• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Did Minister Josephine Teo really say all this...?

https://www.onlinecitizenasia.com/2...workers-she-should-apologise-to-singaporeans/

Minister for Manpower, Josephine Teo said in Parliament on 4 May that she has not “come across one single migrant worker himself that had demanded an apology,”

It is a strange and defensive statement for one to utter given that most migrant workers have been living under lock down conditions with little interaction with the outside world. With that in mind, how many migrant workers would Teo have interacted with for her conclusion of not coming across any migrant worker wanting an apology to be meaningful?

Besides, most migrant workers are worried about their livelihood – would they really have the temerity to be demanding an apology from a minister (even if they wanted to)? In this regard, Teo’s statements are meaningless and could be construed as self serving.

Setting aside the apology to the migrant worker point, shouldn’t she also apologise to the people of Singapore? The government’s inaction when cases in migrant worker dormitories first became pubic knowledge in February may well have contributed to the high levels of COVID-19 cases in Singapore. This falls squarely in Teo’s domain.

Teo also took the opportunity in Parliament to read out an FB note posted by migrant worker Sozal Mirza thanking the government (‘Minister shares migrant worker’s note of heartfelt thanks‘). In context with the rest of her statements, it would appear that the message Teo is trying to send is that she (and her department) have done a good job and that the migrant workers are grateful.

There are so many migrant workers in Singapore. Is one message on FB from one worker able to represent the hundreds of thousands of migrant workers in Singapore?

With the unequal balance of power between migrant workers and authorities, could it also be possible that Sozal Mirza might have felt compelled to send such a message in the hope of improving his chances of securing his livelihood?

To brandish the FB message of one migrant worker together with her experience of no single worker asking for her apology as a conclusion that she need not apologise is a weak whitewash of the situation. Cases of COVID-19 are high and high because of potential oversights on the part of her ministry.

Even if she does not feel that she needs to apologise to migrant workers, she needs to apologise to the taxpayers in Singapore who are paying her salary. She cannot in good conscience say she is not aware of any Singaporean wanting her apology.

I think most of the taxpayers want her removed.not just apologize.sorry no cure

CB face talking thru her CB mouth during CB period.

We have been paying millions for this kind of intellectual level?
This was a parliamentary statement, meaning she had plenty of time
to work out the contents etc before blurting out in parliament

KNN my uncle think the truth is
1. Most of the simple minded migrant workers don't even know who jt is KNN the minority that knows will think she is a big shot and nothing can be done against her KNN
2 .Most sinkies at least 70% don't even bother what jt has done and what not done I.e whatever happened to fw doesn't concern them KNN
The above will produce a result of what you seeing now jt bo taichi KNN

I think most of the taxpayers want her removed.not just apologize.sorry no cure

Her pink shirt wearing boss is equally fucked up. But daft Sinkies inexplicably adore him as he shares the DNA of their beloved ah gong. :rolleyes:

Say no more....come erection day the people of Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC will speak.

I don't see why there is even a need for anyone to apologise to a migrant worker for anything. It is they who should apologize to singkies for the mess they got singkieland in. If they not happy they can jolly we'll go back to where they come from

They don't even go near expressing any sign of remorse for screwing up, let alone apologise.
All responses from Lawrence Wong and Josephine Teo starts with "if we had known this, we
would have done it differently."

She conveniently forgets that she is Mother Superior to the lowly peasant workers. Demanding an apology from her or the government she represents is like committing suicide. She is either too dense or too naive to even say that. Zero EQ and suspect IQ despite all her lofty paper qualifications. Jo you just can't make it!

Josephine Teo. I demand you show me your cheebye!

She's just a 10 years series Ministar. Anything or any crisis not from this Series she's totally useless and clueless.
Same goes to other Ministars.
Keep Saying have been prepared for 17 years ever since Sars, but when things spiral out of control, keep finding incredible excuses.
Where and how did LHL recruit them in the 1st place?

Our so-named ministers are that in name only.
They overpriced managers, who bark when stroked by His Master's Voice.

How can my multimillionaire ministers apologise to foreign workers. They do so many wrong also never apologise to sinkies (except during GE) how can they apologise to foreign workers. They must treat all equal. One no apologised all no apologised. Long live PAP, huat ahhhhhh
Long Live PAP.gif