• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

ExSingaporean in Canada - Interesting Read

OldPlaza

Well written. I am another ex-Singaporean, not in Canada, but in Australia, and I am aware of such things as crime rate, homeless, drugs, etc.

But so what. These people were there because they made mistakes in their lives. Who am I to judge these people because they end up in such circumstances.

Singaporeans who chose to migrate should realised that they are leaving behind very sheltered lives where they have no control. From cradle to casket, someone in the Singapore govt will decide important decisions for them.

there is a large number of Ozzies living, working, migrating outside OZ. As a SG (not you), we are freeto work and live anywhere and still call SG home!

If this is the kind of shallow lives Singaporeans want to live, it is fine.
No one is forcing them to climb the mountain to see what is beyond.

By migrating to OZ, makes you 'kind of deep'. This must be one of the world greatest wonders.

Just remember, for a few thousand years, Chinese people called their lakes as seas, because they had not climb enough mountains to see what a real sea looked like.

I love the REAL world. Singapore is like an NS camp. Outside camp, people can chiong. I enjoy this freedom to be havoc!

SG is not part of real world? Some like to play cricket, some like OZ footy.. some like it cold, and some like it hot. You do not need to put down SG, so to elevate your ego/status.[/QUOTE]

5 ops in 3 months?? My oh my..that serious. I heard of 3 cases where students were admitted
1) one fell into a coma and if i am not mistaken he had a blood clot in the brain
2) swimming pool incident.
3) accident while on the way to skiing trip or incident at a ski slope.

No lah, not all 5 ops in 3 months :smile:

5 operations in about 2 to 3 years:
1) Put 2 pins in
2) take out 1 pin because of post surgical infection
3) Plastic surgery(skin graft) to cover the infected area
4) Removal of the skin graft
5) final removal of the remaining pin.

I did refracture one of the limbs at the skiing slopes in Banff but since the pins held I didn't have to redo the ops. You see during my stay at the rehab hospital I was doing physio twice a day for 4 hours & when I was discharged I felt great & didn't wait for my legs to fully heal before hitting the slopes :o

From the experience I did get to meet other Sporeans living in Edmonton & Calgary but wouldn't recomend as a way to network. :smile:

I did get to see how kind Canadians can be, including asians. Had offers from the nurses to help with grocery shopping, offers of lift from strangers,..

They did send me some of the medical bills to verify that I received the treatment. Fortunately I did not have to pay it because it was substantial.

The Canadian system is superior to Spores system, there is a follow-up process. Before I was discharge I spent time with the home therapist who made recommendations on coping strategies. They provided me with a reacher(arm), bath stool, handhold(which clamps onto the bathtub edge)

After my discharge I had follow up physiotherapy.

Compared to the treatment I recently received in Spore for some heart problems, Spore is very commercialised :(

TeeKee

5 ops in 3 months?? My oh my..that serious. I heard of 3 cases where students were admitted
1) one fell into a coma and if i am not mistaken he had a blood clot in the brain
2) swimming pool incident.
3) accident while on the way to skiing trip or incident at a ski slope.

shits happen, no matter where you are...

but it helps to have God with you, to cover your ass...:biggrin:

Unfortunately if it happens in Spore it will haunt you for life. I fractured my shoulder back in my school days. The hospital in Spore simply put a S bandage on it.

Since that fracture I have a loop sided shoulder. Can't use that shoulder to support a sling bag, back pack, rifle,....as it'll slip off. Now that I'm older it hurts :(

Sporeans are getting older & with age they are more vulnerable health wise. With the cutthroat PAP ever ready to profit from medical treatment its going to be very difficult.

mayliewwan

I think my cousin knows you...ex sniper ,fine arts student and he stayed at HUB.

No lah, not all 5 ops in 3 months :smile:

I did refracture one of the limbs at the skiing slopes in Banff but since the pins held I didn't have to redo the ops. You see during my stay at the rehab hospital I was doing physio twice a day for 4 hours & when I was discharged I felt great & didn't wait for my legs to fully heal before hitting the slopes :o

:(

exSINgaporean

Bro, Edmonton is one city that I have yet to visit and the Mall has always been in my mind. If I get there, it will be a pleasure to catch up.

In 1974, a neighbour left for Perth, in 75 a classmate left for Vancouver, and eventually I sponsored a wonderful maid of the family to Vancouver as well. A trickle in 74 is now a major stream. And its people like you that led the way.
....................................................................................................
Yes.

Drop in Edmonton and I will show you around. I will bring you to eat the best steak in the whole of Canada if not the whole world...in the Century casino for less than Sin$10...yea $10 including tax. Here we don't call the casino as Intergrated Resort...not even in West Edmonton Mall which has a huge casino...we just call it in a plain English word........casino.

Also meet some of the so-call 2nd class citizens (as what Straits Times and PAP wnat to to think) ..exSingaporeans who have become Canadians in this white country....their children are either lawyers, chest specialist, family doctors, engineers, car mecahnics (earning Sin$120,000 per year type) etc. I will also drive you to see our inner city where the homeless live and the drug addicts roam. I will also show you broken homes of exsingaporeans who came and devorced. Sad cases.

In short that's the truth...nothing to hide.

Please for goodness sake do not come in late authum to early sping...between Nov and April. You will get extreme cold winter or m&d water in early spring. We are no way coampre to Vancounver at that time.

You will have to come within these 3 years because we could immigrate Toronto after then. Here we have the wide choice of where I want and how we want to live.

Write me via this forum or write to my office at

Bernard Chan
9090-51 Ave
Edmonton, AB
Caanda T6E 5X4

exSINgaporean

If you really enjoy higher crime and all those perks that come with being a second-class citizen then go ahead. Why not?

In the context of citizenship those who leave are usually those who are not good enough to stay in your country.

Seriously for those who have been there before Canada is only as good as far as it goes. On account of the many social problems and the unspoken racial discrimination there's nothing really so unique or desirable about that place all in all other than some of the less crowded spots (where then again you'd still need to be quite on guard). Absolutely meaningless really.

You people should find reasons to stay rather than reasons to leave.

1. Yea you are right 2nd class citizen. I would have agreed with you when I was busy in life and the only news was from Straits Times and not much chance to think about life as a citizenhip of another country...let alone spoke to someone who had given up their Singapore citizenhips.

Let me illustrate how statistic can lie.

If Bill Gates walks into a MacDonalds fast food restaurant, in statistic all those in the restaurant are multimillionaires! Going by the wealth (including all the Indonesian, Jack Li, jackie Chan etc) in Singapore, and divided by the population of Singapore, in statistic Singapore and you will get the picture the ST prints.

Same goes to cirme rate and homeless. Do you believe or dare to believe Straits Times Times?

2. I don't mind living as what ST term or LKY term us as 2nd class citizen.

We the 2nd class citizens of Canada:

....majority of us live in bangulows with garage and two lawns.
....have two cars per family
....children taught by an Mo teachers.
....in the Program for Inernational Student Assessment, PISA Canada is rated to be top 5 nations in the world for education and Alberta in particular even overtakes the #1 Finland in reading comprehension...and you know what..no stress for our kids from kindergarden right to grade 9...but poor thing, a bit more homework (about 2 hrs per night) from grade 11 to 12 only.

http://www.desmoinesregister.com/article/20081207/OPINION01/812070309/1035/Opinion

....no fear about speaking out in town hall meetings or in church ..against the government or for the govt.

...but not much chance to be elected as Prime Minister of the Canada.

...would not need to worry about the hospital bills

...no damn time-wasting N.S. and reservist LIABILITIES.

...strong opposition parties and even the ruling parties and NEWSPAPERS and other investigative newspapers to protect ALL citizens regardless of colour or race. Definately our PM cannot say things like LKY when she was choosing his successor: "Dana...Singapore is not ready for an Indian Prime Minister...Ong Teng Chong he is Chinese educated"...there goes your national pledge national aspiration as fox Lee siad recently..."regardless of race, language or...."

...no CBD, ERA,

.... no need to live in fear of the ISD, gangster chief Lee and cancer son

... no need to hear the Singlsit from the PAP ministers

...our jobs are protected from the FTs by minimum wages

Then not to forget Singapore. I let you say it ...go on.....
We the FIRST Class citizenships fo Singapore:

You might say Singapore has no choice but need to be like this what...but let you remind you, you have the choice...emigrate!!!

Get quickly trained as a welder, plumber and work for a year ...even part-tiem will do...you will stand a better chance to migrate to Canada or Australia.

Or go into these countries as student and work your way around.

"It there is a WILL they will be a WAY".

3. Yea yea, we could not made in in Singapore that's why we emigrated.

In Edmonton alone, we have ex-Singapore doctors, lawyers, medical specialists and myself holds a First class Honours and later a Master Degree from the Imperial College, London University. Yea cannot made it in Singapore. See the Life page June 3, 1991...that's me Bernard Chan...full page. We couldnot made it in Signapore? You can?

Let me tell you this: "Singapore does not deserve to have us, period."

4. You write about "upspoken racial discrimination"...where?

If you look with a microscope you might find some...if a Chinese like me try to go into a homeless shelter, people will stare at me...racial discrimination lah.

When I teach Wing chung Kung Fu in the gym I must be much better than the whites...racial discrimiantion lah.

I am the only Chinese in the school council full of whites...discrimination...where? H...e..ll...o Where?

My wife work in a place pre-domoninately white ...discrimination..yes there are lots of racail discrimination in her workplace....she always get the most compliments from the white customers and white boss! he got the biggest pay increment! We don't mind "your and S.T." so call "unspoken racial discrimination". After all, why should she speak about it? Tiem tiem lah..quite quite lead our life OK.

My son is the only Chinese in the junior lifeguard, and sprint team in which he is the fastest runner...I have yet heard him coming back from school telling me due "racial discrimination" he was not allowed to save people in the pool or he was not allowed to outrun the white and black kids.

My special needs daughter just came to me telling me she needs to go to her workplace to collect her pay slip so that we can report her pay to the Social Welfare for handicap children. She takes bus herself, work there with slightly above basic pay..yea even special needs got pay increment above the basic minimum of Sin$11 per hour (she earns Sin$12.5/hr)..her lady boss loves her like an angel...you tell me where is your Straits Times sweeping statement of "unspoken racial discrimination."

Do you need an electronic microscope?

Friend, don't just echoe what the ST says.

5. You talk aout finding reasons to stay. We have spent 6 years ...after my graduation form London in 1985 to 1991...to find reasons to stay put in Singapore. Wow thanks God for the finding...high stress for children's education, get-you-bankrupt hospital bills, oppositions like Jaya, Franscis Seow, the so-called Maxist Catholic group got arrested and no Singaporeans dare to defned them..not me, I was scared, FT taking away jobs bec. no basic pay, LKY kept lecturing us in ST front page ..... on and on.

Reason to stay...hot weather, Singapre hawker food, aged parents etc.

The decision was obvious...obviously good. Only a fool would decide otherwise....to stay.

Let me end by telling you what my friend and I suffered in Canada. Richard and I were both Singaporeans. In 1991, we met. At that time Singapore allowed to let us renounce (or rather denouce) our Singapore citizenships without proof of being a citizen of another country. So we (amny Singaporeans we knew did likewise) gave up and immediately withdrw all our CPF to buy our dream bangulows.

In other words we were STATELESS and so no passports to travel.

His mother fallen ill and my mohter died of stoke. I felt down to the floor when I received a call from my brother late in the evening that "mom died"...sudden death from a stroke. I just spoken to her few days ago and her last word was "bye bye." I screamed for MA MA MA! Cried non-stop, hug her photo... even when I am writing this I cannot help but cried...though it happened more than 15 year ago.

Both of us applied to the Canadian govt for Certificate of Identity to travel back. Richard got his real fast because his mother was ill and still alive and he desprately wanted to see his mother for the last time. He flew back just in time to see her die. He said it was damn painful but lucky to see her and say goodbye to her just before he shut her eyes.

As for me, my mum died. The Canadian side did not see the urgency to issue the CI. I agreed with them. A white Member of Parliment whom I just knew tried to help in expediting my CI process but was told by the clerk point blank in front of me that they are not to be pressured by any politicians! I felt bad for her.

I told my brother to delay the cremation. But it took too long...more than 10 days. Her corpse was discomposing in the hot weather under the HDB void deck. They have to cremate her tommorrow.

I did the closest thing I could .... I requested my elder brother (I am the youngest) to put his phone next to my mum's (her corpse, yea a died person) ear and I trying to hold my tears so that I would not upset her and made her worry...I said: "Ma, goodbye. Ma goodbye. Ma goodbye."

CHARACTER

People are like teabags. You have to put them in hot water before you
know how strong they are.

I think my cousin knows you...ex sniper ,fine arts student and he stayed at HUB.

Yes I was staying in the student ghetto known as HUB :smile:

Hmm I met a number of girls in fine arts but don't remember any guys from fine arts. Sporeans were usually doing business, comp sci, engineering ...

Been having memory problems I think its related to the health problems :(

Whats your cousin doing now? Is he in Spore now?

Yeah, You never realise these things until someone starts a conversation on it and there is universal agreement.

There is an ex-SIA chap who migrated and he brought along a Korean Tea Chest that he acquired in the 80s before it became popular and available in Singapore.

That tea chest is such a strong anchor and they routinely imagine the previous house in Singapore, their friends and family who talk about it in the old days.

But after the nostalgia its back to wines and BBQ, the great outdoors and you know what.

Emotional anchor

When one grow old, we tend to reflect on our youth. eg. The babyboomers are back into retro, classic and nostalgic stuff.

If we have not taken time to blend into our adopted country, we will miss the Singapore we leave behind.

But somehow, when we return to Singapore for visit, things are not the same anymore, even the old bldgs restoration is just comestic. More than musuem exhibits.

So, don't throw away everythings brought over from Singapore. It serves as a link - a continuity - to our lives in another place.

You are good man. I remember both Charlie and you were providing encouraging words and tips in the old sbf for years and when Asychee came along, you three were brilliant.

Good things will come to good people.

....................................................................................................
Yes.

Drop in Edmonton and I will show you around. I will bring you to eat the best steak in the whole of Canada if not the whole world...in the Century casino for less than Sin$10...yea $10 including tax. Here we don't call the casino as Intergrated Resort...not even in West Edmonton Mall which has a huge casino...we just call it in a plain English word........casino.

Asychee

Bro, it all depends on your station in life prior to departure. Some people prefer their families to have similar standard of living and therefore do whatever it takes. From his message, it appears that he did not buy a house immediately as you think.

The issue is generally not house which a sensible person would have done sufficient research. Its the job to draw a regular income. The house is always secondary compared to a job.

By the way SWOT, Cost/Benefit analysis , research etc are second nature to kids who have completed "A" level so no need to repeat.

The prime drivers in terms of destination/city are the following
- previously studied in that city thus close affinity and familiarity
- have friends and relatives living in that city
- city has the best educational and development opportunities for their kids as most people migrate for their kids
- the bigger the city the propensity to migrate there is higher as naturally the opportunities are higher
- lifestyle moves
- affordability factors - affordable houses, lifestyles etc

In the main, like you and many other migrants, leaving a 3rd world country for a 1st World country is a no-brainer. The sensible ones who remain in Singapore do so because of loved ones especially parents and possibly a lucrative job or business opportunities.

If you,ExSingaporean, Charlie, Neddy, Fishbuff, Axe, Doc(Nayr69) and the rest continue to share your experiences, we can save many more from the clutches of govt addicted to GDP as the only measure of success at all costs.

With all due respect to you, You will be surprised that how many of them that i have help knows little about their own SWOT. I received plenty of emails from samster - waiting to be spoon fed even though they are so highly educated. I normally respond by being straight forward to them, some take it as blunt while others take it as constructive. I can say things to make you feel nice but if in the end, it does not help = we both wasted our time.

Well said and welcome aboard. We need to kickstart our kin in Singapore to start thinking out of the box.

Will share this interesting story (I am full of it). Attended a party where there were a lot of folks from NUH/NUS. Met a Prof and his wife and I asked them about their 2 year stint at St Vincent's in Sydney. He told that he was so fed up with perks given to foreigners lecturing in NUS that he decided to become one. He migrated to Sydney, worked at St Vincent's, bought a house and 2 years later he got Oz citizenship. Re-applied for his post in NUS and as a Prof and a "foreigner", he got university housing and all the perks.

This was in 1994. He told me that he considers OZ home, but milking the Singapore system like every foreigner because the govt has no idea what nationhood is about.

Singaporeans who chose to migrate should realised that they are leaving behind very sheltered lives where they have no control. From cradle to casket, someone in the Singapore govt will decide important decisions for them.

This thing about being labelled 2nd class citizens seems to be the no. 1 claim by Singaporeans still stuck in their wells. You hear that all the time when someone in Singapore expresses the notion of migrating.

This is despite the fact that Chinese have become govenors and mayors in white majority areas in the 1st world countries. There is even Indian chap who is a state governor in the US.

We laugh at the Ah Tiongs in Singapore but not realising that if our forefather had not migrated, we won't be laughing at the Ah Tiongs.

Sometime I get the feeling that there are indeed Singaporeans who have a latent fear of the white man and a severe lack of confidence in themselves. If the PAP don't hold their hands, they will even fear crossing the street to go to the wet market.

1. Yea you are right 2nd class citizen.

Ok, understand where you are coming from. I am still impressed by your good heart to help all the time.

Any chance of getting Doc (Nayr69) to come back to this forum. He used to be the resident Doc in the old sbf forum and his desire to migrate and the challenges he faced and wrote about was quite inspritational over the many years that he posted in the forum.

I remember that he thought of going to Geelong in Oz at one stage. He was one determined character as those with medical qualifications had high entry barriers to protect the locals. Yet he did it.

With all due respect to you, You will be surprised that how many of them that i have help knows little about their own SWOT. I received plenty of emails from samster - waiting to be spoon fed even though they are so highly educated. I normally respond by being straight forward to them, some take it as blunt while others take it as constructive. I can say things to make you feel nice but if in the end, it does not help = we both wasted our time.

exSINgaporean

The stabbing occured just in front of my son's school...St Cecilia Junior High in Edmonton. He has two more years there. He takes bus and thus walks the same way...ALONE.

After St. Cecilia, he could be in be in the neigbouring school...Archbishop O'Leary High School...that's where the action is...the boy got stabbed is from that school. It would be interesting to see how my son handles the situation especially the case at age 16 he will be a lifeguard in the nearby O'leary Swimming pool. Often rough gangs swim in that pool they shout and round amok...it will be interesing to see how my son handles them all. How he controls the gangs.

Wow what a money-cannot-buy real life experience he will be getting. Better than the army training.

Am I worried? Is my wife worried? You bet. But then would this happen in Singapore? Maybe not.

Welcome to Edmonton? If you chicken out by this report, don't worry it is normal reaction.

Student, 17, stabbed outside Edmonton school
Last Updated: Tuesday, April 22, 2008 | 4:05 PM MT Comments3Recommend18CBC News
A Grade 11 student was rushed into surgery Tuesday after he was stabbed outside a north Edmonton school around noon.

The 17-year-old was walking along 132 Avenue at 88 Street with some friends when he was jumped by several people, police said.

The student attends Archbishop O'Leary High School, about a block from where he was attacked.

The stabbing occurred in front of another school, St. Cecilia Junior High School, but police and school officials aren't sure whether that is significant.

The teen was rushed to Royal Alexandra Hospital where he underwent surgery for stab wounds to his hand and the right side of his abdomen. The injuries are not life-threatening.

Police cordoned off the area and were interviewing witnesses. They are searching for three suspects who were seen running from the scene.

Officials at Archbishop O'Leary High School have sent home letters explaining what happened and asking parents to be extra-vigilant, said Lori Nagy, a spokesperson for the Edmonton Catholic School Board.

...................................................................................................

TeeKee

The stabbing occured just in front of my son's school...St Cecilia Junior High in Edmonton. He has two more years there. He takes bus and thus walks the same way...ALONE.

what is the church situation in Canada? do many Canadians go to church?

exSINgaporean

what is the church situation in Canada? do many Canadians go to church?

It's hard for me to tell you.

I belong to one of the fastest growing church in Edmonton so to my perception is that it is great. However as in most western world, it is an uphill task to bring people to church. You should check on Statistic Canada for the govenment answer.

I know for sure some churches are quite political...we even sign pititions to the government if we feel something needs to be done. Also in many political meetings and professional body meetings we pray in Christian prayers before we eat. I saw the Muslim and Sikhs just cloed their eyes during prayer. They did not object by walking out.

Hope that answers your question.

exSINgaporean

These below comments of mine should be a new tread under politics but I just want ot produce here. The title should be: "Singapore should sue International Bar Assocaition, not the messengers!"

1. Aug 2005, Lee Kuan Yew said must sue

Asia Time
Aug 2005
The Making of Singapore
IME: Couldn't you have been lighter on the opposition—not sue?
LEE: No. If you don't sue, repetition of the lie [makes it credible]. It will be believed ...

2. July 2008 IBA publish report on concern of independence of judicicary of Singapore.

July 08, 2008
08/07/2008
Report by IBAHRI express concern about limitations of freedoms of expression in Singapore
In a report released today, the International Bar Association’s Human Rights Institute (IBAHRI) expressed concern about limitations on the freedoms of expression, assembly, and the press, and of the independence of the judiciary in Singapore. The report, Prosperity versus individual rights? Human rights, democracy and the rule of law in Singapore, makes 18 recommendations (pages 67-68), which the IBAHRI urges the Singapore Government to implement as a matter of priority.

3. Sept 2008, Singapore govt through its Ag sue the Wall street and Dow Jones (messengers) for reporting the IBA report. Why they dont' sue IBA?

Singapore to sue Wall Street Journal for contempt of court
Tajikistan News.Net
Friday 12th September, 2008 (IANS)

The Singapore government plans to sue the publishers and owner of the Asian edition of the Wall Street Journal (WSJA) for two articles questioning the impartiality and integrity of the Singapore judiciary.

Singapore attorney general's office Thursday issued a statement saying it has sought permission from the court to institute contempt of court proceedings against the newspaper's owner, Dow Jones Publishing Company (Asia) Inc., for articles published in the newspaper that 'impugn the impartiality, integrity and independence of the Singapore judiciary'.

.........The other editorial commented on a report by the International Bar Association's Human Rights Institute alleging executive interference in the judiciary.......

4. Sept 2009. LI report to UN Human rights...reported in SDP website. Is the PAP foing to sue the SDP and LI for
reproting and also sue the UN for listening? Let's wait a see.

Sept 10, 2009
Singapore Democrats

The Liberal International (LI) has submitted a written statement to the United Nations' Human Rights Council. The statement cites human rights violations in several countries including Singapore and Burma.

Singapore

The International Bar Association (IBA) produced a report in July 2008 after it held one of its annual conferences in Singapore. In that report, the IBA stated that:

“The judiciary in Singapore has a good international reputation for the integrity of their judgments when adjudicating commercial cases that do not involve the interests of People’s Action Party (PAP) members or their associates. However, in cases involving PAP litigants or PAP interests, there are concerns about an actual or apparent lack of impartiality and/or independence, which casts doubt on the decisions made in such cases.”