• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Eng's Wantan Mee Re-Opens @ Dunman

Parklane Delihouse one too sweet; not nice.

Kok Kee one better, but always long queue. Try the 1.90 & Joo Chiat one in Whampoa market, not bad.

wow! still got 1.90 price today.

Hahaha seems that way for most stalls always the noodle portion very small. :D

For me Good wanton mee
1) the noodles must be good firm and wheaty
2) the sauce must be there (actually nothing much usually just oyster sauce and onion oil, garlic oil or pork lard)
3) the chilli must be good (strong sambal savoury with a hint of sweet taste)
4) the char siew must be a nice roasted red with a BBQ flavour
5) the soup must have good flavour
6) the wanton must have decent amount of meat and the skin must not be the tissue type.
7) Pork Lard bits are always a winner! :D

wow..you are so demanding ...:D . how much you willing to pay for a plate of wanton mee ? ;)

Singkieland wanton mee not to my taste...... always so sweet........ prefer the malaysian style wanton mee :)

Which part of upper east coast rd?...I know the char kway teow old man & his wife & then to his son...grandchildren...does not look like the people from Armenian St.

The 'ngoh hiang' old man, whose food was mainly hand made is too old to do business, last ate there, was his niece, who told me, old man's children does't want to continue the business..

After the niece...the stall you see in picture is just taking the name...like the rest!!

it's at 15, Upper East Coast Road (facing Jalan Tua Kong).

Eng's Char Siew Wanton Noodles
untitled71.jpg

very spicy :mad:
untitled72.jpg

Wah so many recommendations but no clear winner.. :confused:
List of recommended Wanton Stalls:
1) Eng - Dunman Rd
2) Kok Kee - Eminent
3) Feifei- Joo chiat
4) Nam Seng Noodle Hse- China St
5) Parklane Deli
6) Old Airport Rd
7) Geylang Lor 13
8) Bt Merah View
9) .... so many..

I tried 2) Noodle good but portion small, wanton soggy
, 6) Overall portion good, wanton tasty soup ok., noodle tangy - I like this best :p
& 7) Portion good, noodle so so, wanton ok..

wow..you are so demanding ...:D . how much you willing to pay for a plate of wanton mee ? ;)

Hahaha actually got too carried away. That was the ultimate list :D

For me my main focus is always on the noodles so if the noodles pass, the rest not so important. :D

The answer to the last part. $3.50 - $4.00 (but must have extra noodles!) :p

Hong Mao Wanton Mee
Stall.jpg

128 Tembeling Road

wanton+mee.jpg

Noodles.jpg

Brother your recommendation all very good leh! One look I see pass QC already! Not to mention majority of my ultimate checklist! Now I am going to be thinking of wanton mee the whole day...again :p

Wah so many recommendations but no clear winner.. :confused:
List of recommended Wanton Stalls:
1) Eng - Dunman Rd
2) Kok Kee - Eminent
3) Feifei- Joo chiat
4) Nam Seng Noodle Hse- China St
5) Parklane Deli
6) Old Airport Rd
7) Geylang Lor 13
8) Bt Merah View
9) .... so many..

Heehee that is because we all got different taste mah. There are at least a few different styles of wanton mee.

For starters the base along got the following style:
1) pork lard & oyster sauce (The best kind in my humble opinion)
2) ketchup & onion oil
3) oyster sauce (Hong Kong Noodle)
4) onion oil and oyster sauce
5) chicken gravy/thick stock

Then we got the chillie:
1) western style chilli sauce
2) sweet chilli paste
3) ambal chilli paste (savoury)
4) hot chilli paste

The Char Siew:
1) Hong Kong style honey roasted
2) Deep red BBQ
3) Deep red but not much BBQ
4) Orange red exterior

The Wanton:
1) Tissue skin
2) Thick skin
3) Deep fried
4) Big filling

The soup base
1) Ikan Bilis and yellow bean stock (range from strong to light)
2) Chicken soup (usually lightly flavoured)

Brother your recommendation all very good leh! One look I see pass QC already! Not to mention majority of my ultimate checklist! Now I am going to be thinking of wanton mee the whole day...again :p

heard that Hong Mao and Kok Kee get their noodle from same supplier.

Heehee like that must find out from them who is their supplier! :D

I my own wanton noodles or rather plain noodles from time to time. :D

Ji Ji Wanton Noodle Specialist at Hong Lim Food Complex, winner of ST Readers' Choice Favourite Hawkers Poll, collecting 417 out of 660 votes in the wonton mee category.

Ji Ji Wanton Specialist
Hong Lim Food Complex Level 2
02-49
Block 531A, Upper Cross Street
Jijisk.jpg
jijist.jpg

I rate: 6/10

At last count, there are 17 wanton mee stalls at Dunman Food Centre.

Dunman Road HC is so small got so many wanton mee stalls meh?
like that half the stall all selling wanton mee, got business meh?