Awwwww, you idealist you...................
cause im not typical singaporean if wedding is about good food and great wine ..then poor people cant get marry
Awwwww, you idealist you...................
wedding is not about "angpow " , good food and good location .its all about friends and family members gathering together to bless the couple .
What do you guys say?
My sis inlaw had her wedding in conrad. i think she & the husband is not that well off. i think till now, they may be still paying for the dinner... i dont really like them as they always want to dine in good food, almost every weekend. no such big head but want to wear big hat....
My wan cheap chinese resturant.. Friends help out as ushers, camera man, video man, drivers and borrow friend father car etc..
I happily married for 13 years with 2 kids.kekekeee.......
If the issue is that guests are sponsoring the event whilst the "face" end up going to the hosts...this is not new lah!! Wedding dinners are mostly held due to tradition and how lavish it should be will depend on how much "face" the hosts wanna show....
Bottom line is don't go if you don't wanna go...Close frens n buddies don't talk abt $$$...kum cheng is paramount..pronto
Just to offer a different perspective on your sis in law. why should you dislike her because she & hubby enjoy going for good food every weekend? As long as they are not borrowing money just to eat well, then they are entitled to reward themselves every weekend with a good meal, paid for by their own hard work
everyone has their own little joys in life , for some it may be food, some movies, others collecting Hello Kitty toys.
If the Ritz Carlton wants to check your income tax returns to make sure you are well off before letting you in, Singaporeans will cry blue murder on the internet and forum pages
But here we are, judging our own friends and family members, saying they are not very well off still want to dine on good food?
If a road sweeper saves up his salary to bring his wife to the Ritz Carlton and eat, would I call him a fool? Would I say he should not be eating there because he is a low income earner?
No, because if that brings him joy in life, if that makes his wife happy, then it is a good thing
You ever gave $10 angpow or not for a normal wedding dinner? My friend told me he got recevied one such angpow - no name of course at his wedding's dinner in a 4 star restaurant.
Can't beat this 1. Confession by an old friend who was hard put to even come up with S$10. Just a slipped an apologetic note, but in absentia of course:o:p..gave the $10 ang pow through elimination? That guest might have brought his whole family for a subsidised dinner.
Can't beat this 1. Confession by an old friend who was hard put to even come up with S$10. Just a slipped an apologetic note, but in absentia of course:o:p
Normally I give $60 angpow for HDB void deck wedding buffets. Got band to entertain you too and also got singers as well!!! $2 for all these???
And make his great escape after jaws fins or stretch his luck before dessert (when the loot's beng audited)?:pBut he could have attended the dinner with an IOU note in the ang pow.
Did your friend find out who gave the $10 ang pow through elimination? That guest might have brought his whole family for a subsidised dinner.
And make his great escape after jaws fins or stretch his luck before dessert (when the loot's beng audited)?:p
I had a $2 angpow Needless to say it was anonymous
My sis inlaw had her wedding in conrad. i think she & the husband is not that well off. i think till now, they may be still paying for the dinner... i dont really like them as they always want to dine in good food, almost every weekend. no such big head but want to wear big hat....