• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

ExSingaporean in Canada - Interesting Read

http://www.singsupplies.com/showpost.php?p=309189&postcount=47

I found this inspiring and its from exsingaporean who has been helpful with his guidance and comments. Lifted it from Emigration Folder.

That's life in a "real world" ...crime rate, homeless people roaming the street...especially cities like VanCounver, Toronto and even Edmonton! Yea, believe me. It's that BAD!

But then let's look at Singapore...clean, very low crime rate, safe no homeless, most people are happy etc...well yes you are correct..or your "perception" is correct if you read all these in the Straits Times. Do you know that if you lose your bicyle, the police in Singapore would not record it as a crime but in B.C. Canada it counts towards the crime statistic?

The newspaper in Canada does NOT hide anything that is view as "social shame" in Singapore and would make the Prime Minister look bad.

You get my point.

Let's be practical if you are immigrating to Canada at end of the year...perhaps you want your children to finish the brainwashing school year in Singapore then do NOT come to Edmonton bec. it can be extreme cold in Dec. (minus 35 C with the windchill factor at night)...as the Cantonese saying goes "your balls shrink". Yea, your penis can shrink to just like a size of a tiny earth worm! I am not kidding.

Go straight to B.C.

If you are looking for a good-oaying job then forget it. Stay put in Singapore. If you are hoping someone to hold your hands and guide you like the PAP, then you will be disappointed.

I only can offer to pick Singaporeans up from the airport (not in winter please bec I risk my life to drive in the highway in the think snow) and put them up in the motel; drive them around the city for orientation, help them to register for the Alberta Health Care, open bank account, link them up to some other exSinaporeans. That's the best I can do.

When my wife 3 year-old daughter and I arrived from Singapore in May 1991, we took the airport bus from the airport to a downtown hotel. Stayed there for 4 days, find an apartment and started life from then on...not much help from any Singaporeans or anyone. We bought only about Sin $40,000, whihc was used up within 1/2 year...yea broke after that for years on..living on credit cards...contantly fearing to answer phone calls on Sat morning bec. that was when the credit card credit dept will call me for minimum payments.

"A person's character is like a tea bag. You do not know how strong it is until it is put in hot water."

For starters like you prepare to have a drastic drop in your pay compare to what you get in Singapore. For e.g if you are an manager earning Sin$7,000 per month (plus 12 months bonus) then expect to earn just Sin$2,000 (definately no bonus) as a clerk or storemanat least for the first 2 years. If you can prove that you are better than the local Canadians...in terms of spoken English language, people skills, extreme hardwork etc then you MIGHT get to be promoted to a supervisor then a manager.

By the way many "white" local Canadians like the Americians are damn hardworking and tough. I have seen TV. cable man working non-stop for 3 hours installing my new cables outside the cold with stong wind and minus 20 degrees C in the winter. He even declined my coffee offer...just continue working. This happens to other workers who come to repair things in my home. So don't bet on that you being a Singaporean are much more hardworking than the Ang Mo. The British and Australians are much layback.

My wife earns about Sin$100,000 but it takes her 12 years to reach this salary level. She began with a low pay of just Sin $24,000 per year in a Chinese car repair workshop as a service advisor. Now she is a senior workshop service advisor in a big car dealership.

If you tend to worry on things like high crime rates, drugs, robbers, low paying jobs then I tell you the truth, you WILL find them soon. VEry soon...perhaps on the first day you arrive! Yes I am that bad to tell you because I am not here to encourage neither discourage you. I am telling you the truth.

Whatever your mind look out for you will find bec. you will then to attract such circumstances and happenings.

Don't believe me then let's do an experiement.

Close your eyes.

Think of a while elephant. A white elephant.
Now STOP thinking about this white elephant!
STOP thinking about this white elephant!
I say STOP thinking abou this white elephant!

Now think of a golden lion.
You see the golden lion charging towards you!
It is about to jump on you!!!!!!!!!!

What happens to your white elephant?

You get my point.

Each city has its appeal. VanCouver in recent few years have been rated by some international survey to be the BEST city to live in the world. Heck isn't it good enough for you? Edmonton is not even mentioned in the survey!

However you still need to weight the earthquake treat in VanCouver and Richmond area. It can happen anytime.

I would suggest that you come in April or May...forget about the damn Singapore education...just come in May so that it is not that cold. Look around VanCouver, Calgary, Edmonton and if I were you look also into Toronto. The latter has no earthquake, about 7 to 10 degrees C warmer and less snow than cities in Alberta. Houses there are cheaper than Edmonton. But Toronto has less job opportunies.

In fact in about 3 years, we will be migrating to Toronto...we do not need to work so job opportuniy is not a concern for us.

The good thing about Toronto is that it gives my Canadian-born 13 year-old son wider exposure...huge central library, big museums, the Stock Market, nearer to New York etc. Next May, he will be with his school music team visiting Ontario and Montreal city; I will let him decide whether he likes that area before we uproot.

"No one can make a right decision;
we can only make the decisions and make them RIGHT".

neddy

Well written. I am another ex-Singaporean, not in Canada, but in Australia, and I am aware of such things as crime rate, homeless, drugs, etc.

But so what. These people were there because they made mistakes in their lives. Who am I to judge these people because they end up in such circumstances.

Singaporeans who chose to migrate should realised that they are leaving behind very sheltered lives where they have no control. From cradle to casket, someone in the Singapore govt will decide important decisions for them.

If this is the kind of shallow lives Singaporeans want to live, it is fine.
No one is forcing them to climb the mountain to see what is beyond.

Just remember, for a few thousand years, Chinese people called their lakes as seas, because they had not climb enough mountains to see what a real sea looked like.

I love the REAL world. Singapore is like an NS camp. Outside camp, people can chiong. I enjoy this freedom to be havoc!

I found this inspiring and its from exsingaporean who has been helpful with his guidance and comments. Lifted it from Emigration Folder.

That's life in a "real world" ...crime rate, homeless people roaming the street...especially cities like VanCounver, Toronto and even Edmonton! Yea, believe me. It's that BAD!

But then let's look at Singapore...clean, very low crime rate, safe no homeless, most people are happy etc...well yes you are correct..or your "perception" is correct if you read all these in the Straits Times. Do you know that if you lose your bicyle, the police in Singapore would not record it as a crime but in B.C. Canada it counts towards the crime statistic?

The newspaper in Canada does NOT hide anything that is view as "social shame" in Singapore and would make the Prime Minister look bad.

You get my point.

The good thing about Toronto is that it gives my Canadian-born 13 year-old son wider exposure...huge central library, big museums, the Stock Market, nearer to New York etc. Next May, he will be with his school music team visiting Ontario and Montreal city; I will let him decide whether he likes that area before we uproot.

I like reading the experiences of Singaporeans who have emigrated, including their thoughts on their current location and their encouragement to other Singaporeans to follow suit.
I hate reading the articles of Singaporeans who remain firmly in Singapore, while encouraging others to leave.

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
I like reading the experiences of Singaporeans who have emigrated, including their thoughts on their current location and their encouragement to other Singaporeans to follow suit.
I hate reading the articles of Singaporeans who remain firmly in Singapore, while encouraging others to leave.

How about those who are flying around and encouraging others to leave?

Goh Meng Seng

soIsee

In truth, the Sinkies are aready having it too good, compared if they had jumped ship to another cuntry and yet so many don't want to appreciate this!

Unless, you are such a damn rich Sinkie then , of course, the green will be made greener for you, when you do want to cross over but not otherwise.

It is not a question of whether the Pap should be voted back in again but a typical pigeon hole Sinkie need to examine and ask themselves, if they do quit are they gonna get a better deal elsewhere!:biggrin:

TeeKee

In truth, the Sinkies are aready having it too good, compared if they had jumped ship to another cuntry and yet so many don't want to appreciate this!

Unless, you are such a damn rich Sinkie then , of course, the green will be made greener for you, when you do want to cross over but not otherwise.

It is not a question of whether the Pap should be voted back in again but a typical pigeon hole Sinkie need to examine and ask themselves, if they do quit are they gonna get a better deal elsewhere!:biggrin:

i think it's a good idea to vote for a better deal if they plan to keep their sinkie passport...

otherwise, sibeh jialat..

but can opposition parties can give singaporeans a better deal than PAP?

opposition parties are weak, disunited and infested with PAP moles...

die leow lah, sinkies still got to kena bend down for a few more election terms to come...:mad:

goh meng seng!! can you save singapore from the evil Hakka Hybrid Regime?

3 cheers for him, he did it not for himself, but for his kids, if he stay in singapore, his kids will have no jobs, because FT taken all, and his kids education will not be as good and complete as sinkies version of memorisation.
good for him.
i will not go to canada, because it is fxxking cold and i do not function well in fxxking cold.

You get my point.

Let's be practical if you are immigrating to Canada at end of the year...perhaps you want your children to finish the brainwashing school year in Singapore then do NOT come to Edmonton bec. it can be extreme cold in Dec. (minus 35 C with the windchill factor at night)...as the Cantonese saying goes "your balls shrink". Yea, your penis can shrink to just like a size of a tiny earth worm! I am not kidding.

Go straight to B.C.

If you are looking for a good-oaying job then forget it. Stay put in Singapore. If you are hoping someone to hold your hands and guide you like the PAP, then you will be disappointed.

I only can offer to pick Singaporeans up from the airport (not in winter please bec I risk my life to drive in the highway in the think snow) and put them up in the motel; drive them around the city for orientation, help them to register for the Alberta Health Care, open bank account, link them up to some other exSinaporeans. That's the best I can do.

When my wife 3 year-old daughter and I arrived from Singapore in May 1991, we took the airport bus from the airport to a downtown hotel. Stayed there for 4 days, find an apartment and started life from then on...not much help from any Singaporeans or anyone. We bought only about Sin $40,000, whihc was used up within 1/2 year...yea broke after that for years on..living on credit cards...contantly fearing to answer phone calls on Sat morning bec. that was when the credit card credit dept will call me for minimum payments.

"A person's character is like a tea bag. You do not know how strong it is until it is put in hot water."

For starters like you prepare to have a drastic drop in your pay compare to what you get in Singapore. For e.g if you are an manager earning Sin$7,000 per month (plus 12 months bonus) then expect to earn just Sin$2,000 (definately no bonus) as a clerk or storemanat least for the first 2 years. If you can prove that you are better than the local Canadians...in terms of spoken English language, people skills, extreme hardwork etc then you MIGHT get to be promoted to a supervisor then a manager.

By the way many "white" local Canadians like the Americians are damn hardworking and tough. I have seen TV. cable man working non-stop for 3 hours installing my new cables outside the cold with stong wind and minus 20 degrees C in the winter. He even declined my coffee offer...just continue working. This happens to other workers who come to repair things in my home. So don't bet on that you being a Singaporean are much more hardworking than the Ang Mo. The British and Australians are much layback.

My wife earns about Sin$100,000 but it takes her 12 years to reach this salary level. She began with a low pay of just Sin $24,000 per year in a Chinese car repair workshop as a service advisor. Now she is a senior workshop service advisor in a big car dealership.

If you tend to worry on things like high crime rates, drugs, robbers, low paying jobs then I tell you the truth, you WILL find them soon. VEry soon...perhaps on the first day you arrive! Yes I am that bad to tell you because I am not here to encourage neither discourage you. I am telling you the truth.

Whatever your mind look out for you will find bec. you will then to attract such circumstances and happenings.

Don't believe me then let's do an experiement.

Close your eyes.

Think of a while elephant. A white elephant.
Now STOP thinking about this white elephant!
STOP thinking about this white elephant!
I say STOP thinking abou this white elephant!

Now think of a golden lion.
You see the golden lion charging towards you!
It is about to jump on you!!!!!!!!!!

What happens to your white elephant?

You get my point.

Each city has its appeal. VanCouver in recent few years have been rated by some international survey to be the BEST city to live in the world. Heck isn't it good enough for you? Edmonton is not even mentioned in the survey!

However you still need to weight the earthquake treat in VanCouver and Richmond area. It can happen anytime.

I would suggest that you come in April or May...forget about the damn Singapore education...just come in May so that it is not that cold. Look around VanCouver, Calgary, Edmonton and if I were you look also into Toronto. The latter has no earthquake, about 7 to 10 degrees C warmer and less snow than cities in Alberta. Houses there are cheaper than Edmonton. But Toronto has less job opportunies.

In fact in about 3 years, we will be migrating to Toronto...we do not need to work so job opportuniy is not a concern for us.

soIsee

i think it's a good idea to vote for a better deal if they plan to keep their sinkie passport...

otherwise, sibeh jialat..

but can opposition parties can give singaporeans a better deal than PAP?

opposition parties are weak, disunited and infested with PAP moles...

die leow lah, sinkies still got to kena bend down for a few more election terms to come...:mad:

goh meng seng!! can you save singapore from the evil Hakka Hybrid Regime?

So don't you feel sinful for 'attacking the PAP' for the fun of it almost all the time when you know that once you stepped outta this Sinkie soil you're gonna get more shits heaped onto you on a foreign land?

Just to put it to you simply, the Sinkie feels that they are caught between the Devil and the Deep blue sea but in reality they had better stay this course and keep the PAP in or else stepping out would mean sure death for the typical Sink.

And please don't tell me about the opposition, they have NOT stopped fighting within themselves!:biggrin:

TeeKee

Just to put it to you simply, the Sinkie feels that they are caught between the Devil and the Deep blue sea but in reality they had better stay this course and keep the PAP in or else stepping out would mean sure death for the typical Sink.

by your logic 150K Sinkies already died overseas? :biggrin:

last i saw one of them could bonjour with a few french chicks visiting him...sibeh aarg gah leow!

LOL!

If got so much money that even next generation don't need to work, go anywhere also can, not necessarily Canada. Anyway, from where he accumulated that fortune?

Stayed there for 4 days, find an apartment and started life from then on...not much help from any Singaporeans or anyone. We bought only about Sin $40,000, whihc was used up within 1/2 year...yea broke after that for years on..living on credit cards...

I brought less than SIN$40,000 as a student in Edmonton :eek: And that was for 4 years, including tuition, books, room, board,...

mayliewwan

Please lah..different era thus different cost of living. When you were studying at U of A, was it before or after Martin Arnold? . If you don't know Martin, was it before wugie or after wugie?
I believe you also said you also lived in Toronto. Don't you think it is fishy when the guy said Toronto has 'less snow than Alberta cities' Also which do you like... dry Edmonton winter weather or humid Toronto winter weather?

mayliewwan

If you read some of his postings, insurance salesman is in his early 50's, Didn't he says his wife makes $100k per year??

If got so much money that even next generation don't need to work, go anywhere also can, not necessarily Canada. Anyway, from where he accumulated that fortune?

Please lah..different era thus different cost of living. When you were studying at U of A, was it before or after Martin Arnold? . If you don't know Martin, was it before wugie or after wugie?

I am well aware that the cost of living has gone up in Toronto since I was there , especially rentals but SIN$40,000 in 6 months :eek:

Even with housing there are options to stretch the dollar :rolleyes:

kingat33

Morning Neddy, I agree with what u said as I'm also residing in Sydney. Singapore males are trained in military and should not be afraid when confronted by criminals. I lived in one of the most notorious suburb in Sydney where gunshots are heard frequently and robberies too but so what, dun behave like a coward and the criiminals would not touch you. I remember when I first arrived and studied my postgraduate in the evening and when I took a train from the city back to where I lived, it is almost eleven at night and mind u, that kind of time would mean very few people in the streets except criminals. But who cares, I was broke from paying international student fees and I am also on the verge of robbing someone if given an opportunity and maybe because of that, nobody approaches me but do have a few close encounters where others nearby were mug. The thing is, be tough and brave and others will respect you.

Well written. I am another ex-Singaporean, not in Canada, but in Australia, and I am aware of such things as crime rate, homeless, drugs, etc.

But so what. These people were there because they made mistakes in their lives. Who am I to judge these people because they end up in such circumstances.

Singaporeans who chose to migrate should realised that they are leaving behind very sheltered lives where they have no control. From cradle to casket, someone in the Singapore govt will decide important decisions for them.

If this is the kind of shallow lives Singaporeans want to live, it is fine.
No one is forcing them to climb the mountain to see what is beyond.

Just remember, for a few thousand years, Chinese people called their lakes as seas, because they had not climb enough mountains to see what a real sea looked like.

I love the REAL world. Singapore is like an NS camp. Outside camp, people can chiong. I enjoy this freedom to be havoc!

Both your and his situations are different. He is a migrant, cutting ties, taking all his worldly possessions and moving with his family. Once there, he has to buy car, pay rentals etc.

Its a new land, new outlook, and you need to keep your family intact.

In your case, you can always come back, family from Singapore can support you etc.

Also he has to buy a full set of furniture and items for his home even though its a rental.

I am well aware that the cost of living has gone up in Toronto since I was there , especially rentals but SIN$40,000 in 6 months :eek:

Even with housing there are options to stretch the dollar :rolleyes:

Asychee

I brought less than SIN$40,000 as a student in Edmonton :eek: And that was for 4 years, including tuition, books, room, board,...

This is the point i dont understand. If you migrate to a country, you dont control a property, you rent first. It would means that what ever reserved you have it will be going down the drain.

I choose alberta as Landing as it is the only province i can assume a mortgage (ie pay the diff between the Purchase Price and mortgage balance - you control the house). I brought only C$36,000. I spend $30000 to assume a property which netted me another C$150K in 6 months. When wifey collect her CPF + Capital gain + refinancing. We have a war chest to go buying properties. We make sure the passive income from rental & business is higher than other expenses. We are financially free. It is as simple as that.

Most important thing is - know your SWOT and Just Do it.