• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Darren Lim & Evelyn Tan r taking their 'home' on a year-long sea journey

[TABLE="class: tborder, width: 0"]
[TR]
[TD="align: center"]8-7-2015 9:49 PM[/TD]
[TD] http://sgfuck.org/mybb/images/mobile/posted_0.gif Post: #1
[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: trow1, align: center"] reiko http://sgfuck.org/mybb/images/buddy_online.gif
Hall of Fame

[TD="class: trow1 td_postbody_classic"]
Quote:
CJZSm0FWwAA98Xc.jpg

Darren Lim has been living on a yacht with his family for the past four years.

As if that wasn't unconventional enough, the local actor is now gearing up for a year-long sea voyage to Okinawa, Japan next year on his three-room Lagoon 400S2 catamaran.

The vessel is at ONE°15 Marina Club at the Sentosa Cove marina.

Lim, 43, told The New Paper: "I am hoping to keep the cost of the trip within $100,000. There is a high possibility of exceeding it as we are planning to go to different ports of call and let the family do various activities on shore."

Working non-stop to save up for trip

To save up for the trip, he has been working non-stop since last July, filming travel programmes and MediaCorp dramas, and will be kept occupied until the end of this year.

Lim is currently filming Channel 8 drama Crescendo alongside Christopher Lee, Ann Kok, Tay Ping Hui and Jacelyn Tay.

He is married to former actress-host Evelyn Tan, 41. They have four children – daughter Kristen, 10, and sons Jairus, eight, Way, five and Elliott, two.

The kids are all home-schooled.

His dream voyage

Lim said that during this dream voyage, he wants to visit Vietnam, Malaysia, Thailand, Taiwan, Hong Kong and China, and end the trip in Japan, before making his way back home.

"I want to travel and see the world more, let the kids experience more stuff while they are still young," he said.

He added: "These days, our children are not exposed to the Chinese culture. The voyage will be a good educational trip for them to learn new things."

In preparation for the voyage, Lim plans to go on a shorter trip with his family to Phuket at the beginning of next year.

"The Phuket trip will be a warm-up, to see if the kids are okay with it. We will go for two to three months and then come back to rest for another three months," he said.

The last time the family went out to sea together was in April, to Pulau Sibu in Malaysia for four nights.

"If all goes well and we are ready, we will set off for the big trip after that. If not, we will go to Koh Samui and then come back."​
- See more at: http://www.tnp.sg/m/more/tv/actor-d...tm_medium=&utm_campaign=#sthash.zlyXfb8A.dpuf
[/TD]
[/TR]
[/TABLE]

I thought this was old news and he had already made the trip years back, but apparently not.

Interesting life though, rather unconventional.

[video=youtube;ZgakOh8og4U]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZgakOh8og4U[/video]

Darren Lim quite a blessed chap. All his children quite good looking.

then u must have a retard child or seen alot retard.
their children is like thai kids.

For someone who's well known for his low (no) standards towards charbor....I'm surprised you've got such high standards for kids.....
With good looking parents naturally the kids will be beautiful also.

I thought this was old news and he had already made the trip years back, but apparently not.

Interesting life though, rather unconventional.

This chap must be from a rich family.....or invested wisely
He's not an A lister but his wife can afford not to work and he owns at least one private property in additional to a yacht.....kudos to him

I like to hear story like this people working hard for their dreams. Inspirational.

Problem with many young Singaporeans is they don't dream. They only go with the flow. Study hard, hope to get a scholarship or to university. Hope to land in a cushy job. Have girlfriend, apply for HDB, get married, try to get a car if possible, have 1-2 kids, go holiday once a year. You know where I am getting. We need to dream and work hard.

I like to hear story like this people working hard for their dreams. Inspirational.

Problem with many young Singaporeans is they don't dream. They only go with the flow. Study hard, hope to get a scholarship or to university. Hope to land in a cushy job. Have girlfriend, apply for HDB, get married, try to get a car if possible, have 1-2 kids, go holiday once a year. You know where I am getting. We need to dream and work hard.

after getting shafted by their masters in sg, sinkies do dream. dreams cum in even numbers: 8-digit bank accounts, 6-digit salary, 4-d, 4 wheels, 2 sexy mei mei legs, 2 tua liap ni. but these are pretty much all sinkies dream about, including their fantasy 8-digit cpf balance. :D

At least they work towards a goal and stress free lifestyle not like most sinkie families who work 10 hours a day with no goal and no savings but still wanna look good....who is more pathetic??

This chap must be from a rich family.....or invested wisely
He's not an A lister but his wife can afford not to work and he owns at least one private property in additional to a yacht.....kudos to him

family rich lah..........had a yacht even before he was married...........now trying to live like Angmoh............home-school kids, live on yacht, go on cruise....

It is inspiring but it is a feat that will subject his kids to unnecessarily high risk of elements of weather and piracy.

They are one of the more decent celebrities in Singapore. From the bottom of my heart, RUN hopes that they will do something else for their family bonding.

I didn't know singapore allows the kids to be home schooled.

I wonder if their kids have friends their age.

It is inspiring but it is a feat that will subject his kids to unnecessarily high risk of elements of weather and piracy.

They are one of the more decent celebrities in Singapore. From the bottom of my heart, RUN hopes that they will do something else for their family bonding.

Looking at the map the sea area is between vietnam and east malaysia and then later he either can sail between taiwan and the philippines or the straits between taiwan and china to get to japan and yeah looks like those regions might not be too safe.

Travelling to different ports in japan then going onshore to do activities. Ok.

i think he is crazy, if he go alone when he was young and adventurous, i have no words to say. but bring whole family and sailing across the ocean only a crusie liner is good enough. hurricanes and storms are unpredictable and exposing the whole family to unnecessary danger.

Nothing against home schooled kids but I am quite sure the socialisation aspects must be affected.

What's there to miss in socializing with BALLESS SINKIE of their kind in schools?

Nah, I guess they had better pick the FTs to social with, in the place where they live so that at least their kids would grow up...

Having SOME BALLS! LoLoLoL

family rich lah..........had a yacht even before he was married...........now trying to live like Angmoh............home-school kids, live on yacht, go on cruise....

Yes the yacht cost at least half a million bucks not to mention upkeep.....not many sinkies can afford a yacht.
I take nothing from him.....knows how to enjoy life....kudos to him....and like bro said agree they are the more likable and decent celeb couple out there......better than attention whores like Chris and fann, Pierre and kidney sickness wife etc etc.

Yes the yacht cost at least half a million bucks not to mention upkeep.....not many sinkies can afford a yacht.
I take nothing from him.....knows how to enjoy life....kudos to him....and like bro said agree they are the more likable and decent celeb couple out there......better than attention whores like Chris and fann, Pierre and kidney sickness wife etc etc.

When darren first started out people actually mistook him for chew chor meng