• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

ExSingaporean in Canada - Interesting Read

Bro, it all depends on your station in life prior to departure. Some people prefer their families to have similar standard of living and therefore do whatever it takes. From his message, it appears that he did not buy a house immediately as you think.

The issue is generally not house which a sensible person would have done sufficient research. Its the job to draw a regular income. The house is always secondary compared to a job.

By the way SWOT, Cost/Benefit analysis , research etc are second nature to kids who have completed "A" level so no need to repeat.

The prime drivers in terms of destination/city are the following
- previously studied in that city thus close affinity and familiarity
- have friends and relatives living in that city
- city has the best educational and development opportunities for their kids as most people migrate for their kids
- the bigger the city the propensity to migrate there is higher as naturally the opportunities are higher
- lifestyle moves
- affordability factors - affordable houses, lifestyles etc

In the main, like you and many other migrants, leaving a 3rd world country for a 1st World country is a no-brainer. The sensible ones who remain in Singapore do so because of loved ones especially parents and possibly a lucrative job or business opportunities.

If you,ExSingaporean, Charlie, Neddy, Fishbuff, Axe, Doc(Nayr69) and the rest continue to share your experiences, we can save many more from the clutches of govt addicted to GDP as the only measure of success at all costs.

This is the point i dont understand. If you migrate to a country, you dont control a property, you rent first. It would means that what ever reserved you have it will be going down the drain.

I choose alberta as Landing as it is the only province i can assume a mortgage (ie pay the diff between the Purchase Price and mortgage balance - you control the house). I brought only C$36,000. I spend $30000 to assume a property which netted me another C$150K in 6 months. When wifey collect her CPF + Capital gain + refinancing. We have a war chest to go buying properties. We make sure the passive income from rental & business is higher than other expenses. We are financially free. It is as simple as that.

Most important thing is - know your SWOT and Just Do it.

This is the point i dont understand. If you migrate to a country, you dont control a property, you rent first. It would means that what ever reserved you have it will be going down the drain.

Have to agree that being in a new place one is likely to conserve one's cash for unknown emergencies.

When I was living in Toronto I made do with 2nd furniture from the Salvation Army. They have a decent range, in good condition, & most importantly deliver.

Slept in sleeping bags. For kitchenware I went to Honest Eds :smile:

Actually being a student is much like being a new immigrant, adjusting to a new country, culture,... You may even have to move to another province for a job.

Toronto has a fantastic public transport system so you don't need a car. It's not a necessity but an option.

When it was time to move to Alberta I gave my stuff away.

Both your and his situations are different. He is a migrant, cutting ties, taking all his worldly possessions and moving with his family. Once there, he has to buy car, pay rentals etc.

Had a relative who did a recce visiting the various places & after he had done his homework & decided on Vancouver bought a house there. When it was time to move with his family everything was ready.

Reading this persons account it does not appear that he was as meticulous in his planning. You don't have to be as meticulous as my relative as long as you are willing to budget properly. Why do you need a car within the 1st 6 months? Being new to a city how do you even know you need one :smile:

This poster does not give a breakdown of his costs so one can only speculate on where that $40,000 went to.

Bro, being a migrant is a whole different perspective and challenges and no where near being a regular traveller or tourist. If your are married and have kids, it an even bigger challenge especially if the kids are 8 years and older. When you tow a family along, you want your kids and your spouse to have confidence in you and its much cheaper to get a car rather than paying fare for the whole family.

One of the things that you will hear which suprised me in many cases whether Canada, US, OZ is that the Mrs breaks down in the first few weeks of arrival.

There are whole lot of emotions evolved in migration absolutely no comparison to someone going for a few years to study.

Had a relative who did a recce visiting the various places & after he had done his homework & decided on Vancouver bought a house there. When it was time to move with his family everything was ready.

Reading this persons account it does not appear that he was as meticulous in his planning. You don't have to be as meticulous as my relative as long as you are willing to budget properly. Why do you need a car within the 1st 6 months? Being new to a city how do you even know you need one :smile:

This poster does not give a breakdown of his costs so one can only speculate on where that $40,000 went to.

One of the things that you will hear which suprised me in many cases whether Canada, US, OZ is that the Mrs breaks down in the first few weeks of arrival.

There are whole lot of emotions evolved in migration absolutely no comparison to someone going for a few years to study.

Ahh, now I understand. Many of my friends are single. Those that are married have made the move as a couple.

Didn't factor in the 'extra' baggage of some married couples :smile:

exSINgaporean

I am well aware that the cost of living has gone up in Toronto since I was there , especially rentals but SIN$40,000 in 6 months :eek:

Even with housing there are options to stretch the dollar :rolleyes:

We landed in May 1991 and at that time the "kind" PAP govt. overlook a loophole...we were allowed to give up our Singapore citizenships without the proof of being citizen of another country. So in Nov 1991 I was able to withdrew all my CPF which was about Sin$19,000 (little bec. both of us were self-employed so I did not contribute to CPF most of the time). This adds to the Sin $21,000 cash I bought along.

The $19,000 was used to pay towards the "assumed" mortgage with the bank. We had two mortgages...the bank assumed mortage and a 2nd mortage with the seller who charged us 13% per year interest. Thanks God for aviability of "assumed" mortage which does not need us to qualify because from landing to the applying for mortage our combined income was less than Sin $10,000.

Now that would answer why we used up all our money within 6 months or so.

I just wounder whether Ho Jinx or old fox Lee would ever explain how they invest or lost YOUR money in my manner. You should be more concerned about your CPF and Temasek investment than how I depleted my OWN money of Sin$40,000.

Let me tell you this much. I just came back from the clinic after taking my 13 year old Canadian-born son to the doctor for his flu. As we were waiting to be attended by the doctor, I just felt so safe to be in Canada.

In Singapore 20 years ago (now might not be that bad) one can go bankrupt if there is a major illness in the family and need to be hospitalized in the blood sucking hospitals. I say blood sucking I mean it. When my daughter went for a heart operation (congenital defect), we need to phone our relatives to combine blood donation back to the blood bank.

Wow, I knew of few Indonesian friends' parents and children who came to Singapore for oprations and they did NOT need to go through all these hassle. Why then we Singaporeans after serving N.S. and doing the LIABILITY of reservist duty need to go around donating back the blood? Why? Was this a 'special previlege" we enjoy for being true-blue citizens? That started me thinking how we are short-changed or rather cheated by the PAP govt. My wife and I started to ponder...emigrate?

Do you guys still need to donate blood to cover up for the blood usage by your love one? Probably not because the PAP govt is s...o g..o...o...d to Singaporeans.

Then as we ward her, the P.A.P. really started showing its true meaning....PAY-AND-PAY. Because my daughter's defect and other multiple illnesses were/are congenital, our life insurance agent group health would not cover! Wow! All hell broke loose.

We did not have CPF medisafe bec. we were self-employed, then no insurance...listen to this Hollywood ghost storyline...I remember vividly standing at the registration counter of the SGH LIMITED.. since I did not have all the usual coverage, she asked for my credit card and got me to sign on the BLANK copy and told me they will charge me later. I was signing a "BLANK CHEQUE"! Can you imagine how heavy my heart was when I walked back to admit my daughter! How much? But my daughter is more important! But how much!? How Much!!!!?

When she was born in Feb 1988 it was not privatized but 2 years later when she went for all these treatments and operations it was coincidently privatized by the PAP govt....damn. To me most of the doctors and facilities were the same before and after privatizing and yet the medical bill were like earth and hell. Why? We felt cheatd by Lee Cut You.

Why PAP can do this to its own people? After sucking blood, it sucks money then sucks our sweat in N.S. Now I now they even suck Singaporeans shit and urine to make NEWater so that Singaporeans can go eat shit.

Are you ready for another Hollywood storyline...a fairy tale this time.

Not long after we landed, we received a letter (I kept it till today so that I will show my great grandchildren later) from the University of Alberta Hospital. It gave us two full-days of schedule with all those professors and sepcialists...from heart, hearing, speech, ear etc..you name it we have it there...to check on my 3 year old Singapore-born daughter.

Again (like the same scene in the SGH) on the day of the medical check-ups I went over to the registration desk. After the white receptionist helped me to fill up all the forms, I sheepishly asked her: "How much must I pay for all these professors and specialists check-up on my daughter?"

Listen, listen listen to the answer, ready?: "Sir it is FREE. It is under Alberta Health Care."

What!!? I could not believe her...I have not even paid my first Alberta Health Care premium (that time we need to pay about Can $100 per month for a family) and not a single cent of tax and yet we got FREE real professional check-ups for my daughter! I almost cried! The receptionist did not ask for my credit card. It was/is FREE!!!!!

I dare not get her to repeat what she said for fear that she might changed her mind and started to ask for my credit card like in Singapore.

Now just imagine as I walked back to my wife and daughter from the registration desk...How light hearted I was. I did not need to ask "HOW MUCH!?" All I can see was "my daughter was/is important and she was/is well taken care of by the Canadian government." Same daughter, same illness but in a different country and heaven and hell difference. Lucky we immigrated to Canada. Lucky. Pure luck.

When I tell you how my special needs daughter are taken care of in school and now as an adult with handicap you will not believe it at all...or rather refuse to belive it. How can it be so good? Impossible. Where got so good?

Ready? Sit tight.

At kindergrader her class had only 7 special needs kids but they were taken care of by a full-time teacher, an assistant and watch over by a nurse and a specialist for special needs kid!

Fast forward. On reaching 18, she is given a monthly inflation-indexed allowance of Sin $1,500 (C$1+S$1.3), free medical and drugs, free dentistry and glasses (Sin $ 400 every 2 yrs). She can enrol for all kinds of studies and even dance, swim or social dance ... all paid for..yea FREE. Monthly bus is half price at Sin$45 per month ...unlimted bus and train travel.

If she is out of job, the social service will immediately find her a suitable job. Now she works 1 to 2 days a week in the Dollar Shop to do stuffing and packing...earning about sin$400 per month...no tax and no crawl back as it too low an income. So total monthly allowance+income about Sin$2,000.

If she is in Singapore, can anyone tell me me would she be better off?

I always tell Singaporeans that it takes alot of courage to emigrate out of Singapore but it takes even more courage to live in Singapore!

Just imagine your child or grandchild living with a major congential defect and needs contant health care supervision like my daughter. Or your love ones is still in coma after 2 years.

What would it cost you? Let them die? Let your own son die? Lee Cunt You and the ministers with their $million pay + bouns can probably affod it but can you? Watch the show "Money not enough part 2" ... the scene of the dying mother and the worry over her medical bill...you would say "NO lah this wound not happen to me lah." What if it really happens? Commit sucide? Pray that your love ones (son and daughter) die fast?

As you pace along the SGH corridoors when visiting your love one in coma, you just wounder how you wish you are in Canada with this exSINgaporean (me). You just wish I can hold your hand, hug you and tell you: "Don't worry brother, your son is taken care of by the Alberta Health Care. We Canadians pay the tax for moments like this, don't worry brother."

Canada is not a perfect place but you know for sure that it is not Singapore where if you do not die in the hospital, you will die of shock by just looking at the hospital bill!

Open to the idea of emigrating out of Singapore. You can search for all the options but getting out of the shit hole is the best one. Look if you do made a BIG mistake after obtaining a Canadian or Australina citizenhip you can always to back to Singapore as FT...they treat you better...yea same person but being treated better just because you change your citizenship.

"Men cannot discover new horizons with loosing sight of the land." Are you prepared to loose the sight of Singapore and the damn sight of Lee Kuan Yew contantly appearing in the Straits Times front page?

We are not taking about politics here, we are talking about happy laughter of our children and grandchildren playing in the snow. We are talking about focusing on how to have our children get well in the hospital without worrying over the hospital bills.

We are talking about giving ourselves our children's children a choice of freedom. Straits Times might write ghost stories about Canadian crimes, drugs, school shootings...all bad nothing good...as a Cantonese saying: "Not worth a grain of rice". But in reality we are at least 10,000 times bigger than the red dot., we have four seasons, we have freah air, we do not need to dring shit water....most important WE ARE CANADIANS...damn proud CANADIANS!

"A mind is like parachute...it works best when OPEN"

SamuelStalin

If you really enjoy higher crime and all those perks that come with being a second-class citizen then go ahead. Why not?

In the context of citizenship those who leave are usually those who are not good enough to stay in your country.

Seriously for those who have been there before Canada is only as good as far as it goes. On account of the many social problems and the unspoken racial discrimination there's nothing really so unique or desirable about that place all in all other than some of the less crowded spots (where then again you'd still need to be quite on guard). Absolutely meaningless really.

You people should find reasons to stay rather than reasons to leave.

SamuelStalin

Also, complicated society or whatever I have come to understand the behaviors and attitudes of you people especially the chinks and I find that the worst thing to encounter when travelling to half a world away would be but another of your kind.

SamuelStalin

I like reading the experiences of Singaporeans who have emigrated, including their thoughts on their current location and their encouragement to other Singaporeans to follow suit.
I hate reading the articles of Singaporeans who remain firmly in Singapore, while encouraging others to leave.

It's not important about what you like or hate. You'd still be given it anyway from anybody no matter what your feelings are.

exSINgaporean

Bro, it all depends on your station in life prior to departure. Some people prefer their families to have similar standard of living and therefore do whatever it takes. From his message, it appears that he did not buy a house immediately as you think.

The issue is generally not house which a sensible person would have done sufficient research. Its the job to draw a regular income. The house is always secondary compared to a job.

By the way SWOT, Cost/Benefit analysis , research etc are second nature to kids who have completed "A" level so no need to repeat.

The prime drivers in terms of destination/city are the following
- previously studied in that city thus close affinity and familiarity
- have friends and relatives living in that city
- city has the best educational and development opportunities for their kids as most people migrate for their kids
- the bigger the city the propensity to migrate there is higher as naturally the opportunities are higher
- lifestyle moves
- affordability factors - affordable houses, lifestyles etc

In the main, like you and many other migrants, leaving a 3rd world country for a 1st World country is a no-brainer. The sensible ones who remain in Singapore do so because of loved ones especially parents and possibly a lucrative job or business opportunities.

If you,ExSingaporean, Charlie, Neddy, Fishbuff, Axe, Doc(Nayr69) and the rest continue to share your experiences, we can save many more from the clutches of govt addicted to GDP as the only measure of success at all costs.

Care to come to Edmonton for a lunch?

We can arrange to meet at the West Edmonton Mall, which 18 years ago was still the largest mall in the world....but now it can only claim to have the largest car park and largest indoor water park. Look it up in the website.

I tell you an experience that I had about 15 years ago. A chap in the office tended his resignation as he was migrating. He was leaving with his wife and 3kids.

About 2 weeks later, I had a farewell lunch with him and it was a long lunch. He told me that so many people approached him and considered him a hero. He was puzzled. Many told him that they acquired the PR but did not have the guts to leave. These were people that travelled overseas often for holidays and business. Many also bought houses in those countries but were not bold enough to leave. He told me that he was shocked to find out that about 50% of his colleagues either had received PR and did not exercise it or were planning to leave.

When I travel on business, I make it a point to drop by and visit ex-singaporeans in the various cities of the world and the circle gets bigger. I get perspective on things that are unbelievable. The "Mrs Crying" feature turned out to be pretty much universal and nearly all of them are now successful and many are firmly assimiliated. One lady in particular that I met in Vancouver who showed great independence and was the acknowledged leader of the pack had broken nearly 30 years ago and the hubby needed help from the Canadian neighbours over 2 weeks to get right.

This is despite the fact that we are all of migrant blood that crossed the seas for Nanyang.

To many, do or die, its a one way journey. But it is a journey to the new and better world.

Ahh, now I understand. Many of my friends are single. Those that are married have made the move as a couple.

Didn't factor in the 'extra' baggage of some married couples :smile:

Bro, Edmonton is one city that I have yet to visit and the Mall has always been in my mind. If I get there, it will be a pleasure to catch up.

In 1974, a neighbour left for Perth, in 75 a classmate left for Vancouver, and eventually I sponsored a wonderful maid of the family to Vancouver as well. A trickle in 74 is now a major stream. And its people like you that led the way.

Care to come to Edmonton for a lunch?

We can arrange to meet at the West Edmonton Mall, which 18 years ago was still the largest mall in the world....but now it can only claim to have the largest car park and largest indoor water park. Look it up in the website.

ManBearPig62

actually the best way is to go alone first.

get your financials & property set up, make it look like a "home", then get the wife and kids over.

yes the women are usually the problem, you have to admit not all that time spent in NS was wasted

Not long after we landed, we received a letter (I kept it till today so that I will show my great grandchildren later) from the University of Alberta Hospital. It gave us two full-days of schedule with all those professors and sepcialists...from heart, hearing, speech, ear etc..you name it we have it there...to check on my 3 year old Singapore-born daughter.

You don't have to tell me how good the University of Alberta hospital is. I had 5 operations at that hospital. Spent about 3 months at the U of A & Glenrose Rehab hospital.

As I was covered by Alberta Health insurance I only only had to pay $30 for hospital admission fees.

I recently spent some time in one of the Spore hospitals & I can tell you that medical care in Canada is so much better.

Yes, quite a number do that. There is also the approach where hubby takes leave, brings the family over, set them up and return and work in Singapore for a while. The Hong Kongers call it "astronauts" as the business opportunites in China/HK are hard to give up. You tend to see these in Vancouver and Sydney. Brave ladies.

Your point about making it look like a "home" is spot on and psychologically powerful. Old timers tell me to bring along furniture from the Singapore home so there is some emotional anchor. Later when settled down, can get new ones.

actually the best way is to go alone first.

get your financials & property set up, make it look like a "home", then get the wife and kids over.

yes the women are usually the problem, you have to admit not all that time spent in NS was wasted

In Singapore, the money that you pay to the hospital via medisave or cash goes to the sovereign funds who invest it for long term. The returns after years of investment are going to pay for god knows who and F16 fighter jets parked at Scottsdale Arizona, South Africa, France and Pierce Airforce Base in Perth.

You don't have to tell me how good the University of Alberta hospital is. I had 5 operations at that hospital. Spent about 3 months at the U of A & Glenrose Rehab hospital.

As I was covered by Alberta Health insurance I only only had to pay $30 for hospital admission fees.

I recently spent some time in one of the Spore hospitals & I can tell you that medical care in Canada is so much better.

In Singapore, the money that you pay to the hospital via medisave or cash goes to the sovereign funds who invest it for long term. The returns after years of investment are going to pay for god knows who and F16 fighter jets parked at Scottsdale Arizona, South Africa, France and Pierce Airforce Base in Perth.

They only allowed me to pay a tiny portion of my hospital bill from my medisave account even though I had plenty in that account. I had to pay most of my hospital bill with cash

Its obviously true about the PAP, they'll never let you withdraw your CPF even if you are dying :mad:

neddy

Morning Neddy, I agree with what u said as I'm also residing in Sydney. Singapore males are trained in military and should not be afraid when confronted by criminals. I lived in one of the most notorious suburb in Sydney where gunshots are heard frequently and robberies too but so what, dun behave like a coward and the criiminals would not touch you. I remember when I first arrived and studied my postgraduate in the evening and when I took a train from the city back to where I lived, it is almost eleven at night and mind u, that kind of time would mean very few people in the streets except criminals. But who cares, I was broke from paying international student fees and I am also on the verge of robbing someone if given an opportunity and maybe because of that, nobody approaches me but do have a few close encounters where others nearby were mug. The thing is, be tough and brave and others will respect you.

Wow! I salute you. Dont tell me you live near Macquarie Fields. In Sydney, there is nothing to stop you from growing rich. It is all depends on how much you want to play this game.

neddy

Yes, quite a number do that. There is also the approach where hubby takes leave, brings the family over, set them up and return and work in Singapore for a while. The Hong Kongers call it "astronauts" as the business opportunites in China/HK are hard to give up. You tend to see these in Vancouver and Sydney. Brave ladies.

Your point about making it look like a "home" is spot on and psychologically powerful. Old timers tell me to bring along furniture from the Singapore home so there is some emotional anchor. Later when settled down, can get new ones.

Emotional anchor

When one grow old, we tend to reflect on our youth. eg. The babyboomers are back into retro, classic and nostalgic stuff.

If we have not taken time to blend into our adopted country, we will miss the Singapore we leave behind.

But somehow, when we return to Singapore for visit, things are not the same anymore, even the old bldgs restoration is just comestic. More than musuem exhibits.

So, don't throw away everythings brought over from Singapore. It serves as a link - a continuity - to our lives in another place.

mayliewwan

5 ops in 3 months?? My oh my..that serious. I heard of 3 cases where students were admitted
1) one fell into a coma and if i am not mistaken he had a blood clot in the brain
2) swimming pool incident.
3) accident while on the way to skiing trip or incident at a ski slope.