• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Foreigners not happy about losing jobs. WTF. GO HOME

A Singaporean

The Online Citizen

One expat asks who’ll pay rent for condos if all FTs leave while another says not their mistake to flood IT sector
Correspondent
by Correspondent
6 September 2020
3 min read

foreign-expats-750x375.jpg

On Friday (4 Sep), TodayOnline published an article highlighting that foreign expats are worried about growing job insecurity as Singapore tightened the requirements for hiring foreigners to work here (‘The Big Read: Facing job uncertainty and online vitriol, expats in S’pore share their worries and anxieties‘).
It interviewed some 20 foreign expats to get their feedback. The expats said they are worried about their growing job insecurity and prospects as companies may be forced to look inward amid the push for local hires.
They added that while their interactions with locals face-to-face remain pleasant, the spike in anti-foreigner sentiments online and hearsay of the predicaments of other expats who got the axe have added to their anxiety in recent months.
Ms Tang, a Taiwanese expat who worked as a sales executive at a tech company, said that for the past 2 months, she is feeling rather unwelcome. She tries to avoid engaging in the local social media, where they are increasingly filled with anti-foreigner vitriol, such as “foreigners are stealing our jobs” and “foreign trash”.
But she was surprised that even Singaporean politicians are calling for tightening of immigration policy. She cited Foreign Minister Vivian Balakrishnan, who had said in a live televised debate in recent GE that the “only reason we have foreigners here is to give that little extra wind in our sails when the opportunities are there”, and now that Singapore is in a storm, it needs to “shed ballast”.

Ms Tang’s worst fears were confirmed later that month when she lost her job. She said she is almost resigned to the fact that she may not find new job in Singapore, after 10 of 17 firms told her that they could not sponsor her work pass application although they were keen to hire her.
A disappointed Ms Tang said, “The economy would return to normal again. If Singapore puts itself in this kind of position, who is going to work here again? It will be pretty much like Japan.”
Ms Tang also added, “If all the foreigners leave, who is going to pay the rent for condos? Their Singaporean owners will be struggling to pay their condo mortgages.”
Apparently, the salary Ms Tang got when she was employed could enable her to pay more than S$4,000 in rent a month.
Indian expat: Not our mistake to flood IT sector
One Indian EP holder, who said to have a Master’s degree, has been on an exasperating job hunt since April when he was retrenched from a logistics firm. He has sent out between 100 and 120 IT job applications but was still unable to get a job.
“I did receive a couple of calls, but the first question they asked was if I am a Singaporean or PR. I am not even considered for an interview. It stops there,” said the man who declined to be named.

“It is not our mistake (to flood the IT sector),” he added.
Another Indian IT expat said, “The Government loses if there is no foreign talent. It will add burden to its budget.”
Angry with MOM
Amelia, a 37-year-old who did not want to give her real name or nationality, appeared to be angry when interviewed by TodayOnline. She is a housewife and her husband, a European, was retrenched in May. However, a company was willing to hire him but his new EP application is taking a long time to be processed by Ministry of Manpower (MOM).
There have been multiple emotional episodes of shouting and crying between Amelia and her husband, due to the long wait for his new EP application to be approved.
But time is of the essence as her son could not start his Primary One class at an international school, which began earlier this week, because her husband must first obtain an in-principle work pass approval from MOM.
She added that even though her husband was an EP holder before, MOM required him to get a third-party agency to verify his diploma degree, which lengthened the processing time. Scolding MOM, an emotional Amelia told the reporter, “Why don’t they just tell me that they would like to deny the application? Why are you making us hang on?”
“At this point, I feel that nobody really gives a s*** about your situation. They don’t care about your whole family. They don’t care that your kids are going to suffer… On the whole, I feel the society has turned suddenly against foreigners, waiting to kick you out,” she exclaimed.
She also sensed the growing xenophobic sentiments especially on social media. The Robertson Quay incident where 7 foreigners were caught flouting social-distancing rules has made her feel that expats could be bashed on any matter.
“Before Covid-19, people were nice. Now, I feel that deep down, nobody welcomes us here,” said Amelia.

Times are bad so

FOREIGNERS GO BACK HOME!

Singapore will take care of Singaporeans FIRST!

Seems that this expat does not know how things work. If you are fantastic, bosses I knew some has no qualms about keeping you employed. Unless you are one of the mediocre, getting high paid and not doing much and quality of your work is really nothing to shout about or the role you are doing currently was made redundant by the Pandemic.

Expats are like mercenary or guns for hire. If you are needed, you be paid a King's ransom. If you are not, you be asked to move on. Simple as that ! Nothing xenophobic. My FT friend selling traditional handmade morning breakfast is not being replaced or retrenched. She's still high on demand. I say, get down from your high horse and get a life.Instead of lamenting how people have become xenophobic. Maybe you can go for retraining or skills upgrading.

Traitorous PAP still doing this:
"
Mr Andrew Zee, team lead for financial services at recruitment firm Selby Jennings, observed that MOM is rejecting many EP applications on their first attempts, although the permits are usually approved on appeal."

So they appeal and MOM automatically approve!

And then this idiot got the cheek to say:
“They don’t realise that we studied our whole lives to be here. We work hard. We don’t steal the money here. We contribute to society and the economy,” Amelia said.

Did this idiot do NS? Did she kana 13 year reserve cycle which bosses hate because he cannot give you the project to lead and will not promote you because of that? Can you feel their sense of entitlement and demand towards what Singapore must do for them?

And then they try to scaremonger us:
"Don’t bank on it — since an exodus could lead to other types of unemployment and undermines Singapore’s reputation as an international hub, which has fuelled its growth all these years, said experts."

Who are these experts. Anonymous? Name them so that we can openly discuss.
In fact this recession is an opportunity for SG to reset its cost base so that future businesses that continue to operate in Singapore can have a higher potential of profit. We have to continuously reduce operating costs to ensure long term commercial survival. If in the future these FOREIGN TALENTS do not wish to partake in our endevours, there will be others as hungry willing to come in.
Like a smart neighbouring minister once said: If there is profit to be made, they WILL come!

Another pundek trying to justify his necessity to be here:
"Apart from rent and school fees, they pay taxes, he said. “The Government loses if there is no foreign talent. It will add burden to its budget,” he added."

He need not worry. He can go home. We will continue with CPF contributions when a Singaporean takes his place and pays more taxes and money stays in the country.

From the article, those jobs the foreigners were holding could easily be done by a local. So now in the midst of a depression locals should get priority as they have a greater stake in the country. No other countries gives foreigners an easy road to employment unless its singkieland. In addition what about the 400k mudlanders working in singkieland?

implement a quota system to reduce the number of ceca and tiong pls. no more china taxi and bus driver too jobs for sinkees

Now is the time when own country take care if its own citizens, so it is right to only tske care if locals only .

Angry with MOM
Amelia, a 37-year-old who did not want to give her real name or nationality, appeared to be angry when interviewed by TodayOnline. She is a housewife and her husband, a European, was retrenched in May. However, a company was willing to hire him but his new EP application is taking a long time to be processed by Ministry of Manpower (MOM).
There have been multiple emotional episodes of shouting and crying between Amelia and her husband, due to the long wait for his new EP application to be approved.
But time is of the essence as her son could not start his Primary One class at an international school, which began earlier this week, because her husband must first obtain an in-principle work pass approval from MOM.
She added that even though her husband was an EP holder before, MOM required him to get a third-party agency to verify his diploma degree, which lengthened the processing time. Scolding MOM, an emotional Amelia told the reporter, “Why don’t they just tell me that they would like to deny the application? Why are you making us hang on?”
“At this point, I feel that nobody really gives a s*** about your situation. They don’t care about your whole family. They don’t care that your kids are going to suffer… On the whole, I feel the society has turned suddenly against foreigners, waiting to kick you out,” she exclaimed.

fucking awesome, this article made my day
now these cheebyes will get a taste of how jobless locals felt for 2 decades
you fuckers just came and push up the prices of everything from food to properties,
if not for the traitors pap policies you think you even stand a chance to stay here so many years?
please fuck back to where you come from and leave us alone

To foreigners going back:

Nothing personal. We Singaporeans take care of our own first. Regardless of race, language or religion.

Come back when Singaporeans are fully employed and times are better ok?

Ns Tang of ROC only worth NTD 24000 a month in taiwan. Well if she desperate, find a local man as husband lor.

Out! Sinkies not happy with PAP can pack up and go. :mad:

The Online Citizen

One expat asks who’ll pay rent for condos if all FTs leave while another says not their mistake to flood IT sector
Correspondent
by Correspondent
6 September 2020
3 min read

foreign-expats-750x375.jpg

On Friday (4 Sep), TodayOnline published an article highlighting that foreign expats are worried about growing job insecurity as Singapore tightened the requirements for hiring foreigners to work here (‘The Big Read: Facing job uncertainty and online vitriol, expats in S’pore share their worries and anxieties‘).
It interviewed some 20 foreign expats to get their feedback. The expats said they are worried about their growing job insecurity and prospects as companies may be forced to look inward amid the push for local hires.
They added that while their interactions with locals face-to-face remain pleasant, the spike in anti-foreigner sentiments online and hearsay of the predicaments of other expats who got the axe have added to their anxiety in recent months.
Ms Tang, a Taiwanese expat who worked as a sales executive at a tech company, said that for the past 2 months, she is feeling rather unwelcome. She tries to avoid engaging in the local social media, where they are increasingly filled with anti-foreigner vitriol, such as “foreigners are stealing our jobs” and “foreign trash”.
But she was surprised that even Singaporean politicians are calling for tightening of immigration policy. She cited Foreign Minister Vivian Balakrishnan, who had said in a live televised debate in recent GE that the “only reason we have foreigners here is to give that little extra wind in our sails when the opportunities are there”, and now that Singapore is in a storm, it needs to “shed ballast”.

Ms Tang’s worst fears were confirmed later that month when she lost her job. She said she is almost resigned to the fact that she may not find new job in Singapore, after 10 of 17 firms told her that they could not sponsor her work pass application although they were keen to hire her.
A disappointed Ms Tang said, “The economy would return to normal again. If Singapore puts itself in this kind of position, who is going to work here again? It will be pretty much like Japan.”
Ms Tang also added, “If all the foreigners leave, who is going to pay the rent for condos? Their Singaporean owners will be struggling to pay their condo mortgages.”
Apparently, the salary Ms Tang got when she was employed could enable her to pay more than S$4,000 in rent a month.
Indian expat: Not our mistake to flood IT sector
One Indian EP holder, who said to have a Master’s degree, has been on an exasperating job hunt since April when he was retrenched from a logistics firm. He has sent out between 100 and 120 IT job applications but was still unable to get a job.
“I did receive a couple of calls, but the first question they asked was if I am a Singaporean or PR. I am not even considered for an interview. It stops there,” said the man who declined to be named.

“It is not our mistake (to flood the IT sector),” he added.
Another Indian IT expat said, “The Government loses if there is no foreign talent. It will add burden to its budget.”
Angry with MOM
She also sensed the growing xenophobic sentiments especially on social media. The Robertson Quay incident where 7 foreigners were caught flouting social-distancing rules has made her feel that expats could be bashed on any matter.
“Before Covid-19, people were nice. Now, I feel that deep down, nobody welcomes us here,” said Amelia.
amelia is another entitled housewife of an expat. she expects everything to line up for her. a little adversity and delay and she cries and shouts (and possibly screams too) at her hubby for causing her son to miss class at an international school. when sexpats flouted social distancing rules and got fired and deported, she thinks sinkies have suddenly turned against her. wtf?! she thinks foreign sexpats should be exempted from any rules? can suka suka break laws and life goes on as per her perception of normalcy and entitlement? amelia should just fuck back to where she cums from with her son if she is having a nervous breakdown. some women can’t deal with adversity and things not going their way and they take it out on others including their hubbies and friends.

Singapore thrived as a free market economy. That means foreigners too are free to come and go. This us the bed rock of its economy.