• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Flashy cars on campus

metalslug

http://www.edvantage.com.sg/edvantage/schoops/456160/Flashy_cars_on_campus.html

Flashy cars on campus

Contributed by Shivali Nayak

More luxury cars have been spotted on campuses these days - and they don't belong to the staff.

Flashy_cars_on_campus-topImage.jpg

Undergraduates are not just chasing degrees these days. Some of them they are also chasing milestones, like owning their first car before graduation.

One such person is Nur Ilham, a first-year student from the National Institute of Education, who has yet to graduate but has already gotten his first car.

The 21-year-old owns a Chevy Aveo 5 that cost him $57,000 and is fully paid for - by him. He worked part-time to finance his car payments.

Other undergraduates are even luckier.

First-year undergraduate Asri drives a Volkswagen Beetle, while final-year Electrical and Electronic Engineering undergraduate Wong Kah Wai drives a Lexus. These cars cost well over $100,000 each, all paid for by their parents.

Flashy cars on campus

More luxury cars have been spotted on campuses these days - and they don't belong to the staff.

Undergraduates are not just chasing degrees these days. Some of them they are also chasing milestones, like owning their first car before graduation.

One such person is Nur Ilham, a first-year student from the National Institute of Education, who has yet to graduate but has already gotten his first car.

The 21-year-old owns a Chevy Aveo 5 that cost him $57,000 and is fully paid for - by him. He worked part-time to finance his car payments.

First-year undergraduate Asri drives a Volkswagen Beetle, while final-year Electrical and Electronic Engineering undergraduate Wong Kah Wai drives a Lexus. These cars cost well over $100,000 each, all paid for by their parents.

Not paid a dime by them and still hao lian??:oIo:

when they pay for these cars out of their own money then come and say la...

anyone can have parents pay for them; its the kids who have to prove they are capable by themselves that count.... like Nur Ilham...

Losers.

People who have things given to them rather than working for it themselves will never learn to appreciate.

Bunch of spoilt brats.

What part time work can allow you to have $57K?

I made a very simple calculation. If he's getting 1K for the work a month, he will need 57 months = 4.75 yr to have the cash. That's provided he is not spending a single cent. If he's getting 2K a month (that's a very high amt for PT), he will need about 3 yrs. I must say he's a really good saver. :cool:

and the most moronic of them all... turning a two hundred thousand dollars car into hello kitty junk...

hello-ferrari-1.jpg

What part time work can allow you to have $57K?

I made a very simple calculation. If he's getting 1K for the work a month, he will need 57 months = 4.75 yr to have the cash. That's provided he is not spending a single cent. If he's getting 2K a month (that's a very high amt for PT), he will need about 3 yrs. I must say he's a really good saver. :cool:

I have learnt NEVER to believe the numbers you read in the mainstream media.

All my friends who are in sales line use this common tactic when being interviewed by the press... they will blow the number sky high to make themselves look damn fucking good, next day you can see their sales go rocket up because stooopig Sinkees actually believe it.

Let them own a car. Now can talk cheap.

When few years down the road and no longer on parents' payroll, I doubt they can even maintain the car for a week. Only a twit buys a luxury car in Singapore, where you cannot even speed to its full potential.

Owning a car before getting your first HDB flat is a sure way of burying yourself in poverty when you reach 40 something.

''The 21-year-old owns a Chevy Aveo 5 that cost him $57,000 and is fully paid for - by him. He worked part-time to finance his car payment"

An undergrad can work part time and save 57K to pay for his car in full? KNN what have I been doing all my life man ??? Ha haaa... I gotta go fuck myself..

nowadays kids r sho smart & rich....
haizzzzzzz....

:( :o :(

Let them own a car. Now can talk cheap.

When few years down the road and no longer on parents' payroll, I doubt they can even maintain the car for a week. Only a twit buys a luxury car in Singapore, where you cannot even speed to its full potential.

Yeah lah, that's right. All these sinkies buying the new Mercedes Benz E Class 7 G Tronic, that's nuts. How many opportunities can this car get to use all its 7 gears in S'pore? Maybe go up to 5th gear, and that's it.

5th is too liberal.

Most only 3rd. Singapore is so packed, everywhere got cars. Every 200m you drive, you can already see another car.

Flashy cars on campus

Nur Illam is a PAP cocksucker. He gets paid to write glowing articles about the PAP and have them published in SPH. He is trying to score big points with the powers to be. Scary that he will be a future teacher. Next time u see a 21 year old mat driving a Chevy Aveo 5 throw crap at his car.

A Volkswagen Beetle cost $100K? WHat a joke, that car is a piece of shit.

Who say VW Beetle is a piece of shit, It is a cool car in memory of Hitler.

Nur Illam is a PAP cocksucker. He gets paid to write glowing articles about the PAP and have them published in SPH. He is trying to score big points with the powers to be. Scary that he will be a future teacher. Next time u see a 21 year old mat driving a Chevy Aveo 5 throw crap at his car.

A Volkswagen Beetle cost $100K? WHat a joke, that car is a piece of shit.

Who say VW Beetle is a piece of shit, It is a cool car in memory of Hitler.

ANy VW is a piece of crap. I owned one before, hence I think I am qualified to critique it.

5th is too liberal.

Most only 3rd. Singapore is so packed, everywhere got cars. Every 200m you drive, you can already see another car.

Only hing u can do is take the car out to any expressway at 2am on a weeknight, and run it flat out. Maybe it will get to 7th gear by than.

ANy VW is a piece of crap. I owned one before, hence I think I am qualified to critique it.

What rubbish ! VW is not shit !The price is shitty if we cannot afford it.

Just over-priced in Singapore .

Only hing u can do is take the car out to any expressway at 2am on a weeknight, and run it flat out. Maybe it will get to 7th gear by than.

The gear ratio are tighter and gives a "smoother" ride. DSG ensures that gear changing is the optimal and you don't have to worry about it. I'm doing 6th on about 80km/h at just below 2K rpm. If you can change as fast as an automatic transmission, you won't have a problem changing to top gear on smooth flowing traffic. Problem is, when it comes to 8 gear transmission, most people just give up on a manual. DSG, steptronics, is the way forward for cars nowadays. Imagine when they come up with a 12 speed transmission. ;)

Old style mini cooper is a luxury car now? What about mini cooper S?