• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Employing PRCs: Mark Lee defends himself

cass888

Definition of an Anti-Establishment agitator....they speak to force the Government to face the plight of the masses.

Wrong. The agitators like the MONGREL who bit his masters' hands LOUDHAILER chee soon juan speak to try to convince the masses of a plight they are not really suffering. That is why they're losing more and more and more votes.

The masses want practical politics. How it hits their own pocket, not how it hits other people's pockets.

iamtalkinglah

apparently many of you have never taken an economics or management course in your lives. why should mark lee pander to singaporeans if they refuse to take those jobs at cheap rates? if he didn't hire those foriegn workers, there'd be nobody left to run his business. WOULD any singaporean want to take those jobs?

many simple minded people for some reason assume that if you kick the PRCs out then singaporeans would happily rush to take their jobs and everybody lives happily after. can you provide any proof that those low-skilled PRCs are in direct competition with locals for the low-paying jobs? think about how singaporeans have moved up the value chain because of education. nobody wants the low-skilled jobs anymore. this is just progress, but apparently some people still insist on thinking in simple terms.

Apparently you have never studied social responsibility as part of your Uni education. Why wouldn't Singaporeans want this job? I see many Singaporean Aunties and Uncles working in the coffeeshops, wouldn't they want to upgrade to working in an AIR CONDITIONED coffeeshop?

In the first place, do you have any proof that those low-skilled PRCs are NOT in direct competition with locals for the low-paying jobs?
Do you know how many people are N level, O level, ITE grads?

How about retraining retirees to work in such coffee house? Aren't we talking about an aging Singaporean population????

And FYI, the reason why we are so Angry with Pimple faced Mark is because....

It's just quite ironic that a person who filmed "Money No Enough" to explain the Plight of Singaporeans, could how lian that he needs to buy a cash register as he is distributing bonuses and hiring all Foreigners and not Singaporeans. He also how lian that he have 5 stalls and looking to expand to 10-20 stalls (can't remember the exact figure), 3-4 new stall a year.

He is making MAXIMUM PROFIT otherwise he can't have this ambitious expansion plan. So the question now is, why he is not able to employ Singaporeans as a service to his nation? It is not as if he is not making money.

Mark Lee's situation though people may think is a small thing, it actually reflects the situations facing Singaporeans now. Employers are too greedy.

heartlander

neoclassical theory is insufficient to explain social reality.

you should rephrase - nobody wants the low-skilled jobs anymore "coz they pay like shit and can't guarantee a good life for the worker after retirement"

if you are right, that "nobody wants low skilled jobs" because of "progress", then we should not see a single white construction worker in the developed and progress-ed countries. but yet there are so many white construction workers in USA, Canada and Australia to name a few. so your logic cannot be right, no?

let me tell you something, we have a natural social experiment here. if there WERE locals who wanted to take those jobs, who WERE desperate enough and without any alternatives, they WOULD HAVE taken them already. Mark Lee would have been swarmed with job requests by now. it happened in USA, Canada, and Australia, but it did not happen here - so obviously demand among locals for these jobs is relatively low here. Furthermore, what the hell are you doing generalizing whites as a single race?

heartlander

Apparently you have never studied social responsibility as part of your Uni education. Why wouldn't Singaporeans want this job? I see many Singaporean Aunties and Uncles working in the coffeeshops, wouldn't they want to upgrade to working in an AIR CONDITIONED coffeeshop?

In the first place, do you have any proof that those low-skilled PRCs are NOT in direct competition with locals for the low-paying jobs?
Do you know how many people are N level, O level, ITE grads?

How about retraining retirees to work in such coffee house? Aren't we talking about an aging Singaporean population????

And FYI, the reason why we are so Angry with Pimple faced Mark is because....

what a dumb quote. employers run businesses and they run businesses because they want to make profit because they are greedy. what, you want your employer to be some tua peh kong who gives out money to the lazy ones? :biggrin: probably because you're a lazy ass :biggrin:

and, i repeat, if those n level and ite grads were desperate enough, they WOULD have swamped coffeeshops by now. but they haven't. what does this mean? THEY FOUND A BETTER ALTERNATIVE SOMEWHERE THAT PAYS HIGHER AND IS LESS TOUGH. where you think they go, live on the streets? go look at our unemployment rate la please, see who is unemployed.

iamtalkinglah

what a dumb quote. employers run businesses and they run businesses because they want to make profit because they are greedy. what, you want your employer to be some tua peh kong who gives out money to the lazy ones? :biggrin: probably because you're a lazy ass :biggrin:

and, i repeat, if those n level and ite grads were desperate enough, they WOULD have swamped coffeeshops by now. but they haven't. what does this mean? THEY FOUND A BETTER ALTERNATIVE SOMEWHERE THAT PAYS HIGHER AND IS LESS TOUGH. where you think they go, live on the streets? go look at our unemployment rate la please, see who is unemployed.

Not all employers are greedy. E.g. Body shop. There is a differences between giving out money to lazy people and being a socially responsible employer. Therefore you are not comparing apples with apples. I AM NOT A LAZY ASS. Thanks so much for showing me your intellectual level by coming to this baseless conclusion. :oIo:

Do you even know the meaning of "socially responsible employer"? I bet you find this a big word right? Uneducated people won't know what it means.

This is Singapore, nobody will swamped to his coffeehouse to get a job UNLESS HE ADVERTISE THAT HE IS LOOKING FOR WORKERS. E.g. previously on tv, many people swamped to job fairs etc. You really is brainless.

cunnosieur

PRC Bank Exec --------------------------------------------------------------------------
Happen to be at waterloo street doing some bank transaction yesterday lunch time, was told by the counter staff to wait for 15min to half an hour. Went out for a quick puff and saw this gal leaning on my car talking on her phone. The moment she lift up her head, I was WOW..... Not bad leh. She smile back and say sorrie, I told her to carry on leaning in a joking way. We chatted awhile and got to know that she just arrived 3 weeks ago working at the Bank which I just went. So I try to date her out for a drink and she say OK (My Lucky Day).

Pick her up after her work at 5.30pm and we went downtown for dinner. I was trying my best to test water (NO LUCK). We headed to Boat Quay for a drink after dinner and I told myself this time DIE DIE also must ask. All of a sudden, she burst into tear (ALCOHOL EFFECT), saying she misses her parent. I try to console her and told her not to think so much. Time passes and we are now more open up, I pop up the question to her:

Me: Why dun you try to earn more money while you are in SG?
She: How to?
Me: Do part time lor.
She: What is part time?
Me: Must I go into detail, then you can understand.
(Slient for a while) and (Burst into laughter)
She: How much am I worth in your eye.
Me: Hard to say, depends on how good are you.
She: How much do you want to give me, if I say OK to you.
Me: 150 lor (Man Ego).
She: If I am good to you, you give me more is it?
Me: Let see how good are you.
Me: How???
She: Can try. Is it now?
Me: Now lor. If not when?
She: Where?
Me: I bring you there.

10.45pm we check into a hotel at chinatown and the rest is story.....

Name: Txxx Xxxx
Look: 7.5 (Young office exec look)
Stats: 34B / 24 / 34 (I think so)
BBBJ: Yes for me
FJ: 9 (good moaning)
Painting: Yes for me
CIM: No
AR: No
AJ: No
Attitude: Very anticipating
Damage: 150 / 1shot
Overall: Good
RTF: Yes for sure (Bonking a Pretty Bank Exec)

images

images

cunnosieur

images

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/wJv0jMLLRcw&color1=0xb1b1b1&color2=0xcfcfcf&hl=en_US&feature=player_embedded&fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowScriptAccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/wJv0jMLLRcw&color1=0xb1b1b1&color2=0xcfcfcf&hl=en_US&feature=player_embedded&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

heartlander

Not all employers are greedy. E.g. Body shop. There is a differences between giving out money to lazy people and being a socially responsible employer. Therefore you are not comparing apples with apples. I AM NOT A LAZY ASS. Thanks so much for showing me your intellectual level by coming to this baseless conclusion. :oIo:

Do you even know the meaning of "socially responsible employer"? I bet you find this a big word right? Uneducated people won't know what it means.

This is Singapore, nobody will swamped to his coffeehouse to get a job UNLESS HE ADVERTISE THAT HE IS LOOKING FOR WORKERS. E.g. previously on tv, many people swamped to job fairs etc. You really is brainless.

HAHAHAHA you are really being brainwashed by companies, biting onto what they say hook, line and sinker when they say they're angels. Are you 3 years old you retard? Only the most naive peasants go around looking for charity from employers. You have not so much as a single drop of business acumen in your body. Firms do not do anything without making sure there's profit involved. Part of their masterplan is to do some PR bullshit like "social responsiblity" to cheat gullible little children like you of their money. Oh my god, how much of your poor mum's money have you wasted buying the overpriced aromatherapy candles at Body Shop? I want to laugh till I cry.

And you still don't get the point, and I'm not surprised. Wah, are Singaporeans so dumb and wimpy that they wait for permission to ask coffeeshop bosses for jobs? I have a much better impression of Singaporeans than you do. If they want a job, they would jolly well walk in and ask. They're not babies like you. And also, go find out what kind of jobs are on offer at job fairs and see if they're the same jobs being shunned by Singaporeans.

HAHAHAHAH SOMEONE JUST CALLED ME BRAINLESS. FUNNIEST THING I'VE EVER HEARD. Do you even know who I am, and where I am right now?

Not all employers are greedy. E.g. Body shop. There is a differences between giving out money to lazy people and being a socially responsible employer.

Body shop is owned by L'Oreal you twit. Anita Roddick sold out in 2006 and died a year later.

SamuelStalin

from the secretary's point of view, its not worth it to bust her ass off for an extra $200-300 OT pay. the deal her boss is working on will reap probably $100Ks for the firm and himself, while she gets a measly couple of 100s.

she feels exploited. the $100s will not change her life much and she'll have to sacrifice her leisure time in order to deal with more crap.

and don't tell me the firm isn't exploiting her and all the other admin/support staff when the partners and shareholders reap millions in profits while staff get their paltry compensation.

Her view is one thing that's for sure, but the thing my cass888 is trying to make is that, this female secretary IS PAID for doing overtime as opposed to free labor, AND it is at the 1.5 times extra as stipulated by the labor ministry. So what exploitation are you talking about? Are you by any chance a communist?

Also, doing overtime is part and parcel of her job. When you work for others who set up the company, they get the lion's share of the profits that come, but when they work for you who set up the company, you get the lion's share of the profits that come. Is this not so? Is this not fair in a sense?

So what is exploitation? Obviously you have never traveled to Third World countries to truly understand what this term that you used really means.

SamuelStalin

Makes sense. Looks like some forummers are finding something to get angry about and they are more angry than these lower-educated people themselves. What a joke seriously.

SamuelStalin

its because its the government's fault (tru their own success) that $200-300s won't matter much to the secretary.

$200 more a month is less than 50k in 20 years. tell me, what the fuck can 50k do for my retirement?

50k to the Ft on the other hand, translates into a plot of land and a house back home. so the FT will piah hard for this dream.

but the secretary piah so hard, get 50k, for fuck right? maybe in 20 years, 50k can only buy her a COE.

all the bosses don't get it, sitting in their herman millers... that there is no dream, no point, for the common worker to pursue. there is no motivation to earn the extra 50k over 20 years in Sg because you can't do squat with 50k in 20 years time. the common worker has no more hope, so she engages in mindless material consumption to distract herself.

if instead the firms and partners took somewhat less (say 25% less of the 10 zillion dollars they make), then the local staff can be paid more.

Maybe, but please do not blame the establishment that you voted and stood behind for everything that goes wrong in your life. This is in plain terms, hypocrisy. 50K may not be 50 million yes, but that money is usually used to meet further expenses along the way. It is not really to be saved for long-term retirement. Your argument is weak.

And if you oppose capitalism so much you should really go live in a socialist country for a while and see how much better or worse or different life there is.

iamtalkinglah

HAHAHAHA you are really being brainwashed by companies, biting onto what they say hook, line and sinker when they say they're angels. Are you 3 years old you retard? Only the most naive peasants go around looking for charity from employers. You have not so much as a single drop of business acumen in your body. Firms do not do anything without making sure there's profit involved. Part of their masterplan is to do some PR bullshit like "social responsiblity" to cheat gullible little children like you of their money. Oh my god, how much of your poor mum's money have you wasted buying the overpriced aromatherapy candles at Body Shop? I want to laugh till I cry.

Nope. I chose to be a socially responsible person. Just like I only buy goods from companies that uses recycled packaging and eat seafood that is from a sustainable source. Well I choose this lifestyle. Most educated, well informed and people with adequate income will follow such lifestyle. I am not brainwashed. You are however brainwashed and stop copying me by using the words I used on you.

You are the one who assumed Singaporeans go around looking for charity from employers. I didn’t. You said “you want your employer to be some tua peh kong who gives out money to the lazy ones?”. In the first place you cannot understand what I am saying/ you cannot understand simple English. There is a difference between giving out money to lazy people and being a socially responsible employer. Therefore you are not comparing apples with apples. It shows your intellectual level. You don’t how to compare apples to apples.

You are so stupid, okay let me repeat again, there is nothing wrong in making a profit. If you don’t make a profit, how will your business survive? I said, “Mark Lee is making MAXIMUM PROFIT otherwise he can't have this ambitious expansion plan. So the question now is, why he is not able to employ Singaporeans as a service to his nation? It is not as if he is not making money.” But you still cannot comprehend. Something is wrong with your brain.

And you still don't get the point, and I'm not surprised. Wah, are Singaporeans so dumb and wimpy that they wait for permission to ask coffeeshop bosses for jobs? I have a much better impression of Singaporeans than you do. If they want a job, they would jolly well walk in and ask. They're not babies like you. And also, go find out what kind of jobs are on offer at job fairs and see if they're the same jobs being shunned by Singaporeans.

You are so stupid, if coffeeshops wants to hire, they will either advertise online/newspapers or they will stick a hiring notice at their shops. Not everyone is so thick skinned like you who go knock on everyone’s door and beg for a job or money. There’s a huge difference between initiative and downright thick skinned.

I MUST BE TALKING TO A FOREIGNER. NOT HAPPY DON’T COME TO SINGAPORE. GO BACK TO YOUR OWN COUNTRY.

HAHAHAHAH SOMEONE JUST CALLED ME BRAINLESS. FUNNIEST THING I'VE EVER HEARD. Do you even know who I am, and where I am right now?

I don’t know who are you and what you are doing now. You want to share? Maybe show your picture too? BTW, I just need to read what you write to know whether you are brainless or not. I don’t need to know who you are.

iamtalkinglah

Makes sense. Looks like some forummers are finding something to get angry about and they are more angry than these lower-educated people themselves. What a joke seriously.

Not some. Majority. Well, you will know if you read around this forum.
But in the first place, do you even bother to read around before making comments?

heartlander

Nope. I chose to be a socially responsible person. Just like I only buy goods from companies that uses recycled packaging and eat seafood that is from a sustainable source. Well I choose this lifestyle. Most educated, well informed and people with adequate income will follow such lifestyle.

More educated, well-informed people know what's going on behind the closed doors of corporate offices, and refuse to swallow what companies try to spoonfeed them. Even if they do, it's only after much consideration and understanding of the company's actual practices. They actually have their own minds. Naive, gullible WANNABEs blindly buy "socially-responsible products" because they don't know better. Guess which category you belong to? :smile:

You are the one who assumed Singaporeans go around looking for charity from employers. I didn’t. You said “you want your employer to be some tua peh kong who gives out money to the lazy ones?”. In the first place you cannot understand what I am saying/ you cannot understand simple English. There is a difference between giving out money to lazy people and being a socially responsible employer. Therefore you are not comparing apples with apples. It shows your intellectual level. You don’t how to compare apples to apples.

If you really want to have an intellectual spar with me, I'm sorry, go pick someone you can actually win. You don't know who you're up against. And no, I was not referring to Singaporeans in general - only naive 3-year olds like you who have no concept of business management.

You are so stupid, okay let me repeat again, there is nothing wrong in making a profit. If you don’t make a profit, how will your business survive? I said, “Mark Lee is making MAXIMUM PROFIT otherwise he can't have this ambitious expansion plan. So the question now is, why he is not able to employ Singaporeans as a service to his nation? It is not as if he is not making money.” But you still cannot comprehend. Something is wrong with your brain.

You're not even grasping simple economic concepts that 17 year-old A level students can easily master, OMG. Let me teach you something about firms. The MOMENT you take advice from idiots who say you should hire unnecessarily expensive labour to serve some distorted idea of greater good, you no longer make maximum profits. The hundreds of other coffeeshops will thank you for your generosity and hire all the foreign labour that you reject. They will increase their share of the pie and squeeze you out of business. Do you have any idea how cutthroat the coffeeshop business is? If you want to blame someone, blame the government for flooding the job market with way too many cheap labour. Mark Lee is one firm out of hundreds or thousands and he can't do shit about it. You think he's some god?

Then if labour gets more expensive, more coffeeshops will close down, food gets more expensive and Singaporeans have fewer places to choose from. Guess who the same people will blame? The government. So easy to blame the government without understanding the dynamics behind things.

Lots of people here have never run a single business in their entire lives and so can sit back and talk big behind keyboards about socially responsible businesses and how easy it should be for Mark Lee to hire expensive Singaporeans. The fact that they can come up with cock notions like this one explains their delusions: they don't even HAVE the ability to run businesses in the first place.

You are so stupid, if coffeeshops wants to hire, they will either advertise online/newspapers or they will stick a hiring notice at their shops. Not everyone is so thick skinned like you who go knock on everyone’s door and beg for a job or money. There’s a huge difference between initiative and downright thick skinned.

The best excuse you can come up with for not taking initiative is you don't want to malu. No wonder foreigners are out-talking and out-competing more Singaporeans by the day. Doesn't matter if these foreigners are in Singapore or not - if more people think like you, then we as a nation are doomed, and it won't even be the PAP's fault. What, are you still being breastfed by your mum, you sorry spineless excuse for a man?

Debonerman

Cheebye kiah mudskipper aka lancheowman, lchwmn 12345, besotted, asking to be fuck from day one of the Chinese New Year issit?

Debonerman

Not some. Majority. Well, you will know if you read around this forum.
But in the first place, do you even bother to read around before making comments?

You are new and definitely a younger man than most of the old geezers here. Just tell SamuelStalin to go piss on his wife's grave with his daughter in tow!:biggrin: