• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Gilbert’s New Tale - Sinkie Faked PMET Asksd to F-Off for Foreign Real Talents!

Pinkieslut

Singaporean PMET with 12 years of IT experience told to make way for cheaper labour
Post Published: 30 January 2019
Author: admin
Found in section: Latest Articles
Previous Topic: Divorced woman of one son appeals to HDB for approval of loan eligibility

Dear Gilbert,
I have been following your site inception as that is the year I got retrenched. You have my admiration for supporting local Singaporeans in their darkest moment of their life. Since then, your site has driven me to fight on and I managed to secure employment later on. However, good things didn’t seem to last as I am back in the same predicament.
I am 35 years old and has a Bachelor Degree in Information Technology from Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology (2001). I considered myself lucky as I’m still single and do not have much financial or domestic burden as compared to some of the postings. Nevertheless, the recent dismissal had taken quite a toll to my psyche and prompted me to write to you.
I have 12 years of working experience, and my last job was a Senior Executive managing ICT operations for financial institution. In November last year, I was told to tender my “resignation” in order to pave way for cheaper labour. Many of my friends have left IT industry citing reason of work/life imbalance & salary depression due to foreign labour influx. As I have interviewed quite a few number foreign labour with Master’s Degree qualification requesting $2500 for a junior position during an employment exercise.
I’m well aware of this but I soldier on as my life have been dedicated to the IT profession for so many years and I do not know of any other means of employment. Now, I’m back at the crossroads and I’m really at a loss, Gilbert whether should I continue to venture on in the IT industry or seek other fields. I’m no longer certain if I can see the light at the end of tunnel.
I look forward to hearing from you.
Warmest Regards,
James

7192EE45-307B-4D21-A121-7FE0E8D7204E.jpeg

FTs create good jobs for Sinkies and 70% stupidly believe this. Long live Dr Mahathir.

Becoming a taxi driver can make a good living :thumbsup:
KNN those who resigned from IT industry on own accord and becoming 1 can usually make a decent living or even better off than some office executives whereas those clinging to IT industry and laid off usually makes a bad taxi incomed driver even they attempt to succeed KNN becas they are half hearted KNN

Becoming a taxi driver can make a good living :thumbsup:

Actually is true. My relative drove Grab. Made @ S$4k a mth. But own car. He told me business good. Job keep coming on the HP. The moment a pax alighted n short while latter he had another pax to pick. Work only 10hrs a day. Can consider doing part time ya. :)

Actually is true. My relative drove Grab. Made @ S$4k a mth. But own car. He told me business good. Job keep coming on the HP. The moment a pax alighted n short while latter he had another pax to pick. Work only 10hrs a day. Can consider doing part time ya. :smile:

No medical leave , no weekends off, no job prospects, no bonus , no annual leave. If we factor all this in, he is only earning $2k per month.

Much better than working as cleaner or worst security guard. As everyone aware latter work 12hrs 6days week shift, 7 days annual leave n gross pay S$2200 pm. Forced to take compulsory course to get promoted. Even after 3 promo ur gross pay only $S$3300 Got prospect? At least as Grab driver ur on ur own. U control ur own income.

No such thing as your own boss. You are the dog of Grab or GoJek. They tell u to chiong hard or u lose the bonus. Basically they tell u to bark, u ask how loud!

KNN those who resigned from IT industry on own accord and becoming 1 can usually make a decent living or even better off than some office executives whereas those clinging to IT industry and laid off usually makes a bad taxi incomed driver even they attempt to succeed KNN becas they are half hearted KNN

Driving a comfort taxi can easily beat his IT asking pay of $2500 a month after deducting taxi rental, diesel and daily meals.

Drive 12 hours a day seriously, one can make it :smile:

Actually is true. My relative drove Grab. Made @ S$4k a mth. But own car. He told me business good. Job keep coming on the HP. The moment a pax alighted n short while latter he had another pax to pick. Work only 10hrs a day. Can consider doing part time ya. :smile:

Some people drive a taxi with no relief driver and they can make $4500 a month. One need to have discipline and hardworking that all.

Tats rite. U try working as a jaga. Really got no life. 6days week...12hrs shft..no 40 winks ya

Cleaners and security guards jobs are lowly paid, political working environments and no job stability.

I rather drive a taxi earn an income with higher pride and better time management for my family.

Usually in weekends, taxi drivers work after midnight because there is a demand for taxi for nightclub customers :D

Tats rite. U try working as a jaga. Really got no life. 6days week...12hrs shft..no 40 winks ya

If not wrong .. a jaga basic salary is about $1800 a month excluding overtimes & graveyard shift allowance (8pm to 8am) :biggrin:

I wish it is true. Nope, basic pay only S$1100 pm. Really shortage of manpower in security industry. Tats why they are forced to work 12 hrs day/nite shift. If 8 hrs gross S$1100 how to survive? But 12 hrs teres 4 hrs considered overtime pay. So gross mthly pay only $2200. Whether day or nite i dont tink teres shift allowance. Just imagine u reach home 9 to 10pm. Next morning wake up 5am and off to work at 8 am. Really no life.

https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/higher-wages-security-officers-2019

Cleaners and security guards jobs are lowly paid, political working environments and no job stability.

I rather drive a taxi earn an income with higher pride and better time management for my family.

Usually in weekends, taxi drivers work after midnight because there is a demand for taxi for nightclub customers :biggrin:

Actually cleaner and security officer basic pay no much diff. Recently cleaner pay adjustment. But if no overtime only S$1200 pm. How to survive?

https://www.todayonline.com/singapo...l-give-resident-cleaners-bonus-wage-increases