• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Fewer exams, assessments in schools to reduce emphasis on academic results: MOE

wafflebacon

students-classroom.jpg

SINGAPORE: Primary and secondary schools will reduce the number of examinations and assessments students are required to sit from next year, as part of efforts to reduce the emphasis on academic results.

The move, announced by the Ministry of Education (MOE) on Friday (Sep 28), will provide students with more time to adjust during “key transition stages”. Older students will also get more time to adjust to new subjects and higher content rigour, the ministry said.

The changes will be implemented in stages, beginning with the removal of all weighted assessments and exams for Primary 1 and 2 students from next year. Weighted assessments, said MOE, can take various modes such as class tests, presentations or group projects.

Currently, Primary 1 students do not have exams, but weighted assessments are conducted throughout the year. Primary 2 students now have weighted assessments throughout the year, as well as a year-end exam.

Secondary 1 students will also no longer have a mid-year examination from next year. From 2020 and 2021, this will also be removed for Primary 3, Primary 5 and Secondary 3 students.

Explaining the change, MOE said these are “transition years”, during which students will be exposed to new subjects and higher content rigour. “We want to provide them with adequate time and space to adjust to the increased curriculum demands,” said MOE.

The removal of the mid-year exams will free up about three weeks of curriculum time for each two-year block, such as Primary 3 and 4, Primary 5 and 6, Secondary 1 and 2, and Secondary 3 and 4. “Schools will use this time to pace out teaching and learning, and leverage engaging pedagogies to deepen understanding, and develop 21st century competencies in students,” said MOE.

Besides this, schools will conduct no more than one weighted assessment per subject, per school term, for all levels from Primary 3.

From next year, report books will also no longer show certain academic indicators such as the level and class positions of the students, MOE said.

Read more at : https://www.channelnewsasia.com/new...year-fewer-primary-secondary-schools-10767370

I'm disappointed that the good minister Ong has given in to political pressure to make life easier for losers, strawberries and snowflakes. I have sent a strongly worded letter to him advising him to change his course of action or risk losing votes from PAP voters who believe in tough love.

Setting up exams take up maybe one month or more each school year. That could have gone doing extra curricular activities such as music, sports, acting, cooking etc so students can find their true passion.

Nsf is killing Singapore.

2 years nsf killed male creative thinking and bandit with threats and intimidations by CAQ gangsters for 2 years.

Chao angmoh BE education create lazy teachers create fake schooling system where it take 10 weeks per year for lazy teachers to take off days...

KNN on the other hand company should make job applicants sit for exam before hiring and award salaries KNN and not hire with salary expected based on hot air and snake certificates KNN

I'm disappointed that the good minister Ong has given in to political pressure to make life easier for losers, strawberries and snowflakes. I have sent a strongly worded letter to him advising him to change his course of action or risk losing votes from PAP voters who believe in tough love.

You are only a peesai. Please know your place.

Hypocrite-The

So how r the pappies going to select the next gen scholars,? Exams n academic results are an easy yard stick for Pappie recruitment.

India has shown Sinkie BE education failed.... cheat is the way to get jobs is FT Singapore....

Why study when you can cheat...

The world are looking for rent seeking economy and need Indians to rents and give good pay jobs to them to afford pay rents...

God bless India...

Hypocrite-The

Skip Navigation
Jump to Main Main navigation and Meta Navigation
To Home
Meta Main Navigation
OpenAll SectionsAll SectionsClose
More time for 'meaningful things': Teachers, principals welcome reduction in school assessments
Singapore
More time for 'meaningful things': Teachers, principals welcome reduction in school assessments
Teachers and principals Channel NewsAsia spoke to welcome the reduction of exams in primary and secondary schools from next year. But some concerns were also raised.

Schools that have taken the initiative to cut down on assessments say this has not affected their students' performance at national exams. Students and parents Channel NewsAsia spoke to also say the move has helped reduce stress and enhanced learning.
related media assets (image or videos) available. Click to see the gallery.
By Lianne Chia
28 Sep 2018 10:17PM
(Updated: 28 Sep 2018 11:13PM)
Share this content

Bookmark

SINGAPORE: With fewer exams in schools from next year, teachers and school leaders Channel NewsAsia spoke to said they will have “more time to do meaningful things” with students.

This follows the announcement by the Ministry of Education (MOE) on Friday (Sep 28) that primary and secondary schools will reduce the number of examinations and assessments students are required to sit, as part of efforts to reduce the emphasis on academic results.

The move, said MOE, would free up about three weeks of curriculum time every two years.

Principal of Frontier Primary Tonnine Chua said the changes - which take effect in stages from next year - will mean that teachers may have to put in “a little more work” this year to recalibrate the school’s schedule of events.

Schools will also have more flexibility and room for creativity in designing their activities, she added.

“Perhaps we could take the children outdoors for more learning journeys,” she said.

Advertisement
“Previously, we would try to avoid the May period for our Primary 5 annual camp because it’s near the mid-year exams, but we aren’t so restrained by the time frame anymore.

“The students can now go and enjoy the camp without worrying about exams.”

A former teacher Theresa Ho pointed out that teachers will now have the flexibility to craft lessons in a way that encourages students to think out of the box and fulfil “authentic tasks” that may not be possible in an exam context.

“I can create a task for the students to watch a movie and debate the characters’ actions or motives, or have activities that allow dramatisation or experimentation of real life contexts in their learning,” said Mdm Ho, who has 13 years’ experience teaching in schools.

An art teacher made a similar point.

“I think if we understand the profile of our students well and we know what they’re interested in, and if we can marry the content side with that, then I think it would have a positive effect,” said the teacher, who declined to be named.

“But if we don’t think about those things and we carry on lessons as per normal as though we’re teaching for tests, we might lose them.”

“I’m excited that there might be more time to do meaningful things with students, rather than having to get them to complete things, and chase them when they don’t complete their work because we need it to count for the assessment,” added the teacher.

CONCERNS ABOUT THE MID-YEAR EXAMS

However, the teacher also pointed out that having no mid-year exams could make it harder to motivate students.

“From personal experience, students tend to ask if things add up to their final grade,” she said. “Like in class, they wonder what the weighting is for this particular component, and how it adds to their final grade.”

“I think it affects how much effort they want to put in, and how much they want to pay attention.”

Mdm Ho added that the exam also serves as a “mid-point check” for students to assess their levels of competencies in the various subjects.

“When the assessment is done piecemeal, it doesn’t present a complete picture of the child’s ability to manage a full-piece examination when they need to sit for it,” she said.

Students at Bukit Panjang Government High School, which scrapped mid-year exams for Secondary 1 to 3 students last year, also expressed “some anxiety” at the model when it was first implemented, according to the school’s principal Chua Lek Hong.

“Interestingly, it was the students who were the most worried - especially the Secondary 1 students - because it’s the first time they’re doing it,” he said.

“They started to take the formative - or non-weighted - assessments too seriously and treated each of them as a final exam,” he added.

“So we really had to talk to them and remind them that it’s supposed to be daily work, and not to get too uptight about it. It’s much better now.”

WITH NO EXAMS, WHAT CAN STUDENTS LOOK FORWARD TO?

Bukit Panjang Government High has already seen the benefits of scrapping the mid-year exams at certain levels. For example, students in Secondary 1 and 2 English class use drama and debate to improve their oral skills.

“The oral exam is quite important for students, but instead of doing it the conventional way, by reading out a passage and then having a conversation, we can have a debate,” said Mr Chua.

“So we give time to students to do their research, form their views, and then come into class and debate,” he said. “That forces them to think critically, be quick-witted and be more aware of current affairs.”

Woodlands Ring Secondary - which has scrapped the mid-year examination for Secondary 1 to 3 students since 2012 - has seen prospective students make a conscious decision to choose the school for this reason.

“They already come knowing that we have no mid-year examination for Secondary 1 to 3, and they are very happy,” said the school’s principal Ng Siew Bee.

She added that over the years, the school has tracked its results in the national examinations and saw no difference to its O-Level results. She said that the school’s students are in fact doing better in certain aspects.

Over at Henry Park Primary, which has replaced continual assessments with short, non-weighted quizzes for Primary 3 to Primary 6 students, the time freed up is channeled to other areas, such as a Young Investigator Project. It is where students initiate their own experiments, and take an “inquiry and investigative approach to science”.

“We spend five weeks doing it, and you realise that the children love it despite having five weeks’ worth of work on it, and not getting a mark,” said the school’s principal Martin Koh.

“You get the children working very hard, and despite it taking up a lot of their free time, they still say they want to have more of it.”

With additional reporting by Fann Sim.

Source: CNA/lc(ra)
Tagged Topics
education

school

exams
Ministry of Education
Share this content

Bookmark

More stories for you
Parents laud MOE's push to go beyond exams, grades but hope more can be done Toggle share menu
Report books will not indicate students’ level and class positions from next year Toggle share menu
Brazil presidential candidate Gomes undergoes medical exams - campaign Toggle share menu
image: https://images.outbrainimg.com/tran...sImgiOjIwMCwiZCI6MS41LCJjcyI6MCwiZiI6MH0.webp

Higher unemployment rate, more retrenchments in Q2: MOM | Video
9 of The Biggest Shopping Malls Around the World
28 Degrees
Recommended by
Get the Channel NewsAsia newsletter in your inbox

Enter your email address
SUBSCRIBE
Advertisement
More information about Channel News Asia
jump to top of page
Sections
Singapore
Asia
World
Business
Sport
Technology
Health
Commentary
Podcasts
Video
ASEAN
About Us
About Channel NewsAsia
Hotel Partners
Events & Seminars
Presenters & Correspondents
Contact Us
Advertise with us
Contact Sales
Online Advertising
TV Advertising
Get the news that matters in your inbox every morning!
Please enter your email address
Enter your email address

SUBSCRIBE
Follow our news
Experience news with our apps
Play Store
App Store
Copyright© Mediacorp 2018. Mediacorp Pte Ltd. All rights reserved.

Terms and Conditions Privacy Policy
image: https://rp.gwallet.com/r1/cm/p46

image:

Read more at https://www.channelnewsasia.com/new...l-things-teachers-principals-welcome-10769738

Kopi0Kosong

SINGAPORE: Primary and secondary schools will reduce the number of examinations and assessments students are required to sit from next year, as part of efforts to reduce the emphasis on academic results.
The move, announced by the Ministry of Education (MOE) on Friday (Sep 28), will provide students with more time to adjust during “key transition stages”. Older students will also get more time to adjust to new subjects and higher content rigour, the ministry said.
From next year, report books will also no longer show certain academic indicators such as the level and class positions of the students, MOE said.
Read more at : https://www.channelnewsasia.com/new...year-fewer-primary-secondary-schools-10767370

Unless the national examinations are removed, perception is unlikely to change.
Unless the criteria of assessments are changed, the end results are unlikely to change.
As always... the unscrupulous PAP is manipulating to delay the inevitable.
Just like the HDB value appreciation, end result after 99 years is ZERO.

Food for Thought:
Grading is not just based on academic.
Equal weightage should be given to the different intelligences.

Kopi0Kosong

Teachers happy only, no need set so many god damn papers.

Yes, that's true. Less setting, marking and administrative work. Less quarterly MPS, Meet-the-Parents sessions.
MOE should stipulate that the 'free-up curricular time' should not be used for academic content dissemination. It should be for enrichment or skills acquisition.
No additional fees should be collected for engagement of external vendors.

Yes, that's true. Less setting, marking and administrative work. Less quarterly MPS, Meet-the-Parents sessions.
MOE should stipulate that the 'free-up curricular time' should not be used for academic content dissemination. It should be for enrichment or skills acquisition.
No additional fees should be collected for engagement of external vendors.

I have a small stake in a company that teaches students coding. We plan to roll out more enrichment workshops to primary school kids now that they have less exams to worry about. Kindly stay the fuck out of our way.

Kopi0Kosong

I have a small stake in a company that teaches students coding. We plan to roll out more enrichment workshops to primary school kids now that they have less exams to worry about. Kindly stay the fuck out of our way.

LOL, as always... "I have a small stake..."
Yes, go ahead to boast what's not there...LOL
Go on..say this, claim that...
I and I and I...LOL
LOL...Conducting Coding lessons is BIG business...
Using 4-letter F word...as always...shit from the John

Point of Information:
Singapore has a total of 351 primary & secondary schools.
Johore State alone has more than 1000 primary and secondary schools.