• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

COE prices for 1,600cc cars, commercial vehicles set new records. LTA huat ah.

If yearly salary more than $100k why not???
Actually on average spending on car for current COE price $2k~$2.5k/month that included service loan/insurance/road tax/maintenance/fuel&parking)

Those who can afford it and have the money to sustain themselves even when they retire or loose their jobs can certainly buy one. But because sinkees are sheeps, most who bought a car cannot keep up with the payments. One of my friends works in a second hand car dealership and told me more cars are being repossess these days . There are even stories of civil servants hiding their cars in their camps just to avoid the repo man.

In Hong Kong there are more poor people than Singapore, and yet they are doing better economically. Having an "O" level should stop anyone from being successful. Many of the world's richest are people who has no degree and they employ graduates to run their operations. Don't be so negative because negativity will bring you down even more.
I earn about 5k a month. After CPF, about 4.2k. Give parents 1.2 k. Left only 3k.

Transport (Mrt, bus and taxi) about 500. Food about 500-600. Say left 2k.

Save 500-600 a month.

Balance 1.2 to 1.4 k pay utilities, conservancy , mobile phone, and some partying on weekends.

i dont think I am spendthrift right?

Balance 1.2 to 1.4 k pay utilities, conservancy , mobile phone, and some partying on weekends.

The above does not sound right as PS is between $150 -$250 for a working couple. S&C about $50-$75 and phone less than $100 average. Which means you are spending $800 - $900 on partying which is a bit much

Do what you think is fine with you although you might put aside some expenses and get a life insurance.

The above does not sound right as PS is between $150 -$250 for a working couple. S&C about $50-$75 and phone less than $100 average. Which means you are spending $800 - $900 on partying which is a bit much

Do what you think is fine with you although you might put aside some expenses and get a life insurance.

Partying, eating at restaurants, about once a week is not much leh. 1 bottle champagne already 100plus plus here and there lor...it adds up u know.

insurance office provide ..

Partying, eating at restaurants, about once a week is not much leh. 1 bottle champagne already 100plus plus here and there lor...it adds up u know.

insurance office provide ..

As I said do what you think is fine with you. Office insurance may cover certain illness or disability but not very comprehensive. Why not look at one that has a Maturity Insurance Plan as it is also a form of savings? I don't know much about it so best to seek it from the insurance companies. The earlier you start the better.

at least i dun gamble like some of my jie mei...i see them sometimes so miserable when we party and i chinchai lah..pay for them lor

I earn about 5k a month. After CPF, about 4.2k. Give parents 1.2 k. Left only 3k.

Transport (Mrt, bus and taxi) about 500. Food about 500-600. Say left 2k.

Save 500-600 a month.

i dont think I am spendthrift right?
By my standard, quite a spendthrift... My entire family spends a total of 3.5k a month (exclude mortgage), and that includes 2 kids in school, maid but no car.

I don't see a need for a car, although I can pay for a few cars in cash. Why stress myself up just so that I can match up with my neighbors or friends? With ever widening mrt network, whole family just take the train and bus most of the time because I specifically pick a house very near mrt station. Occasional call cabs. In fact, I find driving nowadays waste more time, as I can read news, do emails, banking etc. on the train or bus.

My family income is five figures range, but ever since started working, never develop habit of spending on cars or frequent clubbing. A simple dinner with friends or family spending less than $30 each is the norm, although all of us could well afford Michelin star restaurant price.

People around me have realized long ago that all these expensive tastes in food, watches, cars etc. does not add anything to quality of life. It is friendship, family ties and maintaining low stress financially that counts.

Those days, O levels can liao. Now I O levels only and only a secretary. Salary abt near 5k. HOW TO AFFORD???

what are you talking about? late 20's? O levels? near 5K per mth still not happy? you know how many families with children surviving with 3K per mth???

There are even stories of civil servants hiding their cars in their camps just to avoid the repo man.

Some of my detectives otang finance companies 3 to 6 months car instalments also bo tai chi. No need to play hide-and-seek with repo man coz the boss of finance companies super friendly to us. After 6 months, he will tolong us to pay just one month.

Cable TV and Internet. U forgot.
Per week spend $200 for partying, weekend shopping/F&B /other activity quite reasonable.

One or two more enterprising ones would rent their cars out to collect extra income! But never pay monthly instalments.

Everytime you buy a car in Singapore, you're feeding the worthless govt. Chee cheng hu.

LTA is raping all the peasants money for those who are buying cars, COE there's
NO TRANSPARENCY!! up to them to yell the amount, next month will be even higher
they claimed ohhh!!! its Christmas and CNY ppl got money getting BIG FAT bonus etc.

LTA is raping all the peasants money for those who are buying cars, COE there's
NO TRANSPARENCY!! up to them to yell the amount, next month will be even higher
they claimed ohhh!!! its Christmas and CNY ppl got money getting BIG FAT bonus etc.

Its ok. Singaporean are rich. They don't mind being screwed left right ...

The Open COE, which can be used for any vehicle type but ends up mainly for bigger cars, rose from $93,990 to hit $97,000 - the highest since it breached $100,000 in 1994.

In NZ, I can buy a brand new Lexus IS350 F Sport for that price.

what are you talking about? late 20's? O levels? near 5K per mth still not happy? you know how many families with children surviving with 3K per mth???

Thats them. I do need my space, time for myself u know. I am young.

Cable TV and Internet. U forgot.
Per week spend $200 for partying, weekend shopping/F&B /other activity quite reasonable.

Thanks for understanding that i need a life other than work!

Thats them. I do need my space, time for myself u know. I am young.
You are confusing personal needs and self fulfillment with mindless splurging. That is no need to spend big money to feel happy.

I'm also confuse why a secretary need or want a car?