• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Foreign Talent's Wife Complain cant save on hubby's $9K Salary! Samsters Got Cry for them?

Pinkieslut

“We can’t save money at all in Singapore” — Woman says that even her husband’s $9K monthly salary is still not enough

ByYoko Nicole

JUNE 8, 2024

1.6kShares
whatsapp sharing button

telegram sharing button

facebook sharing button

twitter sharing button

linkedin sharing button

ADVERTISEMENT

SINGAPORE: Many people assume that having a high income guarantees financial stability, but the reality is quite different for one woman.

Taking to r/askSingapore, she shared that despite her husband’s substantial monthly income of $9,000, they were still experiencing financial difficulties. “My husband earns 9k a month but it seems to be not enough. Recently, we can’t even save at all,” she wrote.

“We don’t have a lavish lifestyle, but we barely have food. We don’t even eat out a lot. Maybe once a week or sometimes not at all. And if we do, it’s only gonna be fast food,” she added.

She also revealed in her post that her husband shoulders the entire financial responsibility as the sole breadwinner while she takes on the role of a dedicated stay-at-home mom, caring for their two young children, aged 6 and 11 months.

As for their monthly expenses, she shared that a substantial portion of her husband’s $4,000 income is allocated to rent.

See also 2 in 5 Singaporeans don’t use e-wallets for public transport: Study
Their additional expenses include $180 for utilities, $50 for phone bills, $1,000 for a student loan, $300 for credit payments, $500 for baby essentials, $100 for transportation, and over $1,000 for groceries.

Despite expecting to save around $1,800, the woman said that unexpected costs often eat into their remaining money, leaving them with no surplus at the end of the month. She then asked the local community, “Are we not doing this properly?”

Singaporeans point out rental expenses as the main problem​

In the online discussion, many agreed that the family’s major hurdle stemmed from their rental expenses. According to the Redditors, channeling almost half of their household income into rent was simply unsustainable.

They then offered a practical financial guideline: rental costs (or mortgage payments, where applicable) ideally should not surpass 30% of their monthly income.

For this family, following this rule would mean considering a change in residence or opting for a smaller unit that only costs $2,700.

See also Median Household Income at S$10,869 in 2023; 2.8% real term increase from past year
Alternatively, a few proposed exploring the option of renting an HDB flat, estimating that this could bring their rental expenses down to approximately $3,200.

One individual commented, “You are paying $4K in rent, which the average SG household doesn’t (public housing). So not being able to save much is unsurprising.”

Another added, “Just the monthly fixed cost of 5.3k is insane with a 9k income. I dread to think about some of the cost you are not including, including taxes, insurance.

Don’t even talk about savings, I am surprised you can even last with 9k unless that is the take home pay after taxes, CPF, etc. (if relevant).”

Some also pointed out another issue in their family’s financial situation: their household income fell below the median level.

One individual said, “Singapore needs dual income households to survive; 9k household income is actually below median.”

Another explained that, comparatively, their household income is akin to what two typical university fresh graduates would earn. This meant that they’re not as financially well-off as some might assume.

He then added, “Sorry to say this but Singapore has a low birth rate for a reason, they want you to have kids but expect both adults to work.”

kulgai

I don't think she's being demanding. $9k a month is indeed insufficient if he's the sole bread winner . After deducting a huge portion of it for rental, that's effectively 5K+ left for a family of 4 which is very tight in today's standard of living.

Pinkieslut

Ccb become of open leg policies, many educated n talent si kids driving taxi n doing grab, knn 9k still kpkb, 70% better wakeup

Nothing wrong with FTs earning 9K then trying to employed jiakliaobee Sinkies who are only good for driving grab and cleaning smelly shit.

congo9

It is not even the super scale standard salary yet.
Those civil servant on super scale start their salary from 11K onwards.
Of course they will have their bonuses, 13 months aws , National bonus and other benefits.

tobelightlight

I don't think she's being demanding. $9k a month is indeed insufficient if he's the sole bread winner . After deducting a huge portion of it for rental, that's effectively 5K+ left for a family of 4 which is very tight in today's standard of living.
But 5k+ for a women-free life guy is very sufficient. Planning on a trip again for good food.

She also revealed in her post that her husband shoulders the entire financial responsibility as the sole breadwinner while she takes on the role of a dedicated stay-at-home mom, caring for their two young children, aged 6 and 11 months.
Cheebye wanna stay at home and shake legs, but still want a high standard of living?

$9k/mth is an average income in Singapore. But...if that is the sole income to support a family of 4, of course not enough la.

Here's a few crazy ideas:
1) Get the mother-in-law or her mother to babysit the children and pay her $1,000, while the wife goes out to work. Should be able to draw at least $4-5k even working in retail or F&B.

2) Hire a maid for $600/mth, while wife goes out to work. Very similar to Point 1 above, but you get more bang for buck cos she also cleans the house so you have more time for kids after work.

3) Ask the husband to work Grab to supplement income. This is of course a shit suggestion since this is not the most sustainable in long run.

tobelightlight

Cheebye wanna stay at home and shake legs, but still want a high standard of living?

$9k/mth is an average income in Singapore. But...if that is the sole income to support a family of 4, of course not enough la.

Here's a few crazy ideas:
1) Get the mother-in-law or her mother to babysit the children and pay her $1,000, while the wife goes out to work. Should be able to draw at least $4-5k even working in retail or F&B.

2) Hire a maid for $600/mth, while wife goes out to work. Very similar to Point 1 above, but you get more bang for buck cos she also cleans the house so you have more time for kids after work.

3) Ask the husband to work Grab to supplement income. This is of course a shit suggestion since this is not the most sustainable in long run.
After reading it a few times, it feels like a fake article. Knn

NanoSpeed

She is right. Singapore should pay CECA $15K a month so that they can order more food and create jobs for food delivery Sinkies.

Taking to r/askSingapore, she shared that despite her husband’s substantial monthly income of $9,000

As for their monthly expenses, she shared that a substantial portion of her husband’s $4,000 income is allocated to rent.

The written English on display here is atrocious - “she shared that a substantial portion of her husband’s $4,000 income is allocated to rent”.

So the biggest problem is being idiotic enough to allocate $4,000 out of a $9,000 income on just rent! Rent is possibly the worst thing one has to pay, besides income tax. Money that’s paid and will never be seen again.

If $4,000 was spent to service a housing loan, at least there’s still the house ownership at the end of it.

The quick easy solution is to downgrade from a condo rental to a HDB rental.

k1976

“We can’t save money at all in Singapore” — Woman says that even her husband’s $9K monthly salary is still not enough

ByYoko Nicole

JUNE 8, 2024

1.6kShares
whatsapp sharing button

telegram sharing button

facebook sharing button

twitter sharing button

linkedin sharing button

ADVERTISEMENT

SINGAPORE: Many people assume that having a high income guarantees financial stability, but the reality is quite different for one woman.

Taking to r/askSingapore, she shared that despite her husband’s substantial monthly income of $9,000, they were still experiencing financial difficulties. “My husband earns 9k a month but it seems to be not enough. Recently, we can’t even save at all,” she wrote.

“We don’t have a lavish lifestyle, but we barely have food. We don’t even eat out a lot. Maybe once a week or sometimes not at all. And if we do, it’s only gonna be fast food,” she added.

Their additional expenses include $180 for utilities, $50 for phone bills, $1,000 for a student loan, $300 for credit payments, $500 for baby essentials, $100 for transportation, and over $1,000 for groceries.

Despite expecting to save around $1,800, the woman said that unexpected costs often eat into their remaining money, leaving them with no surplus at the end of the month. She then asked the local community, “Are we not doing this properly?”

Singaporeans point out rental expenses as the main problem​

In the online discussion, many agreed that the family’s major hurdle stemmed from their rental expenses. According to the Redditors, channeling almost half of their household income into rent was simply unsustainable.

They then offered a practical financial guideline: rental costs (or mortgage payments, where applicable) ideally should not surpass 30% of their monthly income.

For this family, following this rule would mean considering a change in residence or opting for a smaller unit that only costs $2,700.

See also Median Household Income at S$10,869 in 2023; 2.8% real term increase from past year
Alternatively, a few proposed exploring the option of renting an HDB flat, estimating that this could bring their rental expenses down to approximately $3,200.

One individual commented, “You are paying $4K in rent, which the average SG household doesn’t (public housing). So not being able to save much is unsurprising.”

Another added, “Just the monthly fixed cost of 5.3k is insane with a 9k income. I dread to think about some of the cost you are not including, including taxes, insurance.

Don’t even talk about savings, I am surprised you can even last with 9k unless that is the take home pay after taxes, CPF, etc. (if relevant).”

Some also pointed out another issue in their family’s financial situation: their household income fell below the median level.

One individual said, “Singapore needs dual income households to survive; 9k household income is actually below median.”

Another explained that, comparatively, their household income is akin to what two typical university fresh graduates would earn. This meant that they’re not as financially well-off as some might assume.

He then added, “Sorry to say this but Singapore has a low birth rate for a reason, they want you to have kids but expect both adults to work.”
U need to be very prudent with all spending as u need a big buffer for uncertainity eg sick or lost job etc