• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

F1 road close cause massive $$$ lost

shOUTloud

15-min of fame? You really think this is all that will be gained? You think that all other host cities of the F1 around the world have this attitude or belief? Wow, this is the craziest thing I've heard about the SG F1 yet. It is time that the eyes are opened and blinkers removed... think broader...

(and most F1 street events are not privately funded)

most pple look at the chaos and the S$150 million to be spent on the F1 and goes immediately *gasp*

but they stand up and start clapping when China spent billions staging the Olympics.

the thing is in today's economy and tourism industry, one cannot stand still. Getting the F1 is a coup which I applaud the government for daring to take. In fact, with F1 being the third highest watched sports event (after World Cup and Olympics), this is as good as it gets.

but the pple here tend to nitpick with watever the government does. boh pian (u understand hokkien?)

Z

Zombie

most pple look at the chaos and the S$150 million to be spent on the F1 and goes immediately *gasp*

but they stand up and start clapping when China spent billions staging the Olympics.

I would rather see Singapore spent billions to stage the Olympics (not the mini one), than S$150m on F1. :biggrin:

Last edited by a moderator:

JohnTT

There is gain & there is loss. There is no one-sided gain or loss.

I feel that the F1 race should be conducted in other parts of Singapore, for example building a circuit track in Tuas. Singapore is small & it does not take long to travel around.

I understand the reason of having the race in the city area, 'cos it will generate high hotel occupancy rate & spending in shopping malls & restaurants, but to do it at the expense of the poor working class, I feel that it is rather insensitive. :(

A lot of inconvenience is created (now & in future) for the mass in order to cater to the rich's entertainment. Moreover it is going to be a regular event.

More to the point - how much is gained?? This is a huge international opportunity for SG. It cannot be underestimated... will put SG on the world map. Seriously... this should not be a time for negativity.

I don't think anyone is against having another tourist attraction but...

it is a PAP event & likely to loose money. PAP events attract the know it all experts & you can bet there are many self interests involved.

Why do they insist on having it downtown? With all those road closures it increases the cost to everyone else not involved in the F1 race. You don't find the Malaysians closing KL to hold an F1, thats why they have Sepang.

Its time the PAP realises that there are Sporeans who have to run businesses & work, not everyone is as fortunate as the PAP to get paid for failures. :rolleyes:

mengzai

any office in the CBD is doing "working from home" of shut down for this week? i drove into shenton way yesterday evening & was suprise the traffice was clear, no much cars on the road, was like driving on a week end....

shOUTloud

any office in the CBD is doing "working from home" of shut down for this week? i drove into shenton way yesterday evening & was suprise the traffice was clear, no much cars on the road, was like driving on a week end....

u betta be careful. wait suddenly Hamilton and Massa zooming past you!

I understand the reason of having the race in the city area, 'cos it will generate high hotel occupancy rate & spending in shopping malls & restaurants, but to do it at the expense of the poor working class, I feel that it is rather insensitive. :(

Even if they hold the event in Tuas, the only place to stay is downtown as thats where most of the hotel are :biggrin:

The recent reports that hotels are not full shows that people only want to come for the F1 event but not stay to explore Spore. Can you blame them, what is there to see? PAP has driven up costs of rentals, utilities, taxis, etc, so the shops cannot compete with out neighbors; KL, Bangkok,...

The future of Spore is bleak lah :(

mengzai

Even if they hold the event in Tuas, the only place to stay is downtown as thats where most of the hotel are :biggrin:

The recent reports that hotels are not full shows that people only want to come for the F1 event but not stay to explore Spore. Can you blame them, what is there to see? PAP has driven up costs of rentals, utilities, taxis, etc, so the shops cannot compete with out neighbors; KL, Bangkok,...

The future of Spore is bleak lah :(

if F1 is held in BKK, it will comfirm help the people there, bars, hotel, HC, call girls will make big money....

miosux

More to the point - how much is gained?? This is a huge international opportunity for SG. It cannot be underestimated... will put SG on the world map. Seriously... this should not be a time for negativity.

annabel chong and michael fay put SG on the world map too, for far less economic costs to the people

if F1 is held in BKK, it will comfirm help the people there, bars, hotel, HC, call girls will make big money....

Bkk don't need no F1, they already got enough attractions :biggrin:

Only sterile & antispetic place like Spore is desperate for attractions like F1.

Tourists will be turned off by the greedy hotels & taxi companies trying to take advantage. I'm not sure its going be an economic success. :rolleyes:

middaydog

baszkett, just now tried to book 2nd class hotel for friend for 2moro nite, the girl said " 500 dorlah, pay now, cancel later also no refund "_ I asked why the fuk so expensive , she said " F1 lor "

The_Latest_H

Too many F1 staging locations will dilute the whole thing. F1 isn't just about in Asia; there are places around the world, in order to make the conditions different, and thus competitive.

And besides, if BKK has it, it would create a massive backlog of sorts and cannibalize the whole thing(it wouldn't be profitable in the long run). Besides, BKK, Sepang and Singapore are just too close to each other and located in the same SEA region.

darememore

We all know that the F1 is for the ultra rich and famous. The average seng in singapore will probably only enjoy placing bets at singpools and get a kick of seeing familiar local landmarks throughout the circuit.

Unforunate that the Government did not take the opportunity to allow the less fortunate taste a bit of this high life.

My dear friend, i guess you have not been to any F1 races in KL because those people from SG that went there to watch are majority Beng and Seng..That why we had this Beng and Seng bringing the race here... Beng and Seng may not be the only punters sinkapore poo, but i can be very sure that when beng and seng place their bets...it more then your one month salary.

darememore

Singapore is already in the world map as a money laundry center when the ex Taiwan President chen and his family were exposed of corruptions.

How much is gained? Good question. The ans. NOTHING, ZILCH, EXCEPT some Familee's lumber 1 ego being fattened. And as usual, the Peasants will be made to pay for the $410M being spent on it in the form of more fee and tariff hikes. *PTUI*

watever la ... juz hope can make enuf n dun nid 2 raise gst or increase erp gantries or watever further ...