• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Do you want 1% more on CPF?

phouse3

HDB loans is OA rate + 0.1%
Some banks are lending at SIBOR + alpha (capped at OA rate for first 10 years)

The interest rates are practically 3.5% on OA and 5% for SA and MA for majority of Singaporeans due to the extra 1% for the first $60,000 combined balance. Roy should know since he likes to harp Singaporeans have low CPF balances. Yet he keeps quoting 2.5% and then say our CPF interest rate is very low.

He then proposes 1% more.

Now, when a young couple buys a flat, their OA balance would be wiped to zero. If the government pays 1% more, they will have a financial burden of 1% more on a big loan of say $400,000. On the other hand, they are getting practically nothing on their OA. So young people, do you want 1% more?

Now, we all know interest rate and tenor are correlated. The basic question to retirees is: Do we want the government to change the Minimum Withdrawal Age to 67 and beyond?

Some people are more PAP than PAP. For example, TRS shows a video of how a man has been squandering his money on a China mistress. It faked a story of a 66-year old woman refusing to sell her flat. Some people write against monetisation of flats. Is turning people into collateral damage an ethical way to convert votes in favour of the Opposition?

Monthly payout of $1,200 p.m. is a floor. People should have more - allowance from children, other savings/investments, huge capital gains from HDB flats, etc. If they don't, then it is back to how the issue started, some people are poor. If so, then we should target them. Not drag everybody in. It may lead to worse policies - like higher Minimum Sum or Minimum Withdrawal Age. Already, the revamped compulsory MediShield Life disadvantages certain people. The revamped CPF Life where there is compulsory bequest is also sub-optimal.

Because we own a flat, we have been saving on rentals for decades. Just imagine paying a would-have-been monthly rental of $1,500, we should be peeing in our pants. Also stop bullshitting that we will become homeless. Under lease buyback, you get to stay in your existing flat, under right-sizing, you downgrade to a smaller flat or a brand new studio apartment with furnishing. Currently, many old people don't even have cooker-hoods/big electric switches/built-in cabinets/pedestal toilet bowls in their homes.

CPF returns should be based on the weighted average return paid by the CPF Board and the returns from money withdrawn for property investment. They should be many times higher than 2.5% to 5%. Even if the younger generation won't be able to enjoy the same kind of returns, it is still a hedge against inflation. Young Singaporeans should also think harder about changes to SIBOR and OA rate.

Free to choose (Milton Friedman) is the answer, not more nannying.

Poomer

What utter rubbish, Singaporeans still have to pay back the interest on the 2.5%, so it won't be different be it 2.5% or 3.5%, in the end, Singaporeans must still pay interest from loaning their own money from their CPF accounts. What government burden, they fucking socialised the cost. They are still earning their mega big bucks from land sales.

The minimum withdrawal age is already nannying of your money, let's not kid ourselves that it ain't. Furthermore, they are continual shifting the goalposts regarding all aspects of our CPF, which runs contrary to the original purpose of CPF.

escher

The piano wires will hum for you when LKY become a rotting corpse in days or weeks to come.
You gotten your pile of silver yet?
Bags packed and ready to run before the hooting and dancing under lamp posts?

phouse3

On one hand, the Opposition is asking for return of money at 55. On the other hand, the PAP kept talking about over-depletion of retirement savings. It is very unnerving.

Please do not get confuse by the internet noise. Retirees are not asking for changes. In fact, they are asking the government to give them assurance that there won't be changes to a good scheme like the Studio Apartment.

Even if a person monetises his/her flat at 55 as is provided under the Studio Apartment scheme, his/her CPF money gets return to the Retirement Account to meet the mandatory Minimum Sum and Medisave in FULL and earn interests. He/she cannot squander away his/her money. It will be the full $1,200 payout from 65 onwards. There is no burden on the government.

On the other hand, pledging of property is not cash generating. A retiree's monthly income will be even less than $600 if the RA balance is low.

HDB loans is OA rate + 0.1%
Some banks are lending at SIBOR + alpha (capped at OA rate for first 10 years)

The interest rates are practically 3.5% on OA and 5% for SA and MA for majority of Singaporeans due to the extra 1% for the first $60,000 combined balance. Roy should know since he likes to harp Singaporeans have low CPF balances. Yet he keeps quoting 2.5% and then say our CPF interest rate is very low.

He then proposes 1% more.

Now, when a young couple buys a flat, their OA balance would be wiped to zero. If the government pays 1% more, they will have a financial burden of 1% more on a big loan of say $400,000. On the other hand, they are getting practically nothing on their OA. So young people, do you want 1% more?

Now, we all know interest rate and tenor are correlated. The basic question to retirees is: Do we want the government to change the Minimum Withdrawal Age to 67 and beyond?

Some people are more PAP than PAP. For example, TRS shows a video of how a man has been squandering his money on a China mistress. It faked a story of a 66-year old woman refusing to sell her flat. Some people write against monetisation of flats. Is turning people into collateral damage an ethical way to convert votes in favour of the Opposition?

Monthly payout of $1,200 p.m. is a floor. People should have more - allowance from children, other savings/investments, huge capital gains from HDB flats, etc. If they don't, then it is back to how the issue started, some people are poor. If so, then we should target them. Not drag everybody in. It may lead to worse policies - like higher Minimum Sum or Minimum Withdrawal Age. Already, the revamped compulsory MediShield Life disadvantages certain people. The revamped CPF Life where there is compulsory bequest is also sub-optimal.

Because we own a flat, we have been saving on rentals for decades. Just imagine paying a would-have-been monthly rental of $1,500, we should be peeing in our pants. Also stop bullshitting that we will become homeless. Under lease buyback, you get to stay in your existing flat, under right-sizing, you downgrade to a smaller flat or a brand new studio apartment with furnishing. Currently, many old people don't even have cooker-hoods/big electric switches/built-in cabinets/pedestal toilet bowls in their homes.

CPF returns should be based on the weighted average return paid by the CPF Board and the returns from money withdrawn for property investment. They should be many times higher than 2.5% to 5%. Even if the younger generation won't be able to enjoy the same kind of returns, it is still a hedge against inflation. Young Singaporeans should also think harder about changes to SIBOR and OA rate.

Free to choose (Milton Friedman) is the answer, not more nannying.

Total convoluted BS ...government uses OUR money to generate 7 percent return and only gives us a miserly 2 percent!

Either turn CPF into a defined benefit plan or let sinkees invest their CPF in S&P etf.

We know the government will never do either of both because they then don't have your money to play with.

CPF savings was never intended for your retirement, but for the benefit of the government.

HDB and CPF are too different matters ...the government tie them together to hide their robbery of your CPF.

If the government raises the two issues in tandem, the question sinkees should pose this example to them.

$10k saved annually for 30 years, end sum in CPF is $450k while invested in S&P etf gives you $1.3 million! The government has robbed sinkees of 200 percent in returns. By the way, this S&P return is achieved despite two major downturns - internet bubble and financial meltdown. So, don't by the PAP bullshit that you get lower return because it of safety.

LEGEND

Why HDB interest rate must die die peg to OA + 0.1% leh? Why cannot OA - 2%?

Fuck you lah!:oIo: