• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Debate (who won?)

PAP's Vivian definitely came more prepared. Took notes of opponents points, addressed them in an eloquent and concise manner.

PSP Francis just sprout out general points, took cheap shots and randomly pull out aspirational themes such as a Singapore company becoming Alibaba.

SDP Chee Soon Juan speaks in a very uncomfortable pace. This man has absolutely no way of piecing together a complete sentence without stuttering. It's annoying and his accent alienates the audience further.

WP Jamus looks like a kid. No I mean it literally. The man doesn't have a poker face. Smirking, smiling and acting like a know it all.

Vivian had plenty of practice defending Sinkieland's pandemic measures to a captive audience at CNBC or CNN. :wink:

After all, you have to be slick to sell the TraceTogether token plan to others. :cool:

I mean let's call a spade a spade. PAP may not be the best, but seriously, looking at the Oppo, its hard to cast a vote for them as well.

The only reason why one will vote for Oppo is
1) blame PAP for every personal misfortune u encountered (e.g. retrenchments, business failed)
2) desire freedom of speech
3) want check and balance to prevent PAP from becoming too dominant

KNN my uncle think in order to win a debate punching points is more important than being eloquent KNN eg for yesterday's 10m case chee can immediately say why in the first place you all print a leeliculous lumber on the paper then now then say this KNN you never use your blain is it KNN instead of kena cornered KNN

nayr69sg

Staff member
VB won.

He is a smart guy and a seasoned debater and Minister for many years polished.

How did the opposition members stand a chance?

I do think it was a mistake for SDP to send CSJ. All the other parties did not send their leader.

Sorry CSJ I do admire your perseverance. But one needs to know when to step aside for the greater good of the party.

Your time is over CSJ. Even COL Ang left.

The longer CSJ hangs around SDP the more it seems like a personal crusade for CSJ rather than SDP as a viable party.

I looked at the PSP lineup. Pretty good I must say. While it is TCB I can see many other potential leaders within his lineup.

To be fair I have not looked at the SDP lineup.

Reactions: 3_M

Splendicker

I mean let's call a spade a spade. PAP may not be the best, but seriously, looking at the Oppo, its hard to cast a vote for them as well.

The only reason why one will vote for Oppo is
1) blame PAP for every personal misfortune u encountered (e.g. retrenchments, business failed)
2) desire freedom of speech
3) want check and balance to prevent PAP from becoming too dominant
4) Voice out for you in parliamentary debate.

Splendicker

VB won.

He is a smart guy and a seasoned debater and Minister for many years polished.

How did the opposition members stand a chance?

I do think it was a mistake for SDP to send CSJ. All the other parties did not send their leader.

Sorry CSJ I do admire your perseverance. But one needs to know when to step aside for the greater good of the party.

Your time is over CSJ. Even COL Ang left.

The longer CSJ hangs around SDP the more it seems like a personal crusade for CSJ rather than SDP as a viable party.

I looked at the PSP lineup. Pretty good I must say. While it is TCB I can see many other potential leaders within his lineup.

To be fair I have not looked at the SDP lineup.
人做天在看 狗屁放不完

nayr69sg

Staff member
I find CSJ’s points valid. He’s emotional and exasperated but who wouldn’t be after the hell he’d been through.

He is admirable for his spirit perseverance determination and grit.

But he is a very old familiar face in Singapore politics. The fact he has not won all these years says something.

I do wish that the voters reward his perseverance. But I think the odds are against it.

Politics is a bit of a popularity contest. The older you are works against you. The more familiar you are and not well like to begin with wont make you well liked as time goes on. It is just the way politics works.

spotter542

This pic says all
FB_IMG_1593662380213.jpg

3_M

I can responsibly say csj chance of getting elected is good as striking lottery. He don't need to flaunt the national stage. Csj had wasted the golden opportunity to enter parliament by sending himself to contest in BBBE instead of PT.

Sdp best chance now is PT who is contesting in BP SMC and not BB SMC. PT need this stage to score more points but csj wasted it again.

Csj factor and sdp reckless policies will continue to weigh down PT chances.

nayr69sg

Staff member
unless other parties sent their sec gen as well, I don't see why sdp should sent their sec gen?
Bad move.

If performance is not fantastic then if not sec gen can say our sec gen can be better. But sent sec gen that's all in. Fold. Gone.

nayr69sg

Staff member
I can responsibly say csj chance of getting elected is good as striking lottery. He don't need to flaunt the national stage. Csj had wasted the golden opportunity to enter parliament by sending himself to contest in BBBE instead of PT.

Sdp best chance now is PT who is contesting in BP SMC and not BB SMC. PT need this stage to score more points but csj wasted it again.

Csj factor and sdp reckless policies will continue to weigh down PT chances.

If PT wins then he must be made sec gen. CSJ should retire from politics. This does him no good. Also does the party no good.

oh pls.... the schoolboy that WP sent? Don’t even comb his own hair.

Its one thing to look causal and quite another thing to look unkempt. If the fella can’t even be bothered with keeping up a professional image, I hardly expect him to do a good job if I elect him.

on sme's, oppies had an opportunity (pronounced by sinkies as "a-por-tu-nity") to question the wisdom, oops foolishness, of decades-long real estate policies of allowing landlords free reign to thrive on greed rather than market-driven, surplus-earning best practice based on margin plus cost of land acquisition, development, and building maintenance and services. even in crisis mode due to the virus, landlords are not proactively reacting to bankruptcies and closures of retailers and distributors with renegotiated leases offering better and business-saving terms for these sme's. doling out cash and checks will not cut it. gov must start the ball rolling by giving incentives (and policy drivers) to landlords to curtail excessive greed and intransigence. what's the point of keeping the rent high when all your retail tenants default on their payments and are not returning?