• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Dollah Kassim has just passed on ......

Dun kill it yet lah. I am still waiting for an explanation on why the SAF FC team, supposedly representing the SAF, can field a team of non-singaporeans who have never served in the army. If they are willing to import mercenaries to play for SAF FC, why dun they import Gurkhas too?

There shouldn't be clubs like SAFFC and Home United. These represent national ministries (MINDEF and MHA). If MINDEF and MHA have so much excess budget to run football clubs, their budgets should cut and channelled to local district clubs.

The team than was more than a team, it was a unifying force for the country. The whole weight of the country was behind it.

Lucky i went to KL to watch the last time singapore win the malaysian cup.
So i still have memories left.

i think i mentioned it somewhere before....after we left the malaysian cup. i can no longer named any of our national players :(

The immense interest during that era transcended remembering our own players but remembering the opponent's players too. Edmund Wee, Samad Allapitchay, Dollah Kassim, Quah Kim Song, Mat Noh, Rajagopal etc. all we remembered, not surprisingly since we're Singaporeans. But those days, most Singapore football fans knew who were Arumugam, Soh Chin Aun, Santokh Singh, Mokhtar Dahari etc. too. That's the spirit of nemesis. :D

Yup.Samad allapitchay use to work in my company before and i have the privilege to play against the veteran,the likes of Kim Song,Samad,crazy horse and Dollah himself in a charity match at jalan besar stadium in the mid 90s.

Wah, you played with them before! My standard not that high, sec. sch. team and police academy team only. The last time I played was with NTUC 7-a-side tournament. I scored 2 goals and my branch won the trophy. :)

Condolences, he will always be remembered by those whom have seen him in action in the 70s perhaps right up till the early 80s..

Watching football, the malaysia cup was the biggest thing that ever happened in Singapore's history till date. When SIngapore scored against Malaysia, the entire HDB estate, kampong will roar G O A L !!!!!! ha hahaa and if you are lucky enough to get tickets to the National stadium the atmosphere is even better probably better than National Day Parade...

May Encik Dollah Kassim rest in peace...

There shouldn't be clubs like SAFFC and Home United. These represent national ministries (MINDEF and MHA). If MINDEF and MHA have so much excess budget to run football clubs, their budgets should cut and channelled to local district clubs.

Good luck cutting MINDEF budget, its almost 10% of GDP now.

Some of the Malaysian States have been regularly knocked out by Singapore and wanted Singapore out. Johor gave them the excuse and Ganesan was made the scapegoat. They felt that Singapore as a country had more resources and thus unfair.

The Malaysia cup was fantastic and those of us who had the opportunity to see it should relish it.

The current setup with politcians is a joke. They will find the easy out and import FTs.

Some of the Malaysian States have been regularly knocked out by Singapore and wanted Singapore out. Johor gave them the excuse and Ganesan was made the scapegoat. They felt that Singapore as a country had more resources and thus unfair.

The Malaysia cup was fantastic and those of us who had the opportunity to see it should relish it.

The current setup with politcians is a joke. They will find the easy out and import FTs.

I don't believe this to be the case. Some of the smaller malaysian states like to play in singapore, even if they lose. This is because they share the gate receipts, which for them is a substantial part of their budget from this one game in S'pore. Not many of them got 50,000 seat stadium, and charge that much. And if you look at the winners of the cup, you will see that S'pore did not dominate. Penang, selangor, etc. were also winners. Sabah was also very strong and depending onthe year, Malacca and Perak were pretty strong too. Ganesan was just an arrogant cheebye. U don't see in the Sultan's personal box, and refuse to move when u are asked to do so. After that, don't apologise somemore.

The withdrawal from Malaysia Cup was over the share in gate receipts, not because Singapore was dominating. It was a stalemate ended with the proverbial MAD (mutually assured destruction). Singapore started its own league but both Malaysia and Singapore leagues went down the dumps.

We really misses those football madness days, when the whole of SINgapore stood still to watch any finals of the Malaysia Cup....the only time I remember when time stood still was WHO SHOT JR?

Yup..i remember those good old days,me and my brothers would walk from our kampong in geyland serai to the stadium to watch them play..always a sell out crowd...and when they play the away games would waited eagerly in the evening with my sanyo radio full volume because those days live telecast or sponsor was quite rare ,Brian Richmond commentary still linger on till now.

Now Mr noe all Ram who is the smart ass whole screw up the whole thing..our enjoyment.:rolleyes:

The withdrawal from Malaysia Cup was over the share in gate receipts, not because Singapore was dominating. It was a stalemate ended with the proverbial MAD (mutually assured destruction). Singapore started its own league but both Malaysia and Singapore leagues went down the dumps.

I never said singapore was dominating. malaysian league might have taken a hit, but a far less onethan Singapore. Malaysia is higher in FIFA rankings than singapore.

Yup..i remember those good old days,me and my brothers would walk from our kampong in geyland serai to the stadium to watch them play..always a sell out crowd...and when they play the away games would waited eagerly in the evening with my sanyo radio full volume because those days live telecast or sponsor was quite rare ,Brian Richmond commentary still linger on till now.

Now Mr noe all Ram who is the smart ass whole screw up the whole thing..our enjoyment.:rolleyes:

I think a certain FAS Advisor by the surname of Mah who later got promoted to FAS President for starting S-League and Goal 2010.

Dun kill it yet lah. I am still waiting for an explanation on why the SAF FC team, supposedly representing the SAF, can field a team of non-singaporeans who have never served in the army. If they are willing to import mercenaries to play for SAF FC, why dun they import Gurkhas too?

Technically Gurkhas would have to play for home united. Gurkhas aren't known for their soccer powess anyways...just running long distances.

dollah kassim, kwah Kim song, mohanmah noor etc etc... those were the days..

Kallang roar.. DRINK... POPIAH.... CURRY PUFF.

Now Got PAP ...sport minister... I sian with sinki soccer..

Mat Noh, Samad Alapitchay, Dollah Kassim, S Rajagopal, Arshad Khamis, Quah Kim Song, Eric Paine, Hasli Ibrahim, V Khanisen,Au Yong pak Kwan, Abbas Saad,Fandi Ahmad, V Sundramoorthy David Lee and more names i cant remember.
They were the stuff that brought the Kallang Roar and the msian State teams to their knees whenever they played at the National Stadium
Not forgetting the triangular curry puff outside the stadium must have for 70cents!

790x.jpg

Heavy machinery takes apart the concrete stands at a stadium in Singapore on September 29, 2010.​

760x.jpg

Heavy machinery takes apart the concrete stands at a stadium in Singapore on September 29, 2010. The 37-year old stadium being torn down will be replaced with a new Singapore Sports Hub which comprises world-class facilities including a new 55,000 capacity National Stadium. The stadium has seen many sports and non-sports events, and distinguised visitors, such as Pope John Paul II, Michael Jackson and the boxing great, Muhammad Ali.​

That was the true golden age of Singapore. Too bad too many of those who lived through that period didn't recognise it as such.