• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Excel calculate NSmen lost $334,200 bec of 2 yrs NS services

<TABLE id=msgUN border=0 cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - Excel calculate NSmen lost $334,200 bec </TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>makapa <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>10:24 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 1) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>38161.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt><TABLE class=forumline border=0 cellSpacing=1 cellPadding=3 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=row1 vAlign=top width=150 align=left>8iiiiiiiiiiiiiD

</TD><TD class=row1 height=28 vAlign=top width="100%"><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD width="100%"> Posted: Sun Aug 29, 2010 11:22 pm Post subject: Excel calculate NSmen lost $334,200 bec of 2 yrs NS services</TD><TD vAlign=top noWrap> </TD></TR><TR><TD colSpan=2><HR></TD></TR><TR><TD colSpan=2>[URL]http://img842.imageshack.us/img842/2605/sporesalarycompare.jpg[/URL]

The simulation facts
NSmen started working at 24 years old with a basic $2500
Foreigners started working at 22 years old with a basic $2500

Both NS men & foreigners pay increment per years is $300 till 62 years old.</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
sporesalarycompare.jpg
</TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%"> </TD><TD class=msgopt width="24%" noWrap> Options</TD><TD class=msgrde width="50%" noWrap align=middle> Reply Delete Edit </TD><TD class=wintiny width="25%" noWrap align=right> </TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgbfrbot> </TD><TD colSpan=3> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Singaporeans should let those foreigners earn salaries while they concentrate on making profits.

At the end of the day, both parties will end up happy campers.:wink:

myo539

He should also factor in the number of opportunities that he missed striking 4-D and Toto every week. That would easily amount to 3 to 4 times what the PM and President earn in a year or their lifetime.

By the way, NS or ex-NS no need to pay income tax meh?

kiwibird7

Doesn't seem like the calculations take into account CPF which +15% to local

Are you very happy that you have to contribute a huge chunk of your salary to CPF? The money once put into CPF is very difficult to take out and can only be spend on (Health, Education, Annuities, Housing)- the prices of which are set and increased by the govt as they like.

Char_Azn

Are you very happy that you have to contribute a huge chunk of your salary to CPF? The money once put into CPF is very difficult to take out and can only be spend on (Health, Education, Annuities, Housing)- the prices of which are set and increased by the govt as they like.

Dun need to be so angry about everything. I just pointed out the thing could be more accurate coz CPF is not factored in. U can always -20% to the amount since it reduces your actual take home pay if you want to. Depends on your own point of view

annexa

How the fuck did you get $300 increment a year? PM Lee already say don't pay so much increment. Got $100 you better be happy!

Actually, the lost in wages for the NSmen should be over $500,000. While the excel spreadsheet is very good, several other things can be factored in too.

NSmen have reservist obligations every year, hence making them less appealing to companies versus the FT. In addition, while the NSmen spends 2-3 weeks every year in reservist up to age 50 (26 years X 2 weeks per year = 52 weeks minimum) this totals another 1 year, the FT will be in his office getting new clients and kissing the manager's ass. Hence better promotion prospects to him.

If the NSman and FT follows the same career path, the FT thru normal promotion will always be the NSman's boss and will attain more income thru present value of the difference in his pay and that of the NSman.

Finally, a FT can withdraw all his CPF and fuck off back to his own country by giving up his S'pore citizenship at age 62. Whereby, he is free to invest it in whatever investments and easily earn more than the pathetic 2.5% that the NSmen is stuck with.

†††††

This simulations points to tha fact that govt keeps focusing on "Only 2 years" of your life, in fact this simulation tells a different future if this two years were not wasted in National Service.

The idea is not to avoid NS, but to tell govt, please keep your 9k, our two years are a 1000 times more than that.

or if the govt wish, give that 9k to a foreigner to serve NS

cheekenpie

Actually, the lost in wages for the NSmen should be over $500,000. While the excel spreadsheet is very good, several other things can be factored in too.

NSmen have reservist obligations every year, hence making them less appealing to companies versus the FT. In addition, while the NSmen spends 2-3 weeks every year in reservist up to age 50 (26 years X 2 weeks per year = 52 weeks minimum) this totals another 1 year, the FT will be in his office getting new clients and kissing the manager's ass. Hence better promotion prospects to him.

If the NSman and FT follows the same career path, the FT thru normal promotion will always be the NSman's boss and will attain more income thru present value of the difference in his pay and that of the NSman.

Finally, a FT can withdraw all his CPF and fuck off back to his own country by giving up his S'pore citizenship at age 62. Whereby, he is free to invest it in whatever investments and easily earn more than the pathetic 2.5% that the NSmen is stuck with.

Depends on the industry.

Civil serpants dont lose out. Private sector (commision-based jobs) lose big time.

But to be fair, not every sinkie is qualified enough to get sich good increment every year. If you are cleaner, ns never kill you.

Watchman

Let me explain to you while the State of Singapore hold back
it's men at their maximum potential . They are telling potential
employers that we as government have the control of the men .
You as a local company or a foreign one will need
to pay a foreign levy if engage one .
If you want a local , you will not get one .

Why are employers finding it hard to get locals ???
Because most of them are in NS with liability .

So the government really screwed up people 's life from
both sides of the fence so at the end of the day their GDP figure
will look good at the expense of NS slaves who never see
justice at the light of day .
NS slaves are not paid market rate or allow to see their potential .
It's a form of suppression.

In wars , they will kill the capable young men .
Young men are to be slaughter first .

balajii

ah loong no need to be so 'generous'. the 9k probably include those intangible stuff. same as what vivian told us when he say we can recoup the 400million spend on yog from tangible and intangible stuff. wonder how the hell he is able to measure and account the intangible.

anyway pls start small be offering free bus and mrt ride for all full time ns man throughout their 2 years of ns life. this will include free rides even for his leisure purposes and not only for travelling to and from army camp. walk the talk. do not just bluff bluff give peanuts. why the hell do ns still must pay bus/mrt fare:mad:

we can see, we are not blind. you cannot fool us anymore.:mad:

wizard

Of course not. Sinkies will just think of something else to complain about. A nation of whiners who are beyond comparison.:rolleyes:

Did you serve NS? else shut up .. At least those who pro or against DID it..

Where is your quote by LKY about singapore has no beggars? disappear.?