• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

can one survive on eating only once a day?

May I ask what do you mean by Hba1c reduction from 40 to 32?
Hba1c is measured by %

I just had mine measured at 5.7%
Do you know if a Hba1c of 5.7% and a fasting glucose level of 5.7, are they referring to the same unit?

I check the Internet says 5.7% onwards is prediabetes but the institution i went for my test indicate my ref range as 4.5 to 6.4%
I only know fasting glucose measurement is for that moment whereas Hba1c is average of 2-3 mths.

1733190323591.png

Thanks this is a good calculator to clear my doubts.
That's means your Hba1c reduced from 5.8% to 5.1%. Congrats.

It so happened that both my Hba1c % and my fasting glucose returned with a same result of 5.7 with a different unit and they actually means

My average over last 3mths blood glucose is 6.49 mmol/L whereas at that moment blood glucose was 5.7mmol/L

KNN siao liao so high

IMG_20241203_100439.jpg

IMG_20241203_100420.jpg

Thanks this is a good calculator to clear my doubts.
That's means your Hba1c reduced from 5.8% to 5.1%. Congrats.

It so happened that both my Hba1c % and my fasting glucose returned with a same result of 5.7 with a different unit and they actually means

My average over last 3mths blood glucose is 6.49 mmol/L whereas at that moment blood glucose was 5.7mmol/L

KNN siao liao so high

View attachment 210759

View attachment 210760

According to current medical wisdom the HbA1C reading is the most relevant as it shows the accumulative effect over a period of 3 months.

A blood sugar reading on the other hand only gives a snapshot of the situation when it is taken.

According to current medical wisdom the HbA1C reading is the most relevant as it shows the accumulative effect over a period of 3 months.

A blood sugar reading on the other hand only gives a snapshot of the situation when it is taken.
I think they should just do away with the fasting blood glucose and just do Hba1c.

Anyway since Hba1c is a period of 2-3mths readings, it will include all the meals taken everyday, so is 6.49mmol/L considered pre diabetes? Does age have a guide for this or it shouldn't be age related?

I think they should just do away with the fasting blood glucose and just do Hba1c.

Anyway since Hba1c is a period of 2-3mths readings, it will include all the meals taken everyday, so is 6.49mmol/L considered pre diabetes? Does age have a guide for this or it shouldn't be age related?

My Doc said a reading above 40 is not desirable. The definition of pre diabetes is a gray area and the exact range depends upon who you ask.

As far as I can make out if it is below 40 there is nothing to be concerned about but if it is above 48 you should be taking action. Anything in between is up to your doctor to decide what needs to be done and up to you to make up your mind whether to listen. :D

My Doc said a reading above 40 is not desirable. The definition of pre diabetes is a gray area and the exact range depends upon who you ask.

As far as I can make out if it is below 40 there is nothing to be concerned about but if it is above 48 you should be taking action. Anything in between is up to your doctor to decide what needs to be done and up to you to make up your mind whether to listen. :D
That sounds a fair judgement.
The polyclinic doc always tells me nothing to worry, even when my fasting glucose was 6.0 - considered just pass or just fail, they just brushed it off KNN they even told me, during exam there is also a grade like 50 you pass so don't worry, when you get 49 then you ask wtf KNN just by 1 and I'm not supposed to ask :eek::alien:

That sounds a fair judgement.
The polyclinic doc always tells me nothing to worry, even when my fasting glucose was 6.0 - considered just pass or just fail, they just brushed it off KNN

I have learned over the years that the trend is of more significance than the actual reading.

For example if you were 4.8% five years ago, 5.2% three years ago, 5.8% last year and 6% this year it is pretty obvious that things are going in the wrong direction.

However if you have been 6% or thereabouts for the last decade then there is nothing to worry about.

I have learned over the years that the trend is of more significance than the actual reading.

For example if you were 4.8% five years ago, 5.2% three years ago, 5.8% last year and 6% this year it is pretty obvious that things are going in the wrong direction.

However if you have been 6% or thereabouts for the last decade then there is nothing to worry about.
Agreed.
I was about to trace back but I couldn't find any Hba1c in my moh record, all were fasting blood glucose, and is a up and down trend, so I couldn't use this as a guide to check my actual state.
Maybe this test is more costly than fasting glucose so polyclinic will not conduct it unnecessarily.

If people cannot survive without eating at least once per day, the human species would have become extinct long ago.

Once upon a time, our ancestors were hunter-gatherers. There were no food delivery apps, no 24-hour eateries, no refrigerators. It was normal and common to go without food for days.

If people cannot survive without eating at least once per day, the human species would have become extinct long ago.

Once upon a time, our ancestors were hunter-gatherers. There were no food delivery apps, no 24-hour eateries, no refrigerators. It was normal and common to go without food for days.
And there is no need for vaccine to have a healthy life.

U know how to lower it?
I think this is a million dollar question.
There are simply too many factors and recommendations all over the world telling us what is best to lower blood glucose and other vitals.

We will need to try out what is best for us.
For triglycerides, I have identified omega 3 fish oil to be the magic for me.

For blood glucose, I'm going to try out not eating more than 2 meals per day. And to be more careful on food choices
I only will do walking for exercises, at most brisk walk at times. Running and other strenuous activities will kill me faster than having diabetes.