• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

End of the PAP Ride?

Looks like the PAP is slowly but surely coming to an end of a long ride. A ride that dragged 2 generations by the nose.

Here are the 3 main factors that will screw them at the next elections where they continue to have a majority but results that would be unprecedented.

1) FT Policy - FT displacing Singaporeans across various age groups. By now every family would have an unemployed member, a relative or a friend. FT granted scholarships, grants, and special treatment. This is the single biggest issue and they have no clue what to do.

2) HDB pricing out the young.

3) No new economic growth area identified in 15 years.

shelltox

maybe the "new "imported singaporeans would keep it in power for another few generations , just maybe

Dreamer1

Looks like the PAP is slowly but surely coming to an end of a long ride. A ride that dragged 2 generations by the nose.

Here are the 3 main factors that will screw them at the next elections where they continue to have a majority but results that would be unprecedented.

1) FT Policy - FT displacing Singaporeans across various age groups. By now every family would have an unemployed member, a relative or a friend. FT granted scholarships, grants, and special treatment. This is the single biggest issue and they have no clue what to do.

My dear friend,you are such an optimist.That is great.

I do not think so,much as I would like it to happen.

(1)FT policy,this is the potential killer for PAP,it is all the way against,I dare say more than 60 %
(2)HDB,not such burning issue as some citizens are calcualting their potential windfall,many are planning to downgrade.My guess 45% against,55% for
(3)Persoanl wealth management,giant gaming dens are huge success,and education hub is contributing

Until LKY meets his maker,no change at all,the rest depends on LHL and his wife,two of them alone would decide thier own fate!

Watchman

Let FT solution go support FT businesses .

We should be able to see how far it fare .

By third Quater .

Last year, ICA was asked to speed up citizenship issuance and it led to long queues. That is exactly the idea. It was the PAP policy that gave them the perks so the loyalty is with the PAP.

maybe the "new "imported singaporeans would keep it in power for another few generations , just maybe

Anything below 65% and the loss of another seat is a disaster. Worse if it a GRC.

Casino is a vice. It is a capitulation and an admission of ideas no longer there. The fact that so many cases of cheating by staff and visitors is a shock to the singapore system.

Singapore has priced itself out in the Education system. Student accommodation is high and the quality of academic staff is limited. It makes more sense to go to 1st world countries.

My dear friend,you are such an optimist.That is great.

I do not think so,much as I would like it to happen.

(1)FT policy,this is the potential killer for PAP,it is all the way against,I dare say more than 60 %
(2)HDB,not such burning issue as some citizens are calcualting their potential windfall,many are planning to downgrade.My guess 45% against,55% for
(3)Persoanl wealth management,giant gaming dens are huge success,and education hub is contributing

Until LKY meets his maker,no change at all,the rest depends on LHL and his wife,two of them alone would decide thier own fate!

Dreamer1

Anything below 65% and the loss of another seat is a disaster. Worse if it a GRC.

Casino is a vice. It is a capitulation and an admission of ideas no longer there. The fact that so many cases of cheating by staff and visitors is a shock to the singapore system.

Singapore has priced itself out in the Education system. Student accommodation is high and the quality of academic staff is limited. It makes more sense to go to 1st world countries.
(1)Below 65%,I think it may sink to between 55-60%
(2)Loss of another seat,for sure
(3)Loss of GRC-55% possibility
(4)Gaming dens,it is a huge sin,which MM LKY was ill -advised to fall for,as he is set to give an account of himself in the other world fairly soon
(5)Education hub,not only first world countries,with President Ma taking charge,Taiwan is gearing up to be another education hub(currently 20K Foreign students against Spore 90K,Australia has 600K)but the new world is huge(7,000,000,000,000.00 people),60% chance to hit their target,150k foreign students by 2015.

Would PAP change?not a chance.

Watchman

thumbs%20down.jpg

kingrant

Agree with yr pov. Today, they have to contend witb a largely middle class sector swollen with early retirees from being displaced by FTs despite all the talk abt working till you drop and not retiring; a middle class more educated but more disillusioned.

The heartlanders are also pissed with crowded trains, public amenities, food outlets, shopping malls etc.

Maximilian Chua-Heng

As often in this forum, ppl underestimating the PAP and overestimating the Sinkie voters.

1. FT policy for economic growth - that's the tune being sung and it's not hard to stomach once u get used to it, which is tied to point no.2. :eek:

2. Pricing out the young meaning MY property prices are going up. :biggrin:

3. The gahmen is growing the services industry. :smile:

Get real, screwball bro.

batman1

Let's hope to see the MIW got thrown off the roller-coaster and crashed into the sea.God saved Singa-pura.

PAP may employ scare tactics one day to
take down all websites or arrest people with free mind .

We can still go back to the old days of stuffing messages in 'pau' & dumplings!:biggrin:

If the people are oppressed, they will find ways & means to disseminate information.

:p

denzuko1

He might not die just yet. SPP is screwing itself at the moment and this is a deterants for people to vote for them. SDP still have a reputation problem to rectify, even though they are doing much better now.

theblackhole

i'm just watching....

fishes and birds dying and falling from the sky....

angry volcanoes and tsunamic floods ravaged of all places Brisbane!!!!.....

freezing and bitter snow storms descending from the North...

wikileaks...winkileaks....warningleaks....all leaking dangers,fears and anxietes..

i'm just watching...don't know what will happen to this little red dot...

just don't know....everything someone opens his mouth....all toads jump out..

i fear too long...and now there's no fear anymore...just wait for the worst...

and face the worst...for how long can a people endure?....for how long can a people be
deceived?.....for how long can a people be betrayed...? for how long can a people be threatened,intimidated and interned?...

i really don't know....birds will fall from the sky...fishes will beach to death.....and humans will be destroyed in most uncivil fashion.....really don't know..

only GOD knows..but who is GOD and where is GOD...i just watch...watching...watching...

SneeringTree

Have to strongly disagree. Most of the people here (in this forum) put too much faith on Sinkies. The vast majority of Sinkies are gutless, witless, self-centered and all round hopeless.

It would be a miracle if the opposition can hold on to PP and come close to winning a GRC. I fear Sinkies are mostly a bunch of lobotomized lemmings.

My prediction is a PAP sweep sans Hougang but I pray to Buddha/Jesus/Allah/Vishnu/Sai Baba that I am wrong though.

kukubird58

Have to strongly disagree. Most of the people here (in this forum) put too much faith on Sinkies. The vast majority of Sinkies are gutless, witless, self-centered and all round hopeless.

It would be a miracle if the opposition can hold on to PP and come close to winning a GRC. I fear Sinkies are mostly a bunch of lobotomized lemmings.

My prediction is a PAP sweep sans Hougang but I pray to Buddha/Jesus/Allah/Vishnu/Sai Baba that I am wrong though.

hahaha...very harsh words and fashionable sinkies bashing.
i would prefer to put majority of sinkies as heartlanders who are are contended just to watch channel8, read the evening papers and lim kopi/beer at kopitiams and TCSS to pass time, as long as life is bearable to them.
of course there will be the occasional grumblings, etc...but in general they are comfortable enough status quo.
who are we to impose our will on them? and because they do it their way, we label them with all sort of names.
History has shown and this is universal truth that once life becomes unbearable for majority, all hell will beak loose.

Yes I also fear that we may end up with HG only.
I also hope I am wrong on this count.....