• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Daily COVID Deaths in Sweden Hit Zero, as Other Nations Brace for More Lockdowns

Just offering suggestions for you to consider. Of course everything has its downsides. Me starting my other forum way back in 1999 means I am unable to ever visit Singapore. However I initially enjoyed working on the site so much that I found the trade off worthwhile.
Indeed. Need to find something enjoy to do.

I am just so drained everyday emotionally to think anymore.

My best bets lie away from medicine.

Give me time to work with a client or small group of people of influence or govt contacts. Work on getting approvals to go ahead with projects. Sell. Earn trust. Do the paper work. I like the challege. Win the contract. Get the approval. Worth several ten thousands. Or maybe millions. Worth my while.

Spend 1 hour talk to angry 52 year old single white female with severe arthritis walks with a cane address her ideas concerns and expectations and appease her and get paid $26? Fuck me please.

Just offering suggestions for you to consider. Of course everything has its downsides. Me starting my other forum way back in 1999 means I am unable to ever visit Singapore. However I initially enjoyed working on the site so much that I found the trade off worthwhile.
Thanks Sam

Canada system is universal healthcare. People dont pay out of pocket.

Hence got to look at what the billing pays. As family dr mens health womens health transgender care medical cannabis all pays rhe same to me since my specialty is family medicine. Drs are paid according to their specialty.

So realistically the business model is volume of patients. How many can you see fastest and bil the same.

Frankly medical cannabis is the best already. Highest return lowest risk. Just that during covid the telemedicine billing rate is about 4 times lower per patient than in person.

Need to go back to in person. But i dunno if the patients will come back or not. Will see.

Thanks Sam

Canada system is universal healthcare. People dont pay out of pocket.

Hence got to look at what the billing pays. As family dr mens health womens health transgender care medical cannabis all pays rhe same to me since my specialty is family medicine. Drs are paid according to their specialty.

So realistically the business model is volume of patients. How many can you see fastest and bil the same.

Frankly medical cannabis is the best already. Highest return lowest risk. Just that during covid the telemedicine billing rate is about 4 times lower per patient than in person.

Need to go back to in person. But i dunno if the patients will come back or not. Will see.

Surely when it comes to things like PRP shots or shockwave therapy the state does not cover the costs.

@nayr69sg in my opinion you're not suited to the role you're playing in medicine and this has led to your decline in mental health. Isn't there something in the medical industry where you can use your skills without having to come face to face with arseholes and druggies?

How about specialising in men's health? I have a doctor friend in Auckland who used to work in a 24 hour emergency care facility and he hated it.

He decided to go out on his own and specialised in men's health. He now dispenses Cialis, Viagra etc, performs Priupus shots and Shock therapy etc. All his patients are very happy because he often succeeds in raising the dead just like Jesus.
KNN my uncle Don't know about Canada but in sg medical staff can quite easillee ask for transfer to moh back office doing leesearch or things like that and no longer needs to face patients and familiee members KNN but if is my uncle definitelee he would want to stay in front line so that he can feel prouder KNN

Surely when it comes to things like PRP shots or shockwave therapy the state does not cover the costs.
That one is procedural.

Actually in 2019 I was in talks with the parent company that owns the cannabis clinic to go to Toronto to train to be an interventional pain management specialist. Very lucrative.

But as you know. Covid. And AB will pay for it but they wont recognize it as specialist. So injections which can be $400 over here bill $16. For the time and effort spent. Not worth it at all.

I bought a Philips ultrasound probe for MSK cost me $10k to start practising and training. Went to USA for courses too. To no avail.

Forget it lah. This cannabis stuff will be my last rodeo.

Anyone want to buy?

20210722_211655.jpg

20210722_211315.jpg

20210722_211311.jpg

20210722_211049.jpg

20210722_211113.jpg

The probe connects to Android tablet or phone. Download the App.

So yeah I can do PRP also.

Sometimes though it is not just about knowing how to do it. It is whether there is enough business or not. Patients enough or not? Time? Who pays. Many factors.

I did consider moving to Toronto.

In Nov 2019 I met @Charlie99 and told him about this possibility.

But property prices high in Toronto. Plus my kids and family all settled in Calgary. Wife said probably not.

Sigh. Too many issues lah. And in the end still medicine lah. Deal with people. Inject already. Some will still have pain. Kpkb. High risk also with the Fluoroscopy guided RF ablation of medial branch nerves. Malpractice insurance also goes up. I was kind of keen on it. But with all the having to move and essentially kind of start over.....plus covid......just too much lah.

KNN my uncle Don't know about Canada but in sg medical staff can quite easillee ask for transfer to moh back office doing leesearch or things like that and no longer needs to face patients and familiee members KNN but if is my uncle definitelee he would want to stay in front line so that he can feel prouder KNN

As a dr in Canada also got such jobs. But usually need to be more accomplished as some committee member with section of family practice with AMA or some other committees.

The big kicker is.....the pay is lower than clinical work.

The most lucrative is still seeing patients.

Just move over to US where medics are well compensated.
I met some USA family drs in Orlando and Dallas.

USA family drs not doing well lah. Medicare is challenging. Many looking to aesthetics and pain management also.

Indeed. Need to find something enjoy to do.

I am just so drained everyday emotionally to think anymore.

My best bets lie away from medicine.

Give me time to work with a client or small group of people of influence or govt contacts. Work on getting approvals to go ahead with projects. Sell. Earn trust. Do the paper work. I like the challege. Win the contract. Get the approval. Worth several ten thousands. Or maybe millions. Worth my while.

Spend 1 hour talk to angry 52 year old single white female with severe arthritis walks with a cane address her ideas concerns and expectations and appease her and get paid $26? Fuck me please.

Yes, the work (be it accounting or law or medicine etc) is the easy part. The difficult part is dealing with people - colleagues, bosses, clients, subordinates, etc - hell, even commuting to work is fucking irritating and a total waste of time, many fucking irritating random strangers. Being your own boss? Even worse. The only plus is you get to keep the profits, after the government takes a huge chunk in the interest of "social harmony" i.e. robbing you of your just rewards in order to make transfer payments for the majority of stupid and lazy shitizens. And you bear the losses. No need to bear loss if you are salaried, but must put up with shit. When viewed in this light, the temporary putting up with shit is bearable, but never let them "occupy space in your mind" unneccesarily - out of sight out of mind is the best approach. Save your valuable mental capital for the most important task at hand...

Best is to make money from the shrewd deployment of your hard earned or better still inherited capital aka speculation ahem I mean investment. If not born with a silver spoon, there is no choice but to work as a temporary salaried slave in order to earn the necessary seed capital. Once you have learned the art of speculation, you can tell all these bastards to go fuck themselves...

A risk based approach is necessary for successful speculation and even life in general:
- if you don't play the game, you can't win
- if you lose all your capital, you are out of the game
- you can't be right be all of the time, so be humble and assume that you can be wrong at least 50% of the time
- but you can still succeed in the game if when you win, your profits are biggger than your losses when you lose

Treat life like poker, knowing what you want, knowing that the world doesn't owe you anything (and hence you don't owe it anything either), weighing risks and rewards, placing and withdrawing your bets as the situation unfolds...

Yes, the work (be it accounting or law or medicine etc) is the easy part. The difficult part is dealing with people - colleagues, bosses, clients, subordinates, etc - hell, even commuting to work is fucking irritating and a total waste of time, many fucking irritating random strangers. Being your own boss? Even worse. The only plus is you get to keep the profits, after the government takes a huge chunk in the interest of "social harmony" i.e. robbing you of your just rewards in order to make transfer payments for the majority of stupid and lazy shitizens. And you bear the losses. No need to bear loss if you are salaried, but must put up with shit. When viewed in this light, the temporary putting up with shit is bearable, but never let them "occupy space in your mind" unneccesarily - out of sight out of mind is the best approach. Save your valuable mental capital for the most important task at hand...

Best is to make money from the shrewd deployment of your hard earned or better still inherited capital aka speculation ahem I mean investment. If not born with a silver spoon, there is no choice but to work as a temporary salaried slave in order to earn the necessary seed capital. Once you have learned the art of speculation, you can tell all these bastards to go fuck themselves...

A risk based approach is necessary for successful speculation and even life in general:
- if you don't play the game, you can't win
- if you lose all your capital, you are out of the game
- you can't be right be all of the time, so be humble and assume that you can be wrong at least 50% of the time
- but you can still succeed in the game if when you win, your profits are biggger than your losses when you lose

Treat life like poker, knowing what you want, knowing that the world doesn't owe you anything, weighing risks and rewards, placing and withdrawing your bets as the situation unfolds...

I remember you were posting about trading during the big drops last year. You do very well trading.

Do you have any advice on trading? Are there any good courses? Books?

I agree with you. This is the way to go in this day and age.

I remember you were posting about trading during the big drops last year. You do very well trading.

Not as well as I want to be. What I made in the drops, I gave back huge chunks during the rises, but the most important thing is that nett nett, I made more than I lost, though for now the rate of return is not commensurate with the efforts put in and it's my fault for being a one trick pony. Also, learned how to be humble. Not so garang now. I looked at it as a form of training, paid to train (even if little compared to my grand expectations at the beginning) is considered good already. Most beginners start by blowing up their account.

Need to re-wire my brain and think of it as a long term game ahem business. As long as I have a positive month, the losses on my bad days are fine. In the past, when I made a loss, I would be depressed for days, completely losing my confidence and become full of doubt, missing out on perfectly good shorting opportunities in subsequent days which I could see but couldn't pull the trigger because I had gone from bravo to chicken because of one losing day.

Still need to upgrade my mindset from:

- “always short bias” to “long bias or short bias as the market condition dictates”. The challenge is to objectively (not let my inherent bias get in the way) determine the market condition from what I see on the chart as it unfolds in real time.

- aim (and hope) for the big one aka the “greedy pig” approach to a “swing trading” or “opportunistic wave surfer” approach of take half off the table with reasonable profits at the area on chart where my experience tells me that opposing force (i.e. selling force if I am long and buying force if I am short) will likely be coming in and hold the other half for a possible “big one” with stops on the reduced position moved to break even (not logical – the market don’t give a flying fuck where I opened my position) or some logical area on the chart (support/resistance, moving average, trendline, etc). If lucky on the remaining half – good, if not – no big deal, I am still profitable. Basically, after closing half of my position, for the remaining half, I am playing with the market's money (realised profit on half and paper profits on the other half) and not my original principal. Wow, a free lottery ticket, who don't want? So the pressure is off, shiok. Still needs more work on this front, I am inherently a greedy pig.

- if got out too early and as the chart develops it becomes clear that the trend is more likely than not to continue, never be afraid to admit that you were wrong and go right back in again, just wait [again] for the market to show you signs in the form of an entry trigger signal. A lot of waiting is involved.

This Sinkie youngster called Rayner Teo is not bad. The basic approach can be summarized as M (market structure – higher highs and higher lows aka bull or lower highs and lower lows aka bear or just trade ranging – tells you what sort of bias you should be taking – long or short bias or mean reversion); A (area of value – be patient, wait for a pullback to support/resistance, moving average, trendline); E (wait [again] for the market to give you an entry trigger – hammer or engulfing candle pattern, etc and only then do you pull the trigger and express your bias with a position in the market); E (when to exit if wrong – how to determine the level at which you will be proven wrong by the market and stopped out); E (when to exit if right – area when the opposing force is likely to come in). Just google it.

For HSI futures, with which I am quite familiar, the most trending time is from 9.15 am to 10.45 am. In fact, on most days, the high and low of the day is set between this one and half hour period and after it breaks out of the high/low of this one and half hour period, it is not likely to go to the other end of the range. Also, the HSI is now more and more correlated with the China A50 index, futures of which are traded in Singapore. Can cross reference CA50 futures if in doubt – not tick for tick or candle for candle, but basically if the CA50 is up by a large margin, you should be wary of going short the HSI. This morning, CA50 kept making new lows in early trading but HSI did not respond immediately - so basically don't go long and wait for opportunity to go short after a pullback. This simple strategy paid off... heaps! Can capture half or even one third of that one and half hour range is already very lucrative already. So, basically one needs only play video game or ahem work during this one and a half hour, make whatever is offered by the market and fuck off to enjoy the rest of the day. Mind you, most of that one and a half hour is actually spent watching and waiting, the smaller part of that time is spent executing the trades (a few seconds each time) and trade management (fancy term for watching how the market moves when you actually have a position and deciding whether to stay put or add or reduce your position until it becomes flat i.e. completely out of the market).

For books, you can start with Reminsences of a Stock Operator. Supposedly based on the exploits of Jesse Livermore. But note that Jesse ended up committing suicide... he did not follow his own risk management rules and went from multi millionaire to bankrupt to multi millionaire and then bankrupt several times. The last one broke the camel's back. A cautionary tale indeed. The danger of believing that one is actually smarter than the market. Once you believed that, the seeds of your demise have been sown. Buying or selling pressure is what moves the markets, doesn't matter one bit if the pressure is caused by smart or stupid money.

@Asterix Thank you very much for sharing. Much appreciated! That's a lot for me to look into. Awesome! Wishing you good luck for your trading endeavors!

He looks like more businessman also. Has several clinics. Got drs working for him?

I had patient today telling me about some dr moved to mexico has the cure for blood cancer. Some special injections boost immune system. Boost dendritic cells.

They tell me he tried opening in Toronto got shut down. Suspended.

Ran to mexico. But cures cancer.

They swear by it. Curse chemo and pharma and oncologists.

Makes me wonder. Why is this mexico guy a freaking billionaire then?

Medicine by nature and design is to suppress drs from actually thinking out of box to find creative ways to help patients.

They want all drs to do the same talk the same.

How to be special and better like that right?

If you are different oh they will mark you on radar

His main office is in Remuera. He consults at his other locations once per week. He doesn't have other doctors working for him.

In NZ dr can dispense? Charge for the medication itself?

Over here all private. Cannot tell spouse if patirnt say dont tell.

For standard medications a prescription is written and you proceed to the pharmacy to fill your prescription. For those specifically formulated they are delivered to the doctor who then calls up and tells you your special brew is ready.

As far as patient confidentiality is concerned it's the same here but many don't want their doctors to know either.

How much you reckon he makes a month?

He charges $1500 for a PRP shot which takes about 35 minutes. However I have no idea how many procedures he does per day. Drives a Bentley so he must be doing OK.

$1500 for PRP? Wah lau that is a rip off!

No wonder!

I have seen people charge $400 which is already very high.

https://calgaryintegrativemedicine.ca/what-are-the-cost-of-prp-prolotherapy-treatments-in-calgary/

In general, for prolotherapy or PRP injections in Calgary, you can expect to pay around $150 or $200 per shot.

Your that Dr is totally ripping off the patients. 10 times!

PRP is low cost to the clinic. Cos its your own plasma spun down.

Lol $1500.....thats more for like fluoroscopy guided Radiofrequency ablation of medial branch nerves in the spine here.