• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Elderly Patient Treated Like Dead Body in SGH

Apr 17, 2010

Poor care for bedridden dad at hospital

<!-- by line --><!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar --><!-- story content : start -->
MY FATHER, 81, is bedridden and requires a full-time maid to care for him. On March 20, he developed a skin infection around the area of his percutaneous endoscopic gastronomy (PEG) tube from which blood was also oozing.
He was feverish and shivered uncontrollably. We admitted him to Singapore General Hospital (SGH) but were dismayed by the following incidents:

On April 3, a junior male doctor told me my father was in a very weak state. If a serious episode recurred, he would not be admitted in the intensive care unit (ICU), as they felt his condition would be beyond treatment. After we spoke, he left and returned with a woman doctor who said my father would not be admitted to the ICU because of his age and state of health. They would treat only his infections.

On April 5, my maid discovered a large stain over my father's clothing and cushion. The tube from the milk feed had leaked and apparently went unnoticed and unattended for a long time as a trail of ants had formed and was crawling all over the bed. My maid alerted a doctor and one of the sisters. The ward nurses then cleaned and changed my father's clothing.
As the infection needed to heal, the PEG tube had to be removed. The patch that covered the wound was dated April 1 when I saw it on April 3. My maid told me the senior doctor had instructed that the patch be changed daily, and that the head doctor had reprimanded the nurses on duty for not doing so.
My maid told me that the nurses were also reprimanded for not turning my father, who is prone to bed sores, as often.
The hospital care was disappointing.
While I accept the rationale for not giving my father ICU treatment, the decision should have been conveyed to us privately, rather than in front of the patient.
I am also dismayed by the way the nurses looked after my father in his room.
Colin Yeo

What about this =>

280px-Kwa_Geok_Choo_ekk.jpg

Apr 17, 2010

Patient given appropriate care

<!-- by line --><!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar --><!-- story content : start -->
I AM sorry about Mr Colin Yeo's impressions arising from his father's recent admission. We have since contacted Mr Yeo on his concerns.
Our investigations revealed that the doctors updated Mr Yeo on his father's condition and explained the possibility of deterioration.
In cases where the patient's condition may not benefit from extraordinary measures to prolong life - for example, intubation and mechanical ventilation in the intensive care unit - it is necessary for our doctors to communicate this to the next of kin to seek their understanding.
Mr Yeo was given the assurance that we would continue to treat his father with the appropriate medical care.
Our nurses are well trained and work under professional supervision so consistent care is delivered. The dressing on the percutaneous endoscopic gastronomy (PEG) site was checked daily and changed when wet or stained.
Our nurses had continuously checked the patient's tube and milk bag connection, and had immediately attended to the patient when the tubing was found to be disconnected.
The housekeeper was also called in to ensure that the patient's bedside area was thoroughly cleaned.
Mr Yeo's father was also turned two-hourly as documented in the patient's turning chart.
The medical management for his father was appropriate.
Associate Professor Ooi Choon Jin
Head, Department of Gastroenterology and Hepatology
Singapore General Hospital

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=heading>Latest comments</TD></TR><TR><TD id=messageDisplayRegion width="100%"><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" class=Post cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>The learned Professor's reply gave me a good laugh at how professional he is in side stepping the issues brought up by Mr. Yeo. His reply does not address Mr. Yeo's remarks but rather it is a PR exercise to salvage
SGH image. He went about explaining how "the nurses are well trained and under professional supervisors"
how "the nurses continuously checked the patient's tube and milk bag connection" and "the patient was
turned two-hourly as documented in the patient's turning chart" - seriously Professor, only you can believe
what is documented in the chart - what is documented as DONE, may not be carried out - you believe the
under stressed, over worked well trained nurses got the time to actually turn over the patient "exactly" every
two hour, maybe in 5 hours. To salvage the image of SGH, perhaps you can a professional PR firm to reply
and address the issues brought up by Mr. Yeo - please don't go around the merry bush, saying a lot of stuff
but not to the point. Oh yes, give some excuse for the ants ...LOL.
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: fossanoit at Sat Apr 17 10:15:28 SGT 2010
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" class=AlternatePost cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>This reply does not tally with the events as described by Mr Colin Yeo (http://www.straitstimes.com/STForum/...y_515537.html).

If Mr Colin Yeo's account is true, SGH should provide further explanations. If the nurses were well-trained and professional. then why were they reprimanded by the head doctor for not changing the patch daily and not frequently turning the writer's father, as witnessed by the writer's maid?

SGH's reply did not address why the decision (for not giving the writer's father ICU treatment in the event of a serious episode) was conveyed in front of the patient.
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: ARRRRRRR at Sat Apr 17 09:42:10 SGT 2010
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" class=Post cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Doctor, what about the ants then? Give some excuse for this also.
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: Murali_Sharma at Sat Apr 17 08:37:11 SGT 2010
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

The person who wrote that letter, should have presented the evidence, wether recorded by video, pictures or even sound.

or The Shit Times....transparently left the truth out....

That 81 year old man must have faithfully and trustfully voted for the PAP in every election.
Now while our ministars are singing "upturn the downturn", this 81 year old man is being turned every 2 hours.

the ants were innocent !:o

The reply from A/P Ooi is just ridifarkingculous, with neither remorse or apologetic in any way. Love the way he ends his reply with "The treatment was appropriate" and he hopes this will absolve the hospital from any blame. Might as well say that the ants were moving house as HDB prices are now too expensive....

.... the ants sold house because they can't take their cpf at 55 as they no longer have the energy to scavenge for scraps ....:(

the last time i check, i only have less than 10k in my cpf. he he he... so how, i kbkp here?

You are certified dead the moment your medisave and bank account runs dry !

This is the case of "he says, she says". There's no reason to privilege one sinkie's account over another.

However, based on logical deduction, if the care offered by SGH is as horrific as the letter writer described, more people would have complained already. I would say the doctor's account is more believable.

Why was he treated like that?
Because you are not elites, understand?

Why was he treated like that?
Because you are not elites, understand?

So do Sporns still want to be treated like dead bodies while the FAPee TRAITORS lavish on themselves and FTrash? Do Sporns want these bastard TRAITORS to go uninhibited and unpunished?

Which why we should listen to our health minister.....send our parents to JB
for a better, cheaper healthcare.

Why sinkies cannot listen simple instruction?

:o :( :o

everything so commercialised these days

very sad

last time poor but life so wonderful

nowadays everybody everything is money money money

what progress

where got progress

we stopped progressing 30 years ago

have the hardware (big hospital buildings, so called advanced equipments) but no software (hearts, humanity to patients. only mecenary)

1. appropriate equates "you die your biz" mah!
2. unless, the patient is who's who, then you see the difference.
3. even someone in a coma gets more attention than this old man!