• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Fuck all the developers and reits - funan closing down!

Closure of Funan DigitaLife Mall a 'further setback for Singapore's tech haven image', say analysts

713.jpg

Funan DigitaLife Mall will close in the third quarter of next year for three years of redevelopment. Online shopping is one of the factors that contributed to a fall in business at the computer and electronics mall. PHOTO: CAPITALAND

Consumers are lamenting the impending closure of computer and electronics mall Funan DigitaLife Mall, saying it is the only credible alternative to Sim Lim Square for tech purchases under one roof.

Finance administrator Josephine Lim, 49, said: "I don't think I will go to Sim Lim Square. I'm not that tech-savvy and I'm worried about being conned."

Mr Koh Wei Ming, 33, who frequents Funan to buy the latest gadgets, will miss the place for its convenience. "Funan has always catered to a wider group of consumers, like my parents, who are not tech-savvy," said the civil servant.

he 30-year-old mall will close in the third quarter of next year for three years of redevelopment.

Funan DigitaLife Mall, which began its life as Funan Centre in 1985, will undergo three years of redevelopment to become an "aspirational lifestyle destination".
Related Story
Closing: Funan mall

Meanwhile, Sim Lim Square has been mired in cheating controversies and tourists have been told to be careful at the mall or avoid going altogether.

30-year history

The mall started as Funan Centre, a general shopping centre. It was later converted into a "computer mart" by developer Pidemco Land, which planned to develop and promote its commercial properties along specific themes.

Among its earliest tenants were Roxy Records and Dada Records, drawing music aficionados who wanted the latest records, cassettes and CDs.

Challenger opened its flagship store at Funan, and has since been an anchor tenant.

Funan Centre was renamed Funan The IT Mall.

After some minor renovations, it was given the name Funan DigitaLife Mall.

Analysts said the two events are a double whammy for Singapore's reputation as a tech shopping haven among tourists.

"Singapore's standing next to Hong Kong, South Korea and Japan - all of which have renowned information technology malls - will take a back seat," said Mr Nicholas Mak, executive director of property consultant firm SLP International.

Mr Colin Tan, director of research and consultancy at Suntec Real Estate Consultants, said: "Having a lot of IT retailers under one roof makes for easier comparison for tourists. Singapore's tourism has more to lose than local consumers, who can always go online."

Online shopping has been one of the factors that contributed to a fall in business at Funan. Many computer shops in Funan, including South Asia Computer and camera shop John 3:16 Photo Supplies, have closed down in the past three years.

Associate Professor Ang Swee Hoon from the National University of Singapore Business School said some shops have become mere "showrooms" for their online competitors, including United States- based Amazon as well as locally based Lazada and Qoo10 - all of which sell tech gadgets. "Consumers go to shops to feel and try the products, but buy them online."

IT consultant and avid online shopper Nigel Tan, 28, who relies on online reviews, said: "Cheaper offers from Web stores overseas are worth the risk."

Sad news, I used to prefer hanging out at FUnan then sim lim square. Challenger arcade used to give really "cheap" price for tokens that you can use elsewhere as well.

Oh yeah, let's build another idiotic stinking mall with the following tenants

- lee hwa
- food republic
- breadtalk
- g2000

Don't need to have diversity such as bookstores!

Oh yeah, let's build another idiotic stinking mall with the following tenants

- lee hwa
- food republic
- breadtalk
- g2000

Don't need to have diversity such as bookstores!

Please Add

ants till you see "finest"
Foodfarce
Old Chunky
Go lah Cafe
Bang the one solo
Yat Con another hainan cafe
Haiz! the Hainan cafe....

& all the we already know them by heart....nowadays, you see one mall, you see them all...

You won't miss funan or SLS when you can do online shopping.

That's the stupidest thing i've heard. U need to feel and test out things in person, before u are well-informed to buy online. U don't just buy online without feeling the tactile feedback of say a laptop.

You are the stupid one, you are actually saying to feel and test at shop and later buy online? Isn't that mean death to physical shops?

Use your brain la. Certain things are cheaper locally. Other things are cheaper from USA. U mean u dun use your brain when u making purchasing decisions?!

singapore electronics is so expensive its a big ass farking joke,food have no choice have to buy from stores but for electronics everything is cheaper to shop online.

fucking retardo sinkie rental prices.

singapore electronics is so expensive its a big ass farking joke,food have no choice have to buy from stores but for electronics everything is cheaper to shop online.

fucking retardo sinkie rental prices.

That's why retail industry is shrinking year by year.

Glad that Funan is being redeveloped. I visit the mall often and find that there are too few customers, unlike other more crowded malls or even its SLS counterpart.

Seow lang

Funan had been renovated not long ago right? Why need another "redevelopment"?

Why don't they "redevelop" old stinky buildings like Peninsular plaza its surrounding buildings?

When Funan is temporarily closed next year and if you come to Bangkok do pay Fortune IT Mall a visit. Its bigger than Funan and should have everything Funan has and more.

Prices of electronics in Bangkok is on par with Singapore's for most items what more you can get your 7% VAT back. Here's the googlemap location https://goo.gl/maps/3wZLt4nCKip

This is along Ratchada Road so most of you will know, it's directly opposite Central Rama 9 Mall and between Amsterdam and Colonze II

The-Best-Places-to-Buy-Cheap-Electronics-in-Bangkok-Thailand-3.jpg