• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Couple on sedition trial - Straits Times article

Harry Lee

http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking...ry_310229.html

December 4, 2008 Thursday
Updated 4.49 pm

Couple on sedition trial
By Elena Chong

A CHRISTIAN couple who allegedly distributed seditious publications to three Muslims went on trial on Thursday.

Ong Kian Cheong, 49, a technical officer with SingTel, and his wife, Dorothy Chan Hien Leng, 45, an associate director with Swiss bank UBS, are facing four charges each.

They are accused of distributing a comic strip booklet titled The Little Bride to Mr Irwan Ariffin, 32, at Sembawang Drive on Oct 19 last year.

The booklet is said 'to promote feelings of ill-will and hostility between Christians and Muslims in Singapore' according to the charge.

They allegedly distributed the same objectionable booklet to Ms Farharti Ahmad at Woodlands Drive 72 on March 6 last year, which the charge says, could 'cause feelings of enmity, hatred, ill-will or hostility between the two religious groups'.

The couple are said to have distributed another seditious publication, Who is Allah, to Mr Isa Raffee at Segar Road in the first week of last December.

The last charge accuses them of having a total of 439 copies of 11 tracts at their Maplewoods Condominium in Bukit Timah Road on Jan 30.

Mr Irwan, a staff sergeant with the Traffic Police, told the court that he opened his letter box on Oct 19 - the first day of Hari Raya Aidilfitri - and found the booklet.

After reading it, he felt angry and very offended.

He said the publication was 'somewhat condemning' of his religion.

There were also other offensive references to Prophet Mohammed.

At the start of cross-examination, the couple's lawyer, Mr Selva K. Naidu, offered his clients' apologies for the hurt caused to his feelings and asked if he would accept their apology.

Mr Irwan, who had made a police report that day (Oct 19), said the damage had been done.

'I do not know how many such publications that have been distributed throughout Singapore, and if any apology were to be addressed, it should not be made to me alone,' he said. The trial continues.

===============

locky2ky

Updated 4.49 pm

Couple on sedition trial
By Elena Chong

A CHRISTIAN couple who allegedly distributed seditious publications to three Muslims went on trial on Thursday.

Ong Kian Cheong, 49, a technical officer with SingTel, and his wife, Dorothy Chan Hien Leng, 45, an associate director with Swiss bank UBS, are facing four charges each.

They are accused of distributing a comic strip booklet titled The Little Bride to Mr Irwan Ariffin, 32, at Sembawang Drive on Oct 19 last year.

The booklet is said 'to promote feelings of ill-will and hostility between Christians and Muslims in Singapore' according to the charge.

They allegedly distributed the same objectionable booklet to Ms Farharti Ahmad at Woodlands Drive 72 on March 6 last year, which the charge says, could 'cause feelings of enmity, hatred, ill-will or hostility between the two religious groups'.

The couple are said to have distributed another seditious publication, Who is Allah, to Mr Isa Raffee at Segar Road in the first week of last December.

The last charge accuses them of having a total of 439 copies of 11 tracts at their Maplewoods Condominium in Bukit Timah Road on Jan 30.

Mr Irwan, a staff sergeant with the Traffic Police, told the court that he opened his letter box on Oct 19 - the first day of Hari Raya Aidilfitri - and found the booklet.

After reading it, he felt angry and very offended.

He said the publication was 'somewhat condemning' of his religion.

There were also other offensive references to Prophet Mohammed.

At the start of cross-examination, the couple's lawyer, Mr Selva K. Naidu, offered his clients' apologies for the hurt caused to his feelings and asked if he would accept their apology.

Mr Irwan, who had made a police report that day (Oct 19), said the damage had been done.

'I do not know how many such publications that have been distributed throughout Singapore, and if any apology were to be addressed, it should not be made to me alone,' he said. The trial continues.

===============

life must be too good for the couple. if they have to struggle to make ends meet i doubt they would have the time for such activity.

theblackhole

this type of case also want to highlight in the media...knn! sph is playing with fire by publishing the details of the trial...nnk! pls be responsible okay....i don't want to see singapore burning !!!

Summerbee

I know this woman Dorothy, she was previously from us brokerage Refco, which was then subsequently bought over by MFGlobal. Despite not being highly educated, she was able to command high position because she was always mixing with this core group of Christians and Catholics in the company which gave special treatment to one another. Employees of other religion faiths usually have it harder.

I have totally no sympathy for her and what she has done to other religions was a shameful and seflish act that ought to be punished. I hate it when people bring religion into workplace. Shame to you Dorothy.

theblackhole

people who abuse and exploit religion for their own ends will meet a hideous death ... the worst are those missionaries who go to under-developed countries and preach to them..one hand gives bread and the other gives the holy book....shame on these people...they're destroying many innocent and virgin people on earth....when will these people stop doing all these evil things!

Porfirio Rubirosa

Looks like she and her hubby are going to prison for a short spell. Government appears to want to send out a serious strong warning to others out there thinking of trying to pull a fast one like in this case and rightly so I should add.

Both she and her husband appear to be lying through their teeth if they claim that what they did was "well intentioned". Just the title of one of those material publications that they publicly distributed made reference to "Allah" which on its own speaks volumes since their clear intention was to proselytise and spread their christian faith.

Now proselytising and spreading the christian faith in and of itself is neither wrong nor seditious. However in their case their method and mode appears even on the face of it to be wrong and seditious because of the apparent calling into question of the islamic faith.

All I can say is that they are going down. I hope they spend their time in prison reflecting on their apparent warped and distorted values on matters regarding religion, particulalrly in the context of a multiracial multireligious society like Singapore.

I know this woman Dorothy, she was previously from us brokerage Refco, which was then subsequently bought over by MFGlobal. Despite not being highly educated, she was able to command high position because she was always mixing with this core group of Christians and Catholics in the company which gave special treatment to one another. Employees of other religion faiths usually have it harder.

I have totally no sympathy for her and what she has done to other religions was a shameful and seflish act that ought to be punished. I hate it when people bring religion into workplace. Shame to you Dorothy.

lockeliberal

Dear Porifirio

Actually the attitude as expressed by these christians tend to be of the evangelical, charismatic movement sort of which there are many many adherents including some of the more popular non denominational churches in Singapore.

However one views it there will always be fundamental differences between muslims and xtians from the basis of its beliefs to how that belief is expressed and practiced. There will be similar tracts within Muslims circles about how some basic christian beliefs are well heretic or not in line with 'gods" vision just as these tracts do exists or beliefs within xtian circles.

The line must be drawn somewhere for a delicate balance between how that difference is expressed to people of differing faiths. To for example a xtian becoming a muslim, or for a muslim seeking xtian answers.

However open missionary work in a manner which deliberately puts down the belief of another religion even if they disagree is I feel offensive to all

Locke

Porfirio Rubirosa

Locke,

Like I said above I don't think it is a crime in Singapore to proselytise and spread one's faith whatever it may be, apart from the proscribed ones.

Let's say a Christian approaches a Muslim along the street and asks the Muslim if he wants to listen to a short take on Christianity. Would this act in and of itself be characterised as a crime? On the face of it I would think not.

The critical issue appers to hinge on the method and mode in which it was done. And it is in this regard that Dorothy and husband appear to fall foul of the law and thus their acts being characterised as seditious.

Cheers

kakowi

Locke,

Let's say a Christian approaches a Muslim along the street and asks the Muslim if he wants to listen to a short take on Christianity. Would this act in and of itself be characterised as a crime? On the face of it I would think not.

(1) And I would say that this is a reasonable position to take.

However it is not certain that even such a reasonable position will not be subjected to complaints. (I will not elaborate on it).
(2) Personally i see no need to criticize the basis of other people's religions for the simple reason that their religion is important to them as mine is to me.

(3) There are muslims who hunger for the message that Christ gives just as there are christians who like to know more about islam. Thus there should be freedom to explore and choose in religions.

This 'free trade' will allow the individual to express his/her own beliefs beyond that of their race, culture and familial religion.

Otherwise it is just a one-way street.

(4) I read and read the article again and i see no evidence that the christian couple are 'lying through their teeth'.

What happened was that you connect their use of 'well-intention' to the opinion by the muslim that it is 'offensive'.

It is also not clear from the article if the charge is brought against them by the State or by Mr Irwan.

(5) I had come across many anti-christians postings here.

However to alleged that one of the couple got her promotion due to her being christian is highly debatable.

I had personally come across not highly educated people being able to climb up the corporate ladder and highly educated people stagnate and my experience is that, for MNCs, work performance counts a lot.
Lastly,
I plead for sensitivity on the part of christians in reaching out to others in an attitude of respect;

and

for understanding on the part of those 'reached', ridiculous as it may seem, that these christians actually cared a lot for you;

and

a simple "Thank you, but I already have my own religion" is sufficient.

theblackhole

keep to yourself your faith. there is no need to preach and there is no need to influence others in our multi-religious society. to ridicule others is to hurt their pride and sensitivity.

i would urge fanatical christians NOT to do what the couple had done. it'll do singapore no good at all.nothing but troubles and riots.

why gahmen so keen to publish this case knowing the sensitivity of such a trial? another diversionary tactic? please don't around with religion. when it explodes, it'll be too late to regret it.

keep your own faith in your own heart.

locky2ky

keep to yourself your faith. there is no need to preach and there is no need to influence others in our multi-religious society. to ridicule others is to hurt their pride and sensitivity.

i would urge fanatical christians NOT to do what the couple had done. it'll do singapore no good at all.nothing but troubles and riots.

why gahmen so keen to publish this case knowing the sensitivity of such a trial? another diversionary tactic? please don't around with religion. when it explodes, it'll be too late to regret it.

keep your own faith in your own heart.

actually religion is supposed to make one a better person and not one that keeps quarreling with others.

theblackhole

actually religion is supposed to make one a better person and not one that keeps quarreling with others.

agree. seems to me almost all organised religions keep quarrelling and fighting one another and many have been hijacked politically, racially,economically and socially causing much division and harm among mankind.

relgions breed fanaticism and extremism which will ultimately destroy this good earth. it does not confine to any one particular religion alone.any form of religious fanaticism and extremism is detrimental to mankind.

Porfirio Rubirosa

Agree to disagree Bro. Just going by the titles and without even reading the contents of those 2 "tracts" which the couple sent out, it appears to be clear that the both of them were out to criticise Islam (and in this regard I am being kind to them) in order to promote their Christian faith which can hardly be characterised as having "good intentions". By all means talk about Christianity (if you so wish) but do not put down another religion while doing so. Sorry but I stand by what I said in my earlier post, both Dorothy and her husband appear to be lying through their teeth.

Oh and the charge is brought by the AG's chambers (the State), this is not a private matter.

Dec 6, 2008
ANTI-ISLAMIC COMIC BOOKS

Couple admitted sending out tracts

Duo claimed in statements that they only wanted to spread Christianity
By Elena Chong, Courts Correspondent

A SINGAPOREAN couple accused of distributing anti-Islamic comic books admitted to police that they sent out the publications and apologised profusely, a court heard yesterday.
The pair, who were attending the Berean Christian Church at the time of the alleged offences, said in statements to investigators earlier this year that they only wanted to spread Christianity.
Ong Kian Cheong, 49, and his 45-year-old wife, Dorothy Chan Hien Leng, are currently on trial for sedition.
They are accused of distributing comic tracts - titled The Little Bride and Who Is Allah? - which prosecutors say promote feelings of ill will and hostility between Christians and Muslims. Distributing a seditious publication can attract a $5,000 fine and up to three years' jail.
Prosecutors say the publications went out to three people between March and December last year. One of the recipients was a Traffic Police staff sergeant, who filed a complaint.
Yesterday, Station Inspector Peter Koh Meng Kee told the court that he recorded statements from the couple after their arrests on Jan 30.
In the statement, Ong, a technical officer with SingTel, pleaded for leniency and said he would not do such a thing again. He also apologised for hurting those concerned and sought their forgiveness.
Under cross-examination by the couple's lawyer, Mr Selva K. Naidu, Station Insp Koh read out later statements from the couple.
On April 14, in response to two of the charges, Ong wrote that he did not know there was offensive content in the publications, and that he had no intention of hurting anyone.
'My intention is to spread Christianity,' he said.
Chan, an associate director with UBS, said in her statements that she did not read The Little Bride and was not aware of its contents. 'Neither of us has intention of hurting anyone with the tracts sent out. It was meant that the gospel of God is preached to all. It was meant with good intentions.'

The couple had claimed trial on charges of distributing the seditious and objectionable publications. They are also accused of having seditious publications at their Maplewoods Condominium apartment in Bukit Timah Road on Jan 30.
On the first day of the trial on Thursday, Mr Irwan Ariffin, 32, and Mr Isa Raffee, 35, testified that they were angry and felt offended after reading the booklets, which had been posted to them.
A third person, Madam Farharti Ahmad, 36, who received The Little Bride in her mail, has yet to testify.
Both The Little Bride and Who Is Allah? are published by a Protestant organisation in the United States.
The trial will resume on Jan 28. [email protected]

([/INDENT](4) I read and read the article again and i see no evidence that the christian couple are 'lying through their teeth'.

What happened was that you connect their use of 'well-intention' to the opinion by the muslim that it is 'offensive'.

It is also not clear from the article if the charge is brought against them by the State or by Mr Irwan.

[/INDENT]

Updated 4.49 pm

Couple on sedition trial
By Elena Chong

====

This couple is completely detached from reality. How does one grow up in Singapore, schooled in this country, work and live here and still do not know the reality on the ground.

They deserve to be put in jail for a very long time. The authorities should also go after their church sect/cult or church if they are in an formal group and determine how they got hold of the publications, whether others were involved or had encouraged this kind of incendiary activities.

theblackhole

they should not be even given a trial at all...use ISA and the whole episode will be over...if kept on trial and with more exposure and justifications....nothing but troubles will befall this tiny place....and then it will just explode!

this is the time to use ISA...but they decided to charge them and have a trial...damned jialat i tell u...this type of thing cannot play play one...simply cannot!!!

mscitw

Christian freaks are indeed as scary as moslem terror wannabes.

They are most happy to condemn other reglions as demonic, dismissing them as myths and fairy tales while they gleefully believe in virgin birth.

Many of them failed to realise some of the 'derided' religion predated their own version of the torah by thousands of years.

If you analyse their faith closely, you will notice many are studying flawed translations of the torah. Heck knows what they are doing with saga that claims to carry on what the torah missed.