly.
MeeKok upcoming political upheaval will light up 2025 is biggest wayang in modern human history. Sit Tight n enjoyChina’s factory activity falls unexpectedly
https://www.bloomberg.com/news/vide...i-is-quite-disappointing-says-credit-agricole
PMI falls below 50 unexpectedly.
Moar weak hands have collapsed....aftee sri lanka n pakistanBigger problem around dollar shortage
https://www.businessdailyafrica.com...bigger-problem-around-dollar-shortage-3861804
Africa's interbank has collapsed, and banks are not supplying dollars to the interbank market.
No official announcement in Main Street Media YET
Dun miss the Boat
Heng Ong Huat Lah
Another zerohedge nonsensehttps://pro.thestreet.com/market-commentary/end-of-petrodollar-shows-changing-geopolitics
After 50 Years, Death of the Petrodollar Signals End of U.S. Hegemony
The economic wheels of motion are turning and the U.S. is sleepwalking toward world war.
- Maleeha Bengali
- Jun 13, 2024 2:15 PM
The petrodollar, which has been in place since 1974, officially expired on June, 9, 2024.
This was a deal that was put in place to bring Arab nations and the U.S. closer together. It was designed to circulate dollars between the two regions in exchange for oil sales. As a result, oil has been a commodity that has been priced and traded in dollars. Now, as this deal has not been renewed, Saudi Arabia can trade or deal in currencies outside of the U.S. dollar; they can now trade in yen, euros, Chinese yuan and even the highly-contentious Russian ruble.
Truth be told, this has been happening in the background since the invasion of Ukraine by Russia and the Western world subsequently placing sanctions on Russia to limit its exports. The sanctions never worked, as all they did was form new trading alliances and change the partnership agreements for good. As a result, the world has forever changed.
The U.S. hegemony has been in place since the last 90-plus years, when most countries had some sort of an agreement to invest these dollars back into the U.S. treasury market as the U.S. imported goods from others, running a trade deficit. Today, these structures are changing and the bedrock of the financial system has moved. This has implications for U.S. foreign policy and its response going forward.
Since the U.S. began focusing on shale in 2012, the dynamics have changed for the petrodollar as the country moved from being a net energy importer to an exporter. The U.S. has come a long way since the days of relying on Saudi Arabia and other nations for its oil needs, and this is why the petrodollar is no longer needed nor holds as much relevance and meaning as it did back then.
This move away from the U.S. dollar has been a cause for many wars in the past, so this change is of great significance. Today, as several very powerful countries are moving away from the dollar, there is little the U.S. can do. As of now, the dollar is still the reserve currency, as there is no comparable second one behind. But the wheels of change are already set in motion.
This also has a huge impact on the bond markets. As the global alliances change, there are fewer buyers of U.S. treasury. We know that China and Russia have been selling down UST, leaving only Japan and some others as the buyers. Given the way that the U.S. is spending, they will end up being the biggest buyers of their own debt. Sound familiar? This comes at a time when U.S. national debt is on course to reach $37 trillion, about $8 trillion to be refinanced this year at even higher rates. Seeing the U.S. 10-year yield trading at 4.4% is astonishing when there is just so much debt to come still as the Biden administration knows no other way to keep the U.S. economy and consumers afloat than to boost and print even more.
As we started the year, most had been pricing in rate cuts with no landing. They, along with the Fed, have magically convinced themselves that because a recession did not occur last year, it never will. Things work in time lags, one has to remove the inordinate amount of fiscal spending that distorted the true state of the U.S. economy blurred by the U.S. monetary policy.
Today, the U.S. economy data is showing signs of slowing down, even as the goods sector is unable to make a recovery with the services part cooling off too. Judging by the way the ISM and PMI and new orders are looking, GDP projections are set to come in even weaker. The issue is that, as the latest CPI showed, we are still averaging 3.4% year-over-year in CPI, which, according to Fed chairman Jerome Powell, is still "way too high" for them to be comfortable as "they need to be sure" they have reached their sustainable 2% goal.
We are moving from a window of softening growth and accommodative policy to one of recession and restrictive policy. With more trade wars and higher tariffs, inflation is going to take time to come down but growth globally is already showing signs of fatigue.
Everyone is hiding in a few stocks as the S&P 500 makes new highs, but how much can Nvidia or Microsoft hold up the index? Its fate is inevitable as Chinese and EU indices start rolling over, it is only a matter of time until this one does too. The wheels of change are in motion and the U.S. knows it. Perhaps that is why we are sleepwalking into a state of world war.