Major and above tend to hao lian abit leh. Like to drive Lexus, BMW etc.
Those fast track SAFOS guys might do that. But the sign on regular Majors and what not, quite frugal. If got free makan at cook house and free use of car, just take it lah.
If I recall last time, all service Chiefs get a Mercedes. eg Chief Infantry Officer, Chief Armour Officer, etc. Lower senior ranking, depending on their appt get an Audi A4. I think this is at least 10 years ago. Unit heads in a Camp, like say chief technical officer were assigned a Proton with MID plates. But don't forget every camp has a few general purpose cars you can use. Some COs, like my old CO at 40 SAR don't mind we use his MINDEF assigned car which in those days was a Nissan Sunny. His own personal car was more luxuriuos then that, so he always drove that to camp. For me I used to drive my personal car to camp, but once in camp, I draw a GP car for official business. GP car is usually a cheap stationwagon in my time, but now, GP cars can be Opels, Hyundai elantras, and Mitsubishis.