• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

delta variant is airborne. all it takes is 15sec for u to get infected. don"t happy happy go ntuc or garden gelek gelek hor

kaninabuchaojibye

www.theedgemarkets.com

Delta variant can cause infection in just 15 seconds — Health DG

PUTRAJAYA (July 15): With the new Covid-19 variants, including the Delta variant, infections can spread very quickly in just 15 seconds via airborne route, said Health director-general Tan sri Dr Noor Hisham Abdullah.

He said the airborne infection would raise the infectivity rate (R-naught or Rt) in the community, which then results in a spike in daily cases.

“The increase in cases is not only happening in our country but the whole world is affected by the more dominant Delta variant, including our neighbouring countries and the United Kingdom. We can see a spike in cases since June 26...the increase is due to the high Rt of the Delta variant.

“The Rt of a normal virus is between 2.5 and 3, but that of the Delta variant and other variants that we have identified is between 5 and 8. That means if 100 people are infected, the virus can spread to 500 to 800 people in a short period,” he said at a media conference today.

Meanwhile, Dr Noor Hisham said the implementation of the movement control under the National Recovery Plan on June 1 had given the Ministry of Health space and time to manage the increased number of beds, equipment and medicines required in hospitals nationwide.

He said this could be seen through the Ministry’s capability in providing a total of 4,300 beds at present, with 3,600 beds at the Malaysia Agro Exposition Park Serdang (MAEPS) Covid-19 Integrated Quarantine and Treatment Centre and 700 beds in three hospitals, including at the Serdang Hospital.

“This is the time we used to carry out purchases and give time for these healthcare facilities to accommodate patients,” he said.

www.theedgemarkets.com

PUTRAJAYA (July 15): With the new Covid-19 variants, including the Delta variant, infections can spread very quickly in just 15 seconds via airborne route, said Health director-general Tan sri Dr Noor Hisham Abdullah.

He said the airborne infection would raise the infectivity rate (R-naught or Rt) in the community, which then results in a spike in daily cases.

“The increase in cases is not only happening in our country but the whole world is affected by the more dominant Delta variant, including our neighbouring countries and the United Kingdom. We can see a spike in cases since June 26...the increase is due to the high Rt of the Delta variant.

“The Rt of a normal virus is between 2.5 and 3, but that of the Delta variant and other variants that we have identified is between 5 and 8. That means if 100 people are infected, the virus can spread to 500 to 800 people in a short period,” he said at a media conference today.

Meanwhile, Dr Noor Hisham said the implementation of the movement control under the National Recovery Plan on June 1 had given the Ministry of Health space and time to manage the increased number of beds, equipment and medicines required in hospitals nationwide.

He said this could be seen through the Ministry’s capability in providing a total of 4,300 beds at present, with 3,600 beds at the Malaysia Agro Exposition Park Serdang (MAEPS) Covid-19 Integrated Quarantine and Treatment Centre and 700 beds in three hospitals, including at the Serdang Hospital.

“This is the time we used to carry out purchases and give time for these healthcare facilities to accommodate patients,” he said.
Not to cast aspersions on mudland news and their capabilities/credibility, but are there other sources reporting the same?

Australia Finds Delta Covid-19 Variant Transmits In Less Than 10 Seconds​

By CodeBlue | 25 June 2021

Australian officials found a case of a person in Sydney who was infected with Covid-19 by a stranger just walking past them; two other cases were believed to be infected in similar fashion.

Melbourne.jpg
Melbourne, Australia. Image by Jacqueline Wales from Pixabay.

KUALA LUMPUR, June 25 — Australian government officials have warned how easily the Delta coronavirus variant spreads, in mere seconds, after fleeting encounters between strangers at a mall in the state of New South Wales resulted in transmission of the disease.

New South Wales premier Gladys Berijiklian described the encounters as “scarily fleeting” after CCTV footage showed the transfer of the virus between two people who briefly walked past each other while shopping at Westfield Bondi Junction in Sydney.

“Literally people not even physically touching each other but fleetingly coming into the same airspace has seen the virus transfer from one person to another,” the premier said, as reported by local media ABC News. “That’s how contagious it is.”
Two other Covid-19 cases were believed to be infected in similar fashion.

Griffith University virologist Lara Herrero was quoted by ABC News as saying that in the Sydney case captured by CCTV, the person got infected when breathing in the virus that lingered in the air.

Dr Jeannette Young, chief health officer of Queensland, similarly highlighted the speed and ease of the spread of the Delta variant with “very fleeting contact” in some cases.

“If you remember at the start of this pandemic, I spoke about 15 minutes of close contact being a concern,” she was quoted saying.

Now, it looks like it’s five to 10 seconds. That’s a concern. The risk is so much higher now than it was only a year ago.”

New South Wales health minister Brad Hazzard further illustrated the variant as “a gold medalist when it comes to jumping from one person to the other”, as quoted by The Guardian.

Visual proof of the transmission has prompted health authorities to request those who were at the Sydney mall on June 12 and 13 to get tested for Covid-19 and minimise their movement.

Dr Young announced Wednesday that Queensland would shut its borders to people from Greater Sydney, the Central Coast, Blue Mountains, Wollongong and Shellharbour as the state expanded its list of hotspots.

The World Health Organization (WHO) in April acknowledged the airborne spread of Covid-19. It stated that the virus can spread when viral particles remain “suspended in the air or travel farther than one metre”.

A study published by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), based on experiments conducted across several laboratories, found that the virus can linger in aerosol form for up to 16 hours.

In an op-ed in The Sydney Morning Herald, University of New South Wales’s Kirby Institute head of the biosecurity research program Professor Raina Macintyre said that airborne transmission in indoor settings can occur even in the absence of fleeting contact.

“Think of other people’s exhaled breath like cigarette smoke – it accumulates if ventilation is inadequate, and you will breathe it in,” she said.

The Delta strain, first detected in India in October last year, is now detected in 85 countries. It is expected to be a dominant Covid-19 variant — overtaking Alpha — if the current trend continues.

WHO’s Covid-19 Weekly Epidemiological Update on June 22 stated that the variant Alpha has been reported in 170 countries, territories or areas, Beta in 119 countries, Gamma in 71 countries and Delta in 85 countries.

now u know why Empress Ho Ching tell u dont use yr forehead to take temperature.
the fucker before u breathes out and your head and nose goes to the same airspace and breathes in.
gxgx if the chap before u has delta variant!

Ironically, staying home too long makes you even more susceptible to illnesses.

Australia Finds Delta Covid-19 Variant Transmits In Less Than 10 Seconds​

By CodeBlue | 25 June 2021

Australian officials found a case of a person in Sydney who was infected with Covid-19 by a stranger just walking past them; two other cases were believed to be infected in similar fashion.

Melbourne.jpg
Melbourne, Australia. Image by Jacqueline Wales from Pixabay.

KUALA LUMPUR, June 25 — Australian government officials have warned how easily the Delta coronavirus variant spreads, in mere seconds, after fleeting encounters between strangers at a mall in the state of New South Wales resulted in transmission of the disease.

New South Wales premier Gladys Berijiklian described the encounters as “scarily fleeting” after CCTV footage showed the transfer of the virus between two people who briefly walked past each other while shopping at Westfield Bondi Junction in Sydney.

“Literally people not even physically touching each other but fleetingly coming into the same airspace has seen the virus transfer from one person to another,” the premier said, as reported by local media ABC News. “That’s how contagious it is.”
Two other Covid-19 cases were believed to be infected in similar fashion.

Griffith University virologist Lara Herrero was quoted by ABC News as saying that in the Sydney case captured by CCTV, the person got infected when breathing in the virus that lingered in the air.

Dr Jeannette Young, chief health officer of Queensland, similarly highlighted the speed and ease of the spread of the Delta variant with “very fleeting contact” in some cases.

“If you remember at the start of this pandemic, I spoke about 15 minutes of close contact being a concern,” she was quoted saying.

Now, it looks like it’s five to 10 seconds. That’s a concern. The risk is so much higher now than it was only a year ago.”

New South Wales health minister Brad Hazzard further illustrated the variant as “a gold medalist when it comes to jumping from one person to the other”, as quoted by The Guardian.

Visual proof of the transmission has prompted health authorities to request those who were at the Sydney mall on June 12 and 13 to get tested for Covid-19 and minimise their movement.

Dr Young announced Wednesday that Queensland would shut its borders to people from Greater Sydney, the Central Coast, Blue Mountains, Wollongong and Shellharbour as the state expanded its list of hotspots.

The World Health Organization (WHO) in April acknowledged the airborne spread of Covid-19. It stated that the virus can spread when viral particles remain “suspended in the air or travel farther than one metre”.

A study published by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), based on experiments conducted across several laboratories, found that the virus can linger in aerosol form for up to 16 hours.

In an op-ed in The Sydney Morning Herald, University of New South Wales’s Kirby Institute head of the biosecurity research program Professor Raina Macintyre said that airborne transmission in indoor settings can occur even in the absence of fleeting contact.

“Think of other people’s exhaled breath like cigarette smoke – it accumulates if ventilation is inadequate, and you will breathe it in,” she said.

The Delta strain, first detected in India in October last year, is now detected in 85 countries. It is expected to be a dominant Covid-19 variant — overtaking Alpha — if the current trend continues.

WHO’s Covid-19 Weekly Epidemiological Update on June 22 stated that the variant Alpha has been reported in 170 countries, territories or areas, Beta in 119 countries, Gamma in 71 countries and Delta in 85 countries.
KNN, siow liao! I go camp in one corner of Pulau Ubin liao.

shocked_gif.gif

so if your tracetogether token or app bounced off an infected case for a few minutes like sitting close together in mrt or bus, highly probable u will kena QO or SHN.
good luck!

CCTV captures 'scarily fleeting' encounter that resulted in Bondi COVID-19 cluster growing
www.abc.net.au

It's a "scarily fleeting" encounter between two people out shopping captured on CCTV that has health authorities in NSW worried.

The state's Chief Health Officer Kerry Chant described it as a "momentary" crossover at Bondi Junction Westfield.

The footage shows two people briefly walk past each other while out shopping – both of them now infected with COVID-19.

Dr Chant suspects two other people were infected with COVID in the same fashion.

"We know that there's been three people that have been exposed on both June 12 and June 13," Dr Chant said.

"In one, we actually have CCTV footage of the encounter and it is basically a crossover of individuals. They are clearly facing each other but it is literally someone moving across from each other for a moment, close, but momentary.

"In two other cases, we haven't been able to, with CCTV footage, look at the exact same crossover point, but we know they were 20 metres [apart], signing in at different venues at the same time or in that area so we suspect they did cross over."
A Westfield shopping centre advertising several shops at night with buses in front
CCTV footage shows two people crossing paths at Bondi Junction Westfield.(
Wikimedia Commons: Sardaka
)
Premier Gladys Berejiklian added the encounter was "scarily fleeting".

"Literally people not even physically touching each other but fleetingly coming into the same airspace has seen the virus transfer from one person to another," the Premier said.

"That's how contagious it is."

It has prompted a request from health authorities for anyone who was at the Bondi Junction Westfield on June 12 and 13 to get tested and limit their movement, although they won't be forced to isolate.

NSW COVID-19 exposure sites​

a woman in a mask looking at her phone while on a train
Sydney's COVID-19 eastern suburbs cluster continues to grow and NSW Health authorities continue to update its exposure site list in a bid to stay atop of infections.
Read more

"If you can work from home, work from home," Dr Chant said.

"Don't go out to the pub or have a big gathering whilst you're waiting for that test but we weren't imposing the strict isolation requirement … if you didn't have any symptoms and you hadn't been in any close or contact venues."

CCTV is regularly used in investigations carried out by NSW Health to track a case's journey and identify any possible moments of transmission.

It was used extensively for the cluster which revolved around a bottle shop at Berala over Christmas and New Year, and another where a man visited a number of barbeque shops in early May.

The Delta strain is considered a strain of concern by the World Health Organization and was first detected in India in October.

a woman wearing glasses talking
Mary-Louise McLaws said a short lockdown would be justified.(
AAP Image: Mick Tsikas
)
It has been found to be at least 40 per cent more infectious than other strains of COVID-19.

UNSW epidemiologist Mary-Louise McLaws said viruses can spread easily in shopping centres because of the airflow.

"If you're indoors or in a shopping mall or shop the airflow change is (normally) low, which it normally is," she said.

"Then when you've got somebody that's in a period of high viral load and they've got a lot of respiratory fluids, they may be producing more and different-sized particles, they're more infectious."

Professor McLaws said now the Delta variant was in the community, much faster action needs to be taken.

"As soon as the 60-year-old driver was found to be positive and he went to a shopping mall, that was a signal to wear a mask in public across the greater Sydney region," Professor McLaws said.

"This is how precautionary we need to be because it prevents further spread and the need for lockdown."

Professor McLaws said mask-wearing should be compulsory on public transport until a majority of the population was vaccinated.

She added a short lockdown would now be justified because if this cluster takes off in the community, Australia risks having its own variant of concern.

"If we get delta into the Sydney community and it's our largest populated city in Australia … that can potentially derail the [vaccination] rollout," Professor McLaws said.

"You don't want [partially vaccinated] people with an infection … what you might get from that is a virus that's highly infectious that might work out how to get around the partially immune Sydneysider — we don't want to have our own variant of concern."

Also can! Just get far away from those covid infested people, can liao.
tiagong today from my contacts working at rws, all smoking banned in the casino even in the smoking section. no free drinks too. they don't want u to take off mask and smoke and blow out any delta virus in case u are an infected case!

time to quit smoking bro!
otherwise u get cold hard stares in the streets!
haaaa

tiagong today from my contacts working at rws, all smoking banned in the casino even in the smoking section. no free drinks too. they don't want u to take off mask and smoke and blow out any delta virus in case u are an infected case!

time to quit smoking bro!
otherwise u get cold hard stares in the streets!
haaaa
I think they're just being overly cautious, now that MBS is forced to close. If RWS is closed too, then a lot of sinkies will commit suicide. Because cannot pull jackpot. :biggrin:

Smoking and drinking are my two greatest joys. If I quit, I might as well quit living!:roflmao:

I think they're just being overly cautious, now that MBS is forced to close. If RWS is closed too, then a lot of sinkies will commit suicide. Because cannot pull jackpot. :biggrin:

Smoking and drinking are my two greatest joys. If I quit, I might as well quit living!:roflmao:
time to walk in to vax centre and get yrself vaxed!
otherwise dun smoke near me next time!!!!
haaaa

it's either u mati from serious covid now or u mati a few years later maybe due to vax.
choose yr option
haaaa
I think I am likely to die from the vaccine if I take it. Covid is over-rated and not as scary. Then again, what do I know? I am just an uneducated cardboard collector!

vax does nt prevent infection
but at least chances of u mati is minimised if u tio covid
at this rate of delta infection, matter of days before thousands contract it
1 spread to 5-8
matter of a week or two, u get thousands
of course chances are lower to get infected if u stay home
then u become siaolang in one or two months while waiting for virus to die out
haaaa

So means the warranty is only 4 mths. After that will need to extend and extend, forever.
do we have a choice
the alternative is stay at home for next 6mths until the delta variant pandemic subside
and even at home, your neighboir upstairs downstairs sneezes, it floats to yr hse u also tio
haaaa