• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Even Monks face pressure of foreign competition

CheesePie

Monks face pressure of foreign competition
Income from prayer sessions down as foreign monks charge lower rate

Published on Nov 18, 2011

ST_IMAGES_WJMONK.jpg

Local monk Ang Juat Chong says he spoke to his MP, Mr Yaw Shin Leong, about unlicensed monks working in Singapore. -- ST PHOTO: SAMUEL HE

By Lin Wenjian

Some monks here are feeling the heat of competition provided by their foreign counterparts.

In particular, the local monks claim that foreign monks, who are mostly from China and Malaysia, are undercutting them by charging up to 50 per cent less for prayer sessions conducted at funeral wakes.

Mr Ang Juat Chong, 59, a Singaporean who has been a Buddhist monk for the last 18 years, said his monthly income has gone down by as much as 70 per cent in the last two years because of this.

'Local monks charge about $1,200 to do Buddhist rites at funeral wakes, but these foreign monks charge only $600 or $700.

So of course, funeral parlours will prefer to hire them,' he told The Straits Times yesterday.

Read the full story in Friday's edition of The Straits Times.

<iframe width="480" height="360" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/r91OO8D1Oys?rel=0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

why do you repeat the thread. i thought there is another one on this topic already by you.

Monks face pressure of foreign competition
Income from prayer sessions down as foreign monks charge lower rate

Published on Nov 18, 2011

ST_IMAGES_WJMONK.jpg

Local monk Ang Juat Chong says he spoke to his MP, Mr Yaw Shin Leong, about unlicensed monks working in Singapore. -- ST PHOTO: SAMUEL HE

By Lin Wenjian

Some monks here are feeling the heat of competition provided by their foreign counterparts.

In particular, the local monks claim that foreign monks, who are mostly from China and Malaysia, are undercutting them by charging up to 50 per cent less for prayer sessions conducted at funeral wakes.

Mr Ang Juat Chong, 59, a Singaporean who has been a Buddhist monk for the last 18 years, said his monthly income has gone down by as much as 70 per cent in the last two years because of this.

'Local monks charge about $1,200 to do Buddhist rites at funeral wakes, but these foreign monks charge only $600 or $700.

So of course, funeral parlours will prefer to hire them,' he told The Straits Times yesterday.

Read the full story in Friday's edition of The Straits Times.

<iframe width="480" height="360" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/r91OO8D1Oys?rel=0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

KNN , dunno he got declare to IRAS or not ?
Professional monk sia , another Ming Yi in the making ?

why do you repeat the thread. i thought there is another one on this topic already by you.

So what if i did? What can you do about it? Right, squeeze your balls at one corner. Whahahaha!!!

that the reason why i am a theravadin

‎"Should any bhikkhu take gold and silver, or have it taken, or consent to its being deposited (near him), it is to be forfeited and confessed."(Nis. Paac. 18; BMC p.214)

"Should any bhikkhu pick up, or cause to be picked up or consent to the deposit of gold or silver, this entails Confession with Forfeiture." (Nis. Paac. 18; Paat. 1966 Ed. p.42)

"A monk, who accepts gold or money or gets another to accept for him, or acquiesces in its being put near him, commits [an offence requiring Confession with Forfeiture.]" (Nis. Paac. 18; BBC p.116)

"If a bhikkhu himself receives gold and silver (money) or gets someone else to receive it, or if he is glad about money that is being kept for him, it is [an offence of Confession with Forfeiture.]"(Nis. Paac. 18; Nv p.11)

they should not be handling money in the very first place.

When my parents passed away I paid almost two grands for a few hours of prayers......... the monk wore gold watch and drove Merc.

I do not begrudge those earning good professional fees but in this case the fees are out of the world. No wonder we now have competition from FT.

Great as it keeps prices low.............. how about FT Ministers?

BTW even FT prices for chanting are still too high for a few hours work. Furthermore monks are supposed not to be so money minded.

‎"Should any bhikkhu take gold and silver, or have it taken, or consent to its being deposited (near him), it is to be forfeited and confessed."(Nis. Paac. 18; BMC p.214)

"Should any bhikkhu pick up, or cause to be picked up or consent to the deposit of gold or silver, this entails Confession with Forfeiture." (Nis. Paac. 18; Paat. 1966 Ed. p.42)

"A monk, who accepts gold or money or gets another to accept for him, or acquiesces in its being put near him, commits [an offence requiring Confession with Forfeiture.]" (Nis. Paac. 18; BBC p.116)

"If a bhikkhu himself receives gold and silver (money) or gets someone else to receive it, or if he is glad about money that is being kept for him, it is [an offence of Confession with Forfeiture.]"(Nis. Paac. 18; Nv p.11)

You think this malpractise is only by Mahayana? I dun think so.

When my parents passed away I paid almost two grands for a few hours of prayers......... the monk wore gold watch and drove Merc.

I do not begrudge those earning good professional fees but in this case the fees are out of the world. No wonder we now have competition from FT.

Great as it keeps prices low.............. how about FT Ministers?

BTW even FT prices for chanting are still too high for a few hours work. Furthermore monks are supposed not to be so money minded.

if monks are not money minded then i worry ...:D

You think this malpractise is only by Mahayana? I dun think so.

yap you are right, but officially theravadin hold the stand that it is wrong, its counterpart turn and twist the rule to suit their own comfort to make themselves feel good.

pui

i would not be surprised down the road the rules will be bent by those clown that monks are allow to get married, cos of modernisation need. OH wait, it has already happen.....in Tibet....in Japan....

disgrace, want to fuck around like me dun wear the robe la

This was the only thread in this section that i have started for yesterday. Can you show me the link that you think the other thread starter is my clone? :D

Become a non believer like me, its free. Religions are for the weak and afraid. There is nothing beyond death.

This was the only thread in this section that i have started for yesterday. Can you show me the link that you think the other thread starter is my clone? :D

do it yourself, i dun spoonfeed a sinkie.

moderation, do you think we can get to know of Theravada without the Mahasanghikas? But hey, the Mahasanghikas also deserve to be puied these days.

Become a non believer like me, its free. Religions are for the weak and afraid. There is nothing beyond death.

Not only religion. Idealism per se is also for the weak and fearful. And indeed, there is nothing beyond death. Nor before life. Hands up those of you here who can consciously recall what it was like as a sperm, swimming towards the egg?

moderation, do you think we can get to know of Theravada without the Mahasanghikas? But hey, the Mahasanghikas also deserve to be puied these days.

what has clown from ancient sect mahasanghikas, which is most likely the roots of mahayana got to do with the theravada tradition? those are the idiots that thinks its fine to modify the rules anyway, indeed deserved to be fucked in the very first place. that goes without saying to its current form mahayana.

there is no such things as moderation of discipline, its meant to be there for a reason. as mentioned, if you rather relax the rules to bend it to suit to your comfort, dun wear the robe. want to fuck around fuck around like the rest of us, dun wear the robe.

do it yourself, i dun spoonfeed a sinkie.

And you are that moronic sinkie with a sinkie mentality who also said that you can do whatever you please. I have just made this forum more "interesting", however you won't get to know what it is so soon. :D

what has clown from ancient sect mahasanghikas, which is most likely the roots of mahayana got to do with the theravada tradition? those are the idiots that thinks its fine to modify the rules anyway, indeed deserved to be fucked in the very first place. that goes without saying to its current form mahayana.

there is no such things as moderation of discipline, its meant to be there for a reason. as mentioned, if you rather relax the rules to bend it to suit to your comfort, dun wear the robe. want to fuck around fuck around like the rest of us, dun wear the robe.

You Wrong liao... the Mahasanghikas are from the Theravadin. From the second Buddhist council about 100 years after the Buddha passed away. They basically practice the same rules as the theravadins. Only difference is that they defied the "cannot received and use $ rule". seriously without $ support from the lay it is indeed hard for Buddhism to have survived till now.

Moderation - here i meant use what is to be used. not accumulating what is not used$. But then all organisations need a back up fund for rainy days, its still a matter of how big is the fund and for what purpose. oxymoron right?

Lastly again do not mistake the Mahasanghikas as the Mahayana. Its 2 different schools completely. Read the 3rd buddhist council and you'll understand.

Agree with you, my son. I've attended Theravada Buddhism course for three months. I was in it only for the understanding of plurality. When your great grand uncle died, the Singapore Mahayana Buddhist monk came and quote, $800 halfway along the "way" or $1,200 all the "way." I felt like beating him up on the spot but couldn't since your great grand aunt was the widow master of ceremony and decision maker and paymaster. There'd be no such thing in Therevada Buddism. I've attended Therevada course and lived in Thailand long enough. There's no such thing!

You Wrong liao... the Mahasanghikas are from the Theravadin. From the second Buddhist council about 100 years after the Buddha passed away. They basically practice the same rules as the theravadins. Only difference is that they defied the "cannot received and use $ rule". seriously without $ support from the lay it is indeed hard for Buddhism to have survived till now.

Moderation - here i meant use what is to be used. not accumulating what is not used$. But then all organisations need a back up fund for rainy days, its still a matter of how big is the fund and for what purpose. oxymoron right?

Lastly again do not mistake the Mahasanghikas as the Mahayana. Its 2 different schools completely. Read the 3rd buddhist council and you'll understand.

u better checked your source, you got it the other way round.

i am using
"The Buddhist Companion" by Jeffery G.T. Po. pp 447-451 and pp 469 a few page
and wikipedia to double confirm

its divided into 2 school in the 2nd council, and they argue on 10 points of the rules about storing of food/salt and usage of money at the time of king Asoka. after that council lead to the split into 2 major groups Mahāsāṃghika and Sthaviravāda.

DO NOT CONFUSE IT WITH MAHISASAKAS. which is a branch that is developed at the later stage from sthaviravada.

Sthaviravāda refer to those who agree with the elders, Mahasanghikas refers to those monks who disagree withe elders and formed their own council that made up of greater numbers. Current form of theravada spreading from sri lanka to the rest of the world, the last time i checked traced its root back to Vibhajyavāda which is developed from Sthaviravāda not Mahāsāṃghika.

The books of current theravada of course is similar to Mahasamghikas then, and it will be the same as Sthaviravada too. Why? they are the bloody same school in the very first place, and theravada of current form took pride in not changing much holding on to ancient tradition. Of course it will be similar to the mahasamghikas and Sthaviravada then, BUT it will be more in agreement with Sthaviravāda school of thoughts. you are really not seeing things properly here. NOTE HERE, it is similar to the 2 ancient sects, NOT JUST 1 OF THEM.

and you know what is the best part? current mahayana have the a lot of conflicting teaching if you were to compared it to these 2 ancient sects.

yes current mahayana is not equal to the mahasamghika then, but they have the same attitude. relaxing the rules and have a good time. drive cars, accept cash and what not. PUI

want to fuck around have fun, enjoy material things, don't wear the robes