• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Debate (who won?)

knnb40

CSJ is sad....
this is year 2020
CSJ did not improved his skill over the 10-over years.
if Balakrisnan deny 6.9 or 10-mil than ask what is the figure....
as PAP claim they plan ahead for 6.9-years, they want clear mandate from votes for the next 6.9-years (sorry bro in this forum, I adopt your 6.9 figure...don't charge me loyalty fee)
than they should have a figure where this island with finite landscape and resources will be.
Population planning is not like Covid-19 where it happen suddenly, if no population figure in mind how to plan ecology, economic and infrastructure ?

don't let Balankrisnan run away with "...no 6.9-mil as per today...."
tomorrow , after July-10-2020 ....he or any of the MIW will say now the situation changed therefore......

even Mr. LKY have to take back his word on Casino and CPF-at-age 55

1970 - To Hong Kong businessman Stanley Ho's casino proposal in 1970, Mr LKY had said "no, not over my dead body".
2015- But I have had to change my attitude to casinos in Singapore when it is part of an integrated resort...

when PAP started CPF, the age to draw out is 55....now it changes from time to time....

please don't give us empty promises, we heard too many already.

PAP - with so many scholar in your resources you cannot confirm your plan for the population to be 5.9-mil, 6.9-mil, 10-mil, xxx-mil ? than how can we trust our next 5-year or 10-year to you with clear mandate ?

3_M

Only debate on TV

Doesnt affect anything frankly
I would say it may tip the decisions of those on the edge. How much maybe that 1 to 3 % is my guesstimate. The reverse is also true, bad performance will also cause some of the existing voters to switch side.

That how politics work. You need to fight the battle over those undecided voters and not preaching to the converts and diehards. Sdp unfortunately had keep committing this tactical blunder and they still don't realise

nayr69sg

Staff member
I would say it may tip the decisions of those on the edge. How much maybe that 1 to 3 % is my guesstimate. The reverse is also true, bad performance will also cause some of the existing voters to switch side.

That how politics work. You need to fight the battle over those undecided voters and not preaching to the converts and diehards. Sdp unfortunately had keep committing this tactical blunder and they still don't realise
Yes because SDP is CSJ.

Usually they give a party leader 1 or 2 elections to get results. After that you are gone.

It is no different in any company and organization as well. Results matter. Not your ability to take hardship.

Some people think this is some fantasy TV drama?

Cosmos10

the-man-in-the-arena2.jpg

tobelightlight

I mean let's call a spade a spade. PAP may not be the best, but seriously, looking at the Oppo, its hard to cast a vote for them as well.

The only reason why one will vote for Oppo is
1) blame PAP for every personal misfortune u encountered (e.g. retrenchments, business failed)
2) desire freedom of speech
3) want check and balance to prevent PAP from becoming too dominant
I disagree. I think opposition should be voted in. By holding an election during a pandemic is a RED FLAG by itself. That alone will cause Opposition to gain a winning stand. How many more red flag does PAP has? like what Dr chee mentioned, 10 million and the youth olympic? i am a simple person and i dun get into too much detail. Election during a pandemic , yeah, that alone will allow opposition to gain more votes and lead to a win.

stingray

Who is the winner or who is the loser? Doesn't really matter. Just a food for thought. Did VB get the chance to read the script listing the questions before the debate? It might have happened. No one knows but still it is possibility.

As for Jamus, he is the winner when he gets elected on July 10th. Otherwise, he is another loser even though he could speak like LKY during the debate.

theblackhole

first round PAP VB won 110% leow.
SDP Chee gone case - every erection, lidat . no change. something weird going on lah.
pulls all the oppo down by his silly antics and theatricals ...part of the sabo plan ....
how can you all handle VB - he is so formidable, so experienced, so steady and so untouchable....
lidat the oppo all eat grass leow

I think something is wrong with Chee Soon Juan. Over the years, he has not improved in his speech. He has never finish a complete sentence without stuttering. He makes value points but .....

It is not about WHAT you say, but HOW you say it.

tobelightlight

I think something is wrong with Chee Soon Juan. Over the years, he has not improved in his speech. He has never finish a complete sentence without stuttering. He makes value points but .....

It is not about WHAT you say, but HOW you say it.
There is nothing wrong with Dr Chee. He is quoting what the mainstream news said on behalf of PAP, which i think is the truth and factual..very important. Because of him, next day newsapaper headline on PAP deny their 10 million population. How powerful is that? You dun like his style personally, it does not mean others will think the same as you. I like Dr Chee style and check on PAP. I believe many people do as well.

theblackhole

The questions had obviously been screened. And miss Vivian had more time to speak. if like that still can't win a "live debate" then just jump into a river

time factor was the main factor. no time for the oppo to say anything or further elaborate. in fact VB had more time to say more things. had the last laugh and nailed in the last parting shot. poor dr chee...really pity him. he was so stunned....but but....how come so coincidental....every erection lidat wan

How can someone with more than 20 years experience doing this still be stunned? I find it odd. Surely the fact that he never came close to winning election says something about his connection to the typical singaporean.

I find CSJ’s points valid. He’s emotional and exasperated but who wouldn’t be after the hell he’d been through.
He is exasperated because mediacorp gave opposition very little time to prepare and also it is Dr Chee's once is his lifetime, to bring his message across via msm broadcast. There were so much topic he could talk about but with so little time, he appeared a little squeeze in his tongue.

KNN not nong ago when pinky talked about raising the leeemployment age he ownself said there will not be changes to the cpf withdrawal age (ownself check mate) KNN that's why my uncle dare to say he will bring chopper to cpfb KNN